Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[CoD MW3] General News and Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

I think it will be more fun then MW2, not as many ridiculous kill streaks (nuke) and the air support isnt as strong etc

Hope there wont be as many campers and boosting as it does look like killstreaks arent as important or as much of a focus, its way more gun on gun focused. It sounds and looks like the game will be more balanced then MW2 which will be good

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

Themarkofj has is and says so far there's nothing but campers, the servers are going to struggle on release and the hit detection is blops like. Hmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,671 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

CORaven wrote: »
    I really do not understand complaints like this.
    People have been crying out for a balanced MW2 with no OMA and commando. IW sell it, people cry out that it does not look drastically pretty.

Nope I wanted a brand new engine but they rather sell the same old thing, basically they are just relying on the brand to sell the game now

I also wanted to get rid of the nonsense perks but of course they are still there

I wanted dedicated servers for everyone and the game will always be broken until they correct this

The Call of Duty brand needs a revolution but we're just getting a reworked game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ugglasdav

Headshot wrote: »
    Nope I wanted a brand new engine but they rather sell the same old thing, basically they are just relying on the brand to sell the game now

I also wanted to get rid of the nonsense perks but of course they are still there

I wanted dedicated servers for everyone and the game will always be broken until they correct this

The Call of Duty brand needs a revolution but we're just getting a reworked game.

i agree with you on the game engine, they should of made a new one. but i think dedicated servers would be impossible, they would probably lose money if they introduced them

ugglasdav wrote: »
    i agree with you on the game engine, they should of made a new one. but i think dedicated servers would be impossible, they would probably lose money if they introduced them

No they wouldnt, where did you come up with that?

AGB_Ghost wrote: »
    3 million people playing in hundreds of cities around the world on 4 or more consoles and you must have enough servers for everyone, will cost a lot.

Why do you think EA do it then....

Of course servers take money to run, that's a given but it hardly would put a dent into the profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CORaven wrote: »
    I really do not understand complaints like this.
    People have been crying out for a balanced MW2 with no OMA and commando. IW sell it, people cry out that it does not look drastically pretty.

There's two sides to this, MW3 looks like the game MW2 should have been, less bullsh1t perks (that opinion could change once we play it monday night though :pac: ) and more balance, even in that xjawz vid, how many noobtubes did you hear? was he killed by anyone running around with akimbo shotguns? all the stuff that people hated in MW2 seems to have been fixed, if so yay.

But, BUT. it does look like an expansion pack, a really expensive one. now if the campaign is fun to play and the multiplayer is fixed and lasts a full year without getting boring then yay, all I wanted really. I think the graphics look fine, sure theres some lazy reusing of textures and objects, like the white vans and that map looks like a mix between Strike and Crash, two cod4 maps.

Doubtful it'll happen but an engine rehaul or at least a decent retexturing for the next game should happen, I've no problem with the three Modern Warfare titles looking similar, they're a trilogy, they share the same graphical palette, grand. I'd rather a reused solid engine than a buggy as sh1t new one like BF3.

waffling now, all will be revealed on monday night at midnight, its gonna be fun watching the bitch/megalove threads go bananas :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Not really liking the look of the maps so far from what ive seen, they look too big and remind me of black ops maps, I wish they had more maps like cod4, less **** and smaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

TBH I can't fcuking wait to play MW3, I couldn't give a sh1te about what some gimp says about it, I wanna see for myself.

And it's not just the game that I'm excited for on Tuesday. Even getting the game (ie, my frail attempts of pretending to be 18 while wearing a school uniform at break-time), rushing home to play it, talking (and arguing :p) to the lads from here about favourite gun, map etc, staying on for hours upon hours looking like this:

And then heading on to Boards, seeing the forum filled with old faces who had previously given up on the series, new members asking all their MW3 questions in text speak and Ade, Lee and Shammy having a nightmare from all the BF3 trolls who have came to visit.

Yup, I can't fcuking wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

^ aye, late october/early november is always fun, watch the interwebz implode as noobs rage, new fans get thrown in at the deep end and everyone has their 2 cents.

monday night, pizza, red bull, gamestop for 12, dart home, put on the kettle, settle in, blow sh1t up , aw yeah :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

And Christmas noobs, nom nom nom :p

Leeg17 wrote: »

Will you be doing your boosting, lee ;-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭sssssiiiiimon

Nom nom nom non nom nom nom.

I can smell them already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

I forgot about them! Christmas on Blops was crazy fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Use the damage proficiency for them perhaps?

think I'd prefer to just use the ump :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Headshot wrote: »

most cod of duty games you don't really know the game breakers for a month or two after the game has been released.

I can't say the same for this game.

ghost ruined black ops.......yet they have managed to make a perk stronger than it :confused:

How long until we get assassin free lobbies :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

krudler wrote: »
    There's two sides to this, MW3 looks like the game MW2 should have been, less bullsh1t perks (that opinion could change once we play it monday night though :pac: ) and more balance, even in that xjawz vid, how many noobtubes did you hear? was he killed by anyone running around with akimbo shotguns? all the stuff that people hated in MW2 seems to have been fixed, if so yay.

But, BUT. it does look like an expansion pack, a really expensive one. now if the campaign is fun to play and the multiplayer is fixed and lasts a full year without getting boring then yay, all I wanted really. I think the graphics look fine, sure theres some lazy reusing of textures and objects, like the white vans and that map looks like a mix between Strike and Crash, two cod4 maps.

Doubtful it'll happen but an engine rehaul or at least a decent retexturing for the next game should happen, I've no problem with the three Modern Warfare titles looking similar, they're a trilogy, they share the same graphical palette, grand. I'd rather a reused solid engine than a buggy as sh1t new one like BF3.

waffling now, all will be revealed on monday night at midnight, its gonna be fun watching the bitch/megalove threads go bananas :D

15 maps = 3 x (5 map packs at €15)
    Campaign + all spec ops. = €15?
    For all you get, it is not a bad deal in CoD terms

FYP ;)

Woah, that was bang out of order mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

One of my favorite youtube commentators Thunder Toro has been updating his twitter page as he plays the game and what he has to say looks very positive.

"Kill confirmed is the best game mode i ever played. Brilliant idea. first game i went 28-6 and had so much fun."

"MW3 is NOTHING like MW2 in terms of gameplay, it's gun on gun, not knife on tube. deathstreaks are the only thing wrong with this game."

"MW3 is the best shooter i ever played, don't listen to anyone telling you otherwise!"

I am looking forward to this game now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Mad looking forward to this game.

Unlike the past 3/4 years, I didn't watch any videos really, or get much info, cause before its just disappointed me.

This year, haven't really paid attention to MW3, mostly as I didn't want to get my hopes up and I've a load of college work to do.

Until today. Good bye education. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

How the Fúck is he allowed upload that?

Machinima people are not allowed upload stuff! He must have left!

@Tallon
    Who? xJawz? Or Thunder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Mad looking forward to this game.

Unlike the past 3/4 years, I didn't watch any videos really, or get much info, cause before its just disappointed me.

This year, haven't really paid attention to MW3, mostly as I didn't want to get my hopes up and I've a load of college work to do.

Until today. Good bye education. :P

College work in general is getting destroyed this weekend and for weekends to come if I'm lucky! Cannot wait for this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Ok so Im on Cod 4 trying to prestige to get my token for MW3.. I join a game full of yanks.. I get 5000 for a kill.. Happy days I jump 7 levels... Then all of a sudden I jump to level 55 aload of unlocking attachments popped up, then I press select and the whole lobby is 10th prestige level 55.:rolleyes:
    Im worried now will I still get my token? Or will it recognise that it was a hack and that I never actually pushed the prestige button?
    I dunno...:confused::(

So I rent out World at War tonight, hadnt played it in donkeys and was hoping Id get into a level 65 lobby so Icould prestige for a token. Well whadya knowk level 17 Im in a game, get kicked and all of a sudden Im level 65! Happy days! This time though Im able to push the prestige button and Im 1st prestige..

Saves all the hard graft and hours I would of had to put in but did enjoy the couple hours of WaW have to say.

Im putting this in this thread because I wana know has this happened anyone else and do yous reckon we will still get the token for it on MW3??

If it will work il have 4 tokens from day 1! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Tallon wrote: »
    How the Fúck is he allowed upload that?

Machinima people are not allowed upload stuff! He must have left!

It's not on his channel and he has a partnered CHANNEL. It'll be shut down, but his channel is safe I'd say. The only weird thing is, he makes no money off that, so why did he do it?