Christopher Hitchens has died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

later10: Not even good logic on Dawkins' part take a look at the "Argument from Scripture" section in the God Delusion for example. The reason I liked Hitchens' book more is that it is more a perceptive insights into the mannerisms behind religion and why Hitchens' doesn't necessarily agree with it. The God Delusion tries systematically to deconstruct the case for God and fails.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

philologos wrote: »
    Of course I am talking about God as being omniscient, but I'm not quite getting your point that somehow knowing about something is the same thing as causing it. God created a person, but ultimately it is still up to that person as to whether or not they happen to do something. All God knows is that it is going to happen in such a case.

The argument still stands as far as I see it. It is possible for God to know in advance about freely willed decisions. It's also possible for God to determine things. They are separate things. This is clearly logical as far as I see it.

An omnisient God would of course know what "free-willed" decision a person is going to make. This would suggest that the decision was in someway predictable, essentially because the actions of the mind of that person are pre-determined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Of course I am talking about God as being omniscient, but I'm not quite getting your point that somehow knowing about something is the same thing as causing it.
    It's the combination of omnipotence and omniscience that results in the deity causing something to happen, only if one were missing would this not be the case.
    Deity creates something with full knowledge of everything the creation will do, and makes not just the choice to do the creating, but also what it is she is actually creating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Cú Globach - Do you agree that it is different to know that something will happen, than directly causing something to happen? That's the distinction I'm making in terms of this. Augustine in his De Libero Arbitrio (On the Free Choice of the Will) makes the same argument in book 3 chapters 3 and 4, you should be able to Google it and read online if you want a closer look at what he says.

I don't believe it is accurate to say that foreknowledge is the same thing as predestination, or at least not in every case.

Nothing needs to be missing. God can be all powerful, and God can know something will happen without being directly responsible for it. Particularly in the case of free will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I'm no fan of Dawkins, I think it's difficult for anyone to be, he's so lacking in humour and charm, but just because he wasn't a great interviewee doesn't diminish his intellect. I'm not convinced by the use of evolution as a grand narrative for absolutely everything, but his early ideas have a convincing claim to originality, and were hugely influential in his field and beyond. I thought he was quite good on Channel 4's Inside Nature's Giants, but then the material was so interesting to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

There you are moving the goalposts again, typical of your kind so I forgive you.

You said god made them famous, you are wrong.

The End.

It is people like Dawkins who moved the goalposts to get more time on TV. I turned on Sky news yesterday to see Richard Dawkins giving out about David Cameron saying the UK is a Christian country.

This is what he is far more famous for these days, you claimed "Both, Dawkins especially, were famous long before their writings on religion. Not that you knew that, but then you don't really seem to know much of anything."

I knew what he did for a living, it is his atheism and promotion of atheism that he is best known for these days.
    One could say he evolved into this preacher of atheism which has given him far more media exposure, through his preachings on TV programs, books to spread his gospel, advertising on things like buses and marches against religiion.

Far more people talk about his God delusion than his selfish gene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

Sorry never heard of him. He was pretty young tho. A shame :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

Sorry never heard of him. He was pretty young tho. A shame :-(
    Why, you're just a quick Google search away from enlightenment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

The New Statesman has a very interesting article about Hitch. I recommend reading it, especially to those who seem to prefer poisoning their minds with "scripture" drivel rather than taking the odd break from it and treating themselves to some exposure to reason.

http://www.newstatesman.com/blogs/the-staggers/2011/12/hitchens-cancer-war-religion

Although I disagreed with Hitch on a few things, not least the Iraq war that those two god-bothering fanatics Bush and BLiar launched, he was right in most things and remained true to his beliefs to the end. It is also great that he followed Richard Dawkins' advice and made sure the god-botherers would not be able to claim he had turned to their imaginary sky fairy just before he breathed his last.

This passage is particularly interesting:

"Without a hint of self-pity or sentimentality, Hitchens confronted his fate with pure reason and logic. "To the dumb question, 'Why me?' " he wrote, "the cosmos barely bothers to return the reply: 'Why not?' " Nor did his humour desert him. To a Christian who insisted that God had given him "throat" cancer in order to punish the "one part of his body he used for blasphemy", he replied: "My so-far uncancerous throat . . . is not at all the only organ with which I have blasphemed." And to those who insultingly suggested that he should embrace religion, Hitchens's flawless riposte: "Suppose there were groups of secularists at hospitals who went round the terminally ill and urged them to adopt atheism: 'Don't be a mug all your life. Make your last days the best ones.' People might suppose this was in poor taste."

My underlining, and that sentence illustrates the vital difference between atheists, who just want to be left alone in their disbelief of the unbelievable, and those who foolishly fall for all that superstitious nonsense and feel it is their duty to make others embrace their bizzare beliefs in some or other undetectable deity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Typh

He was a particularly scathing polemicist, so at the very least he kept it interesting. It’s neither the time nor the place to voice my opinion on the man in his condolences thread, so I’ll keep my thoughts to myself. As a journalist though, while occasionally accused of playing up his opinions to be point of being a pantomime villain, I thought the guy was just unapologetic and as close to fearless as modern journalists get.
    His work should come secondary to the fact that a father, husband and inspiration to many died today, so condolences to them.

I might as well- while I think his eloquence was occasionally overstated, at least he had some tact when he attempted to dismantle an argument, unlike some of the previous posters who are blurring the margins between atheism and intelligence, and theism and ignorance, without acknowledging how childish the argument is. Hitchens lived his life without apology, and while I feel he wasn’t by any stretch one of the great minds, although potentially one of the loudest, most stirring voices, I feel he was a dying breed in journalism and discourse, so it’s a shame to see him pass. To the person who said he abused his children by smoking and drinking; that’s the worst thing I’ve seen today and I watched a video of a python eating a kitten earlier, don't come out with such a base unsubstantiated insult in a condolences thread. Also, side note, fair dues to philio for standing up so unwaveringly for his beliefs, however controversial they may be. At least he's expressing his opinion and accepting the consequences of unpopular opinion. Even Hitchens himself said there's enough time to be silent in the grave. For that statement alone, I will miss his VF articles.

"The measure of an education is that you acquire some idea of the extent of your ignorance." Hitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Had he not given us free will we would be living as mere automatons and be unable to make choices concerning ourselves

As Hitchens said once, "We have free will because the boss insists on it...".

You said earlier in this topic that you don't know whether he's in heaven or not. Well if you watch from 2:00 of this video, I think that question is answered:

"I wouldn't go if I was asked".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

amacachi wrote: »
    Just religious/spiritual stuff or everything?

Any personal belief that causes no harm to others while providing some comfort to the believer. Why would I seek to mock that? To mock my grandmother for her faith, or a relative who is comforted by his belief that he'll see his dead wife again in some form of Heaven? Why would people seek to sneer at such people? It takes an awful callous, self-regarding, arrogant person to find amusement in that kind of belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I'm no fan of Dawkins, I think it's difficult for anyone to be, he's so lacking in humour and charm, but just because he wasn't a great interviewee doesn't diminish his intellect. I'm not convinced by the use of evolution as a grand narrative for absolutely everything, but his early ideas have a convincing claim to originality, and were hugely influential in his field and beyond. I thought he was quite good on Channel 4's Inside Nature's Giants, but then the material was so interesting to begin with.

I have a lot of respect for Dawkins given all he has achieved in his area of research, and I have sympathy for him since the area he has dedicated his life to is being repeatedly undermined and attacked by some idiots. I can see how that could be extremely grating. True, he's not particularly charming or funny, but he knows exactly what he's talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Einhard wrote: »
    Any personal belief that causes no harm to others while providing some comfort to the believer. Why would I seek to mock that? To mock my grandmother for her faith, or a relative who is comforted by his belief that he'll see his dead wife again in some form of Heaven? Why would people seek to sneer at such people? It takes an awful callous, self-regarding, arrogant person to find amusement in that kind of belief.

I didn't say that there was anything wrong with it, and if people find comfort in it, that's fine. I know plenty of people in my own family (in fact, I'm sure I'm one of the only people in my family who doesn't believe in God) who do, but you have to admit that it is odd.

And I do find it amusing to see some religious people coming on here spouting all this stuff and deliberately hijacking a thread intended for condolences for a man that we know rubbed up plenty of Christians the wrong way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Zillah wrote: »
    He never claimed they were original thoughts. The purpose of his book was to allow closet atheists to feel more comfortable and confident in their non-belief.
    Says who?

Certainly Dawkins refers to the Darwinian motivations for altruism which make religion redundant in the modern world, and quite rightly says that atheists ought not be ashamed of their lack of belief - but to claim this is the purpose of the book is a bit of a leap.

It is very clear to anyone reading The God Delusion that Dawkins spends quite an amount of time examining and attempting to criticise Christian philosophy. My point is simply that his critique of Christian thought is a little deficient and repetitive from a rhetorical point of view. It seems that whenever he gets on to something interesting from a philosophical point of view, for example original sin, he just ends up getting super defensive, ignores the genesis of the idea, and once again pulls out the card that 'God is a statistical improbability anyway, so lets not discuss theology'.

In that regard, for me, the book was massively unsuccessful.
    Basically what I'm saying is that your disappointment is irrelevant to everyone.
    This is a message board.

Do you know how that works?

If it's irrelevant to you save us both the time and don't bother engaging with it.

If you went and bought The God Delusion to hear some never before heard facts about the non existence of a god then more fool you tbh.
    No, it wasn't that I wanted my lack of belief re-inforced with more original thoughts, I saw Dawkins doing a fantastic job of debating a UCD philosophy academic on the Late Late Show and was expecting more of the same in his book.

I was expecting a philosophical book, and what I got was the dummy's guide to Darwinism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

later10 wrote: »
    I was expecting a philosophical book

More fool you again so.

Oh dear, I seem to have upset some Dawkinsians.

There you are moving the goalposts again, typical of your kind so I forgive you.

You said god made them famous, you are wrong.

The End.
    Nope, but your argument seems to stem from the fact that you weren't happy with his book.

If I post on the film forum criticizing Stanley Kubrick because the Shining wasn't half as funny or romantic as I expected then I can hardly expect people to take my arguments seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I didn't say that there was anything wrong with it, and if people find comfort in it, that's fine. I know plenty of people in my own family (in fact, I'm sure I'm one of the only people in my family who doesn't believe in God) who do, but you have to admit that it is odd.

And I do find it amusing to see some religious people coming on here spouting all this stuff and deliberately hijacking a thread intended for condolences for a man that we know rubbed up plenty of Christians the wrong way.
    This is not a condolence thread.
    Reread the thread title and OP.
    It reports the fact the Christy has died, no more, no less.

Cú Globach - Do you agree that it is different to know that something will happen, than directly causing something to happen?
    I do.
    But what about committing an action while knowing what the results of that action will be? In that case you are choosing to cause that result.
    I don't believe it is accurate to say that foreknowledge is the same thing as predestination, or at least not in every case.
    In the case of a deity creating something while at the same time knowing what the results of his actions are, means he is predetermining what will happen, because everything he creates is under his control and formed by him, otherwise, there goes omnipotence.
    Nothing needs to be missing. God can be all powerful, and God can know something will happen without being directly responsible for it. Particularly in the case of free will.
    How can you say he is not responsible for it, when what he creates is up to him.
    When god (supposedly) gave Hitler life, he already knew what he would get up to, if he didn't know this and Adolf could have possibly become a mechanic instead, then there goes omniscience. He had to have known what would happen in the 1930's and 40's and known it well before AH :eek: was born, right back to the beginning of time 6,000 years ago.
    It really is quite simple.
    There is no logical argument for omniscience, omnipotence and free will.

By the way, I'm pretty sure Christopher would absolutely love to see his RIP thread become a logical discussion around religion.

Nope, but your argument seems to stem from the fact that you weren't happy with his book.

If I post on the film forum criticizing Stanley Kubrick because the Shining wasn't half as funny or romantic as I expected then I can hardly expect people to take my arguments seriously.
    Presumably your 'argument' would be that Kubrick's reputation is not deserved from your viewpoint. Nothing invalid about that if one could explain why the took this position.

Although I do have a slightly more respect for Christopher Hitchens, what I am saying here is that in my own opinion, Dawkins is not a particularly eminent thinker. I realise that others may disagree, I'd just be interested in hearing why.

Presumably your 'argument' would be that Kubrick's reputation is not deserved from your viewpoint. Nothing invalid about that if one could explain why the took this position.

Although I do have a slightly more respect for Christopher Hitchens, what I am saying here is that in my own opinion, Dawkins is not a particularly eminent thinker. I realise that others may disagree, I'd just be interested in hearing why.

Who do you consider an eminent thinker?

Yes but you're criticizing Dawkins for something he is not responsible for, he's not labeling himself an eminent thinker, especially not from a philosophical perspective.

Although I would disagree with you in that Dawkins, the evolutionary biologist, is an eminent thinker and I'd say a large portion of the scientific community would be in agreement.

Who do you consider an eminent thinker?
    You want a list?

Noam Chomsky
    Jakob von Weizsäcker
    William D Hamilton

I don't really know if there's something specific you want..?

Although I would disagree with you in that Dawkins, the evolutionary biologist, is an eminent thinker and I'd say a large portion of the scientific community would be in agreement.
    Exactly.
    Dawkins is not a philosopher he is an evolutionary biologist, which is why his books are primarily about showing the proofs for evolution, and he does that very well indeed.

You want a list?

Noam Chomsky
    Jakob von Weizsäcker
    William D Hamilton
    I don't really know if there's something specific you want..?

Indeed not, I was merely curious of the standards you were applying.

God is not Great and The God Delusion are clearly aimed at a general audience, reflected in tone and style. Personally, I find that preferable to the wilfully obtruse. I have no truck with an arid, needlessly convoluted academic style, and would not confuse it with profundity.

Yes but you're criticizing Dawkins for something he is not responsible for, he's not labeling himself an eminent thinker
    But you see I'm not criticising Dawkins specifically any more than I would criticise those who write the 'for Dummies' series. I'm criticising what I consider a popular opinion among a cohort of atheists that as a thinker, Dawkins (or Hitchens for that matter) are particularly brilliant.

Dawkins talent for evolutionary biology is not something I am questioning. I understand that he is a talented scientist in his private life. But his more recent books, linking science with atheism were unremarkable from my viewpoint. Unless one had not previously understood evolution or had not understood the rational basis for atheism, I'm not really sure why one might find them so impressive.

But you see I'm not criticising Dawkins specifically any more than I would criticise those who write the 'for Dummies' series. I'm criticising what I consider a popular opinion among a cohort of atheists that as a thinker, Dawkins (or Hitchens for that matter) are particularly brilliant.

Dawkins talent for evolutionary biology is not something I am questioning. I understand that he is a talented scientist in his private life. But his more recent books, linking science with atheism were unremarkable from my viewpoint. Unless one had not previously understood evolution or had not understood the rational basis for atheism, I'm not really sure why one might find them so impressive.
    Dawkins makes it clear in his most recent books that they are a response to the rise of fundamentalism and the sheer number of people who discount evolution, mainly in The States and to a lesser extent in Europe.