Best way to Improve RTE and get Value from the licence fee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

The suggestion that they would end up at a competitor is laughable. Who's going to take them? A blind monkey with a shotgun would have more chance of landing a job at a competitor than any of the RTE crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Late late show should have been retired with Gay, Pat turned it into Kenny live and now Tubridy has turned it into Tubridy tonight.

RTE dont seem to understand that chat shows are all about the presenter. Changing the presenter changes the show and RTE seem intent on dropping it down to the next best alternative and keeping the name each time they change the presenter ending up with a second rate show under a first rate banner.

RTE are just too lazy or dont have the right people to create good shows. When they do happen on one they will try to hold onto it no matter what, like the panel. Dara left and it was no longer the panel but rather than revamp it and turn it into something else to suit who would be doing it they didnt see past the fact that the panel was popular thinking therefore it will always be popular as long as its called the panel.

I seen that sports show last night with Grainne Seoige and it was horrible. I mean you have the blueprint ready made because every other channel in history has a sports based panel show and they still couldnt make it work.

I dont understand how they can be so bad at creating and shooting shows considering the intelligent part "coming up with the idea" is already done by other broadcasters 99% of the time. All they have to do is make it watchable.

Personally I think we need people like Sean Moncrief back on tv. Interesting popular people rather than self proclaimed celebrities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Looking back they really did lose a lot with the passing of Gerry Ryan, I don't think I have turned to radio 2 in the morning since he passed. But that is just me, I wonder what the figures are for whoever is doing it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Galtee wrote: »
    The suggestion that they would end up at a competitor is laughable. Who's going to take them? A blind monkey with a shotgun would have more chance of landing a job at a competitor than any of the RTE crowd.

This.

I'm struggling to understand why anyone seems to think that any of these people are even known to foreign broadcasters let alone worrying about who's going to snap them up. The answer is nobody and the likes of Tubridy etc. know this all too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

aidan24326 wrote: »
    You do have a point, the LLS format is very outdated for sure. Still though, it has to be said Tubridy has done nothing to revamp the format or make the show in any way interesting or relevant, so he's hardly doing much to justify the massive salary that we're told his 'talent' warrants. At least Pat Kenny is actually a pretty decent broadcaster when he sticks to political and current affairs stuff, though still highly overpaid at that.
    Tubs is on record as saying he is making the show his own!! I think that may have been the problem!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This.

I'm struggling to understand why anyone seems to think that any of these people are even known to foreign broadcasters let alone worrying about who's going to snap them up. The answer is nobody and the likes of Tubridy etc. know this all too well.

Listening to a good discussion on the Last Word with John Bowman...he mentioned a point in the late 70's where there was a very real threat from a US station that wanted to poach Gaybo and was luring him with a salary rise. RTE had to match it to keep him... I have a feeling that that move kick started a culture of entitlement and a big boogeyman of foreign broadcasters stealing our talent, which has since festered into wbhat we have now...

I have to admit, I though gaybo did his job very well and I thought Gerry Ryan (god rest him) did his job very well also but even their salaries were way too high. As for the rest of them (apart from Miriam O Callaghan of course, there's a twinkle in her eye for me and I'd hate to disappoint her ;)), the crowd in the US or the Afghan TV or the little welsh channel that I can't get is welcome to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I'm sure Pat could easily demand a million elsewhere pfft :D

Xivilai wrote: »
    I'm sure Pat could easily demand a million elsewhere pfft :D

His bank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Have Product Placement in The Angelus.
    Maybe with the slogan "even abstinence can't protect you like Durex"
    Get the Government to introduce a law that says you must have a licence for every TV.
    Why if you never watch RTE only TV-boxsets, also why didn't they just scramble saorview, because many of us "forced-to-pay commoners", would be glad to opt out.

Here is a video from that talk, from RTE
    DCU Lecture: 'A leaner, more focused RTÉ'
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmmVEk1d6sE

Note: the initial idea of licenced-TV was to broadcast educational programming, and I have to thank RTE for showing those science shows while I was growing up.
    Basically haven't we learnt a lesson, that greedy fat-cats killed the Tiger. I am shocked to hear that Pat de Plank was earning close to a million €. Off load them all, and get 10 new presenters for the price of one, but one favour keep the beautiful Miriam.

My best idea is make RTE semi-state owned, use RTE 1 to fullfill social oblications; Irish-sports, religious-crap for those old believers, some documentries on science/wildlife/history in Ireland. The rest can be part of the commerial side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Tomk1 wrote: »
    Maybe with the slogan "even absanence can't protect you like Durex"

Why if you never watch RTE only TV-boxsets, also why didn't they just scramble saorview, because many of us "forced-to-pay commoners", would be glad to opt out.

Here is a video from that talk, from RTE
    DCU Lecture: 'A leaner, more focused RTÉ'
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmmVEk1d6sE

Note: the initial idea of licenced-TV was to broadcast educational programming, and I have to thank RTE for showing those science shows while I was growing up.
    Basically haven't we learnt a lesson, that greedy fat-cats killed the Tiger. I am shocked to hear that Pat de Plank was earning close to a million €. Off load them all, and get 10 new presenters for the price of one, but one favour keep the beautiful Miriam.

My best idea is make RTE semi-state owned, use RTE 1 to fullfill social oblications; Irish-sports, religious-crap for those old believers, some documentries on science/wildlife/history in Ireland. The rest can be part of the commerial side.

I think that is a good idea, but sell the rest off.

I think it will be trimmed down whether anyone likes it or not. Perhap state broadcasters have had their day as well as television overall is loosing viewers . I would miss it to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Best way to Improve RTE and get Value from the licence fee

Easy. Reduce the salaries big time. Reduce the perks - I know a few people there and they fiddle the expenses / get other goods back etc.

And cut out the Angelus, or else charge the Church for advertising that nobody watches.

And do not send news correspondents to every corner of the world. like that lonely dry drip "whats his name" in USA for 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

50% pay cut is good for em all for the little work they do..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Micklaus

They passed up Father Ted.....that's all you really need to know about that lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Micklaus wrote: »
    They passed up Father Ted.....that's all you really need to know about that lot.
    No they didn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Any National Broadcaster that gives Brendan O'Connor a TV show on a Saturday Night should automatically forfeit their rights to a license fee from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Great thread Ash J. Williams. Very revealing and confirms what everyone suspects:

That RTE is an incestuous closed shop where cronyism and nepotism are rife. And we the license fee payers are treated like mugs for tolerating this crap.

Retired RTE presenters coming out of retirement and given presenting jobs and advertising gigs because they have lost their money! Absolutely disgraceful, such money should be used to commission new writing and to fund creative works that will reveal new talent and add value to the viewers and license payers.

The public broadcaster belongs to us - the license payer - and it is about time we made it clear that we aren't going to tolerate their crap any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    It's shameful that we're forced to pay to fund this half-arsed attempt at a television channel.

theres no gun to my head, and i'm 160 quid better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lucozader

gaybo was a decent presenter and could of emigrated and made a go of it elsewhere.

Dirtbags like Tubridy, Marian Finucane and marty morrissey are **** and do not deserve their fatcat wages. They are utterly rubbish and would not receive 10% of their wages if they moved to other broadcasters.

Also all of the big RTE presenters have set up their own companies that RTE pay, the company then pays them. A nice little BONOesque tax fiddle.

Land Grabber Pat Kenny with his trophy house has some cheek as well.

Twink is good craic though

Tubs is in the indo this morning saying he's not going anywhere,....neither is Miriam! I guess they know what side their bread is buttered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Are RTE still planning to tart up Montrose to the tune of 360 million next year. Knowing them I wouldn't be suprised if the bill goes over 500M.

http://www.herald.ie/news/broadcaster-davis-baffled-as-rte-plans-8364360m-palace-after-cutting-staff-wages-1899292.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I think the TV schedule should just be this everyday.

TV starts at 12pm. People should be doing something else rather than watching tv in the morning, also gets rid of all that Jeremy Kyle rubbish

Schedule

12pm-1pm RTE News. With a special of that eejit who fell over in the snow. Georgia Salpa as the weather girl

1pm-2pm Atari Jaguar Appreciation. Irish heroes reminisce fondly about the greatest video games console of all time

2-6pm Ireland remembers Italia 90. Extended highlights, Interviews and Put Em Under Pressure is shown hourly

6pm-6:30pm RTE News. With a special of that eejit who fell over in the snow. Georgia Salpa as the weather girl

6:30pm – Classic Simpsons episode

7pm-9pm – A Tribute to China and why they’re a great bunch of lads

9pm-Close – After the watershed it is Late Night Yore Ma.

What do you think? :cool:

THe fact is whoever opposes the paycuts in RTE is no better than a traitor giving two fingers to the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Why isnt there more public outrage over this?

#occupyRTE :D:D

Its taxpayers money and its being spent on them bunch of cnuts.
    I just hope that IF they want €35m saved in RTE and the "stars" arent willing to take the cuts then RTE get fcuking rid of them.
    I would laugh uncontrollably at the thoughts of duffy clearing out his fetish gear from his office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

lucozader wrote: »
    gaybo was a decent presenter and could of emigrated and made a go of it elsewhere.

A news reader at Granada , and his attempt in the US was a flop

RTE was the only place that would have him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭lawhec

Some points...

1. Comparing RTÉ to the BBC is like comparing Iceland to Spain in international soccer. Better comparisons to be made should focus on other European countries with similar populations.

2. RTÉ is not unique in having advertising as a PSB, the majority of such broadcasters in Europe have some. The BBC is one of the very few who don't carry adverts.

3. Public service broadcasting still has a vital role to play on a day-to-day basis on public life and community. If you want to see a country where no PSB television exists, look at the output on TV in New Zealand. In case anyone has never experienced it, it can be summed up with the following sentence. It's ****.

None of the above however absolves RTÉ of any excuse for its failings - while it is one of the more leaner PSBs in the world (yes, it is!) there's too much of an old boys mentality and nepotist attitude hanging around Donnybrook, and too many in comfort zones who aren't being well enough challenged. So since this thread is looking for suggestions...

* Use DSO next year to structure and streamline RTÉ output for digital transmission systems away from analogue. Allow RTÉ one multiplex for terrestrial transmission to play with, TV3 and TG4 to share a multiplex between them and allow for a third multiplex for future programme providers and channels.

* Spin off RnaG to TG4, and have all Irish language PSB being produced under the one body with a guarantee that RnaG should still have access to RTÉ's broadcast network the same as its current terms.

* Keep 2FM. It usually pays for itself and should hopefully be back in a position soon to contribute back into RTÉ's coffers.

* All new work contracts in RTÉ to have a standard pay ceiling of €200-250k plus some expenses for travel where required (but not regular commuting) and royalty bonuses. Those that current work for RTÉ through a production company would have a contract based on net pay after tax similar to that of those directly contracted.

* Freeze the cost of the licence fee until 2015 at least, and put a price floor on all advertising slots on RTÉ stations to stop a subsidised undercutting of commercial competitors.

* Spin RTÉNL off from RTÉ itself but remain as a government owned/semi-state body to provide non-discriminatory access to broadcast facilities.

* Refocus RTÉ's two main television channels; RTÉ 1 to focus primarily on home programming where practical including a breakfast show, with imported programming limited to around 10%. No advertising between 6pm-11pm on weekdays and no more than 6 mins per hour of advertising outside these hours. RTÉ 2 to be focused as a youth/young adult sports and entertainment channel whose running costs from licence fee money be capped to 20% of the channel's running costs.

* Current RTÉ minor TV channels; RTÉ Jr should be put to a seven day operation that is largely automated with a limited amount of advertising permitted. Scrap RTÉ1+1 for the time being until copyright issues are sorted for all programmes. Reformat RTÉ News Now as mentioned below...

* News: Make a stronger focus on home issues and events. For foreign reports look at reducing the amount of foreign correspondents and make better use of the likes of AP and Reuters. Also establish agreements with broadcasters in other countries for footage and voice reports e.g. PBS in the USA, ABC in Australia etc.

* News Now: Change direction of the channel to allow for RTÉ to seek a partner or partners to form a company to run an Irish news channel similar to many other 24 hours news channels across the globe for a home audience. TV3 and TG4 should be approached initially but if they aren't interested, look at running the service with an international partner similar to their collaboration with CLT for Atlantic 252. The station itself doesn't have to be rolling 24 hour news, but be prepared for breaking stories.

* Finally, stop RTÉ and TG4 outbidding each other for rights where both parties are interested. In the case of a clash, they should negotiate to decide what programmes each should go for and also consider getting joint rights in some cases.

My €0.02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

lawhec wrote: »
    Some points...

1. Comparing RTÉ to the BBC is like comparing Spain to Iceland in international soccer. Better comparisons to be made should focus on other European countries with similar populations.

I gave up reading after you got your very first analogy backwards.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Micklaus

No they didn't

They were certainly very reluctant to air it.........I know they were never in the runnin' to actually make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭HugoBradyBrown

I agree wholeheartedly with the many positive comments about RTE here. In my view, the best way to maximise listener benefit from RTE is to focus on RTE Lyric FM, and get its listenership figures up, ideally as high as 10% throughout the day.

The licence fee is in reality a very modest charge, considered over the course of an entire year, and particularly in multi-member households, where the cost per head diminishes with each additional person or birth. I have heard it compared to buying the Racing Post a couple of times a week, and giving much better value. (And, in any case, advertising revenue must be a major component of RTE's revenue, ensuring the licence fee is kept to the bare minimum necessary. Similarly, their revenue from TV sales and from merchandise sales must alleviate the burden on the licence payer by offsetting otherwise necessary additional public charges.)

If they were to launch a large TV and radio campaign to promote RTE Lyric FM heavily (perhaps backed up with print, billboard and bus ads), they could really ensure that the licence payer actually derives personal benefit from the jewel in the RTE crown. It might be necessary to enhance the celebrity status of some of the RTE Lyric FM broadcasters as part of this initiative, perhaps by floating them as television celebrities at least for the duration of the campaign. If they guested heavily on discussion programmes, and took part in competition and reality shows, it would make the viewer curious and lead to a surge in interest in their radio origins.

Hugo Brady Brown

I agree wholeheartedly with the many positive comments about RTE here. In my view, the best way to maximise listener benefit from RTE is to focus on RTE Lyric FM, and get its listenership figures up, ideally as high as 10% throughout the day.

The licence fee is in reality a very modest charge, considered over the course of an entire year, and particularly in multi-member households, where the cost per head diminishes with each additional person or birth. I have heard it compared to buying the Racing Post a couple of times a week, and giving much better value. (And, in any case, advertising revenue must be a major component of RTE's revenue, ensuring the licence fee is kept to the bare minimum necessary. Similarly, their revenue from TV sales and from merchandise sales must alleviate the burden on the licence payer by offsetting otherwise necessary additional public charges.)

If they were to launch a large TV and radio campaign to promote RTE Lyric FM heavily (perhaps backed up with print, billboard and bus ads), they could really ensure that the licence payer actually derives personal benefit from the jewel in the RTE crown. It might be necessary to enhance the celebrity status of some of the RTE Lyric FM broadcasters as part of this initiative, perhaps by floating them as television celebrities at least for the duration of the campaign. If they guested heavily on discussion programmes, and took part in competition and reality shows, it would make the viewer curious and lead to a surge in interest in their radio origins.

Hugo Brady Brown
    I do not think the licence fee is anything near value for money, simply for one reason. How many licences does it take to pay joe duffy? I have to wait until the licence man catches me before i pay as food, heat and car come first. Ditch the cash cow chasers, replace them all with better people with less greed and RTE will be saved! I would relish paying the licence fee, if i knew it was going directly into programming. When I say programming of course i would expect a portion of it to pay for presenters, but not at the GREEDY rates they are paid now..Tv3 were loving it yesterday basically saying they wouldn't take any of RTE's talent and telling rte not to worry!!