Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

podge018 wrote: »
    why did the fans of Carousel write and perform it originally?

For the purpose of a musical I would imagine
    podge018 wrote: »
    You're some piece of work. I'm done here.

And cut to dramatic exit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Is Rarnes from Limerick too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

rarnes1 wrote: »
    You get all sorts on RAWK, best avoided imo.

Don't take it seriously and it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Your only a gowl.
    That's limerick city kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The word "gowl" is the best thing culchies ever did for this country, imo.

amiable wrote: »

Nope, further north - Galway.

Great word gowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

Why LFC are on the right track

SOMETIMES, a game of football can leave you speechless; its events are inexplicable, its conclusion incomprehensible.

For the second time in seven months, Liverpool supporters felt that at Craven Cottage.

In May, Kenny Dalglish’s Liverpool raced into a three goal lead after 16 minutes. Maxi scored his second hat-trick in three games, Lucas patrolled the midfield alone and Luis Suarez became puppeteer, pulling strings, pushing those around him and pulling Fulham apart.

Seven months on, the woodwork was struck twice; it was twice more than the Fulham net bulged, twice more what Henderson and Downing deserved for superb strikes. Maxi remained on the bench, the infallible Lucas remained on crutches and puppet master Suarez had his hands scythed off by an overzealous whistle and liberal offside flag.

The performance against Fulham this season was not to the supreme standard of last season, but Liverpool could have – and should have – taken more from the game. Most supporters left frustrated and bewildered.

It’s a feeling they’ve become accustomed to this season.

Fantastic wins at the Emirates, Goodison and Stamford Bridge, combined with the fantastic pass-and-move Dalglish has reinstalled into the squad, should see Liverpool alongside Manchester City at the top of the table.

Instead, a battle for third place and Champions League football appears the more realistic target.

It was the target all along.

In spite of that, some have engaged in hysteria following the three defeats.

Jon Walters’ penalty at the Britannia heralded the end of Dalglish’s honeymoon, while Tottenham’s 4-0 win prompted the divorce papers. Fulham, quite simply, signalled the end of the world.

It matters not the fortuitous nature of Stoke’s penalty and subsequent victory; it matters not Spurs were up against nine men. It doesn’t even matter Liverpool were in control at Craven Cottage until Kevin Friend’s decision to send off Jay Spearing – a decision, and tackle, which could have been redundant had Luis Suarez’s legitimate goal stood.

After three defeats in 18 games, Liverpool rest five points from fourth place having faced the presupposed top four, Spurs and Everton. If the league was scored as boxing is, Dalglish’s men would be top.

But it’s not scored like that; points are not awarded to compensate poor refereeing decisions or striking the woodwork. Football doesn’t work like that. Sometimes, results are inexplicable; its conclusion incomprehensible.

Kenny Dalglish knows this; he knows his team must start converting chances more often and make dominance count.

Speaking after the Fulham game, he said: “Luis scored a goal which didn’t count that could have gone either way and Charlie Adam could have got a penalty when he got pulled down.

“We have done well and, given a bit of luck tonight, we could have had three points. We will just continue working hard and see where it takes us.”

Dalglish knows a lot of things – more than some give him credit for. Behind the gleaming smile, twinkling eye and oversized jacket rests knowledge and experience accumulated over 25 years - 25 years which has brought four league titles and two FA Cups.

He knows how to change things. He knows things will change. He knows much doesn’t need to change.

Such is the club’s familiarity with Kenny, some forget he’s been in charge less than a year and in permanent charge for a mere six months.

The club’s identity, both on and off the pitch, was distorted by the previous regime; it no longer felt like Liverpool Football Club, it no longer represented the values of those who follow them.

The actions of Hicks and Gillett had a damaging effect on the entire club; Dalglish is still just emerging from the wreckage. He’s the only one who could.

Things have already changed off the field. The Kop is united. The club, so emasculated in recent years, now stands firm against those who attempt to damage their own. Dalglish’s recent defence of Suarez is far removed from last year, when accusations of Fernando Torres’ diving went unchallenged.

On the pitch, Liverpool have regain a swagger lost over the past few years; they’re into the Carling Cup semi finals with minimum fuss and have troubled every team they’ve faced. Agger and Skrtel look to be forming a fantastic partnership, while players such as Bellamy, Maxi, Henderson, Adam and Suarez have thrived under Dalglish’s guidance.

After such a drastic transformation in less than 12 months, it’s no surprise some supporters expect progress to continue so steeply. But it won’t.

Although both Gerard Houllier and Rafa Benitez brought success to the club in the infancy of their reigns, their insignia and style was not evident for years. Istanbul and Cardiff will always live in supporters’ memories, but Rafa will recall his clinical pressing machine of 2009 with greatest fondness.

Within two periods of transfer activity, Kenny has installed a squad in his mould. They can pass, move, press and carve teams open. All that’s lacking is the cutting edge in front of goal to accompany that virility; all that’s lacking is a little bit of luck.

Kenny knows both will come in time – and so should the supporters. He’s restored pride in the Liverbird upon the shirt and made the club a force once more in every aspect; there’s nothing stopping him getting everything else right, too.

Sometimes, a game of football can leave you speechless; its events are inexplicable, its conclusion incomprehensible.

But over the course of a managerial reign, you normally get what you deserve – and Kenny Dalglish deserves the best.

He demands the best, too; and that alone is enough to know Liverpool are back on track. The goals will simply follow; so too, in time, everything Liverpool supporters have dreamed of since he left the club 20 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

thats an excellent piece.

Bring on QPR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

amiable wrote: »

Shame he is not. He could have joined you as one of my Limerick beyatches.:D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

See this on Twitter,
    I thought ye boys would enjoy it.

Andy Carroll and Fabianski Sex Tape

http://setantabetblog.com/andy-carroll-and-fabianski-sex-tape/

Someone probably better embedding the YouTube Clip...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

3 points tomorrow is a must,I am ovr myself going to be a cold one.

Des wrote: »
    The word "gowl" is the best thing culchies ever did for this country, imo.

To my ears the whole damn lot of you are culchies, with the Dubs sounding particularly Oirish, especially Shel supporters ;)

Best thing that could happen is if Munster (minus Tipperary and plus Galway) floated off to warmer climes, and left the rest of the culchies with their hybrid Dub/Offaly/Kildare accents. :D

Munster (-Tipp but + Galway) rocks. :cool:

Dub13 wrote: »
    3 points tomorrow is a must,I am ovr myself going to be a cold one.

Cold? Cold? It is always lovely and sunny in Liverpool in December. Never a hint of a bitter biting cold wind, nor any signs of rain or snow. :p

Kess73 wrote: »
    Cold? Cold? It is always lovely and sunny in Liverpool in December. Never a hint of a bitter biting cold wind, nor any signs of rain or snow. :p

Ha ha,it may be warm in Liverpool but we are on the boat so I am sure the Irish seas will be cold.One of the lads has his own mini bus and takes it over from time to time,the smaller trips are great.

Would totally agree that smaller trips are usually the best in terms of craic and comradery.

Yes they are great.Having a bit of a break then as xmas costs me a fortune with 4 young kids so not back over ontill Stoke then Bolton away.You got many planned over the Xmas..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,657 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Neil Warnock has defended Luis Suarez today on SSN, saying players have to put up with a lot of these chants, and it's ridiculous that people in the crowd don't have to suffer any repercussions.

i always liked good aul' Colin.

I disagree ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

beyatches.:D

There's something not right about you using this word Kess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

SlickRic wrote: »
    Neil Warnock has defended Luis Suarez today on SSN, saying players have to put up with a lot of these chants, and it's ridiculous that people in the crowd don't have to suffer any repercussions.

I've never fully liked Warnock as a manager but it's nice to see him standing up for a player that's not his own like that imo

@Richard_Buxton_ Richard Buxton
    Seems the tide is about to turn against the FA. Pulis & Moyes adding their voice to Dalglish's comments about their disciplinary standards.
    @juliette_grace juliette ferrington
    Now Moyes has a go at FA. "The times I've been in front of them, it's like a kangaroo court. You've got no chance."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

SlickRic wrote: »

I suppose if anyone can empathize with the abuse Suarez gets, its got to be himself

Yes they are great.Having a bit of a break then as xmas costs me a fortune with 4 young kids so not back over ontill Stoke then Bolton away.You got many planned over the Xmas..?

Should be back and forth a bit, so will catch a few games on my trips. Had thought I would get to the QPR game but with an early morning flight available to Mancland in the morning there is a slight chance it will happen if I can move a few things around schedule wise. Have a season ticket so it is just a matter of me being able to get over for home games so I don't have to plan too far ahead with regards to tickets, accommodation etc. Quite often it is a case of me knowing a day or so ahead that I have a window timewise in which I can get back for a game, and if I can get flights from Shannon or Cork to and from Liverpool/Manchester/Leeds/Birmingham during that window then off I go.

Much tougher on lads who have to source tickets, source accommadation, travel methods etc., and far more planning needed for them as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

384966_304988326199850_118450714853613_1017829_1664170578_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Moyes, Pulis & Warnock have all echoed Dalglish's comments from yesterday to one extent or another. The joys of having a British manager I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

I hope Kenny gives Shelvey a start tomorrow.

Needs to drops some players after Fulham. Sick of him carting out excuses. Drop Suarez for sticking his fingers up at the crowd. Same goes for any of the rest of them...Kelly, Carragher whoever. We need to reclaim the Liverpool ethos. Sick of the diving and commenting on refs in the media.

Roy Keane berating United's new players in the media, would be nice to hear the likes of Alan Hansen or Graeme Sounness having a pop at a couple of our lads. Can't blame everything on Andy Carroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

would be nice to hear the likes of Alan Hansen or Graeme Sounness having a pop at a couple of our lads.

No it wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Moyes, Pulis & Warnock have all echoed Dalglish's comments from yesterday to one extent or another. The joys of having a British manager I guess.

Nothing but a sideshow. Less talking and more wining games. I don't think a Liverpool manager should be mouthing off when a club like Spurs are ahead of us in the league. It's embarrassing.