What's the worst phonecall you've had to make?

• 03-11-2011 11:21PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

For me it was ringing the aul lad to tell him i'd crashed the car he'd bought for me that year (18th birthday present). He was surprisingly calm on the phone. Was one of those moments where he was like "Im not angry, I'm disappointed!"

Needless to say I had to save up to buy my next car after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

when I was ringing my friend Hugh Jass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Phoning loved ones to tell them of a death is never easy no matter how many times you do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Wasn't a phone call but texting my mate to tell him one of his best friends had just died in a car crash was fairly hard to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I was keeping a friends mother in company in the hospital (she was dying of cancer) while he was across in the shopping center getting a few bits and bob's. Anyways, while he was away she took a very nasty turn and went downhill very rapidly. I had to call him and tell him that he had a matter of minutes to get back to the hospital before his mam passed away. It was rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Rang my friend to tell her she had failed all but one of her college exams, failed 7 subjects I think. The worst thing was for about five minutes she assumed I was taking the piss, oh no what did I really get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

baraca wrote: »
    Wasn't a phone call but texting my mate to tell him one of his best friends had just died in a car crash was fairly hard to do.

You text him that? Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I was passenger in a car on the way to a hospital in Dublin, I received a call. I had had a few drinks so I couldn't drive but the driver was in a panic because her father was suddenly critical in a hospital in Dublin, her mother, the dying mans wife was in the back seat saying her rosary. Her brother was the caller, he told me that the father had died but that there'd be someone at the hospital to meet us, he told me to keep everyone cool and just tell them everything is alright, just get to the hospital. I might not have had to make the call but it was hard to take and harder to keep cool, give nothing away.
    We got there as the sun was rising and there was someone there to meet us, they knew straight away that it was too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I bet OP feels like a bit of a tit now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 theneed2rock

Cianos wrote: »
    I bet OP feels like a bit of a tit now...

indeed...some pretty bad ones here alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Jesus man, tell me you're taking the p*ss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I had to ring my girlfriend once to tell her I'd burnt the dinner. She wasn't too impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

You text him that? Jesus.
    Faith+1 wrote: »
    Jesus man, tell me you're taking the p*ss?

I don't think it's that bad, some people are not able to make the call, txt might have been easier and then maybe they talked.
    I would say it would be common enough for younger people to txt, maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Alan b.

ringing somebody i didnt know, to tell them that there son who i didnt know, had just been in a bad accident and was being rushed to hospital and that she had better get in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

I had to ring the guards to ask them to confirm or deny that was brother was found dead, as i had received a phonecall before that, to say that someone who know some one had heard it..I had too wait for it to be confirmed 20mins later, and then I had to ring my Father....that phonecall will always stay with me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I had to ring Vodafone saying that I had to cancel my contract with them after 5 years because I was moving onto O2. A few tears were shed on both sides but I've got over it now :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Had to call my girl at the time from Argos, to tell her they wouldn't take back the iron I got her for her birthday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Work life
    I've had to ring people to tell them they were fired.
    Had to ring people to tell them they were made redundant.
    Both of these couldn't have been done in person due to managing remotely based staff.

Personal Life.
    Having to ring my sisters friends to notify them that she had passed, not at all easy but had to be done unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

The text read "Johnny was killed in a car accident last night, and could you get milk and a kit-kat on your way home"

Don't want to sound demeaning at the death of your friend..... but the worst possible news via text, man, if you were here I'd give you a hug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

hondasam wrote: »
    I don't think it's that bad, some people are not able to make the call, txt might have been easier and then maybe they talked.
    I would say it would be common enough for younger people to txt, maybe not.

Pretty much this. One of my friend called me in the morning to notify me that another friend was killed but as it was the morning I just ignored the call. He text me it after I didn't answer. I think I would have much rathered it that way, hearing that on the phone would have been just horrible and I wouldn't have known how to react really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't think it is all that bad to text, it might be easier than choking on the words over the phone for some people.
    Better than nowt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ringing my mum to tell her her dad (my grand dad) had just passed away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

My mother died over a year ago now, Im the last one of the family so I had to do all the phonecalls to relations etc. horrible because all i wanted to do was grieve but i had to be the strong one on the phone for everybody else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Someone in my year at school died, my mum and I were delegated a chunk of the year (about 20 I think) and their home phone numbers to inform them of his death and the funeral arrangements.

A horrible, horrible day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭uch

Had to ring the Missus to tell her I was very drunk in Pearse St. Garda Station and that I had Accidentially pissed on a Garda's Jacket (and no he was'nt wearing it at the time) and was being made a guest of the state

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Superbus wrote: »
    Someone in my year at school died, I was delegated a chunk of the year (about 20 I think) and their home phone numbers to inform them of his death and the funeral arrangements.

A horrible, horrible day.

WTF, who would give such a job to a child.

Gary4279 wrote: »
    WTF, who would give such a job to a child.

I was 16, and it was my mum and I who did it (as I edited), I made about 10 calls. Still, it was brutal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

Stupid thread for AH

Oh yeah, sorry, penis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Stupid thread for AH

I say, top class contribution there Johnathan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭miggins

Had to ring joe to tell him how terrible everything was.

It was terrible