Bargain Basement Food & Ethics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

In terms of store hygiene and food quality, Tesco has to be one of the most appalling supermarkets there is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Paully D wrote: »
    Surprised to see so many people complimenting the meat in Aldi. I've always found it's the equivalent of eating a tyre. That goes for Tesco too. The best supermarket meat is SuperValue IMO.

Aldi and Lidl are great for everything else apart from meat though, IMO!
    Try aldi angus steak. The best steak I've ever eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

You go into ALDI and LIDL to save a few quid and end up walking out of there with a screwdriver set or an LED torch or some other gadget :pac:

i went in for a browse and bought a feckin dvd player. they were the first ones to sell divx compatible dvd players back in 2003. it's still working grand. lidl sausages are almost up there with superquinn though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

lidl sausages are almost up there with superquinn though!

Really?

I've always been wary of sausage meat (now, now). It's usually full of junk, and the only really quality sausage that isn't from an independent butcher tends to be in Superquinn as far as I remember.

Interesting poll result. I know that there can be issues of ethical concerns surrounding all supermarkets, but it's just that these budget stores stock some seriously cheap produce. Some of it comes from outside the EU, from places which may have very questionable wage practices, and I do wonder how the workers have been treated along the production to retail process.

But of course as someone else quite rightly said, it's easy to think about ethics if you don't have to worry about feeding a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Aldi & Lidl have great meat & veg, a large portion of which comes from local suppliers.

Plus their chocolate is fan-feckin'-tastic.

It's handy for me considering Aldi is across the road from Dunnes so I pick stuff up from both stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

I always end up asking myself why this stuff is so much cheaper. Its not like they arent trying to make money like everyone else. They are a business at the end of they day and their main priority will be profits.
    So what are they cutting down on that enables them to sell products so much cheaper.

We shop in Superquinn, but the OH works there so we get staff discount so its not too expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

I always end up asking myself why this stuff is so much cheaper. Its not like they arent trying to make money like everyone else. They are a business at the end of they day and their main priority will be profits.
    So what are they cutting down on that enables them to sell products so much cheaper.

Considering they have a smaller range that is the same in pretty much all places, I'd imagine they have good deals on there products from the suppliers. They wouldn't have as much wastage as some other chains either.

Generally speaking, they operate with less members of staff. While traditional supermarkets will have delis, meat counters and lots of staff for facing and packing products and of course the tills, Lidl and Aldi have much less. Some of the reduction comes from less products, and how they display them - it much less maintenance.

Don't forget too that real quality is not the only thing that affects price - brand recognition and loyalty can increase the perceived quality of goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I don't really shop in either, I have done, but not too often. TBH I don't actually find it much cheaper, with the exception of Beer I don't think it's that much cheaper. I don't find the quality of a whole lot of the products that high either.

Don't get me wrong, there is nowt wrong with shopping in either, they'd be handy especially if they were close to where you lived, but I still tend to find that for stuff like meat and veggies, that I get a FAR better deal going to a butcher or fruit n veg shop. All that takes is a bit of effort. They have stuff on special daily and you can get stuff for half the price you'd get it in the supermarket (no matter which one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Aldi & Lidl have great meat & veg, a large portion of which comes from local suppliers.

Plus their chocolate is fan-feckin'-tastic

It's handy for me considering Aldi is across the road from Dunnes so I pick stuff up from both stores.

Afaik Aldi's produce is over 45% Irish produce which is the highest percentage in the country.

Chocolate bars are bogof in Lidl this week,yum:)

I'm probably in the majority here by saying ethics doesn't play a part in my grocery shopping.It's value for money that's more important plus Aldi & Lidl are fairly near me and both stores are beside each other which is handy.If I can get fruit & veg for 35c why would I buy it anywhere else.
    I've worked in supermarkets before and know first hand the working conditions although from the outside Lidl & Aldi expect their staff to be a jack of all trades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Aldi steak is class.

Go out of my way to get steak from Aldi, lovely and quite cheap, win win situation.

Yep, I get it about once a week. lovely. Nicely aged too. Not like that bright red bloody stuff you get in some places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 james405

Its always going to be tough to shop for "All Irish" goods with supermarket trickery and marketing jargon!

For a while i thought i was buying Glenisk yogurts to support the irish dairy and organic and took a closer look to find out they were acquired by Danone a long way back to boost their natural image! Still supporting Ireland to a degree, the farmers etc but it would be nice to be able to buy something from an all irish owned company!

Ow and yuk to the sausages thing, with food processing today and questions about origins rarely buy them! Find the superquinn ones quite lumpy!

Great article on modern food processing and factory farming, america focused do

http://www.sustainabletable.org/

Here's a list of companies who make the own brand produce http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70930797

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

A good local butcher is worth his weight in gold - way better than some of the muck some of the supermarket sell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭AstridBean

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, there is nowt wrong with shopping in either, they'd be handy especially if they were close to where you lived, but I still tend to find that for stuff like meat and veggies, that I get a FAR better deal going to a butcher or fruit n veg shop. All that takes is a bit of effort. They have stuff on special daily and you can get stuff for half the price you'd get it in the supermarket (no matter which one).
    Tipp Man wrote: »
    A good local butcher is worth his weight in gold - way better than some of the muck some of the supermarket sell

Agree 100% with both these.

For example, FXB Butcher on Moore Street does lovely steak and, well, everything really, for very good prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ethical considerations?

As opposed to the benign, teddy bear-manned worker collectives of Tesco and Dunnes?

We do about 70-80% of the monthly shop in Lldi and Aldi and go to Tesco/M and S and local wholesalers (for meat and for oriental food) for the rest.

Anybody that thinks there is actually any cachet in paying more money for things like household cleaning items, biscuits or vegetables needs a brain transplant. I like to think of it as the Superquinn Sausage Syndrome: the imbecilic notion that certain supermarket goods are inherently superior because of where they're sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭AstridBean

stovelid wrote: »
    Anybody that thinks there is actually any cachet in paying more money for things like household cleaning items, biscuits or vegetables needs a brain transplant.

True in some cases but sometimes it genuinely IS worth spending more, washing up liquid being a biggie for me. Nothing but Fairy is any good, and believe me, I've tried many!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AstridBean wrote: »
    True in some cases but sometimes it genuinely IS worth spending more, washing up liquid being a biggie for me. Nothing but Fairy is any good, and believe me, I've tried many!

I don't drink it myself - just wash dirty plates with it.

Each to their own though.

AstridBean wrote: »
    Agree 100% with both these.

For example, FXB Butcher on Moore Street does lovely steak and, well, everything really, for very good prices.

I remember getting our Christmas Turkey in there years ago (at least I think it was there). The smell of the meats and the saw dusts. Ya can't beat it!

It is true though, if you go to your local Butcher or Fruit n Veg shop you can get great bargains. During the summer I got my husband bacon ribs, he's dutch and couldn't believe his two favourite foods (bacon and ribs) could possibly be combined in one, and I got loads of them for a few euro.

The best thing about your butcher is, if you don't necessarily know how to cook something they'll give ya good tips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

There is really no such thing as a benign retail giant, but aldi comes a lot closer to it than any of the others that operate in ireland. Tesco, dunnes and lidl are all renowned as total cúnts, both to work for and to deal with, aldi generally speaking treat their employees and suppliers a lot better than the others.
    I have of course based this largely on rumour and hearsay, but hey, that's good enough for me.:D:D
    As for buying off them, i'll buy off whoever is cheapest, now's not the time to be morallistic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

RachaelVO wrote: »
    During the summer I got my husband bacon ribs, he's dutch and couldn't believe his two favourite foods (bacon and ribs) could possibly be combined in one, and I got loads of them for a few euro.

Truly, one of the all time great inventions.
    Either a bit of cabbage and mash, or curly k. Heaven on a plate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't find Aldi or Lidl to have inferior quality stuff so I don't see any reason not to shop there. They source a lot of stuff from Ireland and the rest seems to come from Europe so their as local as you can get in this day and age.

Wouldn't have everything I need though which is the real problem with them, that and they par their shops in awkward places out here in the west so they're a pain to get into and out of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Wurly wrote: »
    I only go to tesco's for vegetarian food as Aldi don't do it.

Fruit and vegetables aren't vegetarian now? :eek:

Truly, one of the all time great inventions.
    Either a bit of cabbage and mash, or curly k. Heaven on a plate!

Ah yeah, "proper" dinners as my Nanny used to say.

We always used to have bacon ribs on a saturday night, watching whatever was on (generation game, pot black...) with a bottle of red lemonade, and then a bar of dairy milk... Was magic!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭DogsFirst

phasers wrote: »
    Aldi for dog food

Ummmmmm........with more meat on a butchers knife you might as well throw your dog a slice pan.

Price is guide of quality in dry dog food (very broadly speaking and up to a point, after supermarket brands the premium brands only differ by the colour of their bag). Save money on food, spend it in the vets.

Best subsidise a higher quality dog food with the cheap meat found in Aldi and Lidl etc. Avoid coloured kibble, cereal with gluten (wheat, barley, rye) and you've found a good base.

Just a thought....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Not a big Aldi fan unless we're having a party and need half decent finger food.

Lidl on the other hand is great for veg and some meats. Nothing wrong with their mince, they have good lamb chops and great ham fillet type thing for less than €5; decent selection of cheeses at a good price; excellent lunch meat; cheap cleaning supplies although herself reckons fairy does last lots longer, and all their perishable goods are sourced locally. Frozen veg is fine too as is their tinned tomatoes (we make all our own sauces from scratch) but I would only buy Batchelors or Heinz beans. Similarly if you want mint sauce or proper english mustard you wont get it here.

The good thing about Aldi / Lidl is if you like things like fetta cheese, fresh parmesan; gherkins; chorizo sausage, etc they're reasonably priced as opposed to other stores who sell same as 'specialist' food.

For 'proper' meat, i.e steaks, roasts, etc can't beat a proper butcher although I do recommend this place highly if you've a bit of room in the freezer.

Lidl / Aldi also have some very drinkable wines at very reasonable prices and often have special deals on good french wines, e.g. Sancerre / Chateauneuf du Pape.

For beers Centra do great deals and Superquinn have an excellent selection of proper speciality / craft beers at 6 for €12, i.e. €2 a pop. O' Briens also have a great selection and are reasonably priced for same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Shhh

Meat in local butcher.. Best combo of quality and value
    Fish in local fish shop.. supermarket fish is cr@p.
    Cleaning stuff in health food shop.. The Eco friendly stuff, it's more expensive but we use far less of it than the cheap stuff.
    Duck! loo rolls, coffee, chocolate, wine, tinned tomatoes, pasta, rice, tea, mayo, in lidl
    Fruit and veg in local greengrocer or lidl

Booze mainly in lidll too..

Hate hate hate tesco, hate doing big shops, Love doing lots of small shops and and spreading it out.. Then it's less like a chore..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

We shop in Superquinn, but the OH works there so we get staff discount so its not too expensive.

As above said :D + Tesco, unpack everything and place them on the shelves, whereas Aldi, Lidl, just open the boxes, so a lot less staff needed.

Lidl I only use to buy junk, the cakes are georgous,
    Aldi, the coffee, €2.29 for a bag of ground coffee, which is better than the Bewleys in Tesco's (at €4.89 last time I checked)

Lidl I only use to buy junk, the cakes are georgous,
    Aldi, the coffee, €2.29 for a bag of ground coffee, which is better than the Bewleys in Tesco's (at €4.89 last time I checked)

Bewleys and Robert Roberts make all the coffee and tea for Aldi;) It's a fraction of the price because there's a different name on the label.
    Their McGraths label tea is lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

zerks wrote: »
    Bewleys and Robert Roberts make all the coffee and tea for Aldi;)
    Link?

For the Bewley's one in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

later10 wrote: »
    Link?

For the Bewley's one in particular.
    aldi publish small magazines that are available in store with details of their suppliers. i think its purpose to promote their products that are sourced in ireland. robert roberts are listed as the tea supplier, the bread is spicers if i remember correctly and the dairy produce is from a cork supplier. the meat and veg are from irish farmers too.