Best way to Improve RTE and get Value from the licence fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

Yeah, the wage bill is a massive waste of cash.

but what about the rights battle between RTE and TG4 for the rights to things like the Pro12. This is a bidding war between to state funded channels. Its taxpayer v taxpayer. That sort of thing makes no sense at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A public stoning involving Joe Duffy, Ryan Tubridy and Marian at least once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

orourkeda wrote: »
    A public stoning involving Joe Duffy, Ryan Tubridy and Marian at least once a week.

When Gerry Ryan was with us, he was always getting stoned :pac:

Lumbo wrote: »
    When Gerry Ryan was with us, he was always getting stoned :pac:

Nobody bounced rocks off his face though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

orourkeda wrote: »
    Nobody bounced rocks off his face though

No but they did go up his nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

David Coleman is decent.
    Mike Murphy can **** off though. Typical of RTE, he left RTE to become a 'property developer' as per wiki, that goes tits up and of course there is a nice job for him at age 69 when he decides he needs a bit of money.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    David Coleman is decent.
    Mike Murphy can **** off though. Typical of RTE, he left RTE to become a 'property developer' as per wiki, that goes tits up and of course there is a nice job for him at age 69 when he decides he needs a bit of money.

It would be way better if he bashed a few squealing little johnnies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

If they are going to have a license fee, then it should be like the BBC and have NO ADS. It really pisses me off that they get away with that :mad:

Also, those ads "we visit 18,000 homes per month and if you don't have a tv license, you can face a fine or time in jail". FFS wouldn't they be better off visiting the homes of 18,000 criminals per month? Although the criminals probably had a bad childhood and would get off with a hug and some valium :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Why dont we all, in the country just not pay the licence for one year, then there would be no money to pay these presenters and RTE would get it that they need to shake things up. What are they going to do, put 200,000 people into jail? LOL i think not! Who can afford to pay €160 on top of €480 to €600 to UPC/Sky pa?

Sure the odd person will pay it, but if only a few pay it, how will RTE afford to pay the Wage of €400,000pa or more to tubs etc. It would have to be paid out of RTE's pocket re ad's. Simple.

Just an idea folks. I never pay the licence, dont see why I shoud, I dont have UPC/Sky, but have a tv in the apt for games/movies, if I did have that then the licence should be in that payment, extra €1/2 or something each month. Not €5 extra a month or lump sum of €160.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

1. Abolish licence fee
    2. Burn rte to the ground
    3. ?????
    4. Profit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

If they could come up with even one show that had some kind of universal appeal and decent production values and ended up being syndicated then they would at least be generating decent revenue from it.

Off the top of my head i can't think of a single RTE production that is shown anywhere other than on RTE channels.

The Lyrics Board was actually fairly successful, there were/are a bunch of international versions made. Not much else apart from that, I can't think of anything else anyway.

Back on topic of how to improve RTE, serious pay cuts would be a good start. As was mentioned earlier on here, pay should have a limit of 100k or so. If the current high-earners are unwilling to accept that, RTE should be willing to let them go. There would be loads of people willing to do the same work for a fraction of what they are being payed.

If RTE want to make quality TV, they should make a smaller amount of Irish-produced shows. Focus on quality rather than quantity. Make less Irish versions of international shows, and put some more money into making some shows with good production values.

It also astounds me that this country is incapable of producing good comedy for TV. Despite the fabled 'Irish sense of humour', and that the fact that we have funny comedians, RTE somehow fail miserably at this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Comedy?

We have C U Burn, it's hilarious :D
    And Aifric is sort of comedy/drama
    As for the antics of Ros na Run :pac: Not a comedy there is always mischief going on

Oh wait, that's a channel with young creative people and no bogged down with decades of nepotism and untalented people with the right connections

The talent is in Ireland for sure
    Maybe RTÉ not giving them a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

There are Engineers in RTE that have been there for years, are on very large salaries, lack modern tecnical skills despite expensive on-going training, and are basically untouchable due to union membership.

The whole ethos of the place needs to change and the redundancy axe needs to swing with furious anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Like the BBC it should be shut down or privatised, can't understand why any state would want to be in the entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Look, to Facebook with ye who attack Tubby, letz seez how many of yiz can get together & camp outside RTE Donnybrook, threatening a nationwide boycott of the TV license to get a major revision of how that place is run. I can tell ye now that yiz will get feck all support. Tubs is grrrreat.

Please, please, please, let this reverse psychology thing work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I think they do some things very well, even better then the BEEB.

RTE sport is top class, with their panels coverage and they even throw in a little comedy.

The 6 1 news and primetime is excellent.

But their Dramas and documentaries can be good but to sparse.

The truth is even with the licence fee and advertsement revenue they haven't enough money, quality TV is very expensive.

4leto wrote: »
    I think they do some things very well, even better then the BEEB.

RTE sport is top class, with their panels coverage and they even throw in a little comedy.

The 6 1 news and primetime is excellent.

But their Dramas and documentaries can be good but to sparse.

The truth is even with the licence fee and advertsement revenue they haven't enough money, quality TV is very expensive.

Maybe if they seriously looked at the salaries they pay they might start having enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

Loads of people are making the points about jobs for the boys, union protected jobs, endless cash being wasted on crap etc...

But can anyone think of a single state agency that is NOT like this?

RTE is not the only organisation that could do with privatising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What about 'Reeling In The Years'?

Nearly worth paying the TV License fee for that alone. :)

(And before somebody says it, I know all they are doing is editing their own archives together from a particular year and adding soundtracks from same year - it's still a fantastic production!)

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Maybe if they seriously looked at the salaries they pay they might start having enough though.

It still wouldn't be enough, besides that is the market they are in, if you pull in the ratings, that is your worth.

Like imagine what the 6 1 news costs an everyday show with all the skilled technicians and reportage around the country then the weather as well. You could imagine that it would be labour intensive say at least a 100 people involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

It still wouldn't be enough, besides that is the market they are in, if you pull in the ratings, that is your worth.

Like imagine what the 6 1 news costs an everyday show with all the skilled technicians and reportage around the country then the weather as well. You could imagine that it would be labour intensive say at least a 100 people involved.

Around the country? If it didn't happen in south Dublin it doesn't get on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

squod wrote: »
    Around the country? If it didn't happen in south Dublin it doesn't get on the news.

Tell that to the nation who sat with bated breath wondering who would win the ploughing championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭brimal

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    What about 'Reeling In The Years'?

Nearly worth paying the TV License fee for that alone. :)

(And before somebody says it, I know all they are doing is editing their own archives together from a particular year and adding soundtracks from same year - it's still a fantastic production!)

Have to agree with this. It's a great show (and probably costs them fúck all to make!)

I will say this, do they really need 3 TV stations there is only 4 million of us.

The BEEB only has 4 and they cater for 60 million.

I think TG4 is a serious waste of Turbity tax.

brimal wrote: »
    Have to agree with this. It's a great show (and probably costs them fúck all to make!)

+1, super show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I will say this, do they really need 3 TV stations there is only 4 million of us.

The BEEB only has 4 and they cater for 60 million.

I think TG4 is a serious waste of Turbity tax.
    Dunno about that, i don't speak irish but really enjoy tg4...great documentaries

I never gave it a chance, but I didn't know that they had docos I will check that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I have a month off after next week. When is this great Donnybrook TV license protest? I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Must make a "noel kellys clients are ****e" placard for that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Chuck's swinging sword plan.

Slim it down.

2 TV stations. RTE(1) (RED button for sports) and TG4
    2 Radio Stations. RTE Radio (1) RTE Irish speaking.

Sell the rest and make what's left operate without advertising like the BBC.

Nobody who gets paid from the public purse should be on a wage more that say 5x the Average industrial wage.

Do away with public responsibility for any pension in the PS/CS.

Pay the last 30% of PS/CS wages in the form of a retractable bonus which would be retracted in the event of economic downturns, poor performance and bad attendance rates.