Sales Assistants approaching customers in shops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I wonder how long before someone comes up with an online version of the system...amazon are already recomending you stuff based on purchase history...how long before there's a virtual sales clerk smiling and asking if you need any help today...

DSG store group for me... it's like a competetion between the floor staff as to who can ambush me first with that dreaded question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Ridley

I find "I'm grand, if I need anything I'll ask you though" generally works quite well.

As does curling your fingers and hissing at the person. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Shops with sales assistants who approach me without my asking them for assistance don't get my custom. If more people voted with their wallet, the practice would end soon enough. Customers don't like it and neither do the sales assistants by the sounds of things. So don't put up with it.
    In fact, in future I might also tell the assistant WHY I'm leaving the shop, making clear to them that it's not their fault but the fault of the story policy, since I had not sought to be interrupted while shopping.
    So you must be an agraphobe huh?

Walmart - can't shop there. They say hello to me.

McDonalds - Damn. Same ****ing thing. How dare they ask me what I am hungry for when I approach the counter to read the menu

Fancy Restaurants - Wow, you're really ****ed here. Same thing with a barber shop.

You can hardly go anywhere without someone who is running a shop having the audacity to wish to assist you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Overheal wrote: »
    So you must be an agraphobe huh?

Walmart - can't shop there. They say hello to me.

McDonalds - Damn. Same ****ing thing. How dare they ask me what I am hungry for when I approach the counter to read the menu

Fancy Restaurants - Wow, you're really ****ed here. Same thing with a barber shop.

You can hardly go anywhere without someone who is running a shop having the audacity to wish to assist you.

They don't 'wish to assist me'. They approach me because their manager told them to do so, because head office told him to tell them to do so, because their head of marketing was told during his MBA that pressuring customers produces more sales.

And there are plenty of places which don't do this and they get my custom. Walmart is not in Ireland to my knowledge, and since I eat food, I don't frequent McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The worst place is Claire's Accessories. The few times I've gone in there you're barely in the door when they have a basket in your hand and are telling you all the special offers. When you finally go to pay for your items, you are again greeted with all the special offers and shown everything at the counter. They're really pushy too.

Eh heh, I spoke of my experience on the other side of that as a sales assistant earlier but I thought we couldn't name the shop - just so you know, sales assistants in claires get no commission whatsoever but a world of pain if we don't sell those stupid add ons and hand out the baskets!

We are constantly being monitored and watched and the mystery shopper is a once a month thing (but we never know when in the month). It's horrible working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭eiresandra

I don't object to a friendly "hi" by a sales member when I walk into a store. Or even a "if you need any help, let me know". I do strongly object to somebody shadowing me and giving me a "Can I help you with anything?" or any kind of sales pitch.

I don't blame the individual - I understand it's policy, but I do generally leave the store pretty much immediately. If I don't feel comfortable having a look around, I am not gonna be comfortable getting to the 'trying on' stage or lifting an item of clothing to look more closely at. This policy probably works better in the US where they have a different attitude and experience of customer service. It's doomed in Ireland. People don't like that level of focus and interruption on what should be a relaxing experience.

Central Dublin is the worst, particularly the sports stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

we have it easy compared to shops in america. They hire people especially just to greet you in some, more like airhostesses than anything!

I like being left alone personally, sometimes i dont know what i want/am looking for, ask me and i feel pressured......out the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Eh heh, I spoke of my experience on the other side of that as a sales assistant earlier but I thought we couldn't name the shop - just so you know, sales assistants in claires get no commission whatsoever but a world of pain if we don't sell those stupid add ons and hand out the baskets!

We are constantly being monitored and watched and the mystery shopper is a once a month thing (but we never know when in the month). It's horrible working there.
    It's horrible shopping there :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I appreciate a "Hi, if you need anything just let me know." followed by the sales assistant walking away.

I absolutely despise "Hi, what are you looking for today?"

or "Hi, can I help you?" etc.

Don't question me.

And I HATE when they hang around in my general personal space, or when I can feel them looking over in my general direction.

I have literally decided to permanently avoid certain shops because of this wanker-ish carry-on.

They're their own worst enemies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The worst place is Claire's Accessories. The few times I've gone in there you're barely in the door when they have a basket in your hand and are telling you all the special offers. When you finally go to pay for your items, you are again greeted with all the special offers and shown everything at the counter. They're really pushy too.

I used to work there and if we weren't seen to be approaching EVERY customer in the shop we would be sacked. It's borderline harassment, customers just want to be left to it and we had to be up their face the second they walked into the shop. Horrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I work in retail. I never bother a customer for the first few minutes after they enter the store. I myself like to browse when out shopping so i let them do likewise. If after five minutes they have that puzzled look on their face, i will approach them and ask if they need help. More often than not they do and i am happy to oblige. I'm not on commission so i will generally recommend a product that i like myself or one that has been recommended by critics. If a customer doesn't require help, all they need tell me is that they are ok, and i will not bother them a second time.

It is merely professional and courteous to acknowledge a customer. The OP would do well to recognise this. You'd be amazed at the amount of people who are afraid to ask a questions lest it be thought of as a stupid one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I find it especially bad in America.

I was in the states a few years ago and I can still remember every member of staff and in every shop. If people think Ireland is bad for pushy sales assistants, America is a million times worse. To the point where you want to knock the lot of them out. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Oh yes, that shirt, that pair of jeans? I own that myself, great taste there mikemac

Funny how the shop assistant always owns the clothes that I am considering

Yeah, sure you do ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

I hate this. I've worked in a shop in Dublin where everyone had sales targets and get told every hour how much money they'd brought in. And you had to approach every customer, plus there was always a manager around so they'd know if you weren't approaching every customer. God it was awful. Don't blame the workers, they hate having to bother you while you're having a browse- blame Head Office for inflicting these awful store policies on workers and customers alike! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Isard

grenache wrote: »
    If a customer doesn't require help, all they need tell me is that they are ok, and i will not bother them a second time.
    Good for you:) Unfortunately not everyone is like that. Some will bother us a tenth time and it's not the limit:D Maybe someone gives up and buys something eventually but I get very irritated:mad: If you push me I will resist, that's typical I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I don't like this either but staff are holding on to their jobs by the skin of their teeth these days. Often they are only trying to look busy in front of the boss. Often I tell them I'm just filling time while waiting for herself. They can then feel free to chat or ignore me as they feel fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

bnt wrote: »
    If you're a sales assistant, don't you learn anything about body language? Surely you can tell if a customer needs assistance or not? If I'm focused on the product, thinking, then leave me alone. If I'm looking around for assistance, that's your cue to come forward. It's that simple.

It's not optional. From the moment you walk into the shop, we have one hundred and eighty seconds to approach you. Managers will watch for it, and each branch is tested regularly by an anonymous mystery shopper to make sure.

I don't like doing it, people don't like it being done to them, but it is not optional. I am not on a commission, and it is not a store manager level decision - it is international best practice implemented by chains, and that will not change. We will approach you, you tell us you're grand, and we'll all move on with our lives.

That said, the thing is, it does work. Not so much in terms of pushing people into a sale, but engaging them in their enquiry. About 65% of people I approach will say "Yeah, I'm grand." - pause - "Actually, have you got...?"

That does make them a little more likely to buy, sure, but it's mainly so that they won't have to queue up to a till just to ask a question and won't wander out of the store without bothering to ask it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Doesn't bother me that much. I usually just say "I'm ok thanks, I'm just looking at things for the minute", I sometimes feel a bit guilty that I'm not buying anything that day, or that I don't have anything to ask them just to give them something to answer or do, because sometimes they look very bored, especially if the store is near empty.

It can be very annoying though if the person is very pushy and waaaaaaaaay too obvious in trying to get you the buy something. I found Claire's accessories in Galway particularly bad for this. The shop assistants would actually come up pushing a basket into your hands. "Basket??" with a big beam on their faces, em "no thanks", then they would hover about me in the store, asking helpful questions about what I was looking for, or letting me know what was very popular at the minute, Then if I was buying something, they always had other things they suggested you buy also at the till.
    It was annoying because sometimes you just want to browse and don't really have anything in particular in mind that you want to buy today, but might come back another day if you see something you like.

They were probably nice girls who were just told to that though, and in fairness they were very helpful if I did ask them for advice or suggestions on what things might suit a certain outfit.
    It did make me stop going to that shop just to browse though, as I felt too uncomfortable in there if I wasn't buying something that very day.

Edit: Sorry, just noticed that Claires has already been mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

they are litterally the worst type of human being. they should be tied down and repeatedly run over by a car while their family are forced to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Jesus! People are never happy.

You would get a thread if someone went into a shop and nobody spoke to them!

No you wouldnt. Find me one please - its a big internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I hate it. I hated having to do it too because 90% of people are visibly annoyed by it.

What's really annoying is if you're listening to music while looking,and they ask you,i have to answer so i'm like YES I'M FINE THANK YOU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

When I worked in a large clothes store in the city centre (aimed at 18-30 year olds) we were told during our training that if we see anyone who looks shady, go up and talk to them and ask would they like help with anything. Now whenever I'm in a store and someone comes over and asks me if I need help, I get paranoid that I look like a theif.

What annoys me more is the people on the till. *picks up your item* "oh wow this is gorgeous!" and then after you're done they say the exact same thing to the next person. Idgaf what your opinion is, I'm buying it so obviously I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I dont mind when they leave you a while and then come over and ask if they can help but when they pounce on you as soon as you walk in then its sooooooo annoying!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I don't mind it at all because I have to do the same in my job, but there are 2 groups of people that just p!ss me right off with how overboard they go.

In the Jervis, upstairs there is a stall selling hair things (straighteners, curlers,etc) and another selling hand scrubs and stuff like that. These people NEVER take no for an answer. Now I'm always really polite in saying no, I generally smile and say 'No, thank you,' and leave it at that, but these people never take that as an answer, they actually follow you a little bit, calling after you several times, making a holy show of you basically. I've never sworn at a shop assistant before, but I have made an exception for these people. They remind me of the really pushy door-to-door sales reps, only worse. Cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

FruitLover wrote: »
    Deal with it yourself. We are the customers, you are the lowly assistant. We are the ones that are important to the business. If you don't like that dynamic, get a better job.

Really interesting that there is this percieved attitude that working in retail is lowly... Why is that? All businesses are trying to sell something/offer services for a price, the majority of people in business are sales people in some form or other, even if you don't deal with the customers directly your professionalism and your ability to do your job well, is selling your company to the customer. However it's only retail that gets tarred with this "only a shop assistant" tag, its a job, with good prospects of advancements if your good at it, the hours suck sometimes, but I suppose the main problem with retail is having to deal with all the retarded, ignorant, and rude customers on a daily basis.

No other job I have worked in have I ever been abused more than when I work in retail, it's like you have this sign over your head that says " Here I am, I'm here to take all you shít today"... Well I'm not, so F*ck Off!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Who trains the fukwits who ask "Are y'all right?"

These people need to be taken aside and told to ask the shopper
    "How may I help you?"
    or
    "Do you need any help?"

Or some question related to the shopper's needs

anything but "Are y'all right?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I don't mind it if it's in a phone shop or something like that where I generally don't have a clue and will need some advice. I hate it in book or record shops where I do know what I want even if it is just to look at album covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

If I'm looking at t shirts and jeans, I don't like it. On the other hand if I'm shopping for a suit I'll want to talk to a lad that knows what he's on about and give me some good advice.

The GF loves yapping to sales assistants and doesn't feel under compulsion to buy just because the sales assistant got her some clothes to try on.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Are companies really that stupid that they think people in to browse the store want to be bothered?

Nothing gets me out of a store im iffy about quicker than a "Hello my friend" from a gimp in a shirt. Even the chick in the short skirt in <insert high end clothes shop name here> doesnt fool me with her "Is there anything i can do for you" remark.

I know theyre on commission/made to do it by the company so fair enough. My question is...Do any of you actually part with more of your cash because of the "rapport" you got from the stranger with the plastic smile?

If i need to ask something, i can do it myself. I think most people are the same.

They ask, you decline, what's your feckin problem with it?

They aren't just there to try and sell you things, they are there to help people who would like to know more about some of the products. I used to work retail in a computer store and you know how many of my customers were tech savvy? Feckall, and they appreciated having someone there to explain things properly.

As for companies being stupid; they wouldn't employ assistants if it didn't increase their profits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

It doesn't bother me, they're just doing their job.

If anything makes me hate shopping for clothes more it's having to tolerate the awful music for the duration that I'm in there.