The Mess - Military Forum Off Topic Thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭SasQuatch88

On another note with rumours spreading around the PDF wouldn't be recruiting till 2013, alot of peoples spirits will be broken :(
    My dad was speaking to a member of the DF and he said recruitment wasn't looking good

Edit: Just got thinking with the amount of recruits taking on last year its a shame RTE didn't make a programme following the recruits throught training, it would make some good tv and show the rest of Ireland how highly trained we are

Hey guys first time posting on this particular section of boards, Read this section a lot though.
    Just on this note Tubsandtiles made, can anyone offer up more info on this, as i've been in the reserves about 6 years now, and I'm planning on applying to the PDF in novmeber.
    I'm 23 now, and will be 25 in june of 2013, so i think i'll be cutting it close if i do manage to get in..
    Just wondering if any of you guys can shed a little more light on this, its grand if you cant, thanks either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭SIRREX

Hey guys first time posting on this particular section of boards, Read this section a lot though.
    Just on this note Tubsandtiles made, can anyone offer up more info on this, as i've been in the reserves about 6 years now, and I'm planning on applying to the PDF in novmeber.
    I'm 23 now, and will be 25 in june of 2013, so i think i'll be cutting it close if i do manage to get in..
    Just wondering if any of you guys can shed a little more light on this, its grand if you cant, thanks either way.

There is recruitment ongoing as we speak but they are working off the waiting list created after last years recruitment. Those near the top of the list have been contacted with the aim of checking their continued interest, and to let them know fitness tests, followed by medicals, are in the near future.

This list apparently runs out on Jan 1st 2012 so keep you eyes open in case they open a new recruitment campaign to replace the personnel expected to leave before the March 1st cut off for the reduction in pension and gratuities

Thanks for the Info Sirrex,
    I'll be applying November 1st then.. hopefully will get high enough on entry requirements.. cheers all the same :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

SIRREX wrote: »
    There is recruitment ongoing as we speak but they are working off the waiting list created after last years recruitment. Those near the top of the list have been contacted with the aim of checking their continued interest, and to let them know fitness tests, followed by medicals, are in the near future.

This list apparently runs out on Jan 1st 2012 so keep you eyes open in case they open a new recruitment campaign to replace the personnel expected to leave before the March 1st cut off for the reduction in pension and gratuities
    I can confirm this too, a friend got a call on Wenesday saying to keep his fitness up etc

Thanks a bunch lads for the info, its a small glimmer of hope, but it's enough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Colonel Gaddafi "prediction"
    In the opening scene for the pilot, as a throwaway joke, Colonel Muammar Gaddafi is shown being judged after his death, with the date given as July 29, 2011. Twenty-four years later, by coincidence, Gaddafi's death occurred within three months of the "predicted" date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

PDF out filling sandbags near mckee...verrrry tempting to shout "Baggers" out the window. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

BigDuffman wrote: »
    PDF out filling sandbags near mckee...verrrry tempting to shout "Baggers" out the window. :P
    Durty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Now that Michael D looks set to take the throne in the Aras, is his portrait going to grace every barracks in the county like Mary McAleese's was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Now that Michael D looks set to take the throne in the Aras, is his portrait going to grace every barracks in the county like Mary McAleese's was?

Yes.
    As did the Portrait of every President before .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

So I'm listening to the radio in the car and Christy Moore comes on (We get some eclectic stations). In Welcome to the Cabaret he sings that the Army wouldn't let him play in the Lebanon or the Curragh. Any particular reason for this?

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

Way too Republican.

So I'm listening to the radio in the car and Christy Moore comes on (We get some eclectic stations). In Welcome to the Cabaret he sings that the Army wouldn't let him play in the Lebanon or the Curragh. Any particular reason for this?

NTM

This song is the main reason.
    http://www.christymoore.com/lyrics_detail.php?id=189

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjPmmCtHmfE

If you don't mind the patriotism, this is kindof cool.

NTM

Not too sure about the USMC or USCG, but the Air Force, Army and Navy were excellent. The sub even had a propellor..

This is unexpected.
    Salt Lake City - The nation’s largest chemical weapons depot has destroyed its final stockpile of nerve agent — a 4,100-pound supply seized by U.S. troops from Nazi Germany

Took 'em 15 years. Think the German stuff was even still viable?

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

can we get this forum moved? I have yet again clicked into the LGBT forum by accident and now my missus is giving me very funny looks :/

Nuttzz wrote: »
    can we get this forum moved? I have yet again clicked into the LGBT forum by accident and now my missus is giving me very funny looks :/

You are fooling nobody.

Your missus indeed....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Nuttzz wrote: »

Why not just save it as a favorite forum? Means it shows up with in its very own category along with any other favorite forum. So now the only time you need to "accidently" click into LGBT is when you're in the market for some size 10 sling backs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Wooooo. Just on Christmas leave from ATR Pirbright. **** me, but I'm already missing the lads and the block! Anyone else on leave for a few days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Watch to the end. Someone's going to have an interesting evening, but have to hand it to the NCO for working through it.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭iceage

Oh Sheeeet.

Merry Christmas to all here, and wishing an especially peaceful one to the lads and lasses from Kickham out in the Leb, and to all the other's overseas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Happy New year and all that jazz. :) Roll on 2012.

Quick thinking.

http://www.army.mil/article/71161/Fort_Polk_Soldier_receives_Silver_Star/
    Gilboe reached out and grabbed the barrel of the enemy's AK-47 and pulled it toward his chest which was covered by an armor plate. Gilboe said the last thing that ran through his mind before the enemy pulled the trigger was "This is gonna hurt a lot."

The insurgent fired a burst directly into Gilboe's chest plate, knocking the wind out of him and sending shrapnel into his legs. Out of breath and fighting hand-to-hand, Gilboe disarmed the insurgent then hit him in the face several times, stunning him and allowing the assistant gunner time and opportunity to kill him.

Fair play to him, some balls.. He deserves the medal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

whydave wrote: »

Very hasty shooting there by the tank gunner and the loader may have dropped the shell nose down...Sov/Russian 100mm HE-FRAG ammunition has an instantaneous contact fuze, so that's not a good idea.

Needs more training.

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭SIRREX

tac foley wrote: »
    Very hasty shooting there by the tank gunner and the loader may have dropped the shell nose down...Sov/Russian 100mm HE-FRAG ammunition has an instantaneous contact fuze, so that's not a good idea.

Needs more training.

tac

Do the soviet MBT's not have auto-loaders?