I has a question to pose to yous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Abi wrote: »

Are you from Liverpool, or Irish returning from Liverpool? Do people from Liverpool normally say 'yous' for plural? I thought it was a mistake some Irish make.
    This give some explanation on the use of the word Abi .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Sky King wrote: »
    There was just a different buzz about the place. I wouldn't say people were happy, but they certainly didn;t moan about money. No one seemed to care. You wouldn't think twice about paying a fiver for a piece of rubbery shit cheese sandwich from O'Brien's Irish Sandwich Bar..... Almost every waiter, deli attendant and shop assistant was foreign and lots of them had just arrived so their english was ****e.

Guys would head out thursday, friday, saturday, sunday nights and wax 150 / 200 bucks on a night out no problem. Coke was all over the place. People drank Vodka Red Bull by the bucketload paying 8/9 quid for a glass of it.

You could never get a taxi afterwards either - had to wait hours for them.

Deli counters sprung up out of nowhere (there were very few shops doing freshly made sandwiches before 1995ish - every shop has them now) and every shop had a deli with a row of guys in hi viz vests standing at the food counter. The 'breakfast roll' became a staple foodstuff.

Before the mid 90's most shops (esp. down the country) closed on Sundays and bank holidays and at lunchtime and 6 in the evening. During the tiger they couldn't take our money fast enough during normal business hours though, and they started opening every day, every evening, and in some cases 24 hours. This is a legacy which remains today, to a certain point.

Every cityscape was dotted with cranes and it was normal to have mates in the building industry that were far FAR better off than you were. Mine were quite smug about it too - sneering me for povving my way through college while my carpender buddy was getting 1500 a week and my blocky buddy a punt per block laid.

Lots of semi-D middle class people started driving 3 series beemers and c class mercs, and building decks in their tiny back gardens and barbequing on them. A daily commute from Portlaoise or Carlow to Dublin became a normal thing whereas previously it would have been unheard of. Traffic was chaotic, particularly around dublin, where the crappy infrastructrue groaned to keep up with the huge deluge of extra traffic. They re-did the m50 to cope and as soon as they were finished, they went back to the start and re-did it again. People went on foreign holidays a couple of times a year and regular workaday folk starting drinking wine and eating stuff like hummus, pesto and pasta dishes as opposed to the cabbage bacon milk and spuds they were reared on.

Politicians and high flying gangsters still ripped us all off but back then nobody seemed to care. Tribunals cost the state hundreds of millions and we all shrugged our shoulders and went back to watching Who wants to be a Millionaire and Big Brother.

Middle class people and those lucky enough to have bought land and property on the cheap became de facto millionaires. Idiots with no qualifications became 'property developers' peddling land, building and property back and forth and making astronomical profits becuase prices were increasing so fast. They bough race horses and helicopters and mansions. They invested poorly.

Banks were eager to cash in on this but they had no capital on deposit to outlay so they borrowed heavily to fund it.

This is the money you and me are now paying back.

People in hospitals still lay wasting away on trolleys in hospital corridors throughout the whole celtic tiger thing, mind you.

I guess some things never change.

Nail on the head. Excellent post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

The main gripe of the day was traffic due to the roads being clogged with massive SUV's. People not on the happy wagon were advised by our Taoiseach to 'commit suicide'. Everybody became an estate agent. At one stage my house was worth three quarters of a million. It's a three bed semi. And there was lots of Foccacia bread. Crazy times indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

People were ostracized by their peers for bringing sandwiches to work.

You had to buy a sandwich for about €13 which was 'hand cut' (that was the boast on the radio ad - no robots doing it like, real hands of African children).

The beggars would only take notes too or a credit card as they carried those little machines around with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

yeah man, im so broke now, i've had to resort to using rolled up fivers to snort my coke through, its just not the same...

It's harder if you're stuck with the 2 euro coins.

I went into a bank and asked for a student loan of 8K and the loan person said and I quote:

"Ah sure do you want to make it 12 and have a good time?"

Delighted I just took the 8 as I was working.

A few years later and I looked for an overdraft of 400 euro and they basically told me to feck off for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Edz87 wrote: »
    I went into a bank and asked for a student loan of 8K and the loan person said and I quote:

"Ah sure do you want to make it 12 and have a good time?"

Delighted I just took the 8 as I was working.

A few years later and I looked for an overdraft of 400 euro and they basically told me to feck off for myself.

This sums up our banking situation.

I asked for a 12k loan for a car and insurance when i was 19. They turned around and asked if i wanted to round it up to 15.

Nowadays i want to change my repayements dates and they nearly shout me out of the building

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I had only moved over to England two years before the celtic tiger thing exploded and I remained there all throughout it .I gained nothing from it during... or after it's fallout so it's had no direct affect on my life but like most Irish people , I have seen how it has affected some family and friends .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

It was a time when we had money and it was grrrrr-eat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

With banks, it's very simple when you boil it down to the essential fact: they lend money to make money. They are not a charity, and have no social obligation to lend. If they're not going to make money doing it, they don't do it.

(The higher the apparent risk you won't pay back, the higher the interest rate. I say apparent because the risk was there during the boom, but they couldn't see it clearly, could they?)

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Vicxas wrote: »
    ^^

True, a well known nightclub in co. Meath could make up to 60 - 100k on a saturday night during the boom

That can't be right, at least not EVERY Saturday night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

So you could tell the difference, thats interesting. Thanks guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

cloud493 wrote: »
    So you could tell the difference, thats interesting. Thanks guys :)

Not really things are much the same today as they were during the celtic tiger i notice no difference at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

That can't be right, at least not EVERY Saturday night?

Think about what twats used to spend on drink, that could be covered by a few hundred punters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

We drank champagne for breakfast and dined on our fine yachts on the weekend and the craic was mighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Banks and credit card companies threw money at people , all people where talking about was shopping trips to new york and investment property's.

Personally i din't gain much from the boom times, had a good job (electrician) but didnt earn massive money, now its a different story :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

maxfresh wrote: »
    Personally i din't gain much from the boom times, had a good job (electrician) but didnt earn massive money, now its a different story :mad:

Now you have a shít job and earn massive money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

cloneslad wrote: »
    Now you have a shít job and earn massive money?

NO no job and no money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

There was a shortage of geese after foie gras for breakfast became the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

You could walk out of one job and into another. Low wage but at least the work was there.
    If that didn't suit you, you could stroll into an almost empty social welfare office and claim with a christmas benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

bnt wrote: »
    With banks, it's very simple when you boil it down to the essential fact: they lend money to make money. They are not a charity, and have no social obligation to lend. If they're not going to make money doing it, they don't do it.

(The higher the apparent risk you won't pay back, the higher the interest rate. I say apparent because the risk was there during the boom, but they couldn't see it clearly, could they?)

probably because they were so deep in the trough they didnt want to see it. idiots. bonus culture prevailed. the more mortgages they sold the bigger the bonus' they got :rolleyes: asking for it basically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The peasants got ideas above their stations. Bit sad now.