Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

phog wrote: »
    I've no idea how good or bad Cotter is but I' imagine if he's as good as some say he is POC would surely be whispering in someones ears, wouldnt he? would he?

It's worth remembering that even though he's in the Academy, he could and probably is, eons away from being fit enough for pro rugby. It takes time to get a body ready for the sort of punishment a pro has to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Just heard about Fastnet going bust...

My trip to the Munsters/Scarlets game is off now :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Just heard about Fastnet going bust...

My trip to the Munsters/Scarlets game is off now :(

Not go from roslare?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Murray, ROG, Earls, Mafi, Chambers, Howlett, Murphy

I'd be fairly distraught if Leinster didn't do nasty things to that backline.

I have no doubt I'm just massively out of the loop here, but what's Chambers' story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'd be fairly distraught if Leinster didn't do nasty things to that backline.

I have no doubt I'm just massively out of the loop here, but what's Chambers' story?

Very open question there Podge...

He's an Aussie signed on a short-term (6 months I think) deal, played Super 15 for the Reds and is a former league player, looked decent against Aironi, insofar as any of the backs looked good that night. Plays 13 so he's competing more against Barnes than against Mafi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster Squad:
    M Horan, W du Preez, J Hayes, BJ Botha, S Archer,
    D Varley, D Fogarty,
    M O'Driscoll, D Ryan, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell, B Holland,
    D Leamy, N Ronan, P O'Mahony, T O'Donnell, J Coughlan,

T O'Leary, C Murray, D Williams, P Stringer,
    I Keatley, R O'Gara,
    K Earls, D Barnes, L Mafi, W Chambers, D Howlett, D Hurley, J Murphy, S Deasy,

(Not considered due to injury: David Wallace, Troy Smith, Felix Jones, Jerry Flannery, Peter Borlase, Darragh Hurley, Mike Sherry, Dave O'Callaghan).

DOC will surely start this one for gametime purposes, the question then is does Leamy or Ryan start at 6.

Interesting that munster have conceded 4 tries, the next best defence has conceded 9. Leinster will be a massive test of this record. Attacking wise, we've scored 10 tries whereas leinster have scored 12. I can't see anything other than a big leinster win though, we aren't playing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Flincher wrote: »
    I've very rarely seen that Young Munster pack under pressure at the scrum. More often than not they have the dominant set piece, and that was even the case at the weekend when they were missing Slattery to a red card (Feckin touch judge missed the Shannon man who started it!).

I don't see how Munster would have lost out by having Cotter in the bench a couple of times this year. I'll try and keep faith in the judgment of the experts, but it must be frustrating when the props that YM front row would eat for breakfast seem to be getting the breaks.

Clontarf scored a penalty try against YM's scrum a few weeks back and generally dominated the scrum, not sure who were propping for YM on the day though. i wouldnt be suprised if YM were missing a fair few of their pack on the day as the players out were very small for AIL i thought.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

When are the teams announced? I'd a thought it would have been today.

Ryan finished last season well enough in the back row and it could be argued he looked sharper for Ireland in his cameos at the World Cup.

The line out will be a crucial aread. Having a third jumping option in Ryan could be very benefical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

castie wrote: »
    Not go from roslare?
    It was a package that included transport(bus) to and from match.
    I'd have to bring the car and find accommodation in Wales if I went on the Rosslare ferry.

bamboozle wrote: »
    Clontarf scored a penalty try against YM's scrum a few weeks back and generally dominated the scrum, not sure who were propping for YM on the day though. i wouldnt be suprised if YM were missing a fair few of their pack on the day as the players out were very small for AIL i thought.

That try was scored when Slattery was sin-binned, iirc? Cotter didn't start that day either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

After the Aironi game I'm not expecting much from this but perhaps the 'big' occasion will get to Leinster. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

After the Aironi game I'm not expecting much from this but perhaps the 'big' occasion will get to Leinster. :D

2 from 2 JD...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

CatFromHue wrote: »

Ryan finished last season well enough in the back row and it could be argued he looked sharper for Ireland in his cameos at the World Cup.

The line out will be a crucial aread. Having a third jumping option in Ryan could be very benefical.

Leinster seem to announce their teams on a Thursday for a Friday match or a Friday for a Sat or Sun match. So you can assume tomorrow at 12.

Impartial (!!) preview coming on well lads, just awaiting the teams so I can sledge Sexton and call Hayes a ligind.

CatFromHue wrote: »

Just on this, should he start, POM is very good in the lineout. That being said, apparently Ronan was the 7 with the main team today so he'll probably start and POM bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Just on this, should he start, POM is very good in the lineout.
    I've never really noticed but now that you mention it thinking back POM is prety good in the lineout. Good to have another backrow option who can jump. I remember against Italy in the 6N we were outnumbered 4 to 2 in the lineout when we had SOB Leamy and Wallace in the back row. Not a lineout threat between the three of them.

Its also why Donnacha Ryan got such a run at 6 last year imo. If you have Leamy Coghlan and Wallace across the backrow you don't have a jumping thread.

I always like having a third jumper in the backrow.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Interesting that munster have conceded 4 tries, the next best defence has conceded 9. Leinster will be a massive test of this record. Attacking wise, we've scored 10 tries whereas leinster have scored 12. I can't see anything other than a big leinster win though, we aren't playing well.

Munster seem to be conceding a fair few penalties and an absolute buttload of yellow cards though.

While Leinster have conceded a reasonably high number of tries, their overall points conceded is second best to Munster.

Kind of implies Munster are playing a much more spoiling game then Leinster. Be interesting to see how things manifest on Friday.

Munster seem to be conceding a fair few penalties and an absolute buttload of yellow cards though.

While Leinster have conceded a reasonably high number of tries, their overall points conceded is second best to Munster.

Kind of implies Munster are playing a much more spoiling game then Leinster. Be interesting to see how things manifest on Friday.

Considering how often we're down to 14 men, over defence is even more impressive!

Would be interesting to see how many kickable penalties each team has conceded, I think Leinster are especially good at giving away penalties in the right part of the pitch.

I've never really noticed but now that you mention it thinking back POM is prety good in the lineout. Good to have another backrow option who can jump. I remember against Italy in the 6N we were outnumbered 4 to 2 in the lineout when we had SOB Leamy and Wallace in the back row. Not a lineout threat between the three of them.

Its also why Donnacha Ryan got such a run at 6 last year imo. If you have Leamy Coghlan and Wallace across the backrow you don't have a jumping thread.

I always like having a third jumper in the backrow.

Or, if we start Ryan and POM, we could have four jumpers, shame neither fit hooker can throw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Or, if we start Ryan and POM, we could have four jumpers, shame neither fit hooker can throw though.

Varley trows fine to 2 and 4 but is ropey anything past that. We'll need the tail jumper to work if we're to have any chance against Leinster.

Fogarty is so bad I'd wouldn't expect him to hit the ground if he was aiming for it.

Just on this, should he start, POM is very good in the lineout. That being said, apparently Ronan was the 7 with the main team today so he'll probably start and POM bench.

POM was also in the main team when I saw them train, so it could be either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

We're way out in front on the YCs but using the stats from Scrum.com the penalty count from the pool stages of H/Cup last year are:

Munster averaged 12 pens per game (highest in 1 game was 16 away to Ospreys)
    Leinster averaged 11 pens per game (highest in 1 game was 15 away to Sacracens)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

phog wrote: »
    We're way out in front on the YCs but using the stats from Scrum.com the penalty count from the pool stages of H/Cup last year are:

Munster averaged 12 pens per game (highest in 1 game was 16 away to Ospreys)
    Leinster averaged 11 pens per game (highest in 1 game was 15 away to Sacracens)

It would appear that the tactic of screaming at the ref used by successive Munster captains is not paying off :rolleyes:

Munster.
    J Murphy; D Howlett, W Chambers, L Mafi, K Earls; R O'Gara, C Murray;
    W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell capt; D Ryan, N Ronan, D Leamy.

Replacements. D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, P O'Mahony, J Coughlan, T O'Leary, I Keatley, D Barnes.

That backrow selection is depressing, we're gonna get creamed there.

Any confidence I had is ebbing away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Munster.
    W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell capt; D Ryan, N Ronan, D Leamy.

Replacements. D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, P O'Mahony, J Coughlan, T O'Leary, I Keatley, D Barnes.

FFS!! What does an exciting, good young player like POM have to do to get ahead of a mediocre journeyman like Ronan??? :confused::confused: That selection alone has ruined my day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭padraig.od

Munster will never move forward with McGahan. Is that pretty much the same team that limped out of the HC against Toulon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Munster.

Leamy at 8? I just dont understand that call. Coughlan I thought played well for ye last weekend. And Ronan at 7? What happened POM?
    My sympathies.

I'm actually depressed now, all the youngsters getting gametime during the mickey mouse games but all jettisoned when it counts. :mad: