Mick Wallace wants Dáil summer break moved - Guess why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

John Doe1 wrote: »
    beach badminton, it was a joke regarding the irrelevance of sport and the ridiculousness of this td.

Sport is far from irrelevant. Ask anyone who remembers Italia 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Riamfada wrote: »
    Also, I dont give a **** about the European Championships or whatever it was we just qualified for and why it should take precedence over anything else, especially running a country.

Aren't you great.

I dont think it would be fair, after all not every TD will want to watch the games, I would say the vast majority of men would, but not the women.

sexist comment is sexist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

John Doe1 wrote: »
    beach badminton, it was a joke regarding the irrelevance of sport and the ridiculousness of this td.

I don't think his suggestion is ridiculous. Most TD's based on previous form would just disappear out of the country for a month and send the subsequent expenses bill back to the tax payer.

I think what you see is what you get with Mick Wallace.

He's obviously a passionate Soccer supporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Sparkyd2002

could be looked at in a positive way i suppose.
    He is pretty sure knowing the shower of wasters around him that if there is a soccer tournament on they wont show up anyway and will ultimately have 2 weeks off unofficially + the 6 weeks official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

to be honest, reading this, I didn't really have much of a view on it. Wallace is a guy who likes soccer so it looks as if he is wondering if two birds could be killed with one stone.

Then we come to Gilmore saying "how things have changed around here".

What is that Eamonn, changed from the times when lads like you would have just cleared off anyway and probably chalked it down on the expenses. Whatever about Wallace owing million,s Gilmore is the real problem witha response like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Completionist

milltown wrote: »
    I think the original post was a rhetorical question. He didn't really need you to read the article and report back with your findings.

As the OP referenced non existent material(On this topic) i quoted the article to let people know what he was talking about.
    I didn't report back with my findings nor did i answer his rhetorical question i merely summarised the arcticle for those with an attension span of a tablespoon.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    You do know that most Td's worth their salt take very little time off. This holiday time is mostly spent in their own constituency's

There's plenty of scope for bashing td's but requesting a different time for holidays is not one of them
    The country is going down the toilet. The economy is destroyed. There's a huge amount on the dole and growing. The health system is a shambles. There's budget coming up that everyone's worried about.

And Wallace decides that this is the perfect time to ask if the Dail holidays can be changed so that he can watch some football? I hope it was said as a joke. Otherwise the guy is a muppet of the highest order.

humanji wrote: »
    The country is going down the toilet. The economy is destroyed. There's a huge amount on the dole and growing. The health system is a shambles. There's budget coming up that everyone's worried about.

And Wallace decides that this is the perfect time to ask if the Dail holidays can be changed so that he can watch some football? I hope it was said as a joke. Otherwise the guy is a muppet of the highest order.

Ok so tell me how exactly would taking the holidays 2 months earlier have any effect on the above?

Like posters have mentioned before some of the other corrupt clowns in the dail who never bother going anyway would see this as two extra weeks off

For all Micks faults he rarely misses a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Also, I dont give a **** about the European Championships or whatever it was we just qualified for and why it should take precedence over anything else, especially running a country.

Because we're a great bunch altogether... look we're f8cked in every other way but here's something we might be able to beat the europeans at... except we'll be coming home early like every other time, but by jaysus we'll show all them other lads how to party and be great supporters... whilst back home the place is falling apart.

Listen I like following the Irish football team as much as anyone...but if I have work on the day a match is on, I'll listen on radio because I'll need the money...priorities.
    ...and I'm not saying that politicos shouldn't have holidays...but they're not short of them nor well paid for them...by us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Probably the sort of populist BS that got him elected. Not a whole lot wrong with the request but not a whole lot right either.

There's lots I dislike about the man but this doesn't fall into that category.

Ok so tell me how exactly would taking the holidays 2 months earlier have any effect on the above?

Like posters have mentioned before some of the other corrupt clowns in the dail who never bother going anyway would see this as two extra weeks off

For all Micks faults he rarely misses a day
    He wants to change this for his own gain. How can that not be a problem? It's not going to end the world, but if we want to stamp out gombeenism, why not stamp it out instead of saying "Ah sure what harm does it do?".

So he wants two weeks off to watch the football? Tosser. The rest of us unfortunate plebs have to work why shouldnt he. He claims he will be too preoccupied with football for him and the rest of the deputies to focus on their job.

If I said that to my boss Id most likely get ****ed out of my job.

"Sorry boss but the footy is on and to be honest I wont really be focusing on doing my job at all"

To be honest while people wont be taking two weeks off, Everyone will be fecking off early to the pub to watch the games and most people will be at best late or not even appear at all the following day because of a feed of drink after the games. So I would say yes most people will be focusing on the footy and not work on the days Ireland play anyway.

I cant wait for it to be honest, I love the way the whole country stands still and hits the pub when we get to a big tournament, the atmosphere will be unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The guy is NAMA'd up to the eyeballs, was elected by the people of Wexford to represent them (:confused:) and all he gives a shìt about is watching the footie...ffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

They will all laugh and call Wallace thick for wanting to watch the soccer. Yet when it arrives and certain games pop up you'll see the Dail half empty or half days taken reducing the amount time they lazy shítes spend in the Dail anyway.

At least if they are on holidays when the flippin thing is on they wont have to mitch off running the fcukin country !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Sure will he not be off permenantly when he's made bankrupt? :)

Incidentally, has he paid the couple of years CIF pension contributions backlog for his employees yet?

He wants to change this for his own gain. How can that not be a problem? It's not going to end the world, but if we want to stamp out gombeenism, why not stamp it out instead of saying "Ah sure what harm does it do?".

I'll be working my holidays around the Euros

If you think this is gombeenism you obviously haven't met Michael Lowry, Healy Rae or Mattie McGrath

I'll be working my holidays around the Euros

If you think this is gombeenism you obviously haven't met Michael Lowry, Healy Rae or Mattie McGrath
    Is your world really that black and white? You're either totally corrupt or an absolute angel?

You're calling me black and white after coming to a conclusion about how 'my world is' :rolleyes: but I suppose you have a fairly squinted view from atop your high horse

I just don't a problem in moving the holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

People move their holidays all the time. When a TD does it, or if a TD so much as sneezes, the ''weh-weh-weh'' brigade is up in arms. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Vudgie

There is obviously nothing inherently wrong with Mick Wallace's statement but it was undoubtably incredibly naive at the same time.

I have no time for the guy, and he is entitled to say what he wants, but I would be cringing if I had voted for the guy to be honest given his performances and personal issues to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

TDs (like teachers) have a set working calendar and are componsated more than adequately for it. If it means so much to Mick Wallace I'd be happy to see him take an unpaid leave of absence, which is what I'd imagine many fans travelling over there will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ireland go into a group of 4.
    Three games of 90 minutes each, spread out over two (ish?) weeks.

He needs full time off to watch these? What a complete tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Fr.Harry Bell

In an era where most decent people are struggling, this man has really put his foot in it.

How do our people, struggling to put food on the table, and look after their

children stay sane after listening to this stuff.

Christianity is poorer when this stuff is accepted.

Bad bad mistake Mr wallace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Much ado about nothing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Surprised nobody is mention that a six week break in the summer is ridiculous.

Mick Wallace is a clown, but then again, he is at the circus...

TheZohan wrote: »
    The guy is NAMA'd up to the eyeballs, was elected by the people of Wexford to represent them (:confused:) and all he gives a shìt about is watching the footie...ffs...

Wallace owes it to ACC/Rabobank...he's not big enough to be in NAMA.

You're calling me black and white after coming to a conclusion about how 'my world is' :rolleyes: but I suppose you have a fairly squinted view from atop your high horse

I just don't a problem in moving the holidays.
    Nope, I asked you is that how your world is. Oh, but I must be on a high horse. How else could I expect politicians to be more worried about the country they've been elected to represent? How selfish of me to think that a politician trying to change things to suit himself could ever be a problem. Come back Bertie, all is forgiven!

Bertie will definitely be at the football...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He's fooked financially, the country is fooked financially, we have a tough budget coming up and god knows where we'll be next year and this absolute twat wastes dail time in asking can he have his holidays next year around the european diving and play acting championships.

Wexford, you have a lot to answer for !