Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Looks like Borlase will get another 20/25 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭boynesider

Can't see Hanrahan being as good as Wallace tbh, but id be delighted if he was.

Really? Never seen him but I was speaking to a few Munster lads and they think the world of him. They basically said he is the complete player. :eek:

Maybe they were related to him though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Can't see Hanrahan being as good as Wallace tbh, but id be delighted if he was.
    boynesider wrote: »
    Really? Never seen him but I was speaking to a few Munster lads and they think the world of him. They basically said he is the complete player. :eek:

He is very talented. Its hard to know how players like him turn out but if he lives up to his potential then Munster and Ireland have a smashing player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

The thing about Wallace is he never should have been on the bench along with ROG for some games. He could cover 12 but that was it, if he had to come on for a winger, he seriously limited our game. Earls/Fitzgerald/Trimble/McFadden should always have been on the bench ahead of him. It's not really his fault, more Kidney's but for Ireland if he wasn't starting, he shouldn't have been in the squad.

If Hanrahan becomes as talented as him, I'll be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭muscleshirt

boynesider wrote: »

i've seen JJ play at under age level in the west munster leagues a few years back,he was always a stand out player great time on the ball/while barnes was a pretty average player at under age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Agree with this. Played with Barnes underage and he was good but maybe only the 3rd Best on the Tralee team. Has transformed completely. Was always a good tackler, but he's imporved on all aspects of his game.

JJ played against us for Castleisland, 2 years younger and was a class act. Didn't stop us beating them though ;) Hope he fulfills his potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭muscleshirt

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Agree with this. Played with Barnes underage and he was good but maybe only the 3rd Best on the Tralee team. Has transformed completely. Was always a good tackler, but he's imporved on all aspects of his game.

JJ played against us for Castleisland, 2 years younger and was a class act. Didn't stop us beating them though ;) Hope he fulfills his potential.
    what happened the other two guys?just shows the talent being lost with the current system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

It'll be interesting to see where he plays for the Irish u20's, assuming he makes the squad. Underage talent doesn't always (or even often) translate into senior success though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Good win for the A team in Moseley today, 29-0 win that puts us through to the knockout stages of B&I Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

ormond lad wrote: »
    Good win for the A team in Moseley today, 29-0 win that puts us through to the knockout stages of B&I Cup.
    Do you have news from elsewhere cause the 6 group leaders and two best losers get through to the knockouts and Munster will be only second in the group

Best 2 runners up qualify, so Munster qualified if
    1 Llanelli didn't get the 4 try bonus point in their 25 all draw with Bedford, or
    2 Nottingham lost to Currie

If Llanelli did get the bonus point, they would have been level with Munster on match points.

Llanelli didn't get the bonus, so munster qualify.

Great news that we're through in the B&I!

Great result...interesting that Deasy was kicking ahead of Hanrahan. Borlase scored a try too.

ormond lad wrote: »
    munster qualify.
    Assuming of course Leinster A don't lose to London Welsh tomorrow

Sorry I don't like counting chickens before they hatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

what happened the other two guys?just shows the talent being lost with the current system

I'm going to make a bold guess and say DDC1990 was their best player !!:D

Only 100% left in the Heineken Cup.

That's impressive even if the performances haven't been all that great. They're showing real determination and desire to win which is great to see. Munster have always been famed for the ability to dig deep and get results when needed, and I wondered whether it was still there after last season. It's something you'd associate with names like Galwey, Foley, Quinlan, Wallace, Clohessy, Hayes, Stringer, etc. of those Munster teams there's only really ROG and POC left in the starting team. (obviously Leamy and DOC started today, and there are a few left on the bench)... but it's good that players like Coughlan, Varley, Ryan, O'Mahoney, Du Preez, Botha are able to associate with the "Munster spirit". Winning when playing poorly is important while we are in a transitional period, it keeps confidence up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Good having Earls back today but is there anymore news on the injuries front ?

A few things:

Hopefully Hayes gets a start against Connacht, while he probably doesn't care himself he deserves a swansong for the fans' sake. :D

Borlase has got 2 appearances off the bench for the As, hopefully he'll see gametime over the New Year period.

Does anyone know when Chambers' contract is up? Given that he was dropped from the 23 for today, I don't think he'll be staying on.

A few things:

Hopefully Hayes gets a start against Connacht, while he probably doesn't care himself he deserves a swansong for the fans' sake. :D

Borlase has got 2 appearances off the bench for the As, hopefully he'll see gametime over the New Year period.

Does anyone know when Chambers' contract is up? Given that he was dropped from the 23 for today, I don't think he'll be staying on.

How can he not be staying on?? Mafi is going from poor to awful, Earls is a winger, Barnes is bog standard, we've tried Deasy and Murphy both were average.

I'm only going by the fact that he was dropped from the 23 today, don't bite my head off. While I agree with your assessment, the management mightn't.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

+1 for Hayes to get a start against Connacht, I'm looking forward to that game already.

For today's game, I thought Mafi and DoC were poor today, Zebo really needs to get some kicking coaching. Coughlan goign off looked bad, I could have sworn they had 4 held up before changing it to 8.

We were lucky today I think, our line out was shabby for most of the game, Mafi was poor, Earls was ok for his first game of the season (realistically). Going into the Christmas break we've full points and looking a shoe in for qualification for a quarter final, a home quarter final has to be the target now. With more and more players coming back from injuries we can only get stronger as the competition.

1 last thing, how great is it to go through another game with 15 on the pitch for the whole match? It might be just me but our discipline has improved no ends this season.

Clareman wrote: »
    1 last thing, how great is it to go through another game with 15 on the pitch for the whole match? It might be just me but our discipline has improved no ends this season.
    9 Yellows so far in the pro 12 I believe. A few HEC without a sinbinning doesn't mean the discipline issues are fixed imo.

Paul O Connel is on the pitch from the start for the HEC games, makes a huge difference in terms of building a rapport with refs and getting the rest of the team to actually listen to him.Peter O'Mahony can deliver neither of those things just yet. Plus I think they all take the HEC far more seriously then the training league and are less likely to prick around on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Junior

While it's easier to say the standard of discipline has improved, I would also say the standard of ref's has improved with the H-Cup matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I'm going to make a bold guess and say DDC1990 was their best player !!:D
    I wish! I was probably the weak link tbh.

Alternated between wing and the bench, up to U-14's then when Fullbacks came in in U-16 I went between there and Wing. Was sh1te though.

A guy called Alastair Hoban played flanker for us. Went to Clongowes and represented Leinster U19's. Heard nothing of him since. He was IMO the best player.

And our First Center Eoin Kelleher was probably better then Danny as well.

Our Outhalf, Darragh O'Connell is currently a Kerry hurling star. All round Athlete, was class at football and Rugby as well.

We had a nice team.

I'm only going by the fact that he was dropped from the 23 today, don't bite my head off. While I agree with your assessment, the management mightn't.

Don't be so sensitive.

I wouldn't read too much into his exclusion from the 23. He came in on a short term deal, didn't cost a lot and with a see how you go outlook to a new contract. He's played enough for what is essentiall a project player and has done well considering.

If we were talking about a big money signing I'd be inclined to agree with. That said I'm generally wrong 51% of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Match report from Munsterrugby.ie on the A Game.
    Munster Advance To B&I Cup Quarters

18 December 2011, 10:07 pm ::Match Report By The Editor

Thanks to their 29 nil bonus point win against Moseley and other results going in their favour Munster's B&I Cup side have secured a place in the British and Irish Cup quarter finals.

Munster were led to believe they were in for the long haul when Moseley showed their intent from the off opting to kick for the corner instead of taking an opening penalty opportunity. Thankfully for the visitors the bold move didn't yield any score and it was actually Munster who opened the scoring with a well struck Scott Deasy penalty after 16 minutes.
    After the half hour mark Munster moved into the Moseley 22 with Tom Gleeson attacking from his wing and carrying deep into opposition territory. The forward pack moved through the phases repeating a number of quick pick and goes which proved successful with Dave Kilcoyne crashing over for the opening try after 34 minutes.

There were moments of questionable defence in the opening exchanges but the Ian Costello coached side returned after the break with a renewed confidence, upping their intensity and pace with Dave O'Callaghan carrying the mantle breaking through the Moseley defence with his forward colleagues in tow and after a series of interchanging plays Christy Condon crossed the whitewash for Munster's second try after 43 minutes.

Paddy Butler showed great awareness minutes later spotting an opportunity down the right wing when he called for a cross field kick from Deasy and went over unopposed for Munster's third try with Scott on target again for his third convert of the day.

Perhaps pre-empting a bonus point try Munster began to force the play and the mistakes started to creep in with a number of dropped passes and loose ball. But after ringing the changes and introducing fresh legs the young guns regained composure and settled once again moving into the closing stages.

With the backline initiating the attack the pack once more used quick recycled ball stretching the Moseley defence and replacement prop Peter Borlase took his opportunity scoring Munster's fourth and final bonus point winning try after 73 minutes.

A very happy Ian Costello commented after the game "Today was great, not only for getting the winning bonus point but also for the margin we secured, that's what is most pleasing. We had set a 25 to 30 point target for ourselves going into the game and the lads, a young side, showed great mental strength in securing that win."

Irish U20s and first year academy player Shane Buckley, a late addition to the side, made his B&I Cup debut when replacing Billy Holland in the 74th minute.

As the second best runner up Munster advance into the quarter finals seeded eight and if they are to go on to face the top seeds at the end of January, it looks like another trip away to Cornish Pirates.

Munster: Sean Scanlon; Luke O'Dea, JJ Hanrahan (Ronan O'Mahony 64), Will Chambers, Tom Gleeson; Scott Deasy (Declan Cusack 74), Duncan Williams (Cathal Sheridan 71); David Kilcoyne, Sean Henry (Duncan Casey 62), Christy Condon (Peter Borlase 64); Dave Foley, Ian Nagle; Billy Holland capt (Shane Buckley 74), Dave O'Callaghan (Brian O'Hara 62), Paddy Butler. Replacements: Duncan Casey, Peter Borlase, Shane Buckley, Brian O'Hara, Cathal Sheridan, Declan Cusack, Ronan O'Mahony

Moseley: Glynn Hughes; Sam Brown, Brad Hunt (William Robinson 64), Callum McBurnie, Mike Gillick; Bradley Davies (Anthony Carter 41), Ryan de la Harpe; Anton O'Donnell (Tom Warren 62), Adam Caves (Matthew Lowcock 41), Colin Quigley (Craig Voisey 68); Daniel Sanderson, Richard Stott; Michael Maltman (Neil Mason 64); Charley Thomas, Michael Ellery (Chevvy Pennycook 64). Replacments: Tom Warren, Neil Mason, Craig Voisey, Chevvy Pennycook, Matthew Lowcock, Anthony Carter, William Robinson.

I saw on twitter earlier that we now play Ulster in the Q/Finals.

I got this from Munsterfans.com, I hope it's correct.
    2011-12 British & Irish Cup Quarter-finals

Cornish Pirates vs. Nottingham Rugby
    Ulster vs. Munster A
    Leinster A vs. Pontypridd
    Cross Keys vs. Llanelli

All matches to be played w/e 20th January

phog wrote: »
    I got this from Munsterfans.com, I hope it's correct.
    It is correct. http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/25091.php
    Draw Made For British & Irish Cup Quarter-Finals

19 December 2011, 4:52 pm
    By Editor

Following the conclusion of the pool stages over the weekend, the 2011/12 British & Irish Cup quarter-final fixtures have been confirmed.

2009/10 winners Cornish Pirates will welcome fellow English Championship side Nottingham to the Mennaye for an all-English tie next month. The English quarter-finalists are two of only four teams, along with Leinster 'A' and Ulster Ravens, who went through the pool stages unbeaten.
    The Green & Whites finished Pool 6 a single point behind the Ulstermen, who will have home advantage in their crunch clash with provincial rivals Munster 'A' in the New Year.
    Leinster 'A' are the third Irish side to reach the last-eight and will host Welsh Premiership outfit Pontypridd, who finished top of their group with wins over Leeds Carnegie and Swansea.
    In the fourth quarter-final Llanelli travel to Cross Keys, the home side securing their path to the knockout stages in their debut year in the competition.
    2011/12 BRITISH & IRISH CUP QUARTER-FINALS:
    Cornish Pirates v Nottingham Rugby
    ULSTER RAVENS v MUNSTER 'A'
    LEINSTER 'A' v Pontypridd
    Cross Keys v Llanelli
    All matches to be played over the weekend of January 20-22

Quarter-Final Qualification -
    5.2.2 - The six pool winners shall be ranked 1-6 and the runners-up shall then be ranked 7-12, in each case based on their playing record in the pool Stages using 5.2.1 (a)-(j). Those teams ranked 1-8 shall proceed to the quarter-finals.
    5.3.3 - The draw for the quarter-final matches shall be made from the teams ranked 1-8 as set out in regulation 5.2.2. Those teams ranked 1-4 in accordance with 5.2.2 will have the home advantage. The draw will be organised by the Committee and will ensure that there are no fixtures that replicate the pool matches.

Confirmation of the Open Training Session

Munster Open Training Session
    20 December 2011, 2:11 pmBy The Editor

Munster Rugby will change their training venue this week to the home club of Munster legand John Hayes.

The open day training session will take place in Bruff RFC, Kilballyowen on Thursday, 22nd December from 11am to 1pm.

All are welcome.