Protests in Ireland are pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Excellant point, well made. I particularly like how you're unable to even address, nevermind answer my questions.

See you outside the Central Bank so comrade.

Nice ninja-edit too. Although I am glad you decided to elaborate on your single roll-eyes reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Wertz wrote: »
    (courtesy of someone in the economy forum)

That's what they want to achieve...short of Marty McFly's car and a magic wand, it's probably not going to happen.
    That doesn't mean that they don't have a right to protest for it...

That offshore oil and gas reserves be “returned to the people”
    That “real participatory democracy” be established in Ireland.

They have the right to protest just as people have the right to call them morons.
    What do they consider the oil being handed back to the people? Has ireland a good track record in mineral expolaration?
    What is real participatory democracy? Do people not vote in Ireland or do they want the public to vote on every item?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

To me, the most pathetic protests are ones with xenophobic motivations. An example of this was the protest over the visit to Ireland made by The Queen and Barrack Obama. More often than not, someone like Eirigi or Richard Boyd Barrett is the mastermind behind the protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Excellant point, well made. I particularly like how you're unable to even address, nevermind answer my questions.

See you outside the Central Bank so comrade.

Comrade - I assume you are an adult so the onus is on you to inform yourself. Comrade.

I am not your Mammy.
    I am not your teacher.

I am a citizen of this country, a mother, a grandmother, who is sick of seeing those who claim to represent us draw over double the average industrial salary per year minimum and who, between 166 of them, managed to claim close to 9 million euro in expenses for both 2008 and 2009.

I am sick of bankers continuing to claim bonuses.

I am sick of top civil servants and county managers retiring on obscene pensions.

I am sick of closing hospitals with garda stations targeted next.

I am sick of NAMA paying developers who took a punt and lost salaries of 200,000 k a year.

I am sick of the Fingletons, Fitzpatricks, Drumms, Quinns and their ilk who are trying every dodge in the book to avoid paying for their greed.

I am sick of the likes of Ahern, Cowan, Harney, McCreevy etc who have not borne one shred of responsibility for how they ****ed up.

If we do not force government to be accountable - it will never be accountable.

If we do not force the authorities to take action against unregulated greed in the financial sector - it will never be regulated.

If we don't remind FG and Labour that what happened to FF and the Greens can happen to them too if they do not start putting the welfare of the people before the welfare of the elite - they will continue to implement the same policies.

Those are my reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

(courtesy of someone in the economy forum)
    That the IMF and ECB “stay out of our affairs”
    That the bank debt taken on by Ireland’s government be lifted

That's what they want to achieve...

Jaysus.

1. If we kick out the IMF/ECB the euro and Irish economy will collapse
    2. Will never and cannot happen for above reason
    3. FFS, the corrib gas project is great for Ireland. Giving us energy security and a share of the profits. Shell will make very little out of it despite what the propaganda might say.
    4. That is mob rule. We are a Republic for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭pavb2

Plenty of coverage on RTE with respect to the 4000 at the Clontarf 9 ft flood defence plans protest. I thought the Dame st one must have finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A lad from my (state funded) course has had to take days off to attend this :rolleyes:

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Comrade - I assume you are an adult so the onus is on you to inform yourself. Comrade.

I am not your Mammy.
    I am not your teacher.

I am a citizen of this country, a mother, a grandmother, who is sick of seeing those who claim to represent us draw over double the average industrial salary per year minimum and who, between 166 of them, managed to claim close to 9 million euro in expenses for both 2008 and 2009.

I am sick of bankers continuing to claim bonuses.

I am sick of top civil servants and county managers retiring on obscene pensions.

I am sick of closing hospitals with garda stations targeted next.

I am sick of NAMA paying developers who took a punt and lost salaries of 200,000 k a year.

I am sick of the Fingletons, Fitzpatricks, Drumms, Quinns and their ilk who are trying every dodge in the book to avoid paying for their greed.

I am sick of the likes of Ahern, Cowan, Harney, McCreevy etc who have not borne one shred of responsibility for how they ****ed up.

If we do not force government to be accountable - it will never be accountable.

If we do not force the authorities to take action against unregulated greed in the financial sector - it will never be regulated.

If we don't remind FG and Labour that what happened to FF and the Greens can happen to them too if they do not start putting the welfare of the people before the welfare of the elite - they will continue to implement the same policies.

Those are my reasons.

Most of the above stem from the rotten irish system which has been fed by "the people".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

fontanalis wrote: »

They have the right to protest just as people have the right to call them morons.
    What do they consider the oil being handed back to the people? Has ireland a good track record in mineral expolaration?
    What is real participatory democracy? Do people not vote in Ireland or do they want the public to vote on every item?

The energy reserves thing is a stalwart of protest in this country...I used to sympathise but the unfortunate reality is that we can't dig all those holes in the ground ourselves...however, there's nothing wrong with demanding that anything discovered is properly taxed and drilling rights are sold for a fair price to bolster the nation's coffers.

The particapatory democracy thing probably means voting on things like bank bailouts, which is again unrealistic because you simply can't have a referendum on a decision that needs to be made in a very short space of time...and tbh voting on everything sort of negates the requirement for democratic representatives...

I'm still disturbed at the lack of coverage of this in the traditional Irish media...they might be cranks but they are out on the street and there's a fair number of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Took a peek at the Occupy crowd in Galway, small amount of tents at the moment when I was there on Eyre Square with two banners containing my two favourite Irish protest words highlighted on: "WAKE UP!" & "RAPED!!".

They have every right to protest there but there's no way I can support their demands with no clear path on how they can be achieved. Half of them are completely unrealistic.

But, Christ, I hate those two words used on protests:

"WAKE UP PEOPLE OF IRELAND, CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT'S......
    "Shut the hell up!!"

The energy reserves thing is a stalwart of protest in this country...I used to sympathise but the unfortunate reality is that we can't dig all those holes in the ground ourselves...however, there's nothing wrong with demanding that anything discovered is properly taxed and drilling rights are sold for a fair price to bolster the nation's coffers.

The particapatory democracy thing probably means voting on things like bank bailouts, which is again unrealistic because you simply can't have a referendum on a decision that needs to be made in a very short space of time...and tbh voting on everything sort of negates the requirement for democratic representatives...

I'm still disturbed at the lack of coverage of this in the traditional Irish media...they might be cranks but they are out on the street and there's a fair number of them...

Not at all but there seems to be an idea out there that if it wasn't for Shell Ireland could be another Norway or a Saudi State living large of the black gold.
    Also remember any dodgy dealings was done primarily by an elected representative. I'm sorry to say but I think the protestors need to focus first on the Irsh electorate, Ireland has reaped the whirlwind of generations of gombeenry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I misread the title and thought it said "Protestants in Ireland are pathetic"
    Time to go back to Specsavers. . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

They've reclaimed a part of the city from gombeens, what's not to like?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

this nasty weather we have coming in is gods way of telling these protesters ' no one cares what you have to say, until you can back it up with realistic solutions'

Also remember any dodgy dealings was done primarily by an elected representative. I'm sorry to say but I think the protestors need to focus first on the Irsh electorate, Ireland has reaped the whirlwind of generations of gombeenry.

Dodgy dealings that were done by an elected representative is exactly what should be under protest....that such elected reps acting for and paid by the people should be subject to no oversight in such dealings is more a failure of legislation than any single constituency of electors.

You'll never snap the masses out of it because for most of them this kind of stuff goes over their heads and those who seek election by their votes know this...

this nasty weather we have coming in is gods way of telling these protesters ' no one cares what you have to say, until you can back it up with realistic solutions'

Rejecting the colonial crypto-fascist system is a realistic solution.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

talkinyite wrote: »

could you expand on what this exactly is... you believe our system of govern ment is based on a colonial style with elements of fascism? is that what your trying to say? or are you playing with a buzz word generator online?

I'll have oil and vinegar dressing with my word salad please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sexter

My utmost respect goes out to the protestors. I would be out there but I prefer to do the job of utilizing my superior ineffectual capabilities to wake people up the sheeple via the internet instead. We CAN defeat them. It looks impossible, especially when you see the masses of people like those on this site; Sex-addicts who've been brain-raped by the jew-box their whole lives.

sexter wrote: »
    My utmost respect goes out to the protestors. I would be out there but I prefer to do the job of utilizing my superior ineffectual capabilities to wake people up the sheeple via the internet instead. We CAN defeat them. It looks impossible, especially when you see the masses of people like those on this site; Sex-addicts who've been brain-raped by the jew-box their whole lives.

Damn that haggis eating Jew boy John Logie Bard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭chasm

Well what are they protesting about? What are their main issues? What are their solutions and what are their end goals?

The problem with Irish protests is that they're more often than not either started by or hijacked by the Socialist Workers Party, are totally undefined in their goals or aims and attract the same hundred or so regulars that would protest the opening of a McDonalds.

There ya go ;)
    http://www.occupydamestreet.org/?page_id=8

I think if RTE and other media did their jobs and reported news and current affairs in an unbiased nature perhaps more people would be aware that this is actually happening. Am surprised at the number of people who know nothing about any of this, other than vaguely remembering a clip on the news about the wall street protest.

I went up to the protest on saturday(the #ODS, not the other one) because i wanted to see it for myself, which is probably just as well considering rte's lack of coverage! This was the first protest i have been to in my life, and i'm glad i went up and i have to say i admire these people for what they are doing, even more so sitting in my heated house looking out at the crappy weather we've had today! Fair play to them i say. :)

you believe our system of govern ment is based on a colonial style with elements of fascism? is that what your trying to say?

Pretty much yeah...

"Fascism should more appropriately be called Corporatism because it is a merger of state and corporate power." - Mussolini

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I don't actually agree with any protests that have ever happened in Ireland. Glen of the Downs and the thing with that Offaly woman with the trees pissed me off as it was hippies with no sense of scale crying about vital infrastructure being more important than a field of trees being funded by the government. The Shell to Sea protesters have a pretty decent cause, but are absolute idiots, so cannot make their case coherent. Occupy Dame Street didn't even have a cause, it was just arts students with nothing to do with their time shouting about how money is unevenly distributed, despite doing an arts course and probably never having a meaningful, well paying job, through their own choice.

If someone actually decided to mount a proper protest, with the actual aim of getting something injust fixed, I would happily get involved.

Pretty much yeah...

"Fascism should more appropriately be called Corporatism because it is a merger of state and corporate power." - Mussolini

Mussolini reappropriated the word to a degree for his own uses, quoting him shows nothing but you are quite possibly a fascist yourself... bravo comrade

Also isn't the front runner for the Presidential race at the minute a FF man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

chasm wrote: »
    There ya go ;)

I think if RTE and other media did their jobs and reported news and current affairs in an unbiased nature perhaps more people would be aware that this is actually happening. Am surprised at the number of people who know nothing about any of this, other than vaguely remembering a clip on the news about the wall street protest.

The banking crises has been covered ad nausem on all media in this country since 2008.

The #ODS demands are not realistic and are not wanted by the people. Yes, the people voted on these issues at the GE11. The Sinn Fein manifesto was a carbon copy of their demands and the country rejected them.

The #ODS should not just list their demands. Put out an argument on why they are good for the country. Sitting outside the central bank like a bunch of smug Emo's will get you nothing.

Mussolini reappropriated the word to a degree for his own uses, quoting him shows nothing but you are quite possibly a fascist yourself... bravo comrade

Maybe, but I’ll never agree with the state beating down citizens in mayo on the behest of shell, or beating down students in Dublin and throwing people out of their homes on the behest of corporate bankers. I’m nobody’s comrade I gave up after ‘Lisbon 2’, just having a rant. Out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭chasm

chasm wrote: »
    There ya go ;)

The banking crises has been covered ad nausem on all media in this country since 2008.

I was referring to their lack of coverage of the protest on Saturday.

Also isn't the front runner for the Presidential race at the minute a FF man?

Yup and he's RTÉ's man too.
    All this BS about opinion polls is nothing more than massaging people into thinking that you either have to vote for him or Higgins. Personally I think opinion polls should be banned as they themselves can influence the electorate and affect the outcomes...

Maybe, but I’ll never agree with the state beating down citizens in mayo on the behest of shell, or beating down students in Dublin and throwing people out of their homes on the behest of corporate bankers. I’m nobody’s comrade I gave up after ‘Lisbon 2’, just having a rant. Out.

They have!