Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loads of cars with no lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    But sure that's how EVERYTHING in this country is ran - the "ah shure it'll be grand" approach. Nothing ever gets done RIGHT. Is it any wonder the place is the mess it is
    It is unbelievable how many bulbs were busted last winter and its probably the same muppets driving around now, just with the darkness its noticable that nobody bothers to replace their bulbs when they're busted.

The guards - who are do roadside stops on big ticket stuff like VRT/ Car Tax/ laundered diesel/ alcohol should pull the finger out and issue on the spot fines for people with what ARE dangerous vehicles. The routine check (at night) should include lights as much as all the documentation.
    No wishy washy "it'll be grand" / get it fixed next week or other class of shíte.

Even in the film Pulp Fiction set in the USA - it comes up that if you are transporting a dead body in the boot you would want to have your lights in order to avoid getting pulled by the cops!!
    So serious are faulty lights considered abroad that it enters modern culture that the police will almost definitely pull you for it . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWmRTjLRMfU

In Ireland, the guards dont give a cr@p about faulty lights and everyone knows this.
    Which is why nobody gives a cr@p - and the circle continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,486 ✭✭✭highdef

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Two dims went on my car over the summer, I had to go to dims when another car came against me, couldn't see a thing, scary as hell. They were both replaced first thing the next morning.

You say two dims went over the summer....do you mean that the two of them blew at some stage over the summer months or did they both blow in the space of a day or so.
    It's just the way you word makes it sound like one bulb blew at one point in the summer and the other then blew later in the summer with the first bulb still not replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

For all the cheapskates/eejits with blown bulbs- http://www.lidl.ie/cps/rde/xchg/lidl_ri_ie/hs.xsl/index_15575.htm

IE_66823wk47_01_b.jpg

Was driving behind a car the other night with one very dim back light and the same with his brake light (he only had one also) .He pulled into the petrol station beside me and was actually delighted when I pointed out all his blown bulbs.

The guards seem to ignore this problem of inadequate lights,how many people have ye heard of getting pulled in because of having missing lights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

sean1141 wrote: »
    plus on a lot of cars its not just a matter of taking out a bulb and popping in a new one. some may need the headlight taken out and sometimes the bumper has to come off to do this

I call bullsh*t.

Maybe on some high performance yoke, but not on 99.99% of cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

TheUsual wrote: »
    I call bullsh*t.

Maybe on some high performance yoke, but not on 99.99% of cars.

Nope, mainstream cars.

MugMugs wrote: »
    If we all used LED's with the exception of Headlights this wouldn't be much of an issue.

I'm in the process of replacing every bulb on my rear cluster to LED's.

LED's won't help with bad wiring or a control switch fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Nope, mainstream cars.
    Aye. My Passat requires a mirror and some flexible arms to change a headlight bulb. Side lights are through the wing liner only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,558 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nope, mainstream cars.

+1. Peugeot 307 - have to practically dismantle the headlight. I gave up trying years ago, the garage does it for a fiver for me now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Nope, mainstream cars.

Yep. Opel Corsa C (2000-2006 models), to change rear fog, means undoing one side of bumper, and small and felexable arms. Any of the other rear lights, undoing, removing, and disconecting the whole lighting cluster.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    +1. Peugeot 307 - have to practically dismantle the headlight. I gave up trying years ago, the garage does it for a fiver for me now :)

Well you have the 0.01% of the pain in the ass car to fix, but try yourself a few times. Maybe you need a gararge, maybe not.
    johnos1984 wrote: »
    Aye. My Passat requires a mirror and some flexible arms to change a headlight bulb. Side lights are through the wing liner only

Practice make perfect, first time you try something takes ages then you get the hang of it.
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Yep. Opel Corsa C (2000-2006 models), to change rear fog, means undoing one side of bumper, and small and felexable arms. Any of the other rear lights, undoing, removing, and disconecting the whole lighting cluster.

Now Rear Fog lights are pretty unusual and not what we are talking about here.

Practice make perfect, first time you try something takes ages then you get the hang of it.
    Are you taking the piss here or what?

I can change them easily but it still requires a mirror to do it properly and it's still awkward enough to require you to flex your joints a good bit. I'd rather actually have the bulb in the holder and not just shoved into the lamp.

I can tell you haven't enjoyed the experience.

Are you taking the piss here or what?

I can change them easily but it still requires a mirror to do it properly and it's still awkward enough to require you to flex your joints a good bit. I'd rather actually have the bulb in the holder and not just shoved into the lamp.
    I can tell you haven't enjoyed the experience.

Not taking the piss at all.
    I own a motorbike and lose skin and blood on that bike changing things. My theory is that Japanese engineers have smaller knuckles/hands.

I have cursed and fought to work on that bike and that is my theory.

Anyways I find that practice will ease the pain and time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

It is unbelievable how many bulbs were busted last winter and its probably the same muppets driving around now, just with the darkness its noticable that nobody bothers to replace their bulbs when they're busted.

To be fair, i'm sure there are a few clowns who drive around with a blown bulb for months and couldn't be bothered to replace it, but i'd imagine its very few. Anyone who has noticed the seeming increase in cars with blown bulbs in the past couple of weeks may have noticed it coincided with the particularly wet spell a few weeks back. Keep an eye out on the nights following the next very wet spell (lots of standing water on the roads).
    You will see a large number of one eyed monsters on the roads, and this number will taper off over the following week or 2 as drivers notice the problem and get replacement bulbs.

I own a motorbike
    And there in lies the problem.

And a car. But a bike teaches you way more than a car.
    Trust me young jedi.

And a car. But a bike teaches you way more than a car.
    Trust me young jedi.
    I'm sure it does.

Try strip a car and put it back together ;)

A young buck like you has a lot to learn

I'm sure it does.
    Try strip a car and put it back together ;)
    A young buck like you has a lot to learn

That's the drink talking.
    Don't worry, I will tuck your girlfriend up in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

MugMugs wrote: »
    If we all used LED's with the exception of Headlights this wouldn't be much of an issue.

I'm in the process of replacing every bulb on my rear cluster to LED's.

LED's won't help with bad wiring or a control switch fault.

Are you taking the piss here? Rear lights won't help when you've no battery charge left...... what's your point ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

That's the drink talking.
    Don't worry, I will tuck your girlfriend up in bed.

Don't post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

I passed a car last night with Dipped & fogs on, but only one of each was working.

His Right Dipped bulb was gone and his Left Foglight bulb was gone. The end result being he actually had a light on both sides but one was higher then the other :rolleyes:

I had a van pass me on the M50 last night with only the passenger side headlight working.

I thought it was a motor bike coming up behind me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

I've noticed this alot too, it wrecks my head! It seems to be common in alot of newer cars too. Can't understand why the Guards don't seem to think it's an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

I have notice a huge amount of veh-hic-els driving around lately with just one headlight working which is nuts.

Same here - very surprised to come up behind a car with no rear lights and just one offside front working!

When a cyclist has more lights than your car it's time to spring for some bulbs!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,798 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

The Guvnor wrote: »
    When a cyclist has more lights than your car it's time to spring for some bulbs!:)

I took up cycling in the last two weeks, and now I realise show bad it is.....and as for guys who wont dip their heads ....

One guy out locally has a 900 lumen headlight on his bicycle.... and it's blinding.....that needs a dip facillty, that does!!

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

V480 wrote: »
    I've noticed this alot too, it wrecks my head! It seems to be common in alot of newer cars too. Can't understand why the Guards don't seem to think it's an issue.
    Because SPEED KILLS not bad headlights. But still I'd imagine the guards would give you a seeing to if got at a checkpoint, just no urgency otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,196 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Because SPEED KILLS not bad headlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Passed a guy driving on an unlit road last night. He had his parking lights on an fog lights. What a d*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭flyguy

Funny that, speed kills, I'm not disagreeing with you but I think if you focus on only that the road deaths in Ireland will stay as high as they are...
    I'm not from Ireland (but from a country with much less road deaths) and must agree with many of the previous posters. The lighting on cars here is appalling and even some people posting in this topic don't seem to know exactly how it works.
    In my opinion the "your grand" attitude is a big problem.
    If your on the phone while driving you need to get a fine, not a warning (cause you'll just do it again, since you'll only get a warning next time)
    If your lights aren't working you need to get pulled over, given the opportunity to fix it on the spot or get a fine...
    Also drink driving is accepted more in Ireland than any other EU country (of course most don't accept it, but still more than elsewhere) don't take my word for it: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0721/1224275145675.html
    Driving training? In Ireland? Just do away with the provisional license, it's a joke. You either have a full license or you don't drive. Who ever came up with the idea that someone with a full license was capable of teaching someone how to drive? (some can't drive that well themselves).
    I don't think speeding is a big problem, I don't see that many people speeding which is surprising with so few speed cameras/checks (I must admit I only drive around Dublin so this may be a bigger problem elsewhere). The problems are roads with improper speed limits; 100kph on a country road, same as M50 really?!
    The other problem are the state of the road surfaces, road markings, signage and road lighting (or the lack of). The design/layout of roads are sometimes surprising as well...
    Now if everyone would drive with their lights on at least we can see each other and see where we're going, if anything it helps (a bit)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I recently got an in-car video for herself. We were heading out for a drive this afternoon when the camera was running and it caught this car in front of us turning right. Believe it or not but the indicator is actually on and indicating right.

We could only see it when we were passing the car out it was so faint. The right rear brake light didn't appear to be working properly either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Anyone do the AA survey? There is a portion in it about replacing your bulbs.