Best pint of Guinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

Lynch's pub, Clonbur, Co. Galway.

Barman is from the Phillipines but by god he has picked up the skills of pulling pints since he started. In that pub you'd better learn quick!

Also there is a pub not far from the Wicklow border in Wexford. Can't remember the name but it's absolutely tiny and the toilets are outside. But Fukc me do they have some good Guinness. Think there's a church down the road, can't remember the name of the pub or the village. For some reason I remember a tiny vodafone shop stuck to the pub too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Swampy

Dame Tavern. Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭nosietoes

I went to the Gravediggers today for the first time and am disgustingly disappointed with my pint. Too cold, too thin, and no wonderful complex coffee/cocoa kind of flavours.

Best pint in Ireland is still Guerin's Pub, Castleconnell - served three ways, cold, room temp or half and half. Don't know how they do it but it just tastes different.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

In Dublin:

The Oval, Middle Abbey Street.
    Seán O'Casey, I think Malborough Street.
    Nearys, Chatham Row.
    The Hill 16, Gardiner St. .

Proper mens pubs, none of your fashionable Mulligans nonsense ;) .

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Garavan's - Shop Street, Galway
    The Valley House - Achill Island, Co. Mayo
    Foxy John's - An Daingean, Co. Kerry

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

cornerhouse/maisie kellys in arklow is a pint of cream

more dublin:

halfway house, walkinstown
    pier house, howth
    harold house, harolds cross
    ramble inn, donnycarney
    bachelor inn, town

The Bachelor used to be great, until it was sold. They took out the ultra comfy horseshoe seats and replaced the aul lads behind the bar with youngfellas wearing dickie bows, the horror. They even made the jacks smell ok.

It was shocking I tell you, I drank there for years and they tore the soul out of the place.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

There are products sold in Pubs but not beer in the remotest meaning of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gunning's Rathconrath Co. Westmeath

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

LoanShark wrote: »
    irish-stew wrote: »

Nooooooo, best pint in Donegal Town is 'The Castle'.

We'll have to put it to the test....

Mccaffertys letterkenny much better! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Shoot the crows - Sligo
    Connolly's- Sligo
    The Blue Lagoon-Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doughef

Just a few that stand out in my head

both in Dublin

O'Connells -South Richmond St
    Grogans - South William St

Wexford
    O'Raffertys* Coolgreany

Carlow
    Irishmans

Clare
    O'Loughlins * Milltown Malbay

Sligo
    Shoot the Crows
    Mcgarrigles
    Strand bar (strandhill)

Donegal
    Brennans (Bundoran)

Leitrim
    Cryans (Carrick on Shannon)
    The Village inn (Kinlough)

Laois
    Dunnes -Stradbally

Mayo
    Blousers -Westport

Meath
    O'Connells -Skyrne

Belfast
    Crown

and all the other fab ones all over that I cant remember the names of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

1. Beaufort Bar Killarney. Unbelievable Pint pure cream!! what a setting too.
    2. Matt Molloy's Westport (need i say more)
    3. Kehoe's South Anne St.
    4. Halfway house Crumlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

If it's heaven you seek - go to Mooney's pub, an Rinn... the Gaeltacht in Deise land - Double Cream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

O'Donoghue's Baggot street is the best ive had.

In Galway, i'd have to say the Crane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the cornerhouse/dirty dog in arklow is fantastic and i had a pint in a pub near wexford train station a while ago that was mothers milk but i cant think of the name of the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

Reilly's, Main St., Ardmore, Co. Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Guinness is over priced. IMO.

Beamish more consistant and 50 cents cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Mikel91

Not from there but the best Pint of Guinness I've had was in Longford in some pub called the Valentine I think.

The worst was at an Irish Fair we came across while in Munich...There were 6 Irish people,Four of us,The guy at the set up bar stall and the dude on stage...We watched as the Germans clapped in sync to the Irish dancing...It was both magnificent and eery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Mikel91 wrote: »
    Not from there but the best Pint of Guinness I've had was in Longford in some pub called the Valentine I think.

You must have had more than one.
    Maybe on the 14th of Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

The Castle Inn or the Sextant in Cork usually do a good pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GY A1

woodside monivea galway :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

O'Connell's in Brideswell Co. Roscommon.

The Guinness there is the best I've ever had.

That said, Guinness is a fairly average beer.

Give me a pint of O'Hara's any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The shítter/older/dirtier the pub, the better the guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

In Dublin ,The Red Windmill and Doyle s both in Phibsborough .Where i am now in Chiang Mai ,the Red Lion near the night market .

PS,I like the Porter house stouts also .They have a bar in Phibsborough by cross guns bridge .

+ Mulligans in Poolbeg street have always been famous for their Guinness and it is better there than average .Also its nice to have a pint at the Guinness brewery in the glass bar up on the roof .Great views on a good day all over the City and to the Dublin mountains .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

I'll have to give a +1 to Grogans

The pint is best when served with one of their toasties. Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭sham69

anto2 wrote: »
    In Dublin ,The Red Windmill and Doyle s both in Phibsborough .Where i am now in Chiang Mai ,the Red Lion near the night market .

PS,I like the Porter house stouts also .They have a bar in Phibsborough by cross guns bridge .

+ Mulligans in Poolbeg street have always been famous for their Guinness and it is better there than average .Also its nice to have a pint at the Guinness brewery in the glass bar up on the roof .Great views on a good day all over the City and to the Dublin mountains .

Living in phibsboro all my life and you have picked the 2 worst pubs for beer full stop never mind guinness..
    The red windmill is now closed down and Doyles should be.
    Have had really bad pints in both years ago and never went back, both have really bad reputation for their beer.

In Phibsboro you have around 3 or 4 choices.

The hut- Great little pub, great pint of guinness, yummy toasted sandwiches and bowls of stew.

The bohemian- absolute kip, patrons are mad but the guinness is delish and one of the cheapest around, grand place if you mind your own business.

The Phibsboro House- Bit of a clicky pub, if they don't know you they will give you the look, guinness is great though.

The best pint of guinness I have had in Dublin was in the Strawberry Hall out by the strawberry beds, absolutely amazing guinness and very consistent from first pint to last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Mooneys in Monasterevin, Co. Kildare. Great pint in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Belgard Inn in Tallaght does a (very) surprisingly good Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

The Holy Trifecta.

Mulligans,
    Grogans (with Ham & Cheese with Mustard Sandwich),
    Brogans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

At home

Clems-Navan

On tour

Foxes Porterhouse-Galway