Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

zerks wrote: »
    What was Suarez doing here today?? Great player but lets himself down by stuff like this (and racist comments;))

suarezg6ujn.gif

Does'nt look like he's doing anything tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Is anyone else not arsed about Tuesdays game ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

mixednuts wrote: »

I'm arsed but only because it's Chelsea tbh. Some really good teams left in the cup this season.

mixednuts wrote: »

Fulham away Monday week far more important.

Still looking forward to Tuesday though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

zerks wrote: »
    What was Suarez doing here today?? Great player but lets himself down by stuff like this (and racist comments;))

suarezg6ujn.gif

I think he was trying to break Kompany's leg, while racially abusing him just before diving and claiming this is Liverpool's year

Anyone who thinks any different is obviously a typical Liverpool fan who can't recognise that Suarez is the only diver in the premier league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Probably a bit early for Morgan yet. Physically I think he'd be dominated and it could end up setting him back. I think next year will be his chance.

I would like to see Eccleston get on the bench a bit though, now that he's back from his loan spell. Serious pace, composed finisher and looks to have built up physically.

Good shout actually. And if shelvey comes back there is another goal threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

Ecclestone? Jaysus, just because he scored a few for the reserves doesn't mean he should be anywhere near the first team. He's barely a Championship level player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

K-9 wrote: »
    His first full season in the reserves AFAIK. We do have Maxi and Bellamy, not out and out strikers though. If we do bring in one it makes it even harder to get Carroll game time.

Spending £35 Million on a striker and getting rid a year later? Meh. More of Chelsea getting rid of Torres.

I might be totally wrong here but the only way i see another big purchase up front is if we actually do get into top 4. And we would need it.

At the end of the day, Carroll needs to show something, i know he was bought for the future but at the same time, you need to be improving to actually have a future.

It will be interesting to see in the future what happens with Carroll, if theres no improvement who will blink first, i believe our owners can be ruthless if they want to be (and i hope they are). Its all ok if it was a case of a blank canvas for Kenny at the start, there could unfold an ironic situation where qualifying for the cl might be the only way Carroll can stay. By that i mean, we would need the extra body in the squad with important games 3 times a week.

But by this time next year i would want to see something from him. Converting chances is where we are showing up badly.

In an ideal world, top 4 this year would be great but not easy. If we got top 4, i would like to see a player like Cavani or that mould come in and maybe some of the spotlight off Carroll would help him and us. Although we cannot and should not 'carry' anyone in the squad if they arent pulling their weight on the pitch over a season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

daithijjj wrote: »
    I might be totally wrong here but the only way i see another big purchase up front is if we actually do get into top 4. And we would need it.

At the end of the day, Carroll needs to show something, i know he was bought for the future but at the same time, you need to be improving to actually have a future.

It will be interesting to see in the future what happens with Carroll, if theres no improvement who will blink first, i believe our owners can be ruthless if they want to be (and i hope they are). Its all ok if it was a case of a blank canvas for Kenny at the start, there could unfold an ironic situation where qualifying for the cl might be the only way Carroll can stay. By that i mean, we would need the extra body in the squad with important games 3 times a week.

But by this time next year i would want to see something from him. Converting chances is where we are showing up badly.

In an ideal world, top 4 this year would be great but not easy. If we got top 4, i would like to see a player like Cavani or that mould come in and maybe some of the spotlight off Carroll would help him and us. Although we cannot and should not 'carry' anyone in the squad if they arent pulling their weight on the pitch over a season.
    If it wasnt for a world class save today he would have had hes goal!

Hopefully he gets the 90 mins on tuesday, a goal or 2 would do him the world of good.

If he doesnt get the minutes he cant get the goals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I think he was trying to break Kompany's leg, while racially abusing him just before diving and claiming this is Liverpool's year

Anyone who thinks any different is obviously a typical Liverpool fan who can't recognise that Suarez is the only diver in the premier league
    Lol.Had the funniest mental image of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

el dude wrote: »
    Ecclestone? Jaysus, just because he scored a few for the reserves doesn't mean he should be anywhere near the first team. He's barely a Championship level player.

Only way to know is to give him a chance. He's always linked up well with players the creative vision (Pacheco, Suso, Sterling), so would be interesting if with the likes of Maxi, Adam and Suarez if he can push on another level, making the right runs for them to find him.

Honestly, I dont thin he'll end up having a future at the club, but right now he has attributes that noone else at the club really has. For me, the ideal person to play with Suarez is fast, alert, mobile and a good finisher.
    I'd like to see him on the bench V Chelsea anyway.

He's 20 now, so it's kinda time to find out what stage is he at. No point in him just faffing about being too good for the reserves, he should either have a chance, or go straight back out on loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

If it wasnt for a world class save today he would have had hes goal!

Hopefully he gets the 90 mins on tuesday, a goal or 2 would do him the world of good.

If he doesnt get the minutes he cant get the goals!

We need him to take chances when he gets the starts like the one he hit the bar with v Swansea.

The reason people talk about great goalkeeping in the last 10 mins against us (Ruddy, Vorm etc) is because we havent been taking the host of chances created in the previous 80 mins in those games. If you take your chances early you dont run into goalkeepers with siege mentalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Amoo scored for Bury yesterday. I'd hold out more hope for him than Ecclestone.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Having just watched MOTD2 - we really should have won it. Plenty of chances but as Kenny said, a fantastic performace by the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Rega wrote: »
    That was on my birthday. 7 years ago tomorrow. Went fúcking mental after that one went in!

:( Fuck

Watching Henderson reminds me of the early days of Lucas or Maxi. The hordes will call him shit because he isn't skinning defenders all game or hitting 40 yard diagonals but in time, they'll start to understand just what he brings to the team. They'll learn to appreciate his use of possession and his movement. Give the hordes time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yep just saw MOTD, on chances its was a clear who was on top, did Henderson get in camera range once?

I have to say while I perfectly respect that Bellamy didn't play you just know he'd have loved to have torn into City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Played well today against an excellent team. City worked hard and had genuine quality and we matched them blow for blow.

Was annoyed with Skrtel's acting that got Mario sent off though. If a player from another team did that against Liverpool I would be raging. The contact was with the back of his head, yet Skrtel went down holding his face.

Kompany/Suarez was a great tussle to watch, although the attempt at raking the legs with his studs bu Luis was not nice to see. Kompany was brilliant today, oh to have a player like him beside Agger in defence.

Lucas and Adam were very good as well today imho, and Henderson did his own cause no harm with a decent performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Any ideas on team for Tuesday night?

Reina
    Kelly Coates Carragher Aurelio
    Spearing Adam
    Henderson Maxi Downing
    Carroll

Is orbit on tv at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

slingerz wrote: »

Reina
    Spearing Adam
    Henderson Maxi Downing
    Carroll

Is orbit on tv at all?

There was talk of Kenny telling fans not to buy tickets a few weeks ago as it will be kids playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I wonder how much pressure Chelsea are under to play a strong starting 11? AVB may reckon he needs to win something this season.

Reina
    Kelly-Carra-Agger--Aurelio
    Lucas-Spearing
    Henderson-Maxi---Bellamy
    Carroll

GK, Johnson, Coates, Enrique, Adam, Kuyt, Suarez

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

Reina
    Spearing Adam
    Henderson Maxi Downing
    Carroll

Is orbit on tv at all?

Don't think it's on anywhere. Highlights will be on BBC though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Turtyturd wrote: »
    There was talk of Kenny telling fans not to buy tickets a few weeks ago as it will be kids playing.

.... ah sure, we all know you won't win anything with kids:D

Highlights of the chelsea game on BBC 1 at 11.05 Tuesday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Kess73 wrote: »
    Was annoyed with Skrtel's acting that got Mario sent off though. If a player from another team did that against Liverpool I would be raging. The contact was with the back of his head, yet Skrtel went down holding his face.

Its difficult to see from the angle they showed, but agree it looked fairly innocuous. I know every club has players that do it, but its something I'd really like to see Kenny try an stamp out. There's a few of our players that have been guilty of this sort of thing this season, and regardless of the fact that we're hardly alone in benefiting from it at times, I'd love to see an end put to it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Liveonlinefooty showed the our last game in the league cup.

Just seen Carrolls header there again, he really did connect with it perfectly. Just unlucky that Hart was in such good form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Reina
    Spearing Adam
    Henderson Maxi Downing
    Carroll

Is orbit on tv at all?

Read that alright but with the 1st team being off until the following Monday I reckon it'll be a strong enough line up with a few being rested. Think Chelsea will have a strong line up as they need to get some momentum going

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Its difficult to see from the angle they showed, but agree it looked fairly innocuous. I know every club has players that do it, but its something I'd really like to see Kenny try an stamp out. There's a few of our players that have been guilty of this sort of thing this season, and regardless of the fact that we're hardly alone in benefiting from it at times, I'd love to see an end put to it

The Sky replays during the game and the MOTD 2 replays were pretty damning imho. I just cannot stand that kind of thing, and it just keeps Skrtel in the "looks like a thug, but plays like a fairy" bracket for me.

He got a player sent off in the wrong, and it was a pretty cowardly act.

Was pretty impressed with how Agger marshalled the defence today though. He showed at times just how well he can read the game, and has really stepped up to the plate this season, and especially since Carragher was injured/rested/dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Whatever about his reaction Kess, it was a definite second yellow. Mario (the legend) led with his arm. Can't do that & not expect a yellow card for it.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Whatever about his reaction Kess, it was a definite second yellow. Mario (the legend) led with his arm. Can't do that & not expect a yellow card for it.

There was minimal contact, and hardly enough to send a 6'3 centre back tumbling to the ground holding a part of him that the replays clearly showed was not touched.

He dived and feigned injury to get another player sent off.

As for Mario leading with the arm. You see far more blatant leading with the arm most weeks going unpunished. He was quite unlucky to get a second yellow for that.

I don't blame the ref as without the benefit of replays it did look worse than it actually was.

If Kompany had gone down and feigned injury in the same manner after a Suarez challenge, both you and I would be spitting fire over it. Skrtel cheated by pretending to get a knock to the face, and he deserves to be criticised for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Actually Kompany did a shot by a sniper impression toward the end & I've not mentioned it! ;)

Agger & Skrtel look a formidable combo at the back since Carra's been out. We were playing the best team in the league today & they barely got a sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Kess73 wrote: »

He dived and feigned injury to get another player sent off.

As for Mario leading with the arm. You see far more blatant leading with the arm most weeks going unpunished. He was quite unlucky to get a second yellow for that.

Raising the arms is one of those things that isn't allowed anymore in the game. Carroll suffered from that in the opposite side of the pitch at the start of the season.

Agreed Skrtel made the most of it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.