Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People saying they are Irish - when they clearly aren't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Ben Hadad wrote: »
    The OP's attitude pisses me off. Who the **** are you to tell them which country they themselves feel they are from.
    no pride in your own nationality

I don't think the OP is trying to tell anyone what country they "feel" they're from. He/she is more concerned with what country they actually are from, which is a bit more relevant.

If anything, it shows pride in his/her nationality that they don't want claims of 'Irishness' bandied about as a fashionable badge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Rastapitts

Daniel Day Lewis!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

FruitLover wrote: »
    I don't think the OP is trying to tell anyone what country they "feel" they're from. He/she is more concerned with what country they actually are from, which is a bit more relevant.

If anything, it shows pride in his/her nationality that they don't want claims of 'Irishness' bandied about as a fashionable badge.

What is this pride you speak of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Because they are talking to an Irish person. If they were talking to a guy from Italy, they would mention their Italian ancestor. It's just small talk.

That pretty much it. The day after Barrack O'Bama was doing his speech in college green, he was in London telling everyone how the Obama's were of English decent.

I think generally the Americans just think we are all a bit gullible over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

ray houghtons dad is from donegal , so he could he had the choice to play for either scotland or us. i would class him as irish, andy townsend and john aldridge had parents,grand parents who were irish. barack obama , we regard him as irish in that his ancestors were traced back to moneygall

Don't consider houghton to be Irish since he dressed up as a Leprechuan on the Badiel and Skinner show.
    No self respecting Irishman would be caught doing that unless he was in Kerry coning Yanks out of money.
    Also he's too fond of referring to ferguson as sir alex.
    We don't do sirs in this country.
    We are only in Ireland now because our ancestors were luckier than they were.

Some might say we are the unlucky ones.
    My father, who had emigrated himself, always said only the well connected and idiot ones stayed. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

If an American or whatever nationality has Irish descent & wants to call themselves Irish that's fine by me. Why would any Irish person get insecure about this? I take it as a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I think generally the Americans just think we are all a bit gullible over here.
    Which is why they all celebrate Paddy's day...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

People who do this that annoy me:
    20 stone lads that wears shorts and have cameras round their neck
    Denis Leary
    Denis ****ing LEary
    ****ing Denis Leary
    That wanker denis leary

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Which is why they all celebrate Paddy's day...?

I don't see how that connected to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Demonique

al28283 wrote: »
    One thing I hate is when Irish Americans celeberate St. Patty's Day

I caused drama on a LiveJournal community by complaining about the St. Patty thing, I said 'Saint Patrick wasn't a purple-haired chainsmoker'

Demonique wrote: »
    I caused drama on a LiveJournal community by complaining about the St. Patty thing, I said 'Saint Patrick wasn't a purple-haired chainsmoker'

And you know this how???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

As has been said several times, most times its just small talk. the equivalent of chatting to someone from another county and mentioning your mam/granny is from there. For others they have a strong sense of pride in their Irish ancestors who settled in America and developed the communities that still exist today. To them being "Irish" and proud has little to do with our country as it is today, being Irish is a statement of what area they and their family are from, and shows pride in that community. There are strong senses of fraternity amongst those of Polish and Italian descent for the same reason.

I don't see how that connected to be honest.
    Well its clear that a lot of Americans feel there must be something to be respected and liked about being Irish, otherwise why would they celebrate a national day of Irishness? Its not like they needed an excuse to go for a pint.

So that speaks to the likely sincerity of Americans claiming Irish ancestry. Especially in places like Boston and New York.

I've no problem with it, and take it as a compliment, which is no doubt the way it is intended.

ceegee wrote: »
    As has been said several times, most times its just small talk. the equivalent of chatting to someone from another county and mentioning your mam/granny is from there. For others they have a strong sense of pride in their Irish ancestors who settled in America and developed the communities that still exist today. To them being "Irish" and proud has little to do with our country as it is today, being Irish is a statement of what area they and their family are from, and shows pride in that community. There are strong senses of fraternity amongst those of Polish and Italian descent for the same reason.

Again with the pride thing :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

saa wrote: »
    Imitation is the highest form of flattery.

Immigration is the highest form of flattery.

Well its clear that a lot of Americans feel there must be something to be respected and liked about being Irish, otherwise why would they celebrate a national day of Irishness? Its not like they needed an excuse to go for a pint.

So that speaks to the likely sincerity of Americans claiming Irish ancestry. Especially in places like Boston and New York.

I've no problem with it, and take it as a compliment, which is no doubt the way it is intended.

I wouldn't disagree with that at all. Bit as has already been pointed out, a lot of Americans find a bit of convenient German/Scottish/Italian ancestry when talking to a German/Scot/Italian.

Barrack Obama was the perfect example of this on his whirlwind vote grabbing tour earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I feel German........I think so therefore I am. end of..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Heard a Nigerian recently arguing with two polish guys about the price of work done on his car...........debate got a bit heated and the nigerian shouted GET OUT OF MY COUNTRY...pissed myself laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Gazmantoo

You don't really know that you descendant of William the Conqueror, along the way somewhere numerous women cheated and got pregnant by other men than the one who was supposed to be the Father.

If you're going to take that line then all those Americans who claim Irish ancestry could be wrong too, they could all be descendants of Genghis Knan for all they know!
    Besides, I was in a museum in Exeter where there is an old coin with an engraved depiction of William The Conqueror on it...I freaked out when I saw it!!!, the resemblance is uncanny!, it depicts him with a big nose and a funny hat!, looks just like me on one of my trips to Glastonbury Festival !!! :D

I wouldn't disagree with that at all. Bit as has already been pointed out, a lot of Americans find a bit of convenient German/Scottish/Italian ancestry when talking to a German/Scot/Italian.

Barrack Obama was the perfect example of this on his whirlwind vote grabbing tour earlier this year.
    Ah but sure politicians are a breed unto themselves, you know they're lying because their mouths are open. With that said, I don't see national Oktoberfests/St Andrews day/Italian days anywhere. And of course Obama wouldn't have bothered unless it had deep meaning for a lot of Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Immigrants in the 19th century weren't exactly welcomed with open arms when they first arrived. Therefore they kept to their own communities in their own neighbourhoods and each new generation developed a sense of identity with where their ancestors had arrived from. America is a melting pot of different cultures and nationalities, therefore its important to these people to have that sense of identity and belonging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Dub Ste

This is a thing that really gets to me.
    I was born in Leeds,my mam was from Cavan,my dad from Leeds.
    Dad died when I was young,so Mam brought us up.My auntie and uncle also lived in Leeds so we had our own little bit of Cavan in Leeds.
    We spent nearly every other summer in Cavan,spent most of school years being picked on because our family was Irish,was called every name under the sun,you Irish(insert own combination of swearwords).......after so long you get to thinking if they think I'm Irish,then that's what i must be....

Skip forward a good few years,after Mam died I'd had enough of living in a country where I felt I never belonged,so I decided to move to Dublin,the best thing I've ever done.
    I've married,had children here,and this is my home...............now here's the rub,I consider myself Irish,it's how I feel,yet because of my accent,I'm always classed as a brit.
    When I say to people do they consider Phil Lynott,Shane McGowan,Paul McGrath,half of U2 as being Irish,everyone says yes.Well I'm the same as them,born over there to Irish parents,moved over here,granted they did earlier in their lives than I did,but still,the same.
    I guess it's all down to how you see yourself,and just have to sometimes accept that others don't see you in that way.

That's my view anyway,chances are I'll be shot down...;)

Ah but sure politicians are a breed unto themselves, you know they're lying because their mouths are open. With that said, I don't see national Oktoberfests/St Andrews day/Italian days anywhere. And of course Obama wouldn't have bothered unless it had deep meaning for a lot of Americans.

Yes, but you don't need to be Irish to celebrate St Patricks day, which is why I don't see them connected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Gazmantoo

Dub Ste wrote: »
    Dad died when I was young,so Mam brought us up.My auntie and uncle also lived in Leeds so we had our own little bit of Cavan in Leeds.
    We spent nearly every other summer in Cavan,spent most of school years being picked on because our family was Irish,was called every name under the sun,you Irish(insert own combination of swearwords).......after so long you get to thinking if they think I'm Irish,then that's what i must be....

Skip forward a good few years,after Mam died I'd had enough of living in a country where I felt I never belonged,so I decided to move to Dublin,the best thing I've ever done.
    I've married,had children here,and this is my home...............now here's the rub,I consider myself Irish,it's how I feel,yet because of my accent,I'm always classed as a brit.
    When I say to people do they consider Phil Lynott,Shane McGowan,Paul McGrath,half of U2 as being Irish,everyone says yes.Well I'm the same as them,born over there to Irish parents,moved over here,granted they did earlier in their lives than I did,but still,the same.
    I guess it's all down to how you see yourself,and just have to sometimes accept that others don't see you in that way.

RESPECT!!!, you're a smart man who can think for himself!, (I'm surprised the government haven't tried to lock you away) :D...
    But just remember!, the Welsh were on the planet first!, so we're really all Welsh! :) (especially that Welsh tart from The Life of Brian!!!) :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

You're lumping all Irish Americans in with Barack Obama and his vote winning attempt at clinging himself to some sort of Irishness.

Irish Americans don't have an agenda with claiming to be of Irish descent. I've been there many times around the Irish American community and their's is a pride in their heritage. Of course all the wannabe Brits on here slate those not from Ireland who have a pride in their Irish heritage because you have a hatred of your own country and an admiration for another (Britain).

It's no surprise to see you on here slating them and using stupid examples and generalisations.

So you're a Cavan man bought up in Leeds.

You must be very very good at saving money.....

Nah, I get what you're about mate! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

You're lumping all Irish Americans in with Barack Obama and his vote winning attempt at clinging himself to some sort of Irishness.

Irish Americans don't have an agenda with claiming to be of Irish descent. I've been there many times around the Irish American community and their's is a pride in their heritage. Of course all the wannabe Brits on here slate those not from Ireland who have a pride in their Irish heritage because you have a hatred of your own country and an admiration for another (Britain).

It's no surprise to see you on here slating them and using stupid examples and generalisations.

Love the way the nationalists and sectarians consider anyone who is above flag waving parochial pride to be infact, brit lovers :D

has to be the most ridiculous horse manure. it's up there with americans who call people terrorist lovers if they don't join in on the sickening patriotic bandwagon.

With you right up until the predictable "brits" rant :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Father is the same born in that place across the pennines, never had an UK passport till he was 50, never worked in the UK.

Has the family shamed, with him not coming from Cork like