Is Sean Gallagher telling lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

EamonM wrote: »
    Can anyone in here actually define what the presidency is about besides upholding the constitution?

I know one thing that is the most important thing is the bread and butter issues and job creation without this we have no money, no pride, confidence etc. Every candidate has said that they are pledging to create employment both at home and from international investment, but who qualifies better for this than Sean with his experience and a comprehensive plan to focus on new enterprise.

Thats the focus and vision for a future Ireland:)

Gallagher is a FAILED businessman whose business was only viable for about 3-4 years because of a massive property bubble that has ruined the country. He has feck all business knowledge, he couldnt even lodge a cheque, worth 70% of the companys cash, to the right account. He also saw fit to draw down huge amounts of cash out of the company to pay himself, as the (taxpayer grant funded) company was going the tubes. He paid himself 200K rent on building that could only command 10K after smarthomes departed. He is FoS, he has been milking the taxpayer for the last decade and it's time he f*cked off now, like the rest of the FF traitors.

There are hundreds of thousands of businessmen in the country who have run successful business that are viable over the long term. Gallagher has done nothing of note in the business world, its all spoof, the facts speak for themselves, he was getting huge grants and aid off his FF buddies in state agencies and even at that the business only turned a profit for 3-4 years before going bust. So please stop harping on about his mediocre business acumen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Can anyone in here actually define what the presidency is about besides upholding the constitution?

I know one thing that is the most important thing is the bread and butter issues and job creation without this we have no money, no pride, confidence etc. Every candidate has said that they are pledging to create employment both at home and from international investment, but who qualifies better for this than Sean with his experience and a comprehensive plan to focus on new enterprise.

There's a slight hint of Comical Ali about your posts. Gallagher is finished, he's done, it's over.
    Is this really the best that the Gallagher team can come up with? You do realise you have very little support on boards.ie?

Anyway, I urge people to reject Gallagher based on all the evidence presented over the past couple of days. Surely now, everyone sees him for the fraud that he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

What, all of the 20 or so current jobs. We'll have those bank debts paid off in no time so.

Bread and butter issues are for the government, if SG truly wants to make a difference let him run at the next general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/static/256.htm

Here it is:
    Article 13

1. 1° The President shall, on the nomination of Dáil Éireann, appoint the Taoiseach, that is, the head of the Government or Prime Minister.

2° The President shall, on the nomination of the Taoiseach with the previous approval of Dáil Éireann, appoint the other members of the Government.

3° The President shall, on the advice of the Taoiseach, accept the resignation or terminate the appointment of any member of the Government.

2. 1° Dáil Éireann shall be summoned and dissolved by the President on the advice of the Taoiseach.

2° The President may in his absolute discretion refuse to dissolve Dáil Éireann on the advice of a Taoiseach who has ceased to retain the support of a majority in Dáil Éireann.

3° The President may at any time, after consultation with the Council of State, convene a meeting of either or both of the Houses of the Oireachtas.

3. 1° Every Bill passed or deemed to have been passed by both Houses of the Oireachtas shall require the signature of the President for its enactment into law.

2° The President shall promulgate every law made by the Oireachtas.

4. The supreme command of the Defence Forces is hereby vested in the President.

5. 1° The exercise of the supreme command of the Defence Forces shall be regulated by law.

2° All commissioned officers of the Defence Forces shall hold their commissions from the President.

6. The right of pardon and the power to commute or remit punishment imposed by any court exercising criminal jurisdiction are hereby vested in the President, but such power of commutation or remission may also be conferred by law on other authorities.

7. 1° The President may, after consultation with the Council of State, communicate with the Houses of the Oireachtas by message or address on any matter of national or public importance.

2° The President may, after consultation with the Council of State, address a message to the Nation at any time on any such matter.

3° Every such message or address must, however, have received the approval of the Government.

8. 1° The President shall not be answerable to either House of the Oireachtas or to any court for the exercise and performance of the powers and functions of his office or for any act done or purporting to be done by him in the exercise and performance of these powers and functions.

2° The behaviour of the President may, however, be brought under review in either of the Houses of the Oireachtas for the purposes of section 10 of Article 12 of this Constitution, or by any court, tribunal or body appointed or designated by either of the Houses of the Oireachtas for the investigation of a charge under section 10 of the said Article.

9. The powers and functions conferred on the President by this Constitution shall be exercisable and performable by him only on the advice of the Government, save where it is provided by this Constitution that he shall act in his absolute discretion or after consultation with or in relation to the Council of State, or on the advice or nomination of, or on receipt of any other communication from, any other person or body.

10. Subject to this Constitution, additional powers and functions may be conferred on the President by law.

11. No power or function conferred on the President by law shall be exercisable or performable by him save only on the advice of the Government.

Essentially s/he can do diddly squat without Government permission. Government led trade missions are run by the Dept. of Trade and Industry and the IDA. If the president is involved it's purely as a smiling hand shaker. Exactly what The Queen does for the UK - or perhaps you think she's off round the globe saying 'giz one a job.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

No he never went to any house, the criminal at the heart of the sinn fein orchestra claimed he called to his business but that claim was denyed.:)

He admitted on Live National Television ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EamonM

Jayob10 wrote: »
    This really is remarkable stuff.

This in essence is a trivial decision we have to make Thursday. The fate of the nation does not rest on who we choose as president, if you believe that then there is no hope for you.

I understand your concerns Jayob, I never said it was if you would take the time to read my post you will see that I am clearly suggesting we simply utilise Seans Skills and attributes while working together to achieve and rebuild the foundations of the country ourselves with a clear goal and vision we can achieve this..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I understand your concerns Jayob, I never said it was if you would take the time to read my post you will see that I am clearly suggesting we simply utilise Seans Skills and attributes while working together to achieve and rebuild the foundations of the country ourselves with a clear goal and vision we can achieve this..:)

It was skills like Sean's that destroyed the bloody country!

Lying
    Failing to pay back grants
    Overcharging GAA clubs and businesses
    Dumping his associates when they get embarrassing and lying to cover up his involvement

These would be his skills, yes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Bababa

Sean Gallagher should go back to dragons den. His FF bullsh1t belongs there...spoofing people with (99%) stupid ideas that he can make a success of them. From what I read, most of the people he invested in went nowhere fast. In fact most of the deals fell through.
    His answers on the frontline smelled of "the Bertie school of bullsh1t". An insult to the peoples intelligence.
    However this country did do a u-turn on both NICE and LISBON so the national intelligence is really up for scrutiny this time.
    One possible solution would be to abolish the president and spare an expense we can not afford. 250k a year.....and the
    rest.

If we had a Taoiseach and a Dáil we could believe in...that would be a step in the right direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Seriously EamonM are you playing bullsh1t bingo here? Can you give me examples of the 'clear goal and vision' Sean has or his 'experience and a comprehensive plan to focus on new enterprise'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

He is a useless businessman. He is a failed businessman who made a few bucks off the back of the property bubble, like a whole host of other chancers that have now gone broke. Lucky for Gallagher, he was sly enough to raid the company's assets before they bust so he has a few quid to keep him going. He has gotten close to 1 million in funding off the taxpayer.

He has sucked enough cash off the public, let him go off now and try and get another job. I dont see him starting another business because he knows better than anyone that he is a useless businessman and it would be doomed to failure due to said lack of business skill and that also now he no longer has the pull with the goverment party and the state boards so he wont be able to milk the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Colours

To all you fanatical Fianna Failers (FFF's for short) out there...you should seriously think about what you could be inflicting on your country should you continue to blindly endorse an individual who has been shown to have been deceiving us all throughout the course of his campaign and is now under suspicion of yet further allegations about dodgy business deals and strange carry on with his company accounts.

It's very likely that all these allegations which have sprouted up about Mr Gallagher could open a can of worms and you need to ask yourself if this is really the right direction to be plunging your country into?

I think that Martin McGuinness and the various media sources who have been interrogating Mr Gallagher about these allegations are doing the Irish people a service because they're trying to show the gullible part of the electorate, who had completely bought into the fictitious image which Sean Gallagher had branded for himself, that the person he is portraying himself to be is quite simply a fantasy character and that he attempted to deliberately mislead and deceive the Irish electorate into believing he is something which he is not.

I actually think that the die hard Fianna Failers are doing their own party a disservice by trying to promote this questionable character into the highest office in the land because it would have disastrous consequences for Fianna Fail should he actually get elected and then subsequently be forced to resign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EamonM

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/static/256.htm

Here it is:

Essentially s/he can do diddly squat without Government permission. Government led trade missions are run by the Dept. of Trade and Industry and the IDA. If the president is involved it's purely as a smiling hand shaker. Exactly what The Queen does for the UK - or perhaps you think she's off round the globe saying 'giz one a job.'

Exactly my point I was hoping someone in here would have the intelligence to do what you have just done , and i quote "Essentially s/he can do diddly squat without Government permission."

Now what government in the right mind would refuse Mr. Gallagher the opportunity to implement a smart business plan to reinvent the Enterprise boards throughout the country and create and give new business a chance for growth and prosperity and rebuild the foundations of our country??

Exactly so case closed, its bed time guys or does nobody in here have a business to run or even a job for that matter? Well if not you guys should really think long and hard about the logical person to put in the position to do just that and help rebuild our great nation.

Thank you all for listening tonight it was a good debate.:)

Slan go foil,

Eamon Murphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Exactly my point I was hoping someone in here would have the intelligence to do what you have just done , and i quote "Essentially s/he can do diddly squat without Government permission."

Now what government in the right mind would refuse Mr. Gallagher the opportunity to implement a smart business plan to reinvent the Enterprise boards throughout the country and create and give new business a chance for growth and prosperity and rebuild the foundations of our country??

Exactly so case closed, its bed time guys or does nobody in here have a business to run or even a job for that matter? Well if not you guys should really think long and hard about the logical person to put in the position to do just that and help rebuild our great nation.

Thank you all for listening tonight it was a good debate.:)

Slan go foil,

Eamon Murphy

I do have a job but I think your mate Sean might need to look for one on Friday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Bababa

Eamon M...Aka Sean Gallagher's conjoined twin..hard to notice though as he lives in Sean Gallagher's right ear(also his advisor).Although can sometimes be found accepting envelopes in Sean's pocket.

does nobody in here have a business to run or even a job for that matter?

No, very tactful of you. I don't have a job because SG mates in FF totally fúcked the economy (and I don't work in construction/property before you ask) . I'm emigrating thanks...and praying that he doesn't get elected so I'm not embarrassed by the buffoon for the next 14 years when people see Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭MazG

working together we actually can control our destiny.
    working together to achieve and rebuild the foundations of the country ourselves with a clear goal and vision we can achieve this..:)

Declan Ganley? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭edanto

Everyone here can see that you are not in any way interested in engaging with the facts of Seanies deception, and only want to try and highlight his good points. You might even be a volunteer on his campaign who just joined boards.ie yesterday to help his cause.

But, after you've slept on it, I beg you to try and look objectively at what you are caught up in.

You're defending a proven liar. A man who lied about big things, who in the past week has been hung by his own words. A man who lied to make himself more appealing.

Your continued efforts in that direction shame yourself.

And yes, I have a job, and as I travel to work I have a bit of hope this morning that a trustworthy and honourable man might be elected by us tomorrow.

I hope Seanie finds something to fall back on, and that he never gets another cent from the state unless he is really down on his luck and needs it to survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

There is a different version of events to MMG's given in the IT today
    Independent candidate claims McGuinness and SF ambushed him

HARRY McGEE, Political Correspondent
    GALLAGHER CONTROVERSY: INDEPENDENT CANDIDATE Seán Gallagher yesterday accused Martin McGuinness and Sinn Féin of mounting an ambush against him because he was the clear frontrunner in the presidential election.
    The entrepreneur yesterday categorically denied he had ever collected a €5,000 cheque from a businessman for a Fianna Fáil fundraiser in Co Louth in 2008, having conceded on RTÉ the previous night that he might have done so.
    Mr Gallagher yesterday attempted to limit the damage caused to his campaign during Monday night’s debate on Frontline involving all seven candidates.
    The Co Louth-based businessman struggled to answer searching questions about his business activities posed by a member of the audience and, in his worst moment, seemed to concede to Mr McGuinness’s allegation he may have personally collected a donation of €5,000 from a businessman who was also a convicted fuel smuggler.
    Yesterday, Mr Gallagher mounted an effort to regain momentum in a series of interviews. He denied he had personally collected the money from the businessman, Hugh Morgan, and also claimed he had been the victim of a Sinn Féin smear campaign.
    “This was a political assassination attempt by Martin McGuinness and Sinn Féin last night. The person in question, Hugh Morgan, is a convicted criminal and he loaded the gun while Martin McGuinness pulled the trigger. I told the truth on Frontline.”
    Mr Gallagher also said his concession on Frontline that he may have collected an envelope (containing a cheque) when he called to Mr Morgan’s premises to deliver a photograph was made because he was thrown by the allegation when it was made on the live programme. He said Mr Morgan had originally claimed the contribution was made before the event in July 2008. On Frontline, Mr McGuinness alleged it was made after the event, a difference that shocked him.
    Speaking on the RTÉ Six-One News yesterday, he said: “I was shell-shocked that this was thrown in, and that he was saying that I delivered a photograph and collected a cheque.”
    Yesterday, Fianna Fáil issued a statement about the cheque from Mr Morgan which seemed to support Mr Gallagher’s version of events. It stated the cheque from Mr Morgan was dated June 26th, 2008, and lodged to the Fianna Fáil account on June 30th, the day before the July 1st hotel event.
    This contradicted Mr McGuinness’s assertion he collected the cheque after the event. However, Mr McGuinness yesterday said there was a “misunderstanding” as to when the cheque was given.
    “Due to a misunderstanding during the conversation I was under the impression the cheque was delivered after the event but it’s only overnight I have learned the cheque was delivered four days before the event took place,” he said.
    Mr Morgan later issued a statement in which he said Mr Gallagher had visited his premises on June 27th and he had made out a cheque for €5,000 to Fianna Fáil.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/1026/1224306508943.html
    Others doubt MMG's veracity

In September, Gay Byrne, Ireland’s most famous broadcaster, was asked what it was like to interview Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness. “You get nowhere with them,” he said, “because they lie. They lie all the time.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/ireland/8846110/Martin-McGuinness-is-a-convicted-terrorist-yet-he-could-be-elected-Irelands-new-president.html

And others have criticised him standing in the election
    A daughter of Jean McConville and her husband have criticised the participation of Sinn Féin's Martin McGuinness in the Presidential election.
    Jean McConville was the mother of ten who was abducted by the IRA in Belfast in 1972 and shot dead.
    Her body was found 31 years later in 2003 by a passer-by on a Co Louth beach.
    Speaking at her home in Co Down, Helen McKendry said: "I don't think Martin McGuinness should be standing. He should be telling the truth to victims' families, the whole truth."

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1025/president1.html
    And this
    THE family of murdered Louth farmer Tom Oliver yesterday accused Sinn Fein candidate Martin McGuinness of "shallow hypocrisy" for his attack on Sean Gallagher.
    Eugene Oliver, whose father was abducted, tortured and murdered by the IRA in July 1991, said he was outraged by Mr McGuinness's performance on RTE's 'Frontline' debate.
    "What really upset me was when I heard Martin McGuinness warn another candidate to tell the truth. What shallow hypocrisy from a man who has dined out on weasel words for most of his career," said Mr Oliver.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/family-of-murdered-farmer-call-mcguinness-a-hypocrite-2915978.html

I am just saying that not everyone takes what MMG says ar face value.

Futhermore there are still unresolved issues on Adi Roches 1997 campaign when she stood as the Labour Candidate and which was also a dirty campaign

Officer fights to clear his name, 40 years on
    Soldier's life was ruined when he was discharged by the President on suspicion of involvement with splinter group

By JEROME REILLY

Sunday March 14 2010

For 40 years former Irish army lieutenant Donal de Roiste has challenged the decision by then President Eamon deValera to forcibly retire him from the Defence Forces. Now his name may be cleared by a new inquiry.

Mr de Roiste, who is now 65, of Ballincollig, Co Cork, was forced from the army "in the interests of the service" on grounds that he was suspected of associating with persons engaged in subversive activities -- an allegation he has vehemently denied for four decades.

Even though his removal from the defence forces happened 28 years earlier, it hit the headlines again during the presidential election campaign in 1997 when his sister, the Chernobyl campaigner Adi Roche, was the nominee of the Labour Party, Democratic Left and the Green Party.

The retirement of her brother from the army in controversial circumstances was raised during the race for the presidency in what was seen by many as an attempted smear. Ms Roche eventually came fourth out of five candidates.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/officer-fights-to-clear-his-name-40-years-on-2098874.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Oh for god's sake Cd throw us a new hook :confused: Jaysus this is boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Who cares about MMG, he won't win anyway cause he's a liar....

....but he's not the only one, check the thread title, says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

books4sale wrote: »
    Who cares about MMG, he won't win anyway cause he's a liar....

....but he's not the only one, check the thread title, says it all.

he is in good company :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

Jobs , enterprise , vision , goal

I thinly we have an aerobics instructor candidate

CDfm wrote: »
    There is a different version of events to MMG's given in the IT today
    Others doubt MMG's veracity
    And others have criticised him standing in the election

And this
    I am just saying that not everyone takes what MMG says ar face value.

Futhermore there are still unresolved issues on Adi Roches 1997 campaign when she stood as the Labour Candidate and which was also a dirty campaign

But CDfm, most of the people here who label Mr Gallagher a liar, do so because his statements and/or actions are contradictory, not because they believe every word from Mr McGuinness.

Mr Gallagher's defenders are setting this up like it's a 'You're either on McGuinness's side or you're on Gallagher's side'. This is simply not true.

Even if it does transpire that Mr Morgan's €5000 donation reached Fianna Fail by some other mechanism, Mr Gallagher's assertion that he never solicitated donations for FF and then stating that he did in fact contact Mr Morgan to tell him about the fundraiser and the amount of the suggested donation is enough of a lie for me thanks.

If it did transpire that Mr Gallagher did not collect the cheque, as asserted by Mr McGuinness, would this make Mr McGuinness a liar? Possibly/probably. Would it make Mr Gallagher any less of a liar? No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

MazG wrote: »
    But CDfm, most of the people here who label Mr Gallagher a liar, do so because his statements and/or actions are contradictory, not because they believe every word from Mr McGuinness.................................
    If it did transpire that Mr Gallagher did not collect the cheque, as asserted by Mr McGuinness, would this make Mr McGuinness a liar? Possibly/probably. Would it make Mr Gallagher any less of a liar? No

I work in sales and the likelyhood of me remembering who I meet on a weekly basis is generated by a few factors.

The likelyhood that I will remember them all , no.In a fast moving situation with lots of people - not at all. So the likeliehood of SG remembering the guy in that setting is unlikely unless he tried to sell him some dodgy diesel .

That's the human factor. I have sufficient memory to deal with the job in hand.

Do I expect people to remenber me , no.

I have a colleague who remembers everyone and whose paperwork is always perfect. On a good day I deal with 5 times as much as her and around 5 times less paperwork.

So explanations are relative. I find a lot of SGs explanations very reasonable.

A couple of things here.

I am not a Gallagher supporter and some people may have guessed that I was an Adi Roche supporter back in the day when she ran and that this has meant that I have posted on that basis. Thats relevant as I found the premise of this thread a tad pointed and some of the posts distasteful because of that.

SG is a citizen over 35 and is entitled to run having secured the required nominations.

Do I think any of the candidates are any good and would make a good president - the answer to that is no - as I know what a good president is and we are not even close.

Has the media coverage been good. No. RTE have run Presidential X Factor. On that basis this election has set the tone and debased and devalued the office of president .

The likelyhood that the election will be decided based on the word of a convicted criminal is a new low.

I met an Aussie friend last night and this election made me embarressed to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Has the media coverage been good. No. RTE have run Presidential X Factor. On that basis this election has set the tone and debased and devalued the office of president .

The likelyhood that the election will be decided based on the word of a convicted criminal is a new low.

I met an Aussie friend last night and this election made me embarressed to be Irish.
    The next discussion should be do we need a president closely followed by do we need PK or some of the other RTE power holders. That could see something that would benefit all as the establishment are winning out for the establishment in this again.

I work in sales and the likelyhood of me remembering who I meet on a weekly basis is generated by a few factors.

The likelyhood that I will remember them all , no.In a fast moving situation with lots of people - not at all. So the likeliehood of SG remembering the guy in that setting is unlikely unless he tried to sell him some dodgy diesel .

That's the human factor. I have sufficient memory to deal with the job in hand.

Do I expect people to remenber me , no.

I have a colleague who remembers everyone and whose paperwork is always perfect. On a good day I deal with 5 times as much as her and around 5 times less paperwork.

So explanations are relative. I find a lot of SGs explanations very reasonable.

Well that's a fair point about remembering each and every interaction one has had ever. I agree with you that it is not reasonable to expect someone to remember the details of all conversations or meetings. However, that being the case, the honest answer to the question 'Have you ever solicited funds for FF' is 'I don't remember' or 'I don't think so'. Not 'Absolutely not'. Because if you are the type of person who doesn't remember every meeting they've ever had, then you are usually aware of it and so know that your memory can't necessarily be trusted.

Or is this bringing us back to the issue of semantics again? Mr Gallagher's definition of 'active' in FF differs from most of the rest of us. Perhaps his definition of 'soliciting donations' differs also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Why? Did your trousers fall down or sumfink? :rolleyes:

2 and at a push 3 of these candidates were worthy of pushing for a nomination. The rest, deluded by their own celebrity, their own self importance and their rampant out of control egos, should never ever ever been in the race to begin with. The quality of political advisers has obviously nosedived here and candidates are confusing honest advise with sycophancy.
    Thank god the press did their jobs to some degree and took some of the chaff out, but it may be too late to get Gallagher and the real 'embarrassing' truth is that we may very well have to get rid of this dishonest dolt when he is in office. Now that is cringeworthy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

<snip>

The words came out of Gallaghers mouth not only on Monday but every day of the campaign.

The simple fact of the matter is he constructed a lie and now that lie is catching him up.

He may still become President and if he does, I'm putting down a bet that he'll be gone within a year or two. Guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

If Gallagher became President, how long would he last?

1 term