Laughing at something you shouldn't really laugh at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Was in the restaurant in the Wilton shopping centre in Cork with a friend of mine having a bite to eat when a kid and his parents came in and sat down at a table near us. The kids parents were facing away from me and the kid was sitting on the other side of the table so he was facing me.

I just finished my food when the kids food arrived, there was a delay with my friends food so I had to wait for her to finish before we could go. I decided to get an ice cream cone while I waited and went over and got a lovely double scoop of chocolate ice cream from the little cafe place beside the restaurant.

I returned to my friend and proceeded to lick away at my cone. The kid, who was not too impressed with his food, spotted me with my ice cream and began to stare at me jealously. I found this highly entertaining so began to exagerate how much I was enjoying it, rubbing my tummy etc. The kid started wailing at his parents that he wanted an ice cream but they told him to eat his food first. This drove the child mad and he whinged incessantly until they bought him one.

I finished my cone as he started eating his, then he did all the stuff I was doing when I had the cone getting his own back. Then on about the fifth lick he knocked the ice cream off the cone and onto the floor, looked at it all shocked before bursting into tears, I started roaring laughing. I don't know if I have ever laughed as hard as I did at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

remembered another one!

last week i was getting the train home!
    this young wan powered walked down the aisle but the automatic door inbetween the carriages didnt open quick enough!

she smacked her face full force off the door and fell back

i tried so hard not to laugh but as soon as she left the while carriage wet themselves laughing at her!

felt bad though she got an almighty whallop off it! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭The House Of Wolves

Once the teacher threw a rubber on the floor in anger and it bounced back up and hit him in the face. The class was in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I always rememeber as a kid the slightest thing at mass could set me off, a funny old woman, literally anything while my mam would be at me to shut the feck up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Working in a butchers when this oul dear came up to the counter around 70 or so. She asked for some steak so i leaned into the counter to get it and asked which one she wanted, as she bent down towards the counter to pick the piece she wanted she clobbered her head off the spotless counter window. I literally broke my bollocks laughing bright red face and struggling for breath and just couldn't keep it in had to get one of the other lads to finish serving her while i fell about the fridge in a fit of laughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

So Stephens Day 2008, me 8 months pregnant, BF getting ready to go out with the lads for the Annual Stephens Day Píss Up, his mother as eccentric as ever doing random cleaning and making snide comments about everyone.

She has a horrible accident and completely fécks up her arm and cracks her pelvis, not funny by any stretch, even though she was flailing said broken arm around the place only worsening the damage, which was sorta funny! But her daughter decides to driver her to the A&E over 40km away, and the mother has never been in the car with the daughter driving before even though the woman is in her 40's and the mother in her 60's.

So they get into the car, of course the mother nearly drowning the damn thing in Holy Water, and saying 3 novena's as she does. The sister lives in London and the car is there for her bro and herself in Co.Clare for when they are home, so the mother uses it when she doesn't want to ruin her car going doing messy jobs, but she always parks the car in gear and never puts it in neutral.

The daughter never checked this as she placed the key in the ignition, the car bolts forward, crushing flower pots, shrubs and damn well nearly goes through the neighbours wall!!!! Myself and the OH are at the front door seeing them off and we both just burst out laughing. The mother is trying to open the car door but there is a large flower pot in her way, she is screaming like a banshee and destroying the pot and the car door trying to get out!!!!

I nearly went into labour, the wall couldn't keep me standing straight, I slumped to the floor and could not breathe for the laughter! Himself was no different. All that we get in the door then is the daughter with her fists clenched and a face of thunder and after my OH moves the pot, the mother giving out about her lovely garden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭V_Moth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Was serving a little old lady at a deli counter once and had forgotten to switch my phone to silent. Little did I know, my sister--the bad bitch--had recorded herself talking for my ring tone.

Tears were springing to my eyes as the old woman said, "What did you say?" to the repetition of my sister going "suck the farts right out of my arse." :D

I don't think the older woman copped what it was but I had to go hide in the big meat fridge and break my heart laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

On a bus taking a sharp left at the Bleeding Horse (yes, Dublin. Which Dublin? Dublin Dublin). So, some oul fella that was sitting in the seat opposite the stairs leaned, slipped and landed face first on the floor. I near broke my sh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Millicent wrote: »
    I had to go hide in the big meat fridge

I love hiding sausages in the big meat fridge.

Careful, or you'll get blue balls. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

Maggie Thatcher's dementia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

I laughed when i heard George Best died. Liver robbing wife beating dipso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

During the freeze last year my mate lost control of his car on a hill and slowly slid it in to a pillar at the bottom. When he told me about it that night I cried with laughter. I kept imagining the look of desperation on his face as he frantically struggled to get the heap of sh1te he drives turned before she hit. Tis bad I know but he would've had a field day on it altogether if it had happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I laughed when i heard George Best died. Liver robbing wife beating dipso

I seriously doubt that you laughed when he died & I suspect that you are just using this thread to spout some of the type of bile that you'd expect from gutter press like the Daily Mail.

And if you did actually laugh, well then that is very sad. Very sad indeed.

This is really terrible and I always feel guilty for laughing at these stories, but there was a woman where I lived (RIP) who was nuts--I mean, absolutely mental--who was also also very religious. We'll call her Mary for the sake of the stories.

The thing is, she could be fierce annoying and would raise the heckles of the most easygoing person. I even remember my Mam, who's very charitable and mild-mannered, cursing at her to "get off the fucking road" after walking straight in front of her car and deciding not to move.

In that juvenile sort of revenge, kids and teenagers loved to torment her.

So apparently, one time, a friend of mine and some of her friends ding-dong-ditched at her door, but not before leaving a box of teabags on a string. The evil gits then all hid behind a wall and watched her run after the teabags as they hid behind the wall pulling a string.

Another time, they left a broken radio at the house with a note saying:
    To Mary
    Happy birthday
    Love, the Baby Jesus

When my friend told me both these stories, I broke my heart laughing, even as I was trying to give out to my friend.

This next one, though, had me in tears laughing--

Apparently, the local hotel used to do Christmas dinner that you had to book in for months in advance. Of course, she just shows up and says she wants her dinner.

They tell her, "No, Mary. You have to have booked in," to which she starts wailing. (I mean, she used to caterwaul at the top of her lungs and she was in her 60s or so.)

"I want my dinner," she cries and proceeds to wail louder, repeating it over and over.

No amount of explanation or cajoling will dissuade her from wailing and people are starting to stare. So eventually, they decide, fine, just get her in and get her out again.

So they leave her waiting in away from other people, happy as Larry, the waterworks turned off. So one of the lads in payback gets on the tannoy as the rest watch on the security cameras in an adjacent room and says, "Mary, this is God."

To which she looks around and says "Jesus?"

So bad and really cruel but I laugh whenever I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    The sister lives in London and the car is there for her bro and herself in Co.Clare for when they are home, so the mother uses it when she doesn't want to ruin her car going doing messy jobs, but she always parks the car in gear and never puts it in neutral.

The daughter never checked this as she placed the key in the ignition, the car bolts forward, crushing flower pots, shrubs and damn well nearly goes through the neighbours wall!!!!

All that we get in the door then is the daughter with her fists clenched and a face of thunder and after my OH moves the pot, the mother giving out about her lovely garden!
    Totally deserved - the mother brought that on herself, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Am really going to hell for this but it was the typo not the poor baby that made me lol.

My local newspaper had an article about a fundraiser for a wee dote that was born without arms and UPPER LEGS.
    Feel so bad for laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

cop stopped me outside trinity ( i was a motorcycle courier for 13 years ) and was going into me for a short cut - being a right pr1ck :eek: because the garda on bikes were normally grand

anyway after 10 minutes of saying yes garda and smiling sarcastically at the ****2r he lobs his lid on and starts his bike - i do the same

so we are side by side and he just gives me a dirty look and boots off towards nassau st ( at molly malone statue ) - i follow at a pace to annoy him again......

he drops the left knee and starts to drop the bike into the corner and then....

bike flips and send him into orbit , legs and arms akimbo and lands hard on his arse :D
    his bike tumbles and falls apart like a clown car - - i pull up slow , stopped and got off .......
    so this guy gets up and looks at me with a head like a baboons arse and god help me i just had to say " see... you can fly "
    just as i said it you could see he was about to have a stroke when a bunch of school kids started to laugh uncontrollably and it spreads - people at bus stops started - i could not help it and joined in

now normally i don't find some one a bike taking a flip lightly but you could see he was grand - the bike self destructed comically and in fairness he just spent 10 minutes talking to me like i was 5 years old about bike riding and maintenance
    he was the one who forgot to lift the side stand and dropped it into a corner, not me

still makes me smile :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭HLecter

choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

myself and a few mates used to do volunteer work in our teens for a few hours a week

anyway on our very first time there,we were at this hall where special needs kids could play football/basketball and generally just run around and be active and have fun

we were all very nervous going in as we had no idea what to expect and no real training either in what to do.
    so we more sneaked in the door than made a big entrance of it
    anyway,the first person we see is a girl sitting on her own in a corner by the door
    now when i say this girl had the biggest head you've ever seen
    I mean no exaggeration-this was the largest cranium any of us had ever encountered in the real world
    with no meanness intended this was the ugliest woman your imagination could conjure,horrendous teeth,acres of forehead,chunky glasses-the lot
    alas,probably as a result of looking like a female version of sloth from the Goonies it apparently made her very shy around people
    she didn't utter a word at all to us guys when we came in.

so my mate,being the bravest of us all walks right over crouches down on his hunkers so he's at her eye-level,extends his hand for a handshake
    and in the softest,slowest most gentle voice ever says
    "Hello there,my name is Barry" as if he was talking to a pet mouse

instantly,she beams bright red

Que massive,awkward silence....then

"yeah-I'm Niamh,I'm a helper here too"

the laughter that followed from us,was louder than a 747 on take off
    cruel yet hopelessly unstoppable,uncontrollable laughter!!

(we knew Niamh for about the next ten years after that,never really did become besties with her :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

punchdrunk, nothing to do with your story of course, but there's forgivable nervous laughter at funerals and other inopportune moments and then there is being an ignorant farking cnut. Just so you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

I once laughed at a retarded boy! He was talking to himself on the bus and it was funny. It was one of those moments where you say to yourself dont laugh you asshole, you'l be mobbed. I had my hand up to my mouth trying to hide my facial expression while also pretending to cough and then some. in the end i was the one who looked retarded.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

texidub wrote: »
    punchdrunk, nothing to do with your story of course, but there's forgivable nervous laughter at funerals and other inopportune moments and then there is being an ignorant farking cnut. Just so you know.

eh cheers,the now 15 years older Punchdrunk says thanks for that handy tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

This video cracks me up every time!! :D Really shouldnt be laughing at it though. LOL http://youtu.be/nqGOOTjxTZ0

P.S Why cant i embed videos? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

20 times I've watched it in the last few days and it still has me cracking up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

amacachi wrote: »

Thank you amacachi, i havnt laughed that hard in a while, i almost cryed. Oh god.:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Hell has a special place reserved for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

amacachi wrote: »

quote " i get staby with knives " - classic

also could be used with " i get shooty with guns "

anyone remember the horizon bbc program called " johns not mad " from the mid 80's ?
    i swear i nearly crapped myself with laughter watching that - im so bad really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Holysock

In a hospital for amputees undergoing physiotherapy to visit a relative, walking through the ward my dad drops his phone without noticing. A woman walks over and gives it back to him, and my mum says to her ‘Thankyou, losing that would be like losing an arm for him’.I could not stop laughing and my mother was mortified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,970 ✭✭✭amacca

KittyKat wrote: »
    This video cracks me up every time!! :D Really shouldnt be laughing at it though. LOL http://youtu.be/nqGOOTjxTZ0

P.S Why cant i embed videos? :(

Imagine if that dutch tv presenter had to interview ronnie whelan or frank stapleton