Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

redzerdrog wrote: »
    wtf is the golden foot award?

It's like a "services to football" award, the winner must be over 29 and still active.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,253 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Chich will be with the Mexico squad for their match against Brazil. That's Thursday morning our time! He won't be back for the Liverpool game I guess.

Lucas will probably be missing for Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

mars bar wrote: »
    Chich will be with the Mexico squad for their match against Brazil. That's Thursday morning our time! He won't be back for the Liverpool game I guess.

Lucas will probably be missing for Liverpool.

Liverpool missing Lucas would be a far greater loss than us missing Chico. I'll quite happily take that trade off.

Though I bet Lucas will play anyway and very well.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

SlickRic wrote: »
    she emigrated :(

Didn't know that! You holding out ok?! And now Dub's left you too. Do you think maybe it's... ah never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

PHB wrote: »
    The reduced allocation is alledgely for standing, which is bull**** as all away fans stand. The crux of the issue is United is probably the only team that will ensure a sell out, so they want to reduce our away allocation in order to increase the amount of tickets they can sell to their own fans, probably allocating them as premium seats and making a bigger profit. It's the premiership, it's all about money. Personally, I think United should retaliate in kind, but that's just me.

Any extra tickets will be sold at normal price there are no premuim price plastic seats, so liverpool would make the same money whatever fans are sitting in them, and who ever said about people rocking alan smiths ambulance is off there nut, that was proven to be bull****.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Some clubs probably do, but unless you know of a database that records the scumbag ratio per club you are pulling theories from the sky ;).

As for fearing for your life at Anfield,there wouldn't be a problem unless you were walking around with colours on. Common sense really.

I have often seen fellas with utd tops on walking outside anfield on their own, as long as they stay out of the pubs and the narrow side streets they would be grand, this whole trouble ****e is overhyped, the only trouble i have ever got in was down at chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

niallo27 wrote: »
    I have often seen fellas with utd tops on walking outside anfield on their own, as long as they stay out of the pubs and the narrow side streets they would be grand, this whole trouble ****e is overhyped, the only trouble i have ever got in was down at chelsea.

you don't walk the streets around Chelsea in colours, had a near miss a few years back

I had no colours on, I never wear any, I was in the pub with liverpool fans and a load of Chelsea fans were waiting for us outside, got a few thumps. Lost 2 nil same day. Good buzz though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

niallo27 wrote: »

Why did you forget your vaseline? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Chico off to Madrid 30 million think its sun running with it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭Corvo

Jesus, does that paper ever give in? Hope Fergie signs him up to another contract and let that be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Jesus, does that paper ever give in? Hope Fergie signs him up to another contract and let that be that.

Is it wrong for me to wish this would happen, especially if Real Madrid were to offer a midfielder as part exchange? I know this is the Sun and a fantasy world but cannot help but ponder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Trilla wrote: »
    Is it wrong for me to wish this would happen, especially if Real Madrid were to offer a midfielder as part exchange? I know this is the Sun and a fantasy world but cannot help but ponder!

Yes, Chico will take this season to learn the offside rule, then him, Rooney, Welbeck and AN Other will be the best strikeforce in Europe for 5 or 6 years.

A midfielder is needed, but not at the expense of getting shot of a player of the calibre of Hernandez.

Why weaken one area of the team to strengthen the other? Not like we cant keep Hernandez and still bolster the midfield. Plus, he's an exceptional talent, and (to indulge your fantasy side :rolleyes:) even if a midfielder did arrive from Madrid lets say, who would you take? There isnt many of them I would fancy, apart from maybe Ozil who is indispensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I was thinkin the exact same tbh .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Des wrote: »
    Yes, Chico will take this season to learn the offside rule, then him, Rooney, Welbeck and AN Other will be the best strikeforce in Europe for 5 or 6 years.

A midfielder is needed, but not at the expense of getting shot of a player of the calibre of Hernandez.

Des I agree, maybe wish was too strong a word. I do think he's got massive potential and a key squad player for us but if Real were to offer 30/40m for Chico or a player of Ozils quality I'd consider it! Again this is all fantasy, but we need to stengthen the midfield or pray Tom Cleverly fullfills his potential, new contract and stays fit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Ozil, while an exceptional talent, is not what United need, nor would Madrid be likely to offer that player as part of the deal.

You'd want to be looking at less attack minded Midfielders at Madrid.

Alonso would be great at United, for instance.

Des wrote: »
    Ozil, while an exceptional talent, is not what United need, nor would Madrid be likely to offer that player as part of the deal.

You'd want to be looking at less attack minded Midfielders at Madrid.

Alonso would be great at United, for instance.

Its not even that Ozil or the like would come, or be offered. Its the fact that United are not going to sell such a promising/dangerous player.

Even if under some strange circumstance they did, I don't think Fergie would ever enter into a player exchange transfer (when has he ever? Keith Gillespie is one off the top of my head, or was that a seperate transfer?) and if Fergie ever wanted a player from Madrid, it would have happened at the time of the Ronaldo transfer.

I think Fergie would be too, well...stubborn, to ever even give Madrid the pleasure of thinking their cast-offs are good enough for us. Its not his style and I think he would scour the market for a young, promising player instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Fergies only ever swapped players using the youth team when doing transfers in, like the Alan Smith transfer, I believe Danny Pugh went the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Blame Goal movie for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Blame Goal movie for that.
    feckin image of him!

Double deal: Manchester United set to offer Danny Welbeck, Javier Hernandez new contracts
    Manchester United are ready to secure a ‘goalden’ future. Danny Welbeck and Javier Hernandez are the next on the Old Trafford hierarchy’s hit-list for new contracts.

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson’s new generation are being rewarded for their impact this season and last – with United keen to keep any predators at bay.

The move to tie up strikers Welbeck and Chicharito on upgraded terms follows on from Monday's announcement that midfielder Tom Cleverley had penned a new four-year deal.

United have been quick off the mark to sign up the 22-year-old after his loan season last term at Wigan helped transform him into a Premier League player.

Before an ankle injury at Bolton last month, Cleverley had established himself at the heart of a vibrant new United engine room. His deal keeps him under contract at Old Trafford until 2016.

Defender Phil Jones was secured from Blackburn Rovers in the summer on a five-year deal that also ties the 19-year-old to the Reds until 2016.

And the summer also saw United’s top brass sign up Chris Smalling on a new improved contract.

The 20-year-old had signed from Fulham 12 months earlier, but was rewarded for making an instant impact last season in his debut campaign.

Smalling was handed a five-year contract that again sees another young burgeoning talent on the books until 2016.

United message

It is a clear message of intent from the Reds that Fergie’s latest generation of youth are going to be the foundation for the club going forward.

Now the hitmen are set to be nailed down on deals that could see their wages double, fast-tracking them up the salary scale to around £100,000-a-week. England international Welbeck signed a United contract in December 2009 to keep him at the club until 2013.

Since then he has stepped up a level. Last season he was a loan success at Sunderland and has returned to the Reds this term to establish himself in the first-team squad, with five goals in seven appearances the response to his promotion.

United now want Welbeck to join Cleverley, Smalling and Jones in committing themselves until 2016 at least.

The Reds are also planning to reward Hernandez and secure the Mexican striker on a longer deal.

He joined United the summer before last in a surprise £8m move from Chivas of Guadalajara.

He was an instant success in his debut season last term, notching 20 goals and ending up as United’s second-top goalscorer behind Dimitar Berbatov.

Chicharito’s stats alerted Real Madrid last season and the Spaniards were linked with a move.

But United want to keep all suitors at arm’s length and a new contract and six-figure wage packet will ward off Jose Mourinho and anyone else eyeing up the 23-year-old hitman.

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/sport/football/manchester_united/s/1461327_double-deal-manchester-united-set-to-offer-danny-welbeck-javier-hernandez-new-contracts

Offering new deal might be true but 6 digit figure sounds bs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

chico deserves at least 100k if it ties him down to a long contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

100k for a 24 yrear old who is now , well in mo opinion anyway, 3rd striker?
    60k tops. same for Welbeck.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

After one year? I don't think so. That sort of paygrade is reserved for the more experienced/proven & senior United players.

Not saying that Hernandez wont reach those heights, but its far too dangerous to be setting such a wage precedent for young players.

killwill wrote: »
    100k for a 24 yrear old who is now , well in mo opinion anyway, 3rd striker?
    60k tops. same for Welbeck.
    After one year? I don't think so. That sort of paygrade is reserved for the more experienced/proven & senior United players.

Not saying that Hernandez wont reach those heights, but its far too dangerous to be setting such a wage precedent for young players.

Well we are not in position to tell what is the max limit but I agree with this and the other post. Offering big wages at young age will cause too many problems.

But like I said I thinks thats just bs. We are offering new contract but the wages are just guess work.

And no way we will be offering Welbeck any where close to 100K or even 60-80K. He played only few games, he will get hike but wont be that big.

We have proper wage structure and I dont see Fergie paying young players over the odds.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Well we are not in position to tell what is the max limit but I agree with this and the other post. Offering big wages at young age will cause too many problems.

But like I said I thinks thats just bs. We are offering new contract but the wages are just guess work.

And no way we will be offering Welbeck any where close to 100K or even 60-80K. He played only few games, he will get hike but wont be that big.

We have proper wage structure and I dont see Fergie paying young players over the odds.

I'd be vert surprised if Welbeck is on more than £40k p/w and even at that I think that could be stretching it.

Then again, considering that Cleverley's new contract is supposed to be around that figure, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

I'd be vert surprised if Welbeck is on more than £40k p/w and even at that I think that could be stretching it.

Then again, considering that Cleverley's new contract is supposed to be around that figure, who knows.

I remember reading back in the middle od Sept some time that both Welbeck and Cleverley were on the same money, and were getting a pay rise which would bring them to £40k a week.
    TBH I don't see either getting any more than that, possibly a push to 50k at the most.

I'm really happy with the way we offer new contracts based on performance. Last season we offered Smalling a new contract just 1 year after signing him, then Hernandez, now Cleverley and Welbeck.