If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Unpopular Opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 fressatty

because we're a pretty sh!t national football team really. I don't really follow it so don't ask me who plays where and for what team. All i remember is the squad being made up of english lads who's next door neigbour's dog groomer was half irish so they made it onto the team.

So i'm saying, do we have a 100% born and bred Irish football team yet? or is it still made up of a hodge podge of english/irish.

And we beat Estonia, woopee doo, we're going to the euro's, woopee doo, does anyone think we'll actually win the thing? if not then why be so proud of them?

we should be whipping the feckers and making them really go for it, then we might be inspired to get ourselves as a country sorted aswel. I havent been proud of an Irish team since Italia 90, when i cheered on all them english lads in the quarter finals.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

fressatty wrote: »
    because we're a pretty sh!t national football team really. I don't really follow it so don't ask me who plays where and for what team. All i remember is the squad being made up of english lads who's next door neigbour's dog groomer was half irish so they made it onto the team.

So i'm saying, do we have a 100% born and bred Irish football team yet? or is it still made up of a hodge podge of english/irish.

And we beat Estonia, woopee doo, we're going to the euro's, woopee doo, does anyone think we'll actually win the thing? if not then why be so proud of them?

we should be whipping the feckers and making them really go for it, then we might be inspired to get ourselves as a country sorted aswel. I havent been proud of an Irish team since Italia 90, when i cheered on all them english lads in the quarter finals.....
    Well qualification was a fair achievment in itself considering the quality of our players and the toughness of the group. Why not be proud of them?
    They played out of their skin to get where they are and you can't say they don't deserve it.
    And all the players on the squad qualify to play on the squad inside the appropriate rules.
    Stop complaining and support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

The vast bulk of them are Irish born (or nordie) with the odd English or Scottish born lad. We could well win it, Greece won in it 2004 with negitive soccer, something at which we're rather good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

people who fix other people's posts are kunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Knit wit

Vegetarians are weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I don't know if this is unpopular or not, but I will say that there is a special place in Hell reserved for every spa who posts "opens popcorn" or "gets popcorn out" within the first 3 or 4 posts of 90% of the threads in AH.

Kill yourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

I"opens popcorn" or "gets popcorn out"

Yep, people who use an asterisk in a post to imply a real world action that they are undertaking should be shot.

for example: *gets shot*

And worse, people who use xml or any other form of pseudo-markup language to imply a real world action that they are undertaking should be tortured then shot.

example <torturedThenShot/>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

People who give other people grief for merely being vegetarian have issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

anhedonia wrote: »
    people who fix other people's posts are kunts.

"People who fix other people's posts are cunts"

Fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭maximoose

People who think pro wrestling is fake need to go train in it for even 4 hours. Scripted & fake are two completely different concepts.

Eh, a lot of it is fake? I'm not denying what they do takes great strength and athleticism... but do you honestly believe the fighting is genuine?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

because we're a pretty sh!t national football team really. I don't really follow it so don't ask me who plays where and for what team

So why do you assume you know that we're a "****" team if you know nothing about them by your own admission?

But judging by your other posts on this thread I'm guessing you're someone who's used to talking ring about subjects you are ignorant in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Jun_DP101

Red21 wrote: »
    This isn't any great achievement seeing as we live in one of the wealthiest countries in the world.

Yeah... about that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Downlinz

British comedy is terrible, almost all of it. I'm tired of its inoffensive, excessive gesturing tripe. It isn't funny in the slightest and I'm a big fan of both Irish and American comedy. From Rowan Atkinson to Ricky Gervais, they all suck.

Downlinz wrote: »
    British comedy is terrible, almost all of it. I'm tired of its inoffensive, excessive gesturing tripe. It isn't funny in the slightest and I'm a big fan of both Irish and American comedy. From Rowan Atkinson to Ricky Gervais, they all suck.

You've obviously never seen Peep Show......or Black Books for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Fur shops, the wearing of real fur, buying & selling furs etc. should be made completely illegal, illegal even to bring in from another country. The ONLY exception being some eskimos who live in truely arctic conditions.

I think people who committ suicide or attempt it are extremely selfish. While I can empathise with their reasons for doing so, really it causes way more damage to the people around them & their community than to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

A white Irish person can't be racist against a white Irish person, cream cracker or not. Would you ever fúck off with yourselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm no animal-rights loony but I think that fish pedicure fad is just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

Pepsi is better than Coke. A lot better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Pepsi is better than Coke. A lot better
    ^ we have a winner :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

^ we have a winner :D

Someone said The Wire is shíte. That was the worst for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

I watch football. I like football.

I don't support a team. Why should I give a shít if a load of Norweigans playing for a team in Liverpool beat a load of Asians playing for a team in Manchester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

skregs wrote: »

I don't support a team. Why should I give a shít if a load of Norweigans playing for a team in Liverpool beat a load of Asians playing for a team in Manchester?
    Are there any norweigans playing for liverpool and there is one asian playing in manchester. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

If you bought a house during the boom and can't afford it now, tough shit. You should have had a bit of cop on and rented.

skregs wrote: »

Do you really??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

Bassfish wrote: »
    The Irish language should not be shoved down our throats on roadsigns and tv etc etc.

Considering it's the English language which has been shoved down the throats of Irish people for centuries, and that Irish speakers are still forced to speak English by people who think like you, I'd say the real problem here is that you have fascistic cultural tendencies of your own that wish to remove Irish from public life in Ireland. That even bilingual signs threaten you says much more about your intolerance and contempt for Irish culture than anything else. We're not all going to sink to your level of cultural and intellectual insecurity so get used to it.

Irish is beautiful and Irish on signs is one of the most culturally refreshing things about this slavishly Brit-copying society. If you hate it, you can always move to England. You won't be "threatened" there by cultural difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Israel has the right to defend itself using any means necessary. It is surrounded by countries that want to see it destroyed and yet it is the only democracy in the region. Its not nearly as bad for Palestinians there as the media would ahve you believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Seanchai wrote: »
    Considering it's the English language which has been shoved down the throats of Irish people for centuries, and that Irish speakers are still forced to speak English by people who think like you, I'd say the real problem here is that you have fascistic cultural tendencies of your own that wish to remove Irish from public life in Ireland. That even bilingual signs threaten you says much more about your intolerance and contempt for Irish culture than anything else. We're not all going to sink to your level of cultural and intellectual insecurity so get used to it.

Irish is beautiful and Irish on signs is one of the most culturally refreshing things about this slavishly Brit-copying society. If you hate it, you can always move to England. You won't be "threatened" there by cultural difference.

It's 2011. While your attitude may have been horrifying even as recently as 15 years ago it is entirely laughable now. Your kind are irrelevant or dying off and ireland is becoming a better place because of it.

Leftist wrote: »
    It's 2011. While your attitude may have been horrifying even as recently as 15 years ago it is entirely laughable now. Your kind are irrelevant or dying off and ireland is becoming a better place because of it.

1) Yes, I can see why cultural diversity in Ireland would horrify somebody with your evident limitations and fear of difference.

2) Yes, because Ireland would be so much better if Ireland were as culturally English as Sussex or Kent with the Irish language obliterated from public life.

Full marks on the cultural intolerance front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

middle-aged irish people are the rudest people i have come across anywhere in the world.

under 50s are sound, but older than that, good god they are rude.

plus none of them can drive.

summerskin wrote: »
    middle-aged irish people are the rudest people i have come across anywhere in the world.

under 50s are sound, but older than that, good god they are rude.

Yes, all of them. Well done. :rolleyes: