Should chimps be given human rights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

44leto wrote: »
    Warning if chimps got full human rights culchies would want them to.

No, they want opposable thumbs first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

How many chimps fought against the Black and Tans? Why should we provide for them when they didn't see fit to help us in our hour of need :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

smash wrote: »
    Next thing you'll want us to house them and give them the dole.

T'would be keeper than forcing them to stay in a zoo. It would teach them responsibility too. There's plenty of free accommodation in places like Moyross, they might be able to put manners on the locals there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    T'would be keeper than forcing them to stay in a zoo.

Sorry... what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Chimps they look nice and cute when Tarzan or Micheal jackson are cuddling them. If I was ever challenged by them in the wild you would think you could easily give the yoke a boot and a few clatters and that would be that.

BUT they are five times stronger then us, they are capable of tossing a wrestler out of the ring and tearing a limb off with bare strength. Also they are quick with a very powerful bite. When they are in an aggressive state they are extremely dangerous as many who took them for pets later and some fatally found out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

Chimps they look nice and cute when Tarzan or Micheal jackson are cuddling them. If I was ever challenged by them in the wild you would think you could easily give the yoke a boot and a few clatters and that would be that.

BUT they are five times stronger then us, they are capable of tossing a wrestler out of the ring and tearing a limb off with bare strength. Also they are quick with a very powerful bite. They in an aggressive condition are extremely dangerous as many who took them for pets later and some fatally found out.

That's why we'd liberate them and house them where the Limerick gangs live. They'd sort the area out pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

No, I don't think we'll be telling them that!

http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_liamwworZv1qztjn5o1_500.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Chimpanzees would'nt want the very complicated existance humans have .They are far better off in many ways .Mortgages or bill of any sort they don't have.Worrying about food...they don't .How much time does it take a chimp to get ready for a date??????????

Besides they are not aware, they live and are capable off suffering, they are instinctual beings, but that's it. To be aware of one's existence you have to be able to form an internal dialogue, you have to understand language. Chimps or any other creature other then human cannot.

So no they should not be granted human rights, but they should not be treated cruelly either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

c_man wrote: »
    How many chimps fought against the Black and Tans? Why should we provide for them when they didn't see fit to help us in our hour of need :mad:

It was gorillas duh. Why do you think it was called gorilla warfare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Warning if chimps got full human rights culchies would want them to.

We'd want the chimps to do what exactly??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Stocking Drinks Whiskey

Regardless of how similar our DNA is they still are wild animals who either live in the wild, in cages, in human managed conservatories or whatever and in rare case, as pets.

Yes, they may be smart in comparison to most other animals but they do not match us in regards to intelligence, hell, most of the "smart things" they're capable of are things humanity thought them to do, not things they are able to figure out on their own, like how you train a dog.

Now, rights? The only ones living in human society are ones in zoos or the ones kept as pets and even they're supported by their owner(s) like any other common pet.

Basically, they are not eligible for rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Jerri Jordan

they should be given the right to live freely and safely in their natural environment away from paochers and human contact. the land they live on should be protected and deemed to be theres not mans. let them get on with their own social structures and man should just stop destroying their habitats and using them for medical science. They should not be allowed be bought as babies , raped from their mothers arms for the sick amusement of peoples home zoo's. Chimps should have the rights to keep their offspring and live happily away from human intrusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I think they should be under sharia law:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

John Doe1 wrote: »
    I think they should be under sharia law:)

Think they're Christian. I heard one refereed to as a Primate the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

stovelid wrote: »
    Think they're Christian. I heard one refereed to as a Primate the other day.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MonkeysAreMuslims

John Doe1 wrote: »
    3/10 for making me click the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

What rights would we give to the big massive one that climbs the building? I cant see him paying tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 ForgottenCandy

Er, it would be more like chimp rights, not human rights, cause technically, they're chimps and not humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

BUT they are five times stronger then us, they are capable of tossing a wrestler out of the ring and tearing a limb off with bare strength.

Infacta they are 125 times stronger than a man and could lift a bus full of 75 screaming school children and toss it about 150 meters.

All their feats are divisible by 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

if we dont give them the same rights they very well may rise up against with horses and bamboo sticks.............just think about that and ask urself is it worth it?

Infacta they are 125 times stronger than a man and could lift a bus full of 75 screaming school children and toss it about 150 meters.

All their feats are divisible by 25.
    Just something I seen on nat geog a kind of "when pets attack show" up to then I would have fancied my chances against a chimp.

Only 4 times stronger then us according to this,

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=the%20strenght%20of%20a%20chimp&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CBkQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedaily.com%2Freleases%2F2009%2F03%2F090330200829.htm&ei=s1XOTpvaFo2JhQep8ODBDQ&usg=AFQjCNHu19E0FZamcYMrB2REYrBgUl8z3A

"chimpanzee attack, during which a pet chimp inflicted devastating injuries on a Connecticut woman, was a stark reminder that chimps are much stronger than humans—as much as four-times stronger, some researchers believe. But what is it that makes our closest primate cousins so much stronger than we are? One possible explanation is that great apes simply have more powerful muscles"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

44leto wrote:
    "But what is it that makes our closest primate cousins so much stronger than we are? One possible explanation is that great apes simply have more powerful muscles"

No ****.

Stark wrote: »
    No ****.

Yeah really:D that would explain it

Anyway I think Chuck Stone was thinking about King Kong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/45/138163009_145eee499d.jpg

Simpsons has a pic for every thread it seems:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Why would chimps want human rights? They already have chimp rights, and that's obviously way better. They can strut around **** all day if they want, or slap their neighbour in the head if he's being a prick without having to risk law suits. Humans should be given chimp rights!

Chimp rights ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yeah really:D that would explain it

Anyway I think Chuck Stone was thinking about King Kong.

Na, I was just talking shite. I practice every day on AH. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Fish and chimps with mushy bee's...

Delish...

Just something I seen on nat geog a kind of "when pets attack show" up to then I would have fancied my chances against a chimp.

Only 4 times stronger then us according to this,

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=the%20strenght%20of%20a%20chimp&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CBkQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedaily.com%2Freleases%2F2009%2F03%2F090330200829.htm&ei=s1XOTpvaFo2JhQep8ODBDQ&usg=AFQjCNHu19E0FZamcYMrB2REYrBgUl8z3A

"chimpanzee attack, during which a pet chimp inflicted devastating injuries on a Connecticut woman, was a stark reminder that chimps are much stronger than humans—as much as four-times stronger, some researchers believe. But what is it that makes our closest primate cousins so much stronger than we are? One possible explanation is that great apes simply have more powerful muscles"

At the end of the day though we could easily wipe them out if we actually desired to.

So much for their strength.

At the end of the day though we could easily wipe them out if we actually desired to.

So much for their strength.

Huh, really.
    Well they can't outrun a bullet, or block it with their strength, I suppose we could wipe out anything if we had the will and the bother to, including ourselves.

Flies I think there is a good case for wiping them out, I just don't like them.