Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Any Neo Geo AES owners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

EnterNow wrote: »
    Lag as in LCD Ghosting?

<addtechiehat>Nope, I meant to say control lag. I agree with your points on the display issues though. :) </removetechiehat>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Pyongyang wrote: »
    <addtechiehat>Nope, I meant to say control lag. I agree with your points on the display issues though. :) </removetechiehat>

Ah I see my bad so :)

Looks like a great piece of kit, & as o1s1n says when good crt's get harder & harder to find..I can see these taking the role on nicely.

Definitely check out as many videos by faginrs500 as you can. People dub him 'the Godfather of the scanline' and rightly so. Very informative videos, plus the guy has a collection of 'stuff' that would make even the Sultan Of Brunei's eyes water.

Well worth checking out if you want to learn more. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,955 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Wait I'm confused now. I thought LCD lag/control lag was the same thing?

In that what is displayed on your LCD monitor is a fraction behind what's happening in the console.

Your inputs are governed by your reaction to what you see on the screen. Therefore if there's lag on the screen, what you input with the controller won't be the same as what's on the console. If that makes sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

o1s1n wrote: »
    Wait I'm confused now. I thought LCD lag/control lag was the same thing?

In that what is displayed on your LCD monitor is a fraction behind what's happening in the console.

Your inputs are governed by your reaction to what you see on the screen. Therefore if there's lag on the screen, what you input with the controller won't be the same as what's on the console. If that makes sense?

I think the above setup has little or no lag from the console, through all the components, until it gets to your tv. From there, the only noticeable lag will be the usual lcd ghosting (refresh speed) of the pixels. This is inherent to lcd/plasma technology though...but generally the better quality sets will have lower pixel response times.

Master of the Universe

Ah right! I get ya. I didn't think of the signal lag going through all those devices.

The Trinitron will be casting it's big black monolithic shadow over my sitting room for some time to come so :D

Would still like to get one of these for my Dreamcast/rotated LCD combo though.

Master of the Universe

Most informative video you'll watch on the Sync Strike by the guy who helped develop and test it. Bit of a legend is faginrs500. :)

You'll note my comment on there too looking for some advice. :)

As for lag, certainly I experienced none at all with the Saturn the other night.

Just finished watching that. The guy sure knows his stuff. Really good video. Makes me want a Sync Strike even more now :pac:

Small update. I done some legwork on the MVS boxes and also mailed off the MAK and MVS to Jochen tonight so hopefully he'll have those next week.

Regarding the boxes, a lot of places I enquired at won't touch short runs at all. Minimum order would be 1000 boxes. That's before you even look at custom plate costs which run in to a small fortune.

I turned my attention to cardboard dye cut boxes. Similar to kit boxes but made to fit the exact dimensions of an MVS cart. Similar story on custom short runs but there is a silver lining of sorts. I found two sources, one a UK box maker that has pre-fabbed boxes made within a cm or two of the actual overall MVS cart dimensions and it's a dye cut box! Price? £35 + shipping from UK for 25 of them, which is actually reasonable.

That said, I've found a guy in Italy making dye cut 'kit boxes' made to fit the exact size of the cart and complete with pro printed spine labels for each game. Not sure if he's still making them but I contacted him anyway. He's doing them at 20 for €30 plus shipping from Italy.

Additional sticker spine labels at 50c each plus shipping. The guy works in a box factory so knows what he's doing. Prices seem really reasonable but shipping could be crazy.

I'll see what he comes back to me with and naturally spill the beans when this happens.

If anyone is interested in group buy off this guy let me know and maybe we can strike up a deal with him?

Let me know if you're Roy Keane. :)

Master of the Universe

That's a steal for those boxes. I'd be in for a group order.

Have some already and they work great along with a bubble wrap bag. Bit more authentic too.

Found pics of some of my carts before they were stored away. You can see the boxes in the back. I think the big one on the left is a real kit box (it has Japanese kanji hand written on it..it has to be real!) while the others are what you're talking about. (Which I've beautifully written across in a big marker as I was sick of not knowing what was in each one!)

neogeogames.jpg

Another pic here. God I miss having a games room! :(

DSC_0136.jpg

What's the red cart you have there? And why is your Blazing Star label in English?

Anywho, these boxes I'm looking at look absolutely smashing, so do the spine stickers. I'll ask for some super size photos and see what happens. The ones from Italy are better because of the fact they have been designed especially for MVS carts. The stock boxes are, well, stock boxes.

Leave it with me and I'll see what I can do. If a group order is on the cards though I need to start getting ideas of who wants in and exactly how many you want. We'll leave that for now though until I can get more concrete information.

In the meantime does anyone else have any information on shock boxes or MVS stock boxes?

Master of the Universe

What's the red cart you have there? And why is your Blazing Star label in English?

The red cart is a PGM game. I think we were talking about the IGS PGM a while back? It's very like the MVS motherboard.

There's a label on the side so it must be Knights of Valour as my Demon Front unfortunately has no label.

I think my Blazing Star label is a reprint :( The boards and the case are legit though, I swearz!
    Anywho, these boxes I'm looking at look absolutely smashing, so do the spine stickers. I'll ask for some super size photos and see what happens. The ones from Italy are better because of the fact they have been designed especially for MVS carts. The stock boxes are, well, stock boxes.

Leave it with me and I'll see what I can do. If a group order is on the cards though I need to start getting ideas of who wants in and exactly how many you want. We'll leave that for now though until I can get more concrete information.

In the meantime does anyone else have any information on shock boxes or MVS stock boxes?

I take it these cardboard boxes will be coming flat pack? If so I'd be interested in about 30 (If I can afford it of course!). If they're pre assembled I'd have to go far less as I'd have nowhere to store that many assembled boxes at the moment.

I reckon those boys will be flat packed. I'm probably looking at 30 too. Just for future sake really. I only need 16 or so right now.

I'll check on the stickers too of course.

I haven't looked inside my Blazing Star cart yet, or Last Resort. I shall check the boards soon enough and hope I didn't get ripped off. The Last Resort label is in bits though, that much is certain.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

I might put my name down for 10 boxes/stickers depending on the total price.

Groovy. I think 10 is €20 plus shipping if you did it that way. Price decreases as you buy more obviously. These are prices I have going on individual orders though. Of course it's all hypothetical as yer man might not even be flogging these any more.

No probs dude thanks for looking into it. It's the "plus shipping" part I'm interested in. If that turns out to be more than the boxes then fug that. :pac:

Andrew76 wrote: »
    No probs dude thanks for looking into it. It's the "plus shipping" part I'm interested in. If that turns out to be more than the boxes then fug that. :pac:

Aye but if it's looked at as a group buy we should be able to share the blame spread the cost. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I'd be interested in 15-20 boxes too

OK I have some feedback from our man in Italy. It's not the best news but has a silver lining.

I got a quote for a personal order of 20 boxes with 14 spine labels for €75 shipped. Far too expensive.

However, I'm checking for a quote of 100 boxes with 100 labels, just to test the waters. Reason being that postage is a flat €25 for anything up to 10kg apparently, according to yer man. So I think the best bet is to see if a larger order (a group purchase) warrants a bulk order discount and to make use of the pricey postage and spread the cost between ourselves.

I've also contacted a fantastic UK-based company that really caters for short runs and custom boxes (bear in mind due to the insane costs involved we're definitely looking at mini cardboard 'kit' boxes made to fit, shock boxes are out the window now). I'm waiting for a quote back from them and another company based in New Zealand. What this means is if the boxes work out cheap enough, a separate order could be put in for spine labels either as a group order or on your own.

One bonus with our man in Italy is he accepts Paypal so it saves me collecting cash or what have you and we can all send our portion of the payment to him individually. How does that sound?

Once I've rounded up all the figures and facts, I'll post them here (or start a new thread?) and start taking confirmed orders if everyone interested is happy with that?

Sounds good, is you man in italys boxes the exact same size as originals or are they going to look different sitting beside originals on the shelves?
    I need 15 exactly :)

Yep it's basically a white, die-cut box that is the exact size of an MVS cart. Fits snug so the cart doesn't roll around loose inside.

Waiting for a response from the guy to see what costs a bulk order would comprise. I certainly think spreading the postage cost will ease the hurt. Failing that I'm trying go it alone solutions with another company.

We'll see, it's early days as yet. :)

Master of the Universe

This is really sounding promising!

What's the story with the spine stickers? Will they be MVS type labels (with pre printed games titles), or empty labels?

If they're pre printed it should be interesting figuring out what game labels people need!

o1s1n wrote: »
    This is really sounding promising!

What's the story with the spine stickers? Will they be MVS type labels (with pre printed games titles), or empty labels?

If they're pre printed it should be interesting figuring out what game labels people need!

Promising yes, but I definitely need solid costing as yet. Italy might not work and if so I'm going to bespoke my own and offer up prices that way.

The spine stickers from yer man in Italy are pro printed, proper adhesive stickers. They look like AES box spines but have MVS on them, a 'megs' box at the bottom of the spine. The sticker covers the entire length and bredth of the spine and is in full colour so it has (from top to bottom) NEO GEO > MVS> the game title/logo > MEGS info box. They do look proper tasty and professional looking. I'll get some photos.

I reckon by this time next week the situation and direction this is going to take will be a lot clearer. All that's needed then is people willing to commit and put up the cash. Hopefully after that we'll all be able to enjoy these boxes. :)

Feck. My MVS board broke in transit. Needs a new board which Jochen said he can get for me so it's not all bad news. :)

I had that parcel insured, can I claim off of An Post?

anpost.ie wrote:
    12. Claims

(a) Any claim must be brought by the Customer and submitted on an official An Post claim form (available at your local Post Office) to the Customer Services Section, An Post, GPO, O’Connell St, Dublin 1 within 30 days of the date of posting. Such claims must be accompanied by:

(i) Statement of the amount claimed (in Euro).

(ii) Copy of An Post receipt of posting.

(iii) Copy of Original Purchase Invoice of contents to provide evidence of cost price.

(iv) Detailed description of goods involved.

(v) In the event of non-delivery/delay/damage etc. copy of a written statement from the consignee confirming loss or damage.

If claiming for damaged goods, the address (and telephone number of contact) of where the goods are available for inspection should be supplied together with an estimate of the cost of repair.

N.B. All damaged goods and packing must be retained for inspection. Failure to do so may adversely affect claims.

(b) The amount of any such claim may not be deducted from any charges owed.

13. Claims - Time Limit

Claims not brought within the terms of condition 12 are excluded and no liability shall be accepted under any circumstances in respect of such claims.
    Was damaged when you were sending it back?

Yep, it was damaged upon receipt in Germany. Jochen is a legend though, he's taking pics etc of all the stuff for me.

We've sorted it though, he's getting me a new MVS board from his contacts and making some improvements to my MAK Strike and replacing the JAMMA connector.

Truly an honest, top man. Buy stuff from him. That is all. :)

After 754,000 years I finally have an MVS and Supergun again. I had to buy a new MVS as my old one was killed in action (thanks to An Post).

I now have an MVS1-FZ and MAK Strike. I can get it to display on the TV (at last!) but the picture rolls around constantly making it unplayable. To make sure it wasn't my MVS system I tried another cart and also plugged a JAMMA PCB in to the MAK Strike.

Same thing. Tried different SCARTS, the Sync Strike, a scaler, everything!

Any ideas what's going on? It has to be the MAK Strike surely as I have a new LG plasma and my LCD monitor does the same thing.

Am I ever going to get to play Neo Geo games? Seriously, this is doing my head in.

Edit: now with the PCB the screen just flash on for a second, the goes black for a couple of seconds, then comes back on for a second, then off, then on and so on.

Seriously thinking of jacking the supergun game in and just buying a cab at this stage! Where's my toys? I'm throwing them out of the pram! :)

Do you have a CRT to test it on? My Raiden II PCB flickered like mad on an LCD but was perfect on the CRT.

Alas not, I'm at a loss for what this issue is. The idea of this kit is to have it work on new tvs I thought.

I definitely think the MVS board is grand as my Mille Miglia 2 board flickers exactly the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,918 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Alas not, I'm at a loss for what this issue is. The idea of this kit is to have it work on new tvs I thought.

I definitely think the MVS board is grand as my Mille Miglia 2 board flickers exactly the same way.

No CRT :eek: :eek:

Dude, come on.

So all those nice shmups etc I see you getting are been played on LCD/Plasma screens.

Noooooooooooooo

...with a scan line generator. :p

A cab is looking more and more likely. I'm getting ruffled that this thing just doesn't work and I have no idea why.