Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 31/10/2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Coverage isnt bad, Maria looks to be going well at the moment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

a bit more coverage of the irish would be nice. Any updates on the irish?thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 wally_smith

Many thanks for the updates, please keep'em coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Great coverage of the womens race. Seems ages since we saw the men though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

But they are fun runners. Awfully sensitive. It's not a derogatory term.

Great coverage so far but it looks like they lost the camera for the men's race. Haven't shown the men for almost half hour.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Bally8 wrote: »
    Great coverage of the womens race. Seems ages since we saw the men though.

There is still some non-Kenyans in the lead group for the women's race, even if half of them are blokes ;)

They probably can't cope with saying the names of the mens leaders.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Sonia just commented on the lack of coverage of the mens race.

robinph wrote: »

yep its a pity about that, must be some problem on course.

gerard65 wrote: »
    Emerald007 getting loads of TV coverage:pac:

Emerald007 just got a name check as well. He'll be needing a manager to deal with his media profile after this. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

These problems with cameras seems to getting very common these days in marathon coverage. Such a pity

shels4ever wrote: »

The camera seems to be broken from that shot they just showed. :(

Guess they don't have a spare camera bike.

robinph wrote: »

Yeah was a v pointed comment by Sonia. She seemed in the dark too.

It does look like the camera is borked. Ironically it went scrambled as they passed RTE.

Could be the weather effecting the helicopters picking up the signals.

Bally8 wrote: »
    These problems with cameras seems to getting very common these days in marathon coverage. Such a pity

yep its not like football where the camera stays in one place, maybe they dont like 4:50 miles :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

If Gerry is right, there's more than 100 Kenyan's with a sub 2:09 PB?? :eek:

G-Money wrote: »

i'd say he is right they have 400 with the olympic standard.

I thought it was my ears that heard him wrong.

Think he may be filling the Brendan Foster role in marathon commentary, should know what he's talking about but the brain doesn't always engage properly first before his mouth opens like when he calls anyone non-Kenyan as a fun runner. :D

i'd say he is right they have 400 with the olympic standard.

400? Madness.

That Russian looks fecked. Sean Connolly looking strong with about 3 miles to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

That fella who won looked like it was easy for him. You'd swear he just appeared about 5 miles from the finish. Although I think it was in Sonia's book that she said the Kenyan's suffer just as much, they just don't show it on their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

anyone offering training camps/classes in Kenya for a few months?? I could do with some of their mojo. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There were lots of people walking very early in the park chatting away and texting on their phones. It's a long bloody way to walk, don't care if you can say you finished a marathon at the end of it.

Hard luck to Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

THE COVERAGE IS GREAT BUT PLEASE DONT REFER TO THE PEOPLE WHO RUN OVER 3HOURS 30MINS AS 'FUN RUNNERS' - IN MY BOOK ANYONE WHO RUNS A FULL MARATHON IS NOT A 'FUN RUNNER' THESE PEOPLE HAVE EQUALLY TRAINED FOR 5MONTHS + ++ - WHETHER U RUN A 2.08 OR A 6HOUR MARATHON -U ARE A MARATHONER !!! FUN OR NOT :mad:

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Hard luck to Connolly.

He put in a good sprint finish, but really wasn't motivated enough to lift the arms up for the tape at the end. Could see was disappointed. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

ThisRegard wrote: »
    There were lots of people walking very early in the park chatting away and texting on their phones. It's a long bloody way to walk, don't care if you can say you finished a marathon at the end of it.

Hard luck to Connolly.

ya I saw that too, the kenyan men were breezing through Terenure and the last walkers were making their way through the Phoenix park, I was thinkin the same they have a long way to go..don't envy them. Gutted for Connolly but hopefully he can do a fast one in the spring.

dizzymom wrote: »
    THE COVERAGE IS GREAT BUT PLEASE DONT REFER TO THE PEOPLE WHO RUN OVER 3HOURS 30MINS AS 'FUN RUNNERS' - IN MY BOOK ANYONE WHO RUNS A FULL MARATHON IS NOT A 'FUN RUNNER' THESE PEOPLE HAVE EQUALLY TRAINED FOR 5MONTHS + ++ - WHETHER U RUN A 2.08 OR A 6HOUR MARATHON -U ARE A MARATHONER !!! FUN OR NOT :mad:

Running is fun :) I know i'm a fun runner. :)

Looking at the car going through ahead of the lead woman, was the clock stopped on it ? It had 7.06, it stopped pretty much at the start of the race.

Fun runners/joggers/heroes. Fun runners isn't s derogatory term. Accurate description of the vast majority of the field.

I'm loving the pacer buses. Scattered field then a massive bunch chasing the ballons.

One ticket to London 2012 sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Was great out cheering. Think I've lost my voice!
    Our young fella was giving out jellies & everyone was so nice to him -
    Raycun looked fresh as a daisy at almost 16miles :D
    Ultraman stopped to say hello when he saw our sign.

"Marty, would ya get away from me you fool, there's plenty of people an hour behind me only too willing to stop for a rest and inane musings.".