Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entrapment? - either way it's ridiculous..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

biko wrote: »
    but it's one of the worst crimes against women.

Not all women are delicate flowers who's innocence need to be protected. Some recognize sex for what it is, a meaningless act and one an entrepreneuring woman can turn profitable.

In fact most women nowadays hold that opinion, a quick scan of Coppers will prove this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Prostitution might seem like a lesser crime...
    That's because it isn't a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What happens if you first ask them if they are a garda? Do they legally have to tell you the truth and could you use this in your defence if they had first lied to you.

jester77 wrote: »
    What happens if you first ask them if they are a garda? Do they legally have to tell you the truth and could you use this in your defence if they had first lied to you.

No, they don't have to tell you they're garda. If that were the case every undercover operation would be destroyed with one single question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Seachmall wrote: »
    Not all women are delicate flowers who's innocence need to be protected. Some recognize sex for what it is, a meaningless act and one an entrepreneuring woman can turn profitable.

In fact most women nowadays hold that opinion, a quick scan of Coppers will prove this.

No most women dont hold that opinion where the feck did you get that idea :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I think it's a joke. If cops want to be prostitutes to make a few extra bob in the run up to silly season it's their own choice.

And now those poor men who were only doing there bit for charity are in trouble with the law.

Shocking stuff.

No most women dont hold that opinion where the feck did you get that idea :confused:

From all the drunk chicks that go home with a guy for a one night stand.

And feminists.

But mostly drunk chicks.

From all the drunk chicks that go home with a guy for a one night stand.

And feminists.

But mostly drunk chicks.

Right and all of these drunk chicks you meet speak for ever other women in the country:rolleyes:

The guys in question deserve to be named. If their crime is so minor how will it ruin their lives?

Right and all of these drunk chicks you meet speak for ever other women in the country:rolleyes:
    And you do?

No, but the feminists try to. And they do a good job of it too.
    The guys in question deserve to be named. If their crime is so minor how will it ruin their lives?
    Because people still think prostitution should be illegal and is a disgusting hate-crime against women.

What these guys wanted to do wasn't illegal, how they went about it was. The judge couldn't enforce an unjust law so he Named and Shamed them. It's despicable.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    And you do?

Yep because my word is more reliable than drunk chicks :P

Because people still think prostitution should be illegal and is a disgusting hate-crime against women.

What these guys wanted to do wasn't illegal, how they went about it was. The judge couldn't enforce a n unjust law so he Named and Shamed them. It's despicable.

People think it should be illegal because it should be. Why would you want it legalised:confused:

Yep because my word is more reliable than drunk chicks :P

And feminists. Don't forget the feminists.
    People think it should be illegal because it should be. Why would you want it leagalised
    I want it to remain legal to ensure women aren't being forced into prostitution, so diseases aren't being spread, so crime isn't being funded by it and because women, not the law, should be in control of their bodies and what they do with them.

People think it should be illegal because it should be.
    Wow, what a fantastic argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

What these guys wanted to do wasn't illegal, how they went about it was. The judge couldn't enforce an unjust law so he Named and Shamed them. It's despicable.

Too right - in fact it should be up there in schools as a career option...I mean, what woman in her right mind wouldn't want to be hanging around the streets for some creep she is so unattracted to that she charges him to grope her body/perform sexual favours. It's just not right joe! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

The vast majority of women who prostitute themselves dont want to do it and many of them as doing it against their will.

Sounds like most jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Proper order, soliciting prostitutes is such a scumbag thing to do.

For anyone pro prostitution, would you approve it as a career choice for your mother, sister, wife, girlfriend, daughter even granny (a la Rooney)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

I mean, what woman in her right mind wouldn't want to be hanging around the streets for some creep she is so unattracted to that she charges him to grope her body/perform sexual favours.

Someone who enjoys money no doubt.

Too right - in fact it should be up there in schools as a career option...I mean, what woman in her right mind wouldn't want to be hanging around the streets for some creep she is so unattracted to that she charges him to grope her body/perform sexual favours. It's just not right joe! :mad:

Because that's entirely what I'm in favour of, congrats on getting such a good grasp of my position.

You must be so proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,052 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Triangla wrote: »
    For anyone pro prostitution, would you approve it as a career choice for your mother, sister, wife, girlfriend, daughter even granny (a la Rooney)?
    Yeah, like this argument never comes up. I don't want any of those people to work as binmen, or in McDonald's either, that doesn't mean any of those jobs should be illegal.

Can anyone on the anti-prostitution side answer me this question: take a woman who decides, competely informed and of her own free will, that, rather than work in McDonalds or go on the dole, she would like to be a prostitute. She was not coerced, she was not trafficked, she is not on drugs, she employs herself, she was not abused as a child, she practices sex that is as safe as possible and she has no hangups about whether men see her as a sex object or not. Should what she wants to do be illegal? Why? Should her clients be criminalised? Why?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

It would be money and resources better spent tackling the gang and scumbag problem in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Judge Eamon O’Brien told one accused man who had requested free legal aid because he was on social welfare: “I’m not granting free legal aid. If you can afford a lady of the night, you can afford a solicitor.”

So he is going to get rode.

it's one of the worst crimes against women.

Right so, in your opinion, all of these women prostitutes, who choose to sell their bodies for money, are victims of crime?

Seriously that is a fairly unfair and skewed way of looking at things.

And feminists. Don't forget the feminists.

I want it to remain legal to ensure women aren't being forced into prostitution, so diseases aren't being spread, so crime isn't being funded by it and because women, not the law, should be in control of their bodies and what they do with them.

It is illegal to solicit a postitute, women are trafficed and forced into prostitution very day. In places where protitution is completely legal like Amsterdam they have a massive human trafficing problem.
    I agree women should have the right to do what they want with their own bodies but the lives of the women who dont have the choice need to be protected first.

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    Someone who enjoys money no doubt.

Yep, well known for producing all those millionaires, the auld prostitution - jumping out their lamborghinis to turn tricks, they are joe.

but the lives of the women who dont have the choice need to be protected first.

Legalising and regulating it would achieve a massive step in preventing this, yet you are anti-legislation. :rolleyes:

It is illegal to solicit a postitute

Nope, it's not.

Perfectly legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,052 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Doom wrote: »
    It would be money and resources better spent tackling the gang and scumbag problem in Limerick
    It would be money and resources better spent tackling human trafficking and forced prostitution, instead of making a crime out of a transaction between two consenting adults

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    Legalising and regulating it would achieve a massive step in preventing this, yet you are anti-legislation. :rolleyes:

How so?

Nope, it's not.

Perfectly legal.

Actually, soliciting is illegal under Irish law...have a read of the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act of 1993.