Man told he can stay in ghost estate home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

I never said it was fair. I'm one of those homeowners. Road unfinished and now the street lights are off. But all houses are occupied bar one. Council only take interest in taking over public areas when there is an election looming. There are homeowners who are a lot worse off than me.

The estate that the man lives in. Are there any homeowners in it? If not, why should it affect other estates? Surely a finished estate in the neighbourhood helps the value of your own home? Whether it's a council estate or not.
    They will more than likely end up being council estates in the long run now anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

krudler wrote: »
    Why can't I have a free house?

oh thats right, I work, pay tax and live within my means, silly me thats the wrong way to get ahead in this country.

Well seems like you can,off you go.If your struggling just replicate what he has done.Moaning wont yield any result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

I never said it was fair. I'm one of those homeowners. Road unfinished and now the street lights are off. But all houses are occupied bar one. Council only take interest in taking over public areas when there is an election looming. There are homeowners who are a lot worse off than me.

The estate that the man lives in. Are there any homeowners in it? If not, why should it affect other estates? Surely a finished estate in the neighbourhood helps the value of your own home? Whether it's a council estate or not.

I'm sure the home owners are only too delighted to have a squatter with his brood of kids setting up camp down the road from them

Sooopie wrote: »
    I'm sure the home owners are only too delighted to have a squatter with his brood of kids setting up camp down the road from them
    Not really setting up camp now is it, its a fine three bed that he has put work into, i'd rather see that than the place go to ****e. Don't be so bitter becuase you's bought into something that went tits up.

I didn't mate :)

Was it his 3 bed? Nope. What has he contributed to society? Nothing.

He's yet another scrounger that you & me are paying for, and I'm kinda sick of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I know westendgirlie you didn't say it was fair,But there is nothing fair about this,On one hand we have thousands of people on housing lists waiting to be housed and also an ever increasing homeless problem and on the other hand we have a thousands of people who worked there butt of to get mortgages and buy houses yet someone a few doors down can maybe walk into a house like theres for nothing. If everybody did what this man has done i can see big problems happening down the road.:)

I didn't mate :)

Was it his 3 bed? Nope. What has he contributed to society? Nothing.

He's yet another scrounger that you & me are paying for, and I'm kinda sick of it.
    He is a scrounger, but at the end of the day, its his, and our right to a home, in may ways its not his fault its the system that lets people get away with going on the sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Just read further along this thread and the house he has is in an occupied estate. Is that correct?

I really don't know what the solution to this is. If I was living in an estate of 50 houses and only 10 were occupied, I would love if they flattened the other houses. Would bring the value of the other houses (at some future date) up.

realies wrote: »
    on the other hand we have a thousands of people who worked there butt of to get mortgages and buy houses yet someone a few doors down can maybe walk into a house like theres for nothing
    Its happening anyway, and has been going on for years even during the boom, social housing has always been there. A mate of mine bought a new house and three months later someone got the same place as his next door for nothing, what could he do??.

He is a scrounger, but at the end of the day, its his, and our right to a home, in may ways its not his fault its the system that lets people get away with going on the sick.

If everyone did what he did, as its their "right" to have a home - tell me, where would our society end up?

The system doesnt come into it.The system is dysfunctional and has been for a long time.He has made an effort unlike so many single mothers too ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I declare the stampede for free empty gaffs open!

Seriously, though, this is the new paradigm - now we know what houses in Ireland are worth - pretty much fuck all.

What does this mean for those who bought and are up to their oxters in neg equity? It means you've been financially raped. Take that up with the banks (who you bailed out, but who won't be bailing you out.)

We have a problem of homelessness and we have thousands of empty gaffs. It shouldn't be rocket science to put the two together, but it must be done in some sort of ordered fashion, not with oul junkies jumping to the front of the queue so their 29 year olds have a garden to play in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Bloody scrounger.

OT (slightly diff scenario). Say I have a house bought and paid for and I decide to take off somewhere for a year and leave the place unoccupied. Does that give the right for some chancer to move in and live there? :confused:

If everyone did what he did, as its their "right" to have a home - tell me, where would our society end up?

Every body would have a place to call home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

LOL. You couldnt have made up a better story to troll Boards.ie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nicowa

They will more than likely end up being council estates in the long run now anyway..

The council - and HSE - don't seem to be taking on new houses. Himself owns a property that he bought off a cousin to save him from bankruptcy (small developer doesn't get the big hand-outs). While the house had been rented it's empty at the moment. He offered it to the HSE just to have something coming in and someone living there but they turned him down. So I don't see that the councils or the HSE (who deal with the social housing as well) are doing anything about those on the lists.

drdeadlift wrote: »
    The system doesnt come into it.The system is dysfunctional and has been for a long time.He has made an effort unlike so many single mothers too ......[/QUOTE]

with his 7 kids I'm willing to guess he's contributed to the single mother epidemic too!

In even bigger ****, but if he's out on the sick and can't work, what can he do?.. unfortunately no matter what happens some people are not going to be happy.

he should have had a rake load of kids... oh wait,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

And what about the people in simlar houses down the road who are up to there necks in mortgages, Is it fair on them ?

What's an election got to do with the council taking over an estate? The council isn't running in the election? And why would they take over a half finished estate so they can pay millions in finishing and maintenance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Well we wouldn't have the current situation where people paid unsustainably large amounts for property in the a*se-end of nowhere & now are up a certain creek. We'd probably be a lot better off if housing was viewed as a social necessity rather than a store of guaranteed profit as many people once thought.

It's ridiculous to see all the people moaning about how his neighbours paid x amount for their houses so he should have to too. Sorry guys, your house in a ghost estate is worth feck all now, so your choice is between having this guy (who may have made mistakes in his past but seems to be trying to get back on track) for a neighbour or rats, pigeons & insects, which will no doubt be the only inhabitants of many of these houses going forward.

Complaining about the low amount this guy is contributing for his abode is like complaining about someone who buys bank shares for 90c, when poor you forked out €20 for them a few years ago. You made a bad investment, tough, it doesn't mean you're entitled to b1tch about other people's decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

Disability benefit is great. No need to turn up to sign on and pretend to be seeking work. No one forcing you to go on any training courses of any description that you have no interest in becuase you are a shiftless waster.
    Entitles you to other social welfare benefits; Would you like a Medical Card? Why thank you.

People will game the property market trapped in amber NAMA system like they game the social welfare system.

These houses should have been sold years ago at market clearing rate and a proportion of them would have found their way in to the hands of honest hard working young families looking to get a start in life.
    As long as squatters occupy this house then it can't be sold on and money repaid to NAMA which is the public of Ireland.

Dotrel wrote: »
    Bloody scrounger.

OT (slightly diff scenario). Say I have a house bought and paid for and I decide to take off somewhere for a year and leave the place unoccupied. Does that give the right for some chancer to move in and live there? :confused:

Squatters rights don't take effect for at least 8 yrs, I think.

That doesn't stop the squatter from entering an unoccupied house at any time and the owner has to go through the legal process to get them out. The damage these squatters do to a house in the meantime is horrifying.

I remember being at a party a long long time ago. It was beside the art college in Camberwell, London. Loads of students squatted. Anyway, this amazing 3 storey Georgian House was totally destroyed inside. They had even knocked an entrance into the house next door which was also a squat. No respect for the property at all. I came down from my drug induced high pretty quickly that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Just read further along this thread and the house he has is in an occupied estate. Is that correct?

I really don't know what the solution to this is. If I was living in an estate of 50 houses and only 10 were occupied, I would love if they flattened the other houses. Would bring the value of the other houses (at some future date) up.
    Why are expensive houses a good thing? :confused:

It makes everything more expensive. In an ideal world, homes would be free. I'd consider taking a house in a ghost estate in a nice rural area for a few grand to use as a holiday home. It would cost about 20k to level a house, with no utility to anyone. Give it to me for 5k and I'll maintain it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Eleganza wrote: »
    Disability benefit is great. No need to turn up to sign on and pretend to be seeking work. No one forcing you to go on any training courses of any description that you have no interest in because you are a shiftless waster.
    Entitles you to other social welfare benefits; Would you like a Medical Card? Why thank you.

:eek::eek: Bit harsh there generalising on all people claiming Disability benefits .

donalg1 wrote: »
    What's an election got to do with the council taking over an estate? The council isn't running in the election? And why would they take over a half finished estate so they can pay millions in finishing and maintenance?

Because the council is made up of councillors and I think I am correct in saying that roads, lighting, etc are taken over by the local authority after X amount of years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

What does this mean for those who bought and are up to their oxters in neg equity? It means you've been financially raped. Take that up with the banks (who you bailed out, but who won't be bailing you out.)

The banks that you did business with in the bubble are effectively gone. There's new management and new owners (us). And I don't have a clue why they are accountable for people coming to them and jumping through hoops to borrow hundreds of grand from them? Nobody put a gun to anyone's head and marched them into a bank.

People are always demanding accountability from our politicians. How about some accountability from the man on the street too?

Custardpi wrote: »
    Well we wouldn't have the current situation where people paid unsustainably large amounts for property in the a*se-end of nowhere & now are up a certain creek. We'd probably be a lot better off if housing was viewed as a social necessity rather than a store of guaranteed profit as many people once thought.

It's ridiculous to see all the people moaning about how his neighbours paid x amount for their houses so he should have to too. Sorry guys, your house in a ghost estate is worth feck all now, so your choice is between having this guy (who may have made mistakes in his past but seems to be trying to get back on track) for a neighbour or rats, pigeons & insects, which will no doubt be the only inhabitants of many of these houses going forward.

Complaining about the low amount this guy is contributing for his abode is like complaining about someone who buys bank shares for 90c, when poor you forked out €20 for them a few years ago. You made a bad investment, tough, it doesn't mean you're entitled to b1tch about other people's decisions.

You buy something, you own it

This lad didn't buy that house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

:eek::eek: Bit harsh there generalising on all people claiming Disability benefits .
    you're the one drawing the inference that my statement applies to all recipients of disability benefit.
    I have a close family member with intellectual difficulties who is in receipt of it for genuine reasons.

Why are expensive houses a good thing? :confused:

It makes everything more expensive. In an ideal world, homes would be free. I'd consider taking a house in a ghost estate in a nice rural area for a few grand to use as a holiday home. It would cost about 20k to level a house, with no utility to anyone. Give it to me for 5k and I'll maintain it.

What I mean is that hopefully some day there will be a property market again. And if someone wanted to sell their house the asthetics (sp) of the area would be a better selling point. Am I making sense?