LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

So he does have one?

Yes he eventually got one but not straight away. A relation of mine has MS and she has to pay for all of her doctor's visits, hospital stays and medication. She's only just above the limit for a medical card. It's a feckin disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

pc7 wrote: »
    Im sure the money he has creamed over the years earning 6 figures sums will help ease the pain.

yip underworked and overpaid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I don't think there's anyone in the land that isn't outraged at ministerial pensions or that doesn't know the ins and outs of them by now... Duffy's angle however is self serving whataboutery with relation to pay cuts in RTÉ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Yes he eventually got one but not straight away. A relation of mine has MS and she has to pay for all of her doctor's visits, hospital stays and medication. She's only just above the limit for a medical card. It's a feckin disgrace.

That's not right. It's also not fair that all pensioners get the card automatically no matter their circumstances, when people under the age of 66 really in need don't. But I suppose that's a whole other Liveline...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

It killed me this year paying out 160 euros to RTE, its a huge amount for what we get in return.

Don't pay it pc7. I got rid of my telly as I could not stand paying the fee anymore. I don't miss the telly at all to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Thanks for pointing that out to me Harry.:rolleyes:

So why were you so sarcastic about the guy having to pay for his doctor's visits?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Don't pay it pc7. I got rid of my telly as I could not stand paying the fee anymore.
    I'm sorely tempted to do that next year, but go to court and tell the Judge why I don't want to pay, its too much for what we get in return.

So why were you so sarcastic about the guy having to pay for his doctor's visits?

Because I'm sick of people coming on liveline whinging about having to pay for doctors visits or prescriptions.Someone has to pay for it.
    Now we are not clear as to when he got his medical card, when he got MS etc.
    Granted maybe I am being insensitive and I'm sorry to hear about your relative. So for that I apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

lucylu wrote: »
    Joe doesn't get a pension as he is not an RTE employee. he is a sole trader so he has to provide for his own pension. .. same applies to Pat Kenny. He also has to provide/ pay for a stand in when he is on his holidays...

Are you having a laugh do you know the tax breaks that self employed people get? You do know that there a whole raft of expensable items that duffy will be taking advantage of which are expensed at the gross figure to reduce his tax liabilities.

I would guesstimate that duffy pays 25% max in tax after all the different accounting techniques are applied.

So you will forgive me if i dont shed any tears for his fat head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jaysoose wrote: »
    Are you having a laugh do you know the tax breaks that self employed people get? You do know that there a whole raft of expensable items that duffy will be taking advantage of which are expensed at the gross figure to reduce his tax liabilities.

I would guesstimate that duffy pays 25% max in tax after all the different accounting techniques are applied.

So you will forgive me if i dont shed any tears for his fat head.

My thanks for your comment applies to everything in black print above.

There really is no need for personal insults. I just demeans what you said in an otherwise well made post.

I'm sorely tempted to do that next year, but go to court and tell the Judge why I don't want to pay, its too much for what we get in return.

Heh...the judge won't care. They only care that you're legally obliged to pay for something and haven't done so. You'll be one of many on a given day and will have a further fine levied on top of the payment for the licence fee and back payments, with threat of failure to pay notice and jail (it won't be RTÉ putting you to jail though, always remember that :rolleyes: ).
    The only way is to ditch your telly.
    I don't even have RTE reception but I couldn't be without the FTA UK digitals through an old sky box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

bijapos wrote: »
    Interesting tactic for someone who gets paid 4 times the average TD's pay and works about 25% of what they do. I'm sick to death of the cnut taking pot shots at public and civil service people but yet refuses point blank to discuss RTE's own set up.

It's completely hypocritical of Joe to take a shot at these ex ministers pensions.. I mean these people certainly are remunerated well to run the country ... albeit, a lot of them did a very very poor job of it... But Joe gets paid even MORE than them to run his little afternoon soapbox...

I guess Joe feels that he has clean hands with regard to pensions specifically, as he is not an RTE staffer and is not entitled to a public sector pension himself... He wouldnt be able to criticise them about their actual wages, as he is pulling more from the State than any of them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Joe Duffy seems to think he's the star of the show when it is blatantly obvious, for the four months, or so each year he's absent from the show, that the audience stays the same.

The Producer decides who is on air, Joe's job is to listen and ask questions. He is not a good listener and he asks ridiculous questions. I thought his behaviour and attitude with the poor Russian artist who was disfigured by the knife wielding attacker was disgraceful. For a victim trying to recover from such a horrendous attack she could well have done without Joe graphically recalling each and every injury to her hands.

The show does just as well whether it's Damien O'Reilly, Philip BH, Derek Davis, or whoever, hosting it. Joe is over-paid by something in the region of €250k p.a.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I heard a bit of the show about 2 weeks ago when the artist was on, and Joe had the surgeon who was consulting her on possible prosthetics on the show. I understand it was with a view to raising money for her but I thought it severely lacked professionalism by both Joe and the doctor. Surely, she should/could have just said she is not at liberty to discuss a patient?

What happened to her was terrible, but the way Joe kept reminding her of the ordeal when it was clear she didn't want to talk about it was mishandled.

Even yesterdays calls on migrant Monday, some of which were very poorly handled, and some, like the soldiers with no pension were re-tailored to fit Joe's agenda on TD Pensions.

Also, for someone with so many years of 'life experience', he comes across as very ignorant on a range of subjects, including things such as non-christian theology(yesterdays call with the Muslim asylam seeker being a good example).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

syklops wrote: »
    Even yesterdays calls on migrant Monday, some of which were very poorly handled, and some, like the soldiers with no pension were re-tailored to fit Joe's agenda on TD Pensions.

Yeah yesterday was a bit like Father Ted's Craggy Island Cultural Diversity Festival...

rightthere.jpeg

Foreigners ... a great bunch of lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

"Pecks"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Blah Blah Blah is right sir, sums up todays show and its only 6mins into it.

A veteran of the army band:rolleyes:

*tumbleweed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

So another day of Army pensions vs Ministers pensions. Fair enough for Joe having a go at Ministers/TD's entitlements but I doubt he will pick up the ball and run with it as he did with his personal crusade with the head shops. He will be afraid that his enormous salary will get a proper kicking next time out and he knows better then most which side his bread is buttered on.

A veteran? he was in the band ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What is this about today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

They're trained to shoot too, it's not as if they lob grenades with their trumpet blowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Have reached a point with the Joe Duffy show that im now checking this thread before wasting my time tuning in..seems to be the smart move today at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

220px-Dadsarmy_1.jpg

we want a pension joe.

bijapos wrote: »
    So another day of Army pensions vs Ministers pensions. Fair enough for Joe having a go at Ministers/TD's entitlements but I doubt he will pick up the ball and run with it as he did with his personal crusade with the head shops. He will be afraid that his enormous salary will get a proper kicking next time out and he knows better then most which side his bread is buttered on.

No, you see this is Joe's way of sending a warning shot to the politicians not to go near his pay. He actually is a very powerful individual and abuses that power on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭woysworld

Why should soliders get free medical care?

That_Guy wrote: »

Irish Army war hero pensions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

That_Guy wrote: »

Same as yesterday........... who would have guessed. :rolleyes:

A cure for insomniacs this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DuckStab

A veteran? he was in the band ffs!

You're obviously unaware of the 1987 skirmish between woodwind and percussion. Cymbals... cymbals everywhere. YOU DON'T KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!