Do Christians actually believe in demonic possession?

• 12-11-2011 11:37PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭

Considering all we know about mental illnesses such as schizophrenia, epilepsy etc. and how they can affect a persons personality or physical capacity, are there still actually religious people who believe that invisible demonic forces can gain control of a persons body, when the supposed demonically possessed victim is suffering from a as of yet un-medicated neurological or medical condition such as the two noted above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Maybe in America, but I doubt most normal christians believe that nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You can not ignore the taint of chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

What do ye mean invisable demonic forces. i can see mine perfectly:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

I'm like a Demon when i'm Bursting

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

If it's in that fantasy novel they believe is real they sort of have to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I think they're called Scientologists, now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Arawn wrote: »
    If it's in that fantasy novel they believe is real they sort of have to
    Or else they're not good Christians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Do Christian bankers do demonic respossessions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Yes, yes they do. They also believe in the easter bunny and the tooth fairy. If they don't, they are excommunicated and dunked on the dipping chair before being dried off with hells breath and burnt at the stake. It's a big ask, but most do their best. Personally I firmly believe in Demonic posession and have met many posessed persons. One tried to take my parking space in Dunnes today, but I recited a verse from the 2nd book of ***** at him and he skulked off to the cave from whence he sallied.
    edit: this post has been demonically posessed and my cnuts has been transformified into a series of demonic asterisks. Proof if proof were needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Well the Vatican still appoints exorcists, and who could forget this hilarious conference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Well the Vatican still appoints exorcists, and who could forget this hilarious conference?

Blaming clerical child abuse on the devil, what a shower of arseholes they truly are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Christians believe a lot of things, I've learned to just accept their gullibility and distance myself from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I've been possessed ever since doing a ouija board carved into a gravestone when I was 15.
    Any bad I have done since then is because of the spirit of the inhabitant of that grave. I am not to blame for my own actions.

Praise Jesus.

Terry wrote: »
    I've been possessed ever since doing a ouija board carved into a gravestone when I was 15.
    Any bad I have done since then is because of the spirit of the inhabitant of that grave. I am not to blame for my own actions.

Praise Jesus.
    "I forgive you my child"-Pope Pious the shirt lifterXXXv1.

Give to your local Church collection, think of the children, and their compo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

In the United States of Retardia and some of the more backward african countries, yeah. They are funny like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Solnskaya wrote: »
    "I forgive you my child"-Pope Pious the shirt lifterXXXv1.

Give to your local Church collection, think of the children, and their compo.
    Thank you.
    Praise Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You can not ignore the taint of chaos

'Blessed is a closed mind filled with faith'.

Terry wrote: »
    Thank you.
    Praise Jesus.
    If Jesus was alive, he'd avoid the Catholic church like a Cavan man avoids buying a round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Considering all we know about mental illnesses such as schizophrenia, epilepsy etc. and how they can affect a persons personality or physical capacity, are there still actually religious people who believe that invisible demonic forces can gain control of a persons body, when the supposed demonically possessed victim is suffering from a as of yet un-medicated neurological or medical condition such as the two noted above.

Yes, no, maybe, I dont know, who cares, why do you care, nobody cares.

Let them believe what they want

Also, there is the small matter of me and others, knowing feck all about schitzophrenniaie and bi-popular disorder yet believing that I/We are experts in the subject-that is the black swan in the unction. I believe that all schizophrenics are just misguided, and so do I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Anyone who doesn't believe in demonic possession should watch this documentary.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It wouldn't be so bad being possessed by demons as long as the feckers would pay a bit of rent :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

You could ask over yonder. Personally as a Christian I do. There is a spiritual force that brings us to know God, and there are spiritual forces at work bringing many people away from Him. Given the state of the world, I don't think that's beyond believable for me. Perhaps it is for many if they assume that God doesn't exist.

Perhaps I'm not a normal Christian though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭yutta

Solnskaya wrote: »
    If Jesus was alive, he'd avoid the Catholic church like a Cavan man avoids buying a round.

Funny that the Catholic Church is the only apostolic church. I wonder what Jesus would think about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

to be fair I think Dominic has a lot of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

philologos wrote: »
    You could ask over yonder. Personally as a Christian I do. There is a spiritual force that brings us to know God, and there are spiritual forces at work bringing many people away from Him. Given the state of the world, I don't think that's beyond believable for me. Perhaps it is for many if they assume that God doesn't exist.

Perhaps I'm not a normal Christian though :)

Yes , you could ask over yonder and have the thread locked at once,
    Sometimes that forum looks like a hardware store with all the locks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭alex73

Read screwtape letters. The best way to get people to hell is to make man think the Devil does not exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭alex73

yutta wrote: »
    Funny that the Catholic Church is the only apostolic church. I wonder what Jesus would think about that?

The Catholic Church is not the only Apostolic Church. The Eastern Orthodox Church as full apostolic Succession recognised by the Catholic Church. So does the Coptic Church as far as I remember.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

John Doe1 wrote: »
    In the United States of Retardia and some of the more backward african countries, yeah. They are funny like that

But its in The Bible which is the word of God and The vatican still has exorcists so why do you consider The US and African countries as backwards when it comes to their faith?