Woman killed at fairground ride at Dublin O2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,582 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

few more photos of the ride here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭jamiecoins

the ride is called the tip top
    owned by kenneth mcfadden whos from swords
    used to work for them the rain affects no part of the machine
    in some occasions the lights will trip with heavy rain but these are not wired to the motors power

all rides get inspected every year all tests pressure tests . electrical etc by a agent apoointed by the showmans guild of ireland
    they also have to have a risk assesment carried out

im not sure of how it happened exactly but im contacted a employee of mc faddens entertainment but have not got a reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Just looking at the tip top rides on youtube - definately not for me .

RIP to the unfortunate lady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

A good few years ago on a similar ride at a well known Christmas funfair, the bar that goes across your waist and locks you into the chair opened half way through the ride, tried closing it but no go, had to drop it and grab on to the side and back of the chair, we were only about 15, so were strong and light, don't think I'd be able to hold on now. We were screaming to stop the ride but so was everyone else.
    When I think back we were in shock when we got off, told the guy the bar was broken, and went home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Passed the O2 on the way home, the rides were still there. Closed up but still, seemed a bit weird that they were there for everyone to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭jamiecoins

Passed the O2 on the way home, the rides were still there. Closed up but still, seemed a bit weird that they were there for everyone to see.

they would not be allowed to take them down as its still a crime scene
    at most they will have to check the ride for safety issues etc

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

wild_cat wrote: »

I was told in work today she was drunk off her head. Stupid sick rumours.

Which you're helping to perpetuate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Smashing Pumpkins? I was there... In fairness 2 deaths in 15yrs is not terrible. I would also point out that security has been top notch ever since and this happened outside...

any avoidable deaths any time are terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

jamiecoins wrote: »
    they would not be allowed to take them down as its still a crime scene
    at most they will have to check the ride for safety issues etc

There was no Garda tape around it. It was completely deserted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

xzanti wrote: »
    Which you're helping to perpetuate.

I didn't realise I'd typed the "stupid sick rumours" part in invisible.

I just think it's pretty **** that people were saying that. Oh well.

Best not even try I suppose.

I didn't realise I'd typed the "stupid sick rumours" part in invisible.

I just think it's pretty **** that people were saying that. Oh well.

Best not even try I suppose.

So why did you feel the need to post a malicious rumour from work on a public forum?

I was pretty shocked to find out that that's how it hadn't happened. Plus it was said by someone who had actually been at the concert last night to.

What's so wrong with it? I didn't say it was the truth and I'm not about to derail a thread because of it either.

This is a public forum. Good god. So is a work place I hear...

But as a I said no more de railment. But if that's what ye want to do continue.

Why would I be offensive when someone has lost their life? I thought it was a pretty **** thing to hear. My bad if you want to take offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

it was the tip top ride. This is a video of one of them encountering difficulties.

pic of ride showing what it is like: http://www.antons-show.co.uk/images/tip-top.jpg

Not surprised it was that ride really. I think things have a way of flying out of passnegers' pockets at high speed from it also :/

I was pretty shocked to find out that that's how it hadn't happened. Plus it was said by someone who had actually been at the concert last night to.

What's so wrong with it? I didn't say it was the truth and I'm not about to derail a thread because of it either.

This is a public forum. Good god. So is a work place I hear...

But as a I said no more de railment. But if that's what ye want to do continue.

Why would I be offensive when someone has lost their life? I thought it was a pretty **** thing to hear. My bad if you want to take offensive.

You really don't see what's wrong with saying rumours are stupid and sick and then spreading them on the internet? Really? Do you not understand how gossip works? Nobody pays attention to what your opinion of the story is. Let the poor woman RIP instead of creating even more heartbreak for people who knew her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Typical that the thread couldn't just be an RIP for the girl.

We have to wait and see what the investigation comes up with, it may have had nothing at all to do with the weather.

Poor girl, terrible tragedy for her family. :(
    Sure thems the unwritten rules by now.

You only get to have a RIP only thread if you were a celeb. If you're Joe Public everyone is allowed talk about what happened all they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,042 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

RIP

Sad to hear.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't see how it's fair to blame the ride or the company who owns it while giving out to anyone that blames the girl :confused:

Nobody here knows what happened, so people shouldn't be trying to pin the blame on anyone or anything.

Can the mod's delete it so?

Just incase it's taken as fact?

It's gone now. Only the quoted posts have to be deleted.

I really didn't intend to offend. But then if people are silly enough to believe me... over the news... well then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

A 31-YEAR-OLD WOMAN has died after falling from a ride at the O2 arena in Dublin.

The incident happened at around 11.20pm last night at the complex in Dublin’s docklands. The woman was taken to hospital.

Our pictures show some of the fairground sealed off this morning. It is thought a number of people would have been in the area at the time of the accident.

The scene has not yet reopened after forensic examination by gardaí, who are mounting an investigation into the death.

Gardaí have this evening issued an appeal for a man, who was also travelling on the ride while recording footage on his mobile phone at the time of the accident, to come forward.

Gardaí at Store Street can be contacted on (01) 6668008, while the Garda confidential line can be reached at 1800 666 111.

The Health and Safety Authority have said they will not be investigating as it was not a work-related incident

Linky : http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-killed-after-falling-from-ride-at-o2-arena-262795-Oct2011/#slide-slideshow1

No Health & Safety investigation??? Are they for real??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

scudzilla wrote: »
    A 31-YEAR-OLD WOMAN has died after falling from a ride at the O2 arena in Dublin.

The incident happened at around 11.20pm last night at the complex in Dublin’s docklands. The woman was taken to hospital.

Our pictures show some of the fairground sealed off this morning. It is thought a number of people would have been in the area at the time of the accident.

The scene has not yet reopened after forensic examination by gardaí, who are mounting an investigation into the death.

Gardaí have this evening issued an appeal for a man, who was also travelling on the ride while recording footage on his mobile phone at the time of the accident, to come forward.

Gardaí at Store Street can be contacted on (01) 6668008, while the Garda confidential line can be reached at 1800 666 111.

The Health and Safety Authority have said they will not be investigating as it was not a work-related incident

Linky : http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-killed-after-falling-from-ride-at-o2-arena-262795-Oct2011/#slide-slideshow1

They take a death pretty seriously. If there's no investigation then there is no investigation. That is the end of the road.

A young girl died in very tragic circumstances. Have a little respect for the family of the deceased and please leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

themadchef wrote: »

They take a death pretty seriously. If there's no investigation then there is no investigation. That is the end of the road.

I presume there will be an investigation, it just won't be under the remit of the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Wow, this is really shocking. So sad. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

It's a criminal investigation. The Guards will investigate. Not under the aegis of HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

themadchef wrote: »

A young girl died in very tragic circumstances. Have a little respect for the family of the deceased and please leave it at that.

Wind your neck in, i never once said that i had no respect for the deceased or her family, i was just concerned that there was going to be no proper H&S investigation, which sort of says that i did have respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Very sad news altogether, RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

From one of the links posted in this thread the gardai want to speak to the man who was recording the time using his phone ON the ride. Possible the phone flew out of his hand and hit the woman?

Very sad. R.I.P. Hope she didn't suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Samich wrote: »
    From one of the links posted in this thread the gardai want to speak to the man who was recording the time using his phone ON the ride. Possible the phone flew out of his hand and hit the woman?

Very sad. R.I.P. Hope she didn't suffer.

I'd say it's more likely that the phone may have recorded something which could help with their investigation!