Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loads of cars with no lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

If we all used LED's with the exception of Headlights this wouldn't be much of an issue.

I'm in the process of replacing every bulb on my rear cluster to LED's.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I reckon it is a side effect of a lack of routine servicing. Generally due to lack of money. Sign of the times really...
    Tbh I don't think we can blame this one on the recession, it's been going on for years, good times and bad. People just think it's acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Fey! wrote: »
    If they can afford a car up to 4 or 5 years old, then they can afford the €2-€10 bulb. Otherwise let them park it.
    Fey! wrote: »
    Why can't somebody think of the children!!! :P

If they're that concerned with their childrens safety, then surely they'd want the car their children are in to be as visible as possible? There are plenty of cars out there with NO lights working on the back and only one on the front.

This includes a large number os PSVs, too, which are for some reason ignored by the Gardai despite them being driven by "professional" drivers and spending more time on the road than the average family vehicle.

Just because someone has over-extended themselves (living beyond their means) doesn't give them the right to endanger the rest of us by driving a vehicle on the road which is invisible in the dark.

Bad car design is, again, not the problem of other road users. While lights on some cars (Peugeot 206 and Audi A4 come to mind) are a pain in the arse to change, repairing your car after a collision (or being without a car after someone hits you due to your lack of lights) is an even bigger pain in the arse.

now you are gone from saying 1 bulb gone to one bulb working. thats a major difference. 1 bulb not working is not going to be the end of the world but 3 out of the 4 main ones not working is just downright dangerous and plain stupid..

if i see 1 headlight coming towards me i always assume it is a car with one light not working not a motorbike etc.

dont get me wrong, im not saying its ok to drive around with lghts not working but i can see why some people do it. there is not one person on the road who has never done something stupid and put themselves or others in danger. the problem is 99% dont realise they have done it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

MugMugs wrote: »
    If we all used LED's with the exception of Headlights this wouldn't be much of an issue.

I'm in the process of replacing every bulb on my rear cluster to LED's.
    Works better if you don't need a shunt (or series) resistor to fool your canbus. Total current could actually be higher with an LED + big resistor (guessing, haven't looked into it). A direct current driven LED would be better alright.

TBH, dunno if the small fry bulbs really put much strain on the alternator or your pocket in terms of MPG. (but LEDs are quicker and last longer and can be brighter)

The fact that so many people use fogs for no reason suggests incompetence and vanity are more common than thriftiness.

I also blame crappy access to bulbs in many modern cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,270 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I've found 2 things (aside from the usual misaligned/broken lights)

- people on motorways/dual carriageways in the oncoming lane who refuse to dip the lights as they approach you cause shure isn't there a whole concrete/wire barrier between us so it's not like we could have an accident loike :rolleyes:

- idiots driving around Dublin or on the M50 with minimal/no lights on cause shure isn't that what all these streetlights are there for :rolleyes: Yes I'm looking at you woman who was driving an SUV southbound at Ballymun 2 weeks back oblivious to every car around her flashing her while she drove with no lights on! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭jaffa20

My bulb blew last night. Straight to halfords today on my break and fitted it in 2 minutes in pissing rain. It's bloody annoying seeing everyone in my mirrors with broken lights. Not a hard thing to fix. The sooner points come in for this, the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,377 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I will set you all a challenge, see if you can spot 10 cars in a row that have all correctly working and focused headlights without any foglights on, you will find this close to impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

jaffa20 wrote: »
    My bulb blew last night. Straight to halfords today on my break and fitted it in 2 minutes in pissing rain. It's bloody annoying seeing everyone in my mirrors with broken lights. Not a hard thing to fix. The sooner points come in for this, the better!

It's even more annoying seeing them coming up behind with them put in badly. A lot of people seem to struggle with replacing the bulb.

Eventually they connect it and just push the bulb through the hole and not putting it into it's holder correctly leading every other road user to be blinded by the badly aligned lights.

Out of interest I've noticed a good few cars with no rear lights working. What would be the insurance position if you were to rear end a car which you couldn't see at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

jaffa20 wrote: »
    The sooner points come in for this, the better!

Not defending the blown bulb tossers in the slightest, but I have no clue how you can make it an offence to drive with a non-functioning light, when by their very nature they must fail at some point.

Its making a inevitability an offence. :confused: Whos to say that 90% of people you see with blown bulbs aren't picking them up the next day?

What should be an offence is driving a car without a spare bulb kit, like in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

It would be far easier to give them a ticket and 10 days to turn up at the station with it fixed.

If it's fixed the ticket is cancelled

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Drive a 2002 car, nothing fancy or expensive but for the life of me the second any bulb goes on the car I have it replaced within 24hrs.

Front light went two years back and found it hard as hell to drive on back country roads even with full beam on for the one light that was working. (the bulb went on my way home from work).

I honestly can't figure out how anyone drives on any roads with only one headlight working and honestly can't figure out the idiots who think its safe to drive with one or NO rear lights.

Saw about 5 or 6 2011 cars this morning with no lights what so ever, one or two SUV's. It was still pretty dark and it was pouring rain out. Flashed them but made no **** of difference to them.

As for older cars, went for a run yesterday for about an hour and must have seen a good 50 or so cars with broken lights, only parking lights on etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

What should be an offence is driving a car without a spare bulb kit, like in France.
    + mandatory Hi-Vis vest, and warning triangle in the car.

If only we had a Really Special Authority to implement Reasonable Sensible Advice.
    They would surely have seen the sense in such a Rather Simple Action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Two dims went on my car over the summer, I had to go to dims when another car came against me, couldn't see a thing, scary as hell. They were both replaced first thing the next morning.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Yeah this sounds like a plan, so it would go like this.

-You have a broken light...Gardai stops you and informs you.
    - Asks to see your replacement light kit
    - If you have one then he makes you replace the broken light before moving on with your journey.
    - If you don't have a kit you get a on the spot fine of 80e and a point on your license.

Happy days.

All we need now is for the Gardai to actually stop people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

A driver would have to be aware that he has only 1 functioning light, so there is no excuse for not getting it fixed promptly. It is not your right to put others at risk because you won't fix it. Can't afford a bulb, jeez. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

mailforkev wrote: »
    I'd love to be a traffic Garda for a day or two.
    Cabaal wrote: »
    All we need now is for the Gardai to actually stop people!

You know, I've found myself driving up and down the N11 a lot this week and have seen the same two marked cars, the single unmarked car and two traffic corps motorbikes going up and down the road all day pulling cars and vans. They seem to have a particular issue with vans atm.

I don't think its a issue with enforcement. I think its a issue with ignorance. The same ignorance that has all the disabled spots at my local supermarket full all the time and not a blue sticker in sight. The same ignorance that has nearly every driver on the road performing the turn, look and indicate* manoeuvre. That has drivers cruising down a slip road at 60kph expecting other cars to match their speed.

Like pretty much every other issue on our roads, its a issue with training. We need a much improved training and testing system with a firm emphasis on retesting and the ability for our law enforcers to be able to enforce a retest for minor offences.

*optional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭rob180

Some (not all) car manufacturers make it virtually impossible to change a bulb without taken bits off the car first,some even suggest you take it to the dealer's to get a bulb change and that's gonna cost a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

I know that for the newer model VW Beetles it takes over an hour to replace the headlights. Some of the front end has to be disassembled. I doubt a Guard could expect you to change one of them on your own on a cold wet night on the side of a road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Fifth Gear change a light bulb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭rob180

Chavways wrote: »
    I know that for the newer model VW Beetles it takes over an hour to replace the headlights. Some of the front end has to be disassembled. I doubt a Guard could expect you to change one of them on your own on a cold wet night on the side of a road.

Oh don't remind me of it, the wife had a 04 Beetle and one time i had to change a rear side light. Thought it would be a 15min jobbie, it took me over an hour :mad: had to take off the wheel to access the dame bulb .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Woofstuff

Changing a light bulb can be a bit of a pain in the ass, just changed my low beam which could only be accessed under the wheel arch...Had to turn wheel to full lock to do this.

can see why some people would delay doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

So I had to be in Naas for 7 this morning. Left the house at 5:30 and went down the M1. Decided to go through Drogheda and get a cup of Coffee while I was at it. Onto the N2 and down to Naas.

Anyway, I played the count to ten with the correct lighting game (front only)

All illuminated fronts must work, not be off in their direction and no front fogs. It was dark so headlights were required.

I got pissed off at the Lucan exit.

I made it up to 7 at one stage but some douche with a BMW had his front fogs on.

I averaged out at about 3 before I had to start again.

I've not really noticed it before but good god there is some amount of front lighting issues out there ! :eek: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

The 'Real Republic'.

A tiny minority give any sort of due care and attention, the rest don't care or are completely ignorant.

Pi55 hole of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

E39MSport wrote: »
    The 'Real Republic'.

A tiny minority give any sort of due care and attention, the rest don't care or are completely ignorant.

Pi55 hole of a country.

Seems there's a big problem of "Ah but sure, it's grand"... :mad:

Been finding myself playing the count to 10 game all day yesterday/today, made it a few times (not often though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

People who drive in daylight when its cloudy or raining with just parking lights on......................................................................................................................................DRIVE ME CRAZY!!:mad:.PARKING LIGHTS ARE JUST FOR WHEN STOPPED IN PITCH DARK WITH THE ENGINE OFF, NOT OTHERWISE.DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP YOU MORANS.Money worries my backside re blown bulbs, get them ye cheapskates:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,533 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jimmyw wrote: »
    People who drive in daylight when its cloudy or raining with just parking lights on......................................................................................................................................DRIVE ME CRAZY!!:mad:.PARKING LIGHTS ARE JUST FOR WHEN STOPPED IN PITCH DARK WITH THE ENGINE OFF, NOT OTHERWISE.DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP,DIP YOU MORANS.Money worries my backside re blown bulbs, get them ye cheapskates:(.

+1, with bells on.

And as for completely unlit cars and trucks (esp trucks) in fog......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Don't forget about the good things that can happen when you replace a blown lightbulb...

Just ask Cill Dara Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,270 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

E39MSport wrote: »
    The 'Real Republic'.

Pi55 hole of a country.
    dulpit wrote: »
    Seems there's a big problem of "Ah but sure, it's grand"... :mad:

But sure that's how EVERYTHING in this country is ran - the "ah shure it'll be grand" approach. Nothing ever gets done RIGHT. Is it any wonder the place is the mess it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

does keith M89 get the bigggest amount of thanks in boards history???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

elaverty wrote: »
    I hate to be the one to break the news,,,but some people out there are so strapped for cash at the minute,that they might not have the price of a bulb to replace,,,,i know its onla 5/10euro but thats how bad things have got,,,
    These people would rather have a pint than save the persons life whom they crashed into/ knocked down...:rolleyes: