Foreigners talking about you in their own language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I do this with my Swedish friends all the time, it's kinda fun.:D:pac:

No offence, but I think that's really bad manners. :mad:

I'm bilingual too, but I'd never dream of bad-mouthing or making fun of others who can't understand me. Especially not when they're around!

One day I'm sure you'll make fun of somebody who actually understands what you're saying and hopefully then, it won't be as amusing anymore.

Sorry. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

My wife does it all the time. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I'm bilingual too, but I'd never dream of bad-mouthing or making fun of others who can't understand me. Especially not when they're around!

One day I'm sure you'll make fun of somebody who actually understands what you're saying and hopefully then, it won't be as amusing anymore.

Foreigners making fun in teyr own language us wrong, I agree 100%.

Not to allow foreigners talk in theyr own language between themselves is wrong.

At work one Irish fella is living with polish girl for quite awile. He knows quite a bit of polish now. Once he went in some hotel to have his lunch. There were two polish fellas in carvery. So Irish fella asked something about the food, but polish fella just mumbled some really mean **** in polish. Irish fella understood all ofit and **** him up for it, while polish fella had a very surprised look on his face!

I loved that story! He got what he deserved! Fair play to your man there! :D if you don't have balls to insult like a man, then don't hide behind your language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

If manager will tell you to go home and slap your wife then call her fat, you will do so too?

Only if it involves a raise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

ha ha ha! you said it sis. I'd love to learn lithuanian to randomly join in.

Foreigners making fun in teyr own language us wrong, I agree 100%.

Not to allow foreigners talk in theyr own language between themselves is wrong.

At work one Irish fella is living with polish girl for quite awile. He knows quite a bit of polish now. Once he went in some hotel to have his lunch. There were two polish fellas in carvery. So Irish fella asked something about the food, but polish fella just mumbled some really mean **** in polish. Irish fella understood all ofit and **** him up for it, while polish fella had a very surprised look on his face!

I loved that story! He got what he deserved! Fair play to your man there! :D if you don't have balls to insult like a man, then don't hide behind your language.

Your point kinda took a u-turn there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Instead of perpetuating the foreigner/Irish divide, why don't you make an effort to get to know your colleagues. Perhaps you'll form some lifelong friendships, perhaps it might lead to love.

Or you can continue to sit there, looking across at them and feeling paranoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Half the time you can't even understand someone from a different county or area of a county / city in Ireland or Britain when they're talking amongst themselves.

Ever try to understand a bunch of City Centre Dubs, Corkonians or Belfast folk in full flight gossiping? Even worse if you try Londoners, Liverpudlians, Mancunians. Then if you go for say Glaswegians, or Geordies you're basically into an entirely different dialect of English entirely.

I thought I was listening to some people speaking a strange dialect of French one day. I speak French and I live in Cork and it turned out they were just from Blackpool (inner city Cork) and were speaking Cork-English.

Stop being so paranoid, you shouldn't be trying to listen in to other people's conversations in the first place. It's rude and a bit weird tbh.

Instead of perpetuating the foreigner/Irish divide, why don't you make an effort to get to know your colleagues. Perhaps you'll form some lifelong friendships, perhaps it might lead to love.

Or you can continue to sit there, looking across at them and feeling paranoid.

I have tried but they're so closed off and only seem to converse with their fellow countrymen. Well most of them. Some of them are sound and would chat to me and the other irish lads.

What's weird is the ethnic groups don't seem to like any of the other groups. Like, the indians will talk indian in front of the polish, they'll talk polish in front of the chinese and vice versa. They won't even look at each other or speak to one another and they've been working together for years. Maybe they're all racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I couldn't care less if they talk about me in their own language, there's enough Irish slang out there that you can use that they won't understand so we can both play that game!

However I would imagine if I was working in Spain and another Irish person joined the company I would speak to them in English because it's easier to do. I would imagine that's what a lot of non-Irish people do over here! Don't get tickets on yourself thinking that you are the hot topic of conversation all the time somebody speaks in their native tongue.

Paranoia is a terrible affliction!

Solair wrote: »
    Half the time you can't even understand someone from a different county or area of a county / city in Ireland or Britain when they're talking amongst themselves.

Ever try to understand a bunch of City Centre Dubs, Corkonians or Belfast folk in full flight gossiping? Even worse if you try Londoners, Liverpudlians, Mancunians. Then if you go for say Glaswegians, or Geordies you're basically into an entirely different dialect of English entirely.

I thought I was listening to some people speaking a strange dialect of French one day. I speak French and I live in Cork and it turned out they were just from Blackpool (inner city Cork) and were speaking Cork-English.

Stop being so paranoid, you shouldn't be trying to listen in to other people's conversations in the first place. It's rude and a bit weird tbh.

Hang on bitch, I never tried to listen to their conversation, they were talking, looked at me and started laughing. Dunno about you but when someone laughs at me, it becomes my b

Fago! wrote: »
    Hang on bitch, I never tried to listen to their conversation, they were talking, looked at me and started laughing. Dunno about you but when someone laughs at me, it becomes my b

Don't call me bitch on a forum!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

My ex-Girlfriend/current-Wife is a manager and she banned her Romanian staff from speaking in their own language especially in front of customers as it tends to make people paranoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Your point kinda took a u-turn there.

How come u-turn? I newer defended pricks who actuolly do that. I said that Irish people can be way too paranoid and come up with **** where they try to make same nationality people talk in English.

Trust me. That thing works bouth ways. I worked In places where Irish people were doing it to foreigners who don't understand a thing in English. Where they would make fun of them openly and all have a good lough while poor foreign fella just smiles and nods yes, yes, sorry, yes.

There will be pricks no matter where you o and what nationality they will be. Banning a language, just because you don't understand is really offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭BobMc

Had an incident at a dunnes stores checkout once, manager was not best pleased when we complained to her, she told us is was policy that english only at the tills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

HaHa i saw it happened. we were in college (I,T Tallaght) and a romanian student muttered the something in romanian about the Lecturer.

The Lecturer told him to leave inenglish and said "for those of you who don't speak romanian, *** just told me to go **** myself, I guess spending 18 months working for charities in romania did come in handy"

Yeah, it can backfire horribly.

I was working in a shop in my teens and a French couple started being total ignoramuses in French going on about how we were stupid and thick etc because we did not stock an adaptor that specifically took the rather bizarre French hermaphroditic plug. (2 pins stick out of the plug, one sticks out of the socket)

We did have the normal European one, but not the one with the earth prong sticking out of the socket. Their laptop plug actually fitted perfectly, and connected the earth, but they were having absolutely none of it. They wanted a French one, not a German one and apparently I was an idiot and blah blah.. They went on to insult my clothes and everything!

I just let them totally hang themselves, then responded in French. I've never seen anyone look so embarrassed.

I also know a guy who was speaking Irish to his mates and talking about people in the Basque Country. Turned out there were a few people in Bilbao who'd studied Irish... Didn't go down well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭human repellent

mackg wrote: »
    Yeah I get this from time to time. Best way to deal with it is start muttering to yourself then after a minute of that look at them and start laughing hysterically.

Haha, brilliant :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

policarp wrote: »
    Kneecap 'em. . .

Ní ceapaim!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I don't see how it bad manners as I'd only speak Swedish to my friends if there are no English speakers in the group. If there is, we always stick to English.
    And who said I was making fun of people??

Obviously my reply was tongue and cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

I am foreigner, its like we have nothing else to tal about, only **** about Irish in our own language....

Alot of people are way to paranoid about this.

I love when few managers or some other who thing they are better then you and tell you: you are not allowed to talk your own language, talk in English between yourselfs... I then start talking even more In my own language just to be a dick.

I have read this entire tread and all your contributions and I think you clearly have an attitude problem, if a manager requests you to converse in English then it are only manners to do it, whether you believe you are his equal or not are irrelevant he is the boss and put there for a reason.

I am a foreigner and I find it very very bad manners for other non-nationals to converse in my presence in their own language especially in shops, cafe etc. it is irrelevant to me whether they are talking about me or not but it shows a total lack of common manners to Irish people.
    It demonstrates a growing resentment imho towards Irish people and Ireland. Why this resentment is there I don’t know. You decided to life in Ireland, you decided to stay in Ireland. Ireland and its people have offered you a job, a place to live and free movement to come and go as you please, remember not all European countries provided you with legal access to their countries until May 2011. So out of manners and courtesy I think Irish people should be shown a degree of respect after all its their country if you don’t like been requested to converse in English by your manager then get another job – best of luck with that because 500k are out there looking.

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I don't see how it bad manners as I'd only speak Swedish to my friends if there are no English speakers in the group. If there is, we always stick to English.
    And who said I was making fun of people??

Obviously my reply was tongue and cheek.

Its very very bad manners and not very swedish:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,422 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Ever get the feeling that foreign people are making fun of you in their own language - right in front of you?

Right now I'm in work in the canteen. There's a group of eastern european coworkers at the next table and they'd talking in their own language for a bit, then they'd look over at me or one of the other lads and start laughing. Very unsettling.
    Sure cant we do the same as gaeilge!! haha And unlike French, spainish etc noone else in the world can speak Irish! We dont even have to have fluent/correct irish! Just string a few word togeather and the foreigners would have a clue ;):D;):p

BobMc wrote: »
    Had an incident at a dunnes stores checkout once, manager was not best pleased when we complained to her, she told us is was policy that english only at the tills

I have had this problem also, i didn't complain but told the guy serving me i was not impressed. too be honest it says more about them than you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

I was in Germany a while back with some of my friends and we were making fun of people in Irish

Turns out half of them were Irish and they understood every word we said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

It is rude, but it's only on the shopfloor they're not allowed do it though obviously some of them do. Where I used to work, it was very common on the floor, but where I work n ow, never on the floor. Look out for the word 'curva'- which seems to be pronounced curr-uh-vaw. It's the f word and it's surprising how often you hear it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Hayte

How do you even know they are talking about you? Ever thought they might be saying something positive or complimentary?

Getting worried about something you don't know is a bit like worrying what it would be like if your mother and father had never met. I wouldn't worry until one of them gets up and pokes a knife in your ribs until you get out your wallet. At that point its unequivocally clear what they are trying to communicate even if they are trying to rob you in Old English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭rob180

Oranage2 wrote: »
    为什么所有那些白色的人看起来是一样的吗?

Oups, wrong minority

Now whats with this Chinese text crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭maddragon

There is an old story about the early days of the Defence Forces deployment in Lebanon. An incident happened and the commanders started giving orders over the radio in Irish as they knew the Israelis were probably monitoring the net. After the whole plan was given out as Gaeilge, an Israeli came over the net and said "go raibh mile maith agat".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭biddyteabags

Why do Foreign people always get annoyed with us when we don't know what there saying? Eh hello your in our country and the majority of us speak English! Happened the other day to me and was fit to slap this woman feck off home if its too much hassle to learn English.