If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

HEC: Castres Olymique vs Munster, Sat 19 Nov 3:40pm; Pre/During/Post Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,783 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Blocks a kick to set up a crucial score, kicks the winner - and a great all round performance too. What a hero.

Munster are just magnificent, such desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Matt Williams
    I'd give POM man of the match again, he was incredible. Brings huge intensity and that try was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ah here, that's just crazy. ROG for sainthood at this stage.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Blocks a kick to set up a crucial score, kicks the winner - and a great all round performance too. What a hero.

Let's not get too carried away now!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Matt Williams
    Podge_irl wrote: »
    A little bit. But he's under no obligation to shout anything. They should know what they're doing is illegal.

Agreed. I wouldnt of given any warning.
    But if you choose to give one you cant go mouthing off to the players afterwards sayiing "I told you to breakaway"

Could very easily of been Frenchs guys come round the side and hes talking to them.
    He didnt even say Red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Matt Williams

And there'll still be people trying to tell you he had a bad over all game on other threads, who cares when he does that. He was very good all round tonight as well though

wixfjord wrote: »
    Let's not get too carried away now!

O'Gara was great, genuinely. There's a lot of life in the old dog yet.

Error strewn game, not sure any side deserved to win really. If Munster had brought their A game they would have come out of that with a handy victory imo.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    And there'll still be people trying to tell you he had a bad over all game on other threads, who cares when he does that. He was very good all round tonight as well though

I actually thought he didn't play that well until the second half, couple of poor missed kicks too, but I hadn't realised he was just building up to the hero finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

I don't get the whole Munster poor playing, getting lucky, fortunately having O'Gara, etc...

Seen from my French point of view, Munster is like Manchester United in soccer. No matter how great or poor you are you're always one of the toughest team to play, home and away and in the end you almost always get the win. These last 2 HEC games are the perfect example. Cold blooded war machine that KNOWS how to win. In the end, that's what matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Excellent stuff from ROG

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The back to back with Scarlets very interesting now. Despite playing pretty poorly at times in the last two games, I still think Munster could win both which would obviously see them with one foot in the quarters. You have to hand it to them for their ability to pull things out of the fire at the last minute.

Matt Williams
    I'm a bit disappointed we didn't get the bonus point in that game. Obviously I'm delighted to get the win but that was a game we could have scored 4 or 5 tries in if we had been a tiny bit more clinical. Too many errors.

Chambers was excellent when he came on, as was Leamy once again. DOC was fairly good too. I thought Varley had a very good game, and Ronan was actually excellent. Best ever game in the HC from him imo. But POM motm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Aidric wrote: »
    Error strewn game, not sure any side deserved to win really. If Munster had brought their A game they would have come out of that with a handy victory imo.

If Castres had brought their A team they would have come out with a handy victory either.

O'Gara is saving Munster in the short term, but this has been two poor performances in a row and they won't be held up on that, the media will just write about O'Gara being the legend he is, and not Munster being the average team that they have been. They need to hold themselves to a higher standard than this or they'll continue to slide. Hopefully McGahan won't hide behind the legend of O'Gara.

O'Gara was great, genuinely. There's a lot of life in the old dog yet.

Ah no come on now.
    He was grand in the game, missed an easy kick or two, mixed performance.
    Certainly not great.
    The DG was unreal alright.
    This is where history gets lost a little.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I'm a bit disappointed we didn't get the bonus point in that game. Obviously I'm delighted to get the win but that was a game we could have scored 4 or 5 tries in if we had been a tiny bit more clinical. Too many errors.

Chambers was excellent when he came on, as was Leamy once again. DOC was fairly good too. I thought Varley had a very good game, and Ronan was actually excellent. Best ever game in the HC from him imo. But POM motm.

:eek::eek:
    Once again lads, leave behind the last two mins, and Munster were poor in that.
    Come on now.
    One try from a block down, one from an awful mistake from them.
    Great result but it's a little rich being dissapointed with not getting a bonus!
    There was some awful rugby in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Aren't we blessed that the HEC is an annual event rather than waiting every 4 years. Most exciting competition in sport. Not often that pool games in sport have grand-stand finishes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Munster's group to lose now. A win is a win and if they could do that every week, they would take it gladly. Castres simply don't have the depth to compete at this level week in week out. Llanelli aren't good enough to take more than 4 points at the best from their double header. Their tries last night were all pure opportunism and if a side plays a tight game it will take much more for them to get points on the board. Not a single kickable penalty won in the entire game by them. Not sure any side will be getting a home QF but who knows the way things are playing out.

Funny that the Castres plan to "cash in" back fired so badly. Half filled a stadium and lost the game. If they had kept it at home they'd have a bigger crowd and might have had a better chance. PR disaster for them with their own fans also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Wasn't a great performance but, just like last week, we could/should have had twice the try count we had. Chambers was great when he came on, he has to start 13 from now on. Leamy has to be (one of) the most poorly treated players in the country; I'd start him ahead of Coughlan for the Scarlets game as, Coughlan's been poor.

POM and POC were the pick of the starters for me. Who was the mom?

Ps. ROG for president!!

Matt Williams
    Come on now.
    Great result but it's a little rich being dissapointed with not getting a bonus!

Any time we score 3 tries and had about 3 other really good chances, I'll be disappointed. Howlett was very close in the corner...and there were a couple of times we were about 5-10 metres out and we knocked in or threw the ball away. You take what you get, we got lucky...but we should have taken other chances.

Come on now.

They were on 3 tries so not beyond the realms of possibility they could have gotten the 4. There are as many worrying signs as promising ones though.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Any time we score 3 tries and had about 3 other really good chances, I'll be disappointed. Howlett was very close in the corner...and there were a couple of times we were about 5-10 metres out and we knocked in or threw the ball away. You take what you get, we got lucky...but we should have taken other chances.

I suppose yeah.
    Could look at it both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If Castres had brought their A team they would have come out with a handy victory either.

O'Gara is saving Munster in the short term, but this has been two poor performances in a row and they won't be held up on that, the media will just write about O'Gara being the legend he is, and not Munster being the average team that they have been. They need to hold themselves to a higher standard than this or they'll continue to slide. Hopefully McGahan won't hide behind the legend of O'Gara.

If your Aunt had balls she'd be your uncle.

Every Munster fan would put their hands up and say this team is in transition and not up their with the elite teams and wont be for a few years, the fact that we're still competing with and beating teams we shouldnt show how ruthless they are.

Form is temporary, class is permanent.
    Good teams win even though they don't play well. Wins like this will keep them ticking over nicely.

GerM wrote: »
    Llanelli aren't good enough to take more than 4 points at the best from their double header. Their tries last night were all pure opportunism and if a side plays a tight game it will take much more for them to get points on the board.

Munster aren't exactly short on the mistakes front at the moment though. Not a hope of Scarlets winning in TP, but then 4 points from the double header could be all Scarlets need if Munster can't win against NH - which is certainly far far far from an easy task.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,178 ✭✭✭fitz

O'Gara was as below par as the rest of the team over the course of the game tbh, saved their bacon at the end, and will be praised as a legend, but missed a few touches, bad penalty miss. Hope Munster can address the issues with their last few performances, and that the last minute excitement doesn't result in it the problems being glossed over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

razorblunt wrote: »
    If your Aunt had balls she'd be your uncle

Clearly didn't see the statement I was replying to. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

razorblunt wrote: »
    Form is temporary, class is permanent.

Alas players are not. Munster need to start doing a Dolly the sheep with ROG now because he's hands down the most important component to them. Put in an average HEC outhalf in his place and the whole picture changes. Lose POC and you bring DOC or MOD in who can up their game. Lose ROG? Irreplaceable for a side like Munster.

Not sure who got MOTM but Masoe was superb from start to finish.

GerM wrote: »
    Not sure who got MOTM but Masoe was superb from start to finish.
    If I'm not mistaken I heard the stadium announcer call him out as motm.

iroced wrote: »
    I don't get the whole Munster poor playing, getting lucky, fortunately having O'Gara, etc...

Seen from my French point of view, Munster is like Manchester United in soccer. No matter how great or poor you are you're always one of the toughest team to play, home and away and in the end you almost always get the win. These last 2 HEC games are the perfect example. Cold blooded war machine that KNOWS how to win. In the end, that's what matters.

Great post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Matt Williams
    JtjlV.jpg