Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entrapment? - either way it's ridiculous..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the legal position might be?:confused:

I'd say the Ban Garda would be on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭SIMPLYTHE

Ormus wrote: »
    Maybe we should take a vote.

Illegal - Who would like prostitution to be controlled by criminals?

Legal - Who would like prostitution to be regulated?

Are there any people who think that making prostitution illegal will result in there being no more prostitution?

Obviously you haven't read up on Amsterdam - please see above. In short, it's run by criminal gangs. Your above summarised approach does not reflect reality. Honestly, it makes really interesting reading, it's not what you'd expect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

The article clearly states that most police investigations on human trafficing concern legal sex businesses.

Granted, I clearly missed that.

But of course a failing to regulate the industry properly is not representative of the industry itself.

I'd like to see numbers on Ireland, it is legal here afterall so the claims presented by the anti-legalisation group should be supported by some findings.

Seachmall wrote: »
    We're talking about legal prostitution, Amsterdam, like every country in the world, has a huge underground sex market. There's no indication there that they operated as legal prostitutes.

I'm not being pedantic on this matter. The red light district is huge real estate in the industry (obviously) and those windows aren't cheap and the prostitutes that operate in them are absolutely regulated. The words in the articles linked also indicate the women weren't regulated
    All 45 victims are women, who have likely been put to work in the sex industry.

Like I said, the market will always be there and people will be there to satisfy it. Regulation on these matters is always better than criminals having control of it.

We wouldn't have an increase because it's already legal.

sorry, but you are being pedantic. Ireland's situation currently is not commensurate with the likes of Amsterdam or Germany. Once Prostitution is fully legalised, it is extremely hard to regulate -hence human trafficking, gang and drug activity balloon.

You seem to presume that fully legalising it will mean that it is completely controlled by the State and it will be fully regulated and criminal involvement will decrease... This has not been successfully done anywhere else - why in God's name would you presume that it could be done successfully in IRELAND of all places after we've cocked up just about everything else we've tried in the last while (excuse the pun).

Granted, I clearly missed that.

But of course a failing to regulate the industry properly is not representative of the industry itself.

QUOTE]

Surely the fact that numerous countries have tried to regulate fully- legalised prostitution and have failed horrendously is representative of the industry itself though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

SIMPLYTHE wrote: »
    Obviously you haven't read up on Amsterdam - please see above. In short, it's run by criminal gangs. Your above summarised approach does not reflect reality. Honestly, it makes really interesting reading, it's not what you'd expect...

I was being sarcastic.

Once Prostitution is fully legalised, it is extremely hard to regulate -hence human trafficking, gang and drug activity balloon.

You seem to presume that fully legalising it will mean that it is completely controlled by the State and it will be fully regulated and criminal involvement will decrease... This has not been successfully done anywhere else - why in God's name would you presume that it could be done successfully in IRELAND of all places after we've cocked up just about everything else we've tried in the last while (excuse the pun).

Prostitution here isn't tolerated, it's not decriminalized, it's completely 100% legal. You can't get more legal than legal.
    Surely the fact that numerous countries have tried to regulate fully- legalised prostitution and have failed horrendously is representative of the industry itself though?
    Not necessarily, illegal imports of cigarettes are huge here (and most other countries aswell I'd imagine), doesn't mean the tobacco industry is one that should be abolished (at least not for that reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭jerry2623

Not sure why the Mods have a problem with these guys been named ...
    The amount of people forced into this business is huge and there pimps are violent and harsh bastrds who do not give one damm

and the people listed below are no better than the people who run these girls scum of the lowest order

They are: Denis Enright (52), of Dromin, Listowel, Kerry; John Galvin (63), of Carrigeen, Croom, Co Limerick; Noel Mason (52), of Monaskeha, Clonlara, Co Clare; Valentin Munteanu, (28), of Kilmore, Grange, Co Limerick; Wayne Murphy (25), of Singland House, Ballysimon, Limerick; Noel O’Brien (27), of Ballingoola, Grange, Co Limerick; Krzysztof Poczynski (24), of Crestwood, Kilteragh, Dooradoyle, Limerick; Gary Stack (67), of Druimeen, Ennis, Co Clare; Adam Pustkowski (36), of Vartery Avenue, Raheen, Limerick; Derek Power, (49), of Glantan, Castletroy, Limerick; Patrick Quilty (38), of Castletown, Pallaskenry, Co Limerick; Gearoid Phelan (23), of Castletroy View, Childers Road, Limerick; Conor Carey (33), of Corelish, Pallasgreen, Co Limerick; Eamon Coffee (42), of Mortalstown, Ardpatrick, Kilmallock, Co Limerick; Michael Dorman (51), of Borrigone, Askeaton, Co Limerick; Serghei Boldescu (31), of The Grove, Huntsfield, Dooradoyle, Limerick; Séamus Keane (59), of Coolreiry, Castleconnell, Co Limerick; James Lynch (49), of Mayne, Kilmeady, Co Limerick; Dimitri Yakovlev (40), Parkview Court, Lord Edward Street, Limerick city; Makki Mutaz (45), of Foxes Bow, Limerick city; and Michael Ryan (63), of Knocka Lower, Drom, Templemore, Co Tipperary. Each man admitted offering money for sex at various locations in Limerick city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Prostitution here is legal in that its legal for a woman to prostitute herself but a lot of components of it are illegal. Its illegal to solicit on the street. Its illegal to run a brothel or to pimp. My point is that all of the parts of it that are illegal should remain so. Its not possible to completely legalise it and protect women.

Prostitution here is legal in that its legal for a woman to prostitute herself but a lot of components of it are illegal. Its illegal to solicit on the street. Its illegal to run a brothel or to pimp. My point is that all of the parts of it that are illegal should remain so.

I completely agree. Ireland has a surprisingly progressive approach to prostitution. However I think the naming and shaming of those individuals is ridiculous. The judge is essentially saying they can't be prosecuted by the courts of the law so he has them prosecuted by the media. Absolutely ridiculous and not how our courts should be operating.
    Its not possible to completely legalise it and protect women.
    It is completely legal though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

kraggy wrote: »
    21 men charged and plead guilty to soliciting females on various streets in Limerick.

The women they were soliciting were gardai posing as prostitutes.

Turn up with a camera and tell them you'll pay them to let you take naked photos. If they're a hooker, wait 'til their naked and then tell them you want to bone them instead. A member of the Gardia won't get as far as taking her kit off, and you can't get arrested for being a photographer! :D

jerry2623 wrote: »
    The amount of people forced into this business is huge and there pimps are violent and harsh bastrds who do not give one damm

and the people listed below are no better than the people who run these girls scum of the lowest order

They are: Denis Enright (52), of Dromin, Listowel, Kerry; John Galvin (63), of Carrigeen, Croom, Co Limerick; Noel Mason (52), of Monaskeha, Clonlara, Co Clare; Valentin Munteanu, (28), of Kilmore, Grange, Co Limerick; Wayne Murphy (25), of Singland House, Ballysimon, Limerick; Noel O’Brien (27), of Ballingoola, Grange, Co Limerick; Krzysztof Poczynski (24), of Crestwood, Kilteragh, Dooradoyle, Limerick; Gary Stack (67), of Druimeen, Ennis, Co Clare; Adam Pustkowski (36), of Vartery Avenue, Raheen, Limerick; Derek Power, (49), of Glantan, Castletroy, Limerick; Patrick Quilty (38), of Castletown, Pallaskenry, Co Limerick; Gearoid Phelan (23), of Castletroy View, Childers Road, Limerick; Conor Carey (33), of Corelish, Pallasgreen, Co Limerick; Eamon Coffee (42), of Mortalstown, Ardpatrick, Kilmallock, Co Limerick; Michael Dorman (51), of Borrigone, Askeaton, Co Limerick; Serghei Boldescu (31), of The Grove, Huntsfield, Dooradoyle, Limerick; Séamus Keane (59), of Coolreiry, Castleconnell, Co Limerick; James Lynch (49), of Mayne, Kilmeady, Co Limerick; Dimitri Yakovlev (40), Parkview Court, Lord Edward Street, Limerick city; Makki Mutaz (45), of Foxes Bow, Limerick city; and Michael Ryan (63), of Knocka Lower, Drom, Templemore, Co Tipperary. Each man admitted offering money for sex at various locations in Limerick city centre.

They are sad and desperate men. To say that they're as bad as pimps or human traffickers is incredibly naive.

Prostitution here isn't tolerated, it's not decriminalized, it's completely 100% legal. You can't get more legal than legal.
    Not necessarily, illegal imports of cigarettes are huge here (and most other countries aswell I'd imagine), doesn't mean the tobacco industry is one that should be abolished (at least not for that reason).

Missing the point....my point is you seem to presume that legalising prostitution makes it safe for prostitutes and is overall a good thing, but you seem not to accept that fully opening up the prostution market here will lead to an increase in negative things.. and I say WILL because that's what's happened everywhere else...I don't know why you'd presume Ireland would be any different.

People is not cigarettes monsieur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Has Limerick not got worse problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

bound to have been someone driving round limerick who recognised one of these women and thought - 'jaysus, i thought she used to be in the guards! times must be hard!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭jerry2623

Sad and Desperate they maybe . Not sure you would have the same reaction if it was your kid sister they were Banging away at.
    OR maybe who is married to your sister or kid and having unprotected sex with one of the Gentlemen named above

Lets line them all up and shoot them so! :)

Seriously anyone handy in the aul graphs department who could throw up a graph showing the spread (unfortunate word I know) of the ages, it might help us to identify the danger age for men who would be seduced by a shameless hussy and we could get the HSE on board to come up with a park and ride prevention programme. Obviously there would have to be ongoing support to ensue they don't lapse not to mention the aftercare.

I completely agree. Ireland has a surprisingly progressive approach to prostitution. However I think the naming and shaming of those individuals is ridiculous. The judge is essentially saying they can't be prosecuted by the courts of the law so he has them prosecuted by the media. Absolutely ridiculous and not how our courts should be operating.

It is completely legal though.

How did the judge say they couldnt be prosecuted by the court of law:confused: If that was the case their case would never have made it to court, they would not have pleaded guity been found guilty and been ordered to pay a fine. Are you saying they were fined for not breaking the law.

Missing the point....my point is you seem to presume that legalising prostitution makes it safe for prostitutes and is overall a good thing, but you seem not to accept that fully opening up the prostution market here will lead to an increase in negative things.. and I say WILL because that's what's happened everywhere else...I don't know why you'd presume Ireland would be any different.

I don't accept that fully opening up the prostitution market here will lead to an increase in negative things because the prostitution market has been fully open since the 1970s, in fact I'm not even sure if prostitution here was ever anything but "fully open".

Why do you think that it will suddenly turn to **** when it hasn't thus far?
    People is not cigarettes monsieur.
    Obviously an analogy...
    How did the judge say they couldnt be prosecuted by the court of law
    I'm saying the fact they were named and shamed seems to me like the judge, or police, has a problem with prostitution's legal status and because he couldn't prosecute these men for looking for prostitutes he released their names to the public as a sort of act of "justice" to deter others from soliciting prostitutes.

Remember they weren't arrested for soliciting prostitutes, they were done for doing it in public. If it were done online they wouldn't have committed a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

How did the judge say they couldnt be prosecuted by the court of law:confused: If that was the case their case would never have made it to court, they would not have pleaded guity been found guilty and been ordered to pay a fine. Are you saying they were fined for not breaking the law.

They were fined for solicitation in public, not trying to have sex with a prostitute.
    Solicitation in public is the crime, not the payment of money for sex.

I don't accept that fully opening up the prostitution market here will lead to an increase in negative things because the prostitution market has been fully open since the 1970s, in fact I'm not even sure if prostitution here was ever anything but "fully open".

Why do you think that it will suddenly turn to **** when it hasn't thus far?

Obviously an analogy...

I'm saying the fact they were named and shamed seems to me like the judge, or police, has a problem with prostitution's legal status and because he couldn't prosecute these men for looking for prostitutes he released their names to the public as a sort of act of "justice" to deter others from soliciting prostitutes.

Remember they weren't arrested for soliciting prostitutes, they were done for doing it in public. If it were done online they wouldn't have committed a crime.

I see in the court pages of my local paper every week the names of numerous people who have broken the law and were prosecuted in court. Why do these men deserve to have their crime kept hidden?

The naming and shaming is used to punish them beyond the means of the law.

I see in the court pages of my local paper every week the names of numerous people who have broken the law and were prosecuted in court. Why do these men deserve to have their crime kept hidden?

I wasn't aware this is a regular thing, I thought given the publicity it's getting it was an extraordinary event. Maybe it's just a slow news week.

Anyway, if that's the case then I'm fine with it.

Interesting over half of them are of an age where you would expect them to be married and sexually active - Could it be that the wives had gone off sex for one reason or another and these men in order to fulfil their needs had to look elsewhere without the wherewithal to carry on what would be considered a normal relationship with another woman due to having herself at home?

Sad and Desperate they maybe . Not sure you would have the same reaction if it was your kid sister they were Banging away at.
    OR maybe who is married to your sister or kid and having unprotected sex with one of the Gentlemen named above

Your argument is ridiculous.

I'd get more angry if someone hit my sister than if someone raped a child in The Phillipines.

Does this mean I think punching is worse than rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,530 ✭✭✭SeanW

This is simply not true. Please research the prostitution problem in Amsterdam. Their legalisation of same has increased human trafficking enormously, among with gang and drug activity. I'd recommend you look up what the Mayor of Amsterdam himself said about the situation recently - that Amsterdam "made a mistake" thinking that legalising it would make it safer for women... It doesn't.
    How about Germany? AFAIK prostitution is legal throughout the country, the business is regulated, they even have call girls' unions and everything!
    28064212 wrote: »
    As was alcohol in America during the 20s. Why? Because it was made illegal, and control of alcohol was passed to criminals
    Hammer, Nail, Head. It's happening in all sorts of areas where authoritarians have made stupid "morality" laws like drugs, prostitution, and in 1920s America, alchohol.

The cure (criminalisation) is often worse than the supposed ailment (whatever was considered "bad" to begin with). It's just unfortunate that we are ruled by authoritarians who do not see this. We will all continue to suffer the unnecessary consequences until whenever, if ever, this changes.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

SeanW wrote: »
    How about Germany? AFAIK prostitution is legal throughout the country, the business is regulated, they even have call girls' unions and everything!

Same problem as Amsterdam massive human trafficing problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

scholar007 wrote: »
    Lets line them all up and shoot them so! :)

Seriously anyone handy in the aul graphs department who could throw up a graph showing the spread (unfortunate word I know) of the ages, it might help us to identify the danger age for men who would be seduced by a shameless hussy and we could get the HSE on board to come up with a park and ride prevention programme. Obviously there would have to be ongoing support to ensue they don't lapse not to mention the aftercare.

Know you are joking, but there is no part really graphing such a small set (only 21 individuals). If you want to work off Ages though (5 year bands starting from youngest age):

23-28 : 5
    29-33 : 2
    34-39 : 2
    40-45 : 3
    46-51 : 3
    52-57 : 2
    58-63 : 3
    64-69 : 1

Or by decades:
    20s = 5, 30s = 4, 40s = 5, 50s = 4 and 60s = 3

The average age is 42.71.

Pesky unions, I hear SIPTU are knee deep in trafficking these days.

It seems to be on-par with the rest of Europe.