Postmans Christmas presents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Kiera wrote: »
    Haha i get a little excited thinking about people putting things in my box :D

Diirrty! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Kiera wrote: »
    Haha i get a little excited thinking about people putting things in my box :D

As you do ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He can go get f**ked as can the binman

The c**t does'nt bother delivering parcels that require signatures, caught him more than once at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

John Doe1 wrote: »
    And then ironially she did fcuck the binman

He dumped his load on her.. oh yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

He dumped his load on her.. oh yeah

Dont be talking rubbish ;):p

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

This thread has presents, Durrty talk, prime time and obscene amounts of money in it. I just need fog lights and taxis and it's a perfect thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Postmen arrive at my shop every day and take away a minimum of 8-10 parcels, lugging them into the van. Whole lot of them are sound, hard working lads.

Drop into the sorting office every Christmas with a big tin of sweets and a case of beer and they all go ape shít, they love it. Give a few of the regular lads something small too, makes all the difference and its nice to be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

My mam always slips him a tenner in a card. He's a decent man and in fairness once he manages to deliver a letter that had my mams first name, the name of our road (without the 'road' at the end of it) and our county.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

For those who said they would/are giving something, are you from a city or rural area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

We always gave our old postman a present. He was nice and friendly, did his job well and with a smile. The new guy just isn't bothered and does as little as he can, giving out we don't have a mail box so he has to drive another 2 seconds to our door. He won't be getting a present.

Rural area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭shuffles88

I won't be giving him anything for the simple reason that he has a job and I don't. Having said that though I probably still wouldn't even if I had a job, I know my parents give him something and I know the guy I used to work for always gave him €20/€50 each Christmas so how much does he actually walk away with at the end of the day? Not to sound pious or anything but wouldn't it be better off going towards less fortunate people? I know there are plenty of families that will be going without this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Quirkygirl wrote: »
    It is certainly a tradition around my locality but since I saw the primetime investigates I took a stronger stand on this, it claims the average postie after 10 years service is earning 49 grand a year.

No, the average postperson does not make 49k a year after ten years.

And yes, we always give our postman something for Christmas. He's great. This might also have something to do with the fact that I used to do the job myself. :D

How about giving him a pair of dog proof trousers! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I was a rural postman for about six months, mostly winter, over fifty years ago. It was hard going on a big heavy bike, made by a plough manufacturer in Wexford, and carrying parcels as well.:D

It taught me a lot about human nature. There was never a day when I wasn't invited in out of the wind and rain for a cup of tea at several houses, always those of relatively poor people, and when Christmas came round I got a few shillings, and at least the offer of a drink, from the same people. :)

By contrast, the strong farmers and some other better-offs mostly lived down long avenues and I had to cycle down every day because they always got post and many of them subscribed to newspapers - right wing, naturally - but they wouldn't give you the steam off their piss. Instead, they would only complain because their post was late arriving in the busy days leading up to Christmas.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

im a postie aswell, the comment about 49k is well wide of the mark, in regards tips,i get a few,i deliver in the city so its mostly office folk ,dentists etc who will give a card ,some of the more elderly also will chase ya down and be insulted if you dont take their 5 euro.

but im being honest when i say a simple merry/happy christmas mr postman is worth more than a seemingly 'i better give the postman a tip or else ......' card from my customers..

we see the same people usally 5 days a week,have a joke,a laugh,eventually over time ask how the kids are,their exams going etc etc,its this type of interaction that makes the job what it is..not very well payed,working in all weathers.. remember the ice/snow.. remember the hurricane winds that hit..we have to go out,in vans/bikes/walking.. im there 15 years and never once in all the terrible weather was it ok NOT to go out in it,

its meeting the people, becoming somewhat friends,knowing a letter from america is for the mary walsh on sq avenue not the mary walsh on round avenue,simply because you know she has family in america and the other mary dosent.

so a happy christmas will do me, just dont hide away because you think you havta tip your postie,you dont,it costs nothing to be nice,and it will be rememberd.

so happy christmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

barone wrote: »
    im a postie aswell, the comment about 49k is well wide of the mark, in regards tips,i get a few,i deliver in the city so its mostly office folk ,dentists etc who will give a card ,some of the more elderly also will chase ya down and be insulted if you dont take their 5 euro.

but im being honest when i say a simple merry/happy christmas mr postman is worth more than a seemingly 'i better give the postman a tip or else ......' card from my customers..

we see the same people usally 5 days a week,have a joke,a laugh,eventually over time ask how the kids are,their exams going etc etc,its this type of interaction that makes the job what it is..not very well payed,working in all weathers.. remember the ice/snow.. remember the hurricane winds that hit..we have to go out,in vans/bikes/walking.. im there 15 years and never once in all the terrible weather was it ok NOT to go out in it,

its meeting the people, becoming somewhat friends,knowing a letter from america is for the mary walsh on sq avenue not the mary walsh on round avenue,simply because you know she has family in america and the other mary dosent.

so a happy christmas will do me, just dont hide away because you think you havta tip your postie,you dont,it costs nothing to be nice,and it will be rememberd.

so happy christmas :)

Too Right!!!

People are losing the plot imo !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Quirkygirl

Oh holy s**t fair enough I'm suing those F#ckers on p/time for false info and giving my postie a box of celebrations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Quirkygirl wrote: »
    Oh holy s**t fair enough I'm suing those F#ckers on p/time for false info and giving my postie a box of celebrations?

now chocolate is a different matter entirely,nobody mentioned chocolate, surprisingly given out by a few of my dentists on my route at xmas ..

will always say yes thank you to chocolates :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

olivia432 wrote: »
    really this post is awesome

Ho Hoooh!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,783 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Postman's last day
    It was the Postman's last day on the job after 35 years of carrying the mail through all kinds of weather to the same villages and towns.

When he arrived at the first house on his route, he was greeted by the whole family there, who all hugged and congratulated him and sent him on his way with a cheque for £50.

At the second house they presented him an 18-carat gold watch.

The folks at the third house handed him a bottle of 15-year old Scotch whisky.

At the fourth house he was met at the door by a blonde in her lingerie. She took him by the arm and led him up the stairs to the bedroom where she blew his mind with the most passionate love he had ever experienced. When they went downstairs, the blonde fixed him a full English breakfast: bacon, eggs, sausage & tomato with freshly squeezed orange juice. As she was pouring him a cup of steaming coffee, he noticed a £5 note sticking out from under the cup.

“All this was just too wonderful for words", he said, "but what's the five quid for?”

“Well,” said the blonde, “Last night, I told my husband that today would be your last day and that we should do something special for you”.
    “'I asked him what I should give you”.
    He said, “**** him. Give him a fiver.”

She smiled shyly and said, “The breakfast was my idea.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Remember the days when you would give struggling trinity arts students cocaine and hookers?:D

Can't say I do, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

antodeco wrote: »
    For those who said they would/are giving something, are you from a city or rural area?

Not rural, nor city, live in a large village with about 4000 people.

Not a chance I'd give my postman anything, the number if times he put a sorry we missed you slip through my door so that I have to go to the sorting office is beyond belief. On a number of occasions when expecting packages ive opened the door to confront him over it and each time he just shrugs his shoulders and tells me if I want my package I know where to get it.

There's also been the times he's forced parcels into the letter box that are obviously far too big to fit. On one occasion I had to get a hammer in order to get a parcel containing Blu-Rays out, in the process destroying cases, inlay and two discs.

He also recently left a large package for my next door neighbor from amazon with contents worth Over 200 euro on their front step in aim view of anyone who walked by. Luckily we saw it or who knows what would have happened it as at the time my neighbors were away on holidays.

I've made numerous complaints about him but no one seems to care, I guess the incompetence and general apathy goes all the way to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Not rural, nor city, live in a large village with about 4000 people.

Ah, a culchie with notions. :D