Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Marc Pelosi involved for the first time tonight and is on the bench after getting his work permit. Shows how highly Dunn is rated, already involved at reserve level.

Liverpool Reserves XI vs Blackburn: Belford, Mendy, Sama, Wisdom, Smith, Roberts, Coady, Suso, Sterling, Ngoo, Morgan.

Liverpool subs: Stephens, McGiveron, Roddan, Pelosi, Dunn.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

mixednuts wrote: »
    I might be guilty of jumping the gun but there will come a tipping point when it comes to Andy Carroll .

Yes the players purchased with Carroll in mind ( Downing & Adam) have not been exactly supplying the assists to help him become the player we all hope , but when the supply does start coming (which i expect to happen) and Andy fails to finish (which i have seen nothing to suggest otherwise either with the head or feet) then he will become un-startable.

The more games he cant be started in the quicker he may be moved on , or he himself pines more for a Newcastle return.

I truly hope i am proved 100% wrong in my prediction but there has been nothing shown by him to suggest he can reach those expectations .

Only time will tell.

This is almost verging on him wanting him fail just so you can be proved right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

This is almost verging on him wanting him fail just so you can be proved right.

You couldn't be more wrong .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just listening to Greg Roughley on the Graunaid Podcast, he basically says he'd have Liverpool playing the formation they ended last season with, noting that 4-4-2 with Carroll is too rigid and they need to turn the clock back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

Hoki wrote: »
    Selling Meireles has been the biggest mistake Kenny has made at the club. He would have been the perfect candidate to be getting on the end of Carrolls knockdowns , his unselfishness & eye for a pass in the final thrid of the pitch is sorely missing. It genuinely angers me to see him at Chelsea more so than Torres.

This. 100000000 times over.

I still think back to the way the majority on here and lads I know reacted to the news he was sold. Apart from myself, I think there were about two other posters as pissed off about it as I was.

People mentioned what we are lacking is that mata,silva type link man. Now in no way im saying Meireles is at there quality but Meireles was as close as we had to that type of player.

Someone who could pick the ball up in an advanced position, play a quick one two and slip someone in with a cutting pass.

Il never forget the cameo of himself and Suarez against Arsenal and turning to my brother going, wow this could be one exciting season. They were so fluid and between the two of them with their intricate little passes and movement tore Arsenal apart.

Meireles was such a forward thinking player always looking for that incisive pass. And not the hollywood ball either.

I genuinely believe if we still had meireles, we would of picked up alot more points.

Alot say Meireles tired after 70 (and he did), but he covered so much ground in that 70. The amount of times he would pick the ball up on the edge of our box, and the next minute hed be lurking around the oppositions box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

veXual wrote: »
    Thought this would be the best place to ask. Has anyone ever gone on the Ultimate Anfield experience its described as:
    wrote:
    Begin the day at breakfast with an LFC Legend

A friend is considering buying this for her boyfriend as a Christmas present and was wondering if its worth the money. £235 I think it costs any info appreciated..

Worth it:

Phil Babb
    Heskey
    Sean Dundee

Not worth it:

Anyone else.

http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/16643/1/blackburn-reserves-vs-liverpool-reserves.html

Reserves 0-0, some great chances to win the game late on, indeed the second last corner in ET should have been buried by Ngoo. Blackburn ressies have some huge players esp Hérold Goulon who is 6'5" and at 23 is way to old for this level!

Reserve game finished 0-0.

Scrappy game with both teams poor in the final third. We had some good chances to win it towards the end but a draw was probably the right result on the balance of the match. Thought our best players were the two lads at the heart of the defense Sama and Wisdom who were excellent. Two in the centre of midfield Coady and Roberts also did well but thought the front three of Sterling, Suso and Ngoo all had a poor night.

Opr

Kess73 wrote: »
    There were some put up earlier in the season from the Aspers. Might have been by Paully D (apols to Paully if it was not him that was talking about Carroll at the Aspers and who put them up).

Plus a few popped up on a few fansites.

No he mentioned it but never put up photos.

Wouldn't suprise me if it was BS though with the nonsense he's been posting lately.

daithijjj wrote: »
    Meireles was 'doing it' in a red shirt though last season, for me, Aquilani was a side issue, i had serious questions over whether he actually wanted to be in England at all, i didnt have those with Meireles and i think we should have tried our best to keep him which i dont think we did, and it was a mistake. He isnt what you would call a leader but i think his contribution in the final third was great. Just to pick out a snippet, at home to city when Carroll scored his two goals, last man to touch it was Meireles, i dont think you can teach what he gave us, you either have the thought processes or you dont. He had a few poor games like away at Villa last year but for the most part he was creating space and opportunities for others with his movement. We missed him when he didnt play.

Anyway, i think we need a player like him back in this team. Aquilani and Gerrard are not the answer medium to long term.

They are both gone so I have no interest in going over old ground. We need to be looking to the future which I agree includes planning for life without Gerrard. If he can get back playing regularly that will be great but we badly need more options in that area of the field.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Kess73 wrote: »
    There were some put up earlier in the season from the Aspers. Might have been by Paully D (apols to Paully if it was not him that was talking about Carroll at the Aspers and who put them up).

Plus a few popped up on a few fansites.

I blame Kenny. The poor lad probably thinks he'll be dragged to another Boyzone concert with the Boss if he's seen around Liverpool at a loose end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Not doubting you Kess, but I've never seen any here.

Loads of mentions of them. But never seen em reproduced.

That hurts Alan.:( I used to thrive on your doubt and agitation.;)

How can we ever get that magic back? Maybe a few posts about a certain Nottingham born midfielder would help :pac::pac::pac:

With thanks to er RAWK.

What's wrong with this picture?

a3h06a.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

There's nobody in the box for Liverpool...

Do I get a medal?:p

You do, made of tin though! If goals were gold Liverpool would be in with the IMF right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

mike65 wrote: »
    With thanks to er RAWK.

a3h06a.jpg

Mentioned that in the match thread and mentioned here either yesterday or day before. Sometimes we look so far off each others wavelength it looks ugly.

Was a great run by Downing. Everyone around him was asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

With thanks to er RAWK.

a3h06a.jpg

Am laughing at Suarez with his typical "gimme the fupping ball" posture. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

With thanks to er RAWK.

a3h06a.jpg

Four men in attacking positions. It has to be a shop.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

With thanks to er RAWK.

a3h06a.jpg

Not only is there no one in the box but no one between 18-40 yards if a ball breaks. I thought we were supposed to be playing high pressure game high up the pitch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

Dont want to be picking on Carroll too much but thats one other fault I have with him. So many times he will knock the ball down lay it off and SLOWLY trot towards the penalty spot.

He is a striker, he should be busting his gut to get back into the penalty area. Alot of the time Carroll seems to be out on the wing receiving the ball. Not sure if that though is down to tactics or not.

Apart from Bellamy and Kuyt, I would love to see Maxi get more game time. Technically very good and regularly seems to pop up in goal scoring positions.

Adam is clearly too slow and Liverpool are playing too deep for him anyway, without Gerrard on the pitch Henderson should have been making runs even from the right.

liverpoolattack.jpg

The whole team needs pushing up 30 yards and the area attacked from all sides, always making sure there is a late runner for the cut back, and a "man over" when balls come in from one side or the other be it a corner, free kick or open play. The number of times a ball has sailed past everyone is frustrating,

tactics.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Expecting Adam to ping a ball 40 yards and then run full speed instantly so he can be hanging on the edge of the box for any potential knock downs from a cross is a bit much.

If we're going to persist with 2 upfront, 3-5-2 might look a better option in home games v "weaker" sides. That way Adam can play the 40 yard ball knowing someone will follow it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

liverpoolattack.jpg

Why is andy 10 feet away from suarez and not at the top of the triangle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

This is worse.

ndvudf.jpg

The fact suarez moves damn all is annoying aswell. he should have moved more central into the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Whats the link for that post in RAWK btw Mike65?

There's 3 of them within 20 feet!

As for the pressing high up, Swansea did that and very well.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

It was very early in the game, Downing picked the ball up near the half way line, i think they were expecting a pass rather than for him to skin his man. Before we signed him alot of folk were saying he isnt that fast, he is, he is the fastest at the club according to Darren Burgess.

Still, no excuses, it was great play by him and we should be trying to kill teams off early rather than the panic we have seen in the last few years in the last 10 mins. Still got alot of work to do to get used to each others play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Charlie Adam simply has to play as part of a 3 man midfield. He is neither mobile enough to play as a 2 and he isn't defensively proficient to make up for his lack of mobility. He is rigid in terms of the role he can play. His passing is top notch but it needs to be pinpoint otherwise there will not be any support runners picking up the clearance.

Ideally Adam would partner a top class defensive midfielder who has plenty of pace and a great engine. And in front of them would be a playmaker who is technically very good and a master of making late runs into the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,603 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I really want Downing to start crossing from exactly the position he's in in YouTookMyNames image.

Took often he crosses straight across instead of from deep. We all know Carroll is at his best attacking a ball coming from a deeper angle. Thats what he thrived on for Newcastle. When the ball is coming straight across him he just isn't as effective.

Maybe it's the timing or something, he has more time to set himself to attack a deep ball than he has a direct cross, and given his size and strength, if both he and the defender have enough time to settle themselves to attack the ball, he'll come out better than most.