Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United v Manchester City, 23 Oct 1:30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Neville looks like he's going to get sick in his hands. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

They have done recently?

Yes, I am aware. 'At this form' being the operative phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Cam Newton wrote: »
    This is the day that for me, David Silva confirmed himself as not just the best player in the league, but the best in the world outside of the Ronaldo/Messi axis of ridiculous.
    tbh I'd still have him behind Iniesta

Special player though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

Wow, just seen the result, just wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Micha comes across as a pretty nice fella

as opposed to the beast he is on the pitch! I'm just surprised he hasn't got a lisp :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

First time in my life I'm physically disgusted and embarrased watching a Man United game. I usually can find positives in losses but that second half was a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I've never seen a Man Utd midfield as bad as that in a long time.
    Mayo Exile wrote: »
    Which AF hasn't seemingly begun to address since the CL Final last May.

Oh it should have been addressed 2-3 season ago, it's just take our medicine time I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,076 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Here we go, I wonder how long it would take for the excuses. Refs fault I suppose?

Man you talk some sh*te!

I haven't heard any united fan complain about the sending off at all, and I don't think you will.

Well done to the Citeh fans on here, I am sure there's one or two of ye to be found in between the......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Here we go, I wonder how long it would take for the excuses. Refs fault I suppose?

No it was the players fault , the result is skewed because of the sending off simple as , it turned the game .

City could only beat what was put in front of them bit like what Man U done to Arsenal .

Chelsea will soften City's cough ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Yes, I am aware. 'At this form' being the operative phrase.

90 minutes (against 10 men for a large portion) can hardly be classed as "form".

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Man you talk some sh*te!

I haven't heard any united fan complain about the sending off at all, and I don't think you will.

Well done to the Citeh fans on here, I am sure there's one or two of ye to be found in between the......

Bit harsh IMO, any reason why? Btw, that comment I made ended up being a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

This could bee the kick up the arse that United needed. Recent performances have been poor and the midfield has been completely shown up yet again. This might also bring focus on a few players who have not been performing to par (the central midfielders, Evra, Evans, Wellbeck, Ferdinand).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Melion wrote: »
    Id love to make just one request. Can Liverpool fans just not stir the fúcking pot for once?

Just sorry to see Liverpool's 4 - 1 record go today. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

I've just seen the scoreline and tbh, I never thought I'd live to see the day Fergie would be on the end of a 6-1 defeat while managing United. :eek: :D

As much as I detest him as both a person and a manager, one thing I've always thought about him is that something like this would never happen.

I am an Arsenal fan and I watched the 8-2 game and I couldn't help but thinking, "this is the difference between these two teams and more particularly managers. Fergie would never, ever let this happen in a million years."

I was wrong :pac::pac::pac:

I've always respected Fergie for that^^ though. Now I don't :P

90 minutes (against 10 men for a large portion) can hardly be classed as "form".

Right, let me rephrase it. If any other team had played City instead of United today, would they have done much better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,882 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

B ollocks would they at this form.

Bayern would easily beat them,Villareal and Udinese almost beat them too .
    Dont let one result cloud your judgement,Utd have been rubbish for the last 5 weeks .
    We will see how City do in Dec and Jan when they have big matches.

Btw ,just saw the replay,Balotelli was offside for the second goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

Lol.

That is all. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Positive for Man United fans - That Fletcher wonder strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,495 ✭✭✭A-Train

Unreal result City could have had more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,991 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Interesting -
    Last time Man Utd lost a top flight match at home with same score line 1-6 was also vs City on 23 Jan 1926

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Hasn't been great since Cleverly got injured, although its only been a few games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Unlucky Man U.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭doc_17

Wonder what ferguson will be saying in there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Stolen from Twitter :pac:

I think Ferguson will regret resting Howard Webb for such a big game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Gary Nevilles sour puss is priceless! LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

zieke_man.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Close game which tilted heavily after Evans got sent off (deservedly, just to note).

After that, City know how to keep the ball and with players like Silva, Aguero and Balotelli you will nearly always be punished. Wouldn't of expected anything near this kind of outcome with 11 vs. 11, though City winning was a more than decent bet up to that point in any case. United goal might've was bit of a curse in retrospect as it meant we pushed even more and we were completely deflated by goal #4.

Overall, fair play to City, got their goal, stretched us, got a red card and were able to take advantage of that. Still, the top of the league is still going to be close come the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,882 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

#15 wrote: »
    Silva is incredible.

The worst thing from a Utd perspective is how much belief that will give to City. They are seriously well equipped to win both the PL and the CL. Their offensive play is so intelligent and incisive.

They have no chance of winning the CL,they will do well to even get out of their group.

ft9 wrote: »
    Gary Nevilles sour puss is priceless! LOL :D

What an unpleasant man Gary Neville is.