Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Until such evidence is released, the only logical conclusion given Liverpool's statement is that there isn't any. If that is the case, then this will surely end up in the CAS.

The question, in "legal" terms, is not whether Suarez is racist, but whether he contravened the FAs rules. With what little evidence we have seen from the newspapers, which we don't know is true, it seems that both Suarez and Evra broke the same rules - FA Rule E3(1) and FA Rule E3(2). If that is the case, I don't see how they aren't both getting the same punishment.

There is another conclusion, if you take all the information that has been provided and read between the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I'm a Liverpool fan.

If Terry is innocent and is proved to be, I'll accept it.

When the report of the Suarez case comes out and if he is proved without a doubt to have racially abused Evra intently I'll accept that too.

What part exactly are you having trouble accepting?

Suarez admitted using language that referred to Evra's colour - he was found guilty in week long inquiry. What more do you need?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

What confuses me is the bit of the Liverpool statement that says its just one mans word against another. I find it very hard to believe this bit. I find it very hard to believe the FA would apply the ban anyone when the evidence is one mans word against another. It also goes against everything that’s been in the media a lot of which has apparently come from Liverpool sorces ( allegedly ).

The only way the charge makes sense to me is that Suarez admitted using some form of N***o and the FA decided that that was enough ground to charge him. I reckon this will all come out in the evidence. Just my 2 cents

As a United fan the ban seems quite long, but maybe they had to make an example.
    This is exactly my stance on the whole thing.
    Could the FA really be that stupid to give a verdict based on Evras word alone???
    If they did it's a farce of a decision but I just can't believe they would.
    The panel isn't made up of the lads off Soccer Saturday or something like that.

They need to come out and say exactly what it was that brought them to the decision,until then it's just going to have everyone at each others throats with nothing but speculation to argue over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

kryogen wrote: »
    You should probably read the verdict then

Sorry I phrased that badly. What exactly is covered under the rule?

(im a United fan btw before any of this bias bs)

Seriously mate its in the verdict and numerous times in this thread im on my phone now so cant help much more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

ok this is the wording of the rule:

A Participant shall at all times act in the best interests of the game and shall not
    act in any manner which is improper or brings the game into disrepute or use any
    one, or a combination of, violent conduct, serious foul play, threatening, abusive,
    indecent or insulting words or behaviour.

Can you call someone a wánker on the pitch? a díckhead? These can be seen as insulting and you know this thing goes on 100's of times a game. Im just a little surprised it was seen as a breach of this rule or did they need to charge this rule as the second one is based on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

I wanna know exactly what that first rule is that he has said to have broken

From the FA Handbook;

General Behaviour;

3 (1) A Participant shall at all times act in the best interests of the game and shall not act in any manner which is improper or brings the game into disrepute and use any one, or combination of, violent conduct, serious foul play, threatening, abusive, indecent or insulting words or behaviour.

3 (2) In the event of any breach of Rule E 3(1) including a reference to any one or more of a person's ethnic origin, colour, race, nationality, faith, gender, sexual orientation or disablilty (an "aggravating factor"), a Regulatory Commission shall consider the imposition of an increased sanction...

Seriously mate its in the verdict and numerous times in this thread im on my phone now so cant help much more

No

Im asking what constitutes breaches, i.e. what is seen as abusive. Its just a strange and unclear rule you not agree?

From the FA Handbook;

General Behaviour;

3 (1) A Participant shall at all times act in the best interests of the game and shall not act in any manner which is improper or brings the game into disrepute and use any one, or combination of, violent conduct, serious foul play, threatening, abusive, indecent or insulting words or behaviour.

Yeah see my post then. What do you reckon counts of 'abusive' words, or 'indecent' or 'insulting'. Can a player after the game report another for calling him a cúnt for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭brick tamland

s_carnage wrote: »
    But Dalglish has backed up that he said as such. From todays article in the Telegraph

Havent seen that, makes the wording of the Liverpool statement all the more bizarre. If Suarez did admit to using it why did the claim its one mans word against another. It sounds like they claimed the same thing. Its just Suarez added mitigating circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

greendom wrote: »
    No the public nature of the case has been a good thing. It means now that any players coming over to play in the EPL or even English players will be under no doubt what constitutes racist abuse in the UK and that it is not tolerated. If a similar case had happened previously, you can be sure that Suarez wouldn't have used the language he did.

The ruling also means that they'll they be less inclined to ply their trade in the EPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I wanna know exactly what that first rule is that he has said to have broken

Surely if they say he did racially abuse him then it therefore follows No.1 is satisfied, as its personal abuse.

The personal abuse charge is stupid anyway and could leave the FA open to charging players on ridiculous charges. I don't think it would do as players would have a bit of cop on, but it shows how stupid the FA is.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

There is another conclusion, if you take all the information that has been provided and read between the lines.

In a case as serious as this, reading between the lines is not an option. If there is evidence that Suarez broke these rules, other than the word of a player with a history of providing suspect evidence to the FA, then the FA must release it.

The LIverpool statement suggests there isn't, we don't know whether that is true. If the Liverpool statement is correct, this leaves the FA open to hundreds of similar cases every week where Rules E3 (1) and E3 (2) can be claimed to have been broken by any player with a grudge after a match. At the very least, they need to tighten up their rules, or see that every player who breaks these rules is punished accordingly.

K-9 wrote: »
    The personal abuse charge is stupid anyway and could leave the FA open to charging players on ridiculous charges. I don't think it would do as players would have a bit of cop on, but it shows how stupid the FA is.

This is the point im getting at. Like I said, can they make a complaint after the game that he called me a wanker, etc. Seems an ambiguous rule that they can just use as they please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

My final thought (Springer style) ;)

I'm sure every club in England have a strict no racism policy. I've been to SJP a number of times this season and they have a strict no racism policy. If I was to shout out a racist comment towards Shola Ameobi or any other black or "foreign" player I'd be ejected from the stadium and given a lifetime ban for sure. There's no way I'd be allowed back after 8 games.

I'm not saying that Suarez is a racist but he's been found guilty of making a racist comment. Why is the same treatment not applied to players as it is for fans if they make racist comments inside the ground?

FWIW I think Suarez is a good footballer bar the odd diving antics here and there but if I was found guilty of a racist comment in my place of work I'd be fired. No questions asked. 8 games and a 400,000 fine is nothing imo.

Yeah see my post then. What do you reckon counts of 'abusive' words, or 'indecent' or 'insulting'. Can a player after the game report another for calling him a cúnt for example?

According to the FAs rules and this precedent, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭eigrod

But Dalglish has backed up that he said as such. From todays article in the Telegraph

That is a journalist's version of what he thinks Dalglish said. Nobody knows....so much so that it's went from "negrito" to "negro" back to "negrito" again, all in the space of a week.

Nothing in the FA's statement yesterday gave any further clues to what exactly Suarez was alleged to have said. Neither did anything in it say what, if anything, Suarez admitted to saying. This is what those "defending" Suarez are most annoyed about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The ruling also means that they'll they be less inclined to ply their trade in the EPL.

Ah jaysus Lloyd, I've been one of the more vocal Liverpool fans on here since last night but come on will you, I hardly think foreign players are going to be saying to themselves "Ah **** the EPL, I need my opportunities to get a few little racist digs in."

I cant explain it any simpler i'm afraid. If you still are of the belief that Evra gave evidence on a slur that he always maintained he never heard and that the burden of proof in that matter fell on him, well i cant paint it any easier for you.

I never claimed the burden of proof fell on Evra, indeed went to pains not to say that, and I'm surprised a sharp, well trained solicitor's mind would take that from my posts. Based on that I don't think you are capable of any type of objective discussion on the issue, I'm out as you are reading what you want to read.
    Sad day for Liverpool. A great club but they have let themselves down big time. And their fans have jumped over the cliff after them. Pity

Indeed. Point proven.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭s_carnage

eigrod wrote: »
    That is a journalist's version of what he thinks Dalglish said. Nobody knows....so much so that it's went from "negrito" to "negro" back to "negrito" again, all in the space of a week.

Nothing in the FA's statement yesterday gave any further clues to what exactly Suarez was alleged to have said. Neither did anything in it say what, if anything, Suarez admitted to saying. This is what those "defending" Suarez are most annoyed about.

Doesn't matter what word he used though. If either word was used in the argument between the players then in my opinion he is guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

i assume your a liverpool fan, cos your post stinks of the normal blame it on somebody else racket that liverpool fans love to do about everything.

I love your generalisation. There's a lot of United fans who talk sense, and are quiet rational. I'm sure people like that don't appreciate being tarred wit the same brush as you when you post your usual fantasy lark. Similarly, many Liverpool fans don't appreciate being tarred with the same brush when a section blame Evra for this, or act like people on RAWK

Oh dear

Oh dear what? The post I quoted basically says 'well, someone ruled on the matter so that should be accepted without question'. If you agree with such a stance let me know.

That_Guy wrote: »
    My final thought (Springer style) ;)

I'm sure every club in England have a strict no racism policy. I've been to SJP a number of times this season and they have a strict no racism policy. If I was to shout out a racist comment towards Shola Ameobi or any other black or "foreign" player I'd be ejected from the stadium and given a lifetime ban for sure. There's no way I'd be allowed back after 8 games.

I'm not saying that Suarez is a racist but he's been found guilty of making a racist comment. Why is the same treatment not applied to players as it is for fans if they make racist comments inside the ground?

FWIW I think Suarez is a good footballer bar the odd diving antics here and there but if I was found guilty of a racist comment in my place of work I'd be fired. No questions asked. 8 games and a 400,000 fine is nothing imo.

They seem to have taken the basis that "Negro or Negrito" is racist language but not that racist! ;) It doesn't make him a racist though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭mixed up

It's all a load of bo**ox what would happen if evra had called suarez a white f**ker? nothing. Suarez called evra a black whatever so if he should be banned for anything it should be for using foul language if he used it.I can't believe the crap over this if a player is black or white what difference does it make?Evra you ARE black get over it :mad: I think evra is the person with a problem about his colour not suarez.I mean evra is black and has a problem being called black :rolleyes: I'm white and won't cry if you call me white.

Ah jaysus Lloyd, I've been one of the more vocal Liverpool fans on here since last night but come on will you, I hardly think foreign players are going to be saying to themselves "Ah **** the EPL, I need my opportunities to get a few little racist digs in."

No they won't be saying that but they might be saying "as a foreign player if I do misbehave I am likely to be vilified to a ridiculously unfair extent".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

They seem to have taken the basis that "Negro or Negrito" is racist language but not that racist! ;) It doesn't make him a racist though!

Where he's from it may not be offensive but over on this side of the world, it's highly offensive.

I agree though, it doesn't make him racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭s_carnage

mixed up wrote: »
    It's all a load of bo**ox what would happen if evra had called suarez a white f**ker? nothing. Suarez called evra a black whatever so if he should be banned for anything it should be for using foul language if he used it.I can't believe the crap over this if a player is black or white what difference does it make?Evra you ARE black get over it :mad: I think evra is the person with a problem about his colour not suarez.I mean evra is black and has a problem being called black :rolleyes: I'm white and won't cry if you call me white.

Jesus wept

I'm actually embarrassed for you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

I never claimed the burden of proof fell on Evra, indeed went to pains not to say that, and I'm surprised a sharp, well trained solicitor's mind would take that from my posts. Based on that I don't think you are capable of any type of objective discussion on the issue, I'm out as you are reading what you want to read.

Indeed. Point proven.

Ha fair enough. Sit the argument out then. Good decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭eigrod

Doesn't matter what word he used though. If either word was used in the argument between the players then in my opinion he is guilty.

Of course it matters. The FA haven't told us what word he used. It might have been "negro". It might have been "negrito". It might have been neither.

We're all still waiting for them to release the report where the "evidence" is going to be presented and quite frankly I think it's disgraceful that this wasn't provided to Suarez and/or Liverpool in advance of the punishment being handed down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Most stupid post ever, hope the book gets thrown at Suarex for you trying to justify it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

For a second there I thought mixed nuts had finally lost it :)