Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Your worst arguement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Worst fight i ever had was with my brother over a can of tuna, honestly if it came to blows i would of tried to kill him i was so angry, we're sound now tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

My worst argument is the one which hurts least physically but most emotionally. I need to get her back onside but she won't even respond. 'Special' type friend over 6 years from the outskirts of India and I am f*ckin depressed right now. suckaaa.. That's right, johnie bein taken for an emo ride :/ what the f*ck to do.

LH Pathe wrote: »
    that's fine if someones letting off steam though just be sure they are venting to you, not at you or about you. If you are right to feel there's no real stain on your character for them to get personal, then decimate them. Lay them to waste

or maybe I just need to learn to walk away.

that would indicate that i give a flying fcuk what someones saying when their having a temper tantrum when in actual fact i dont :D drama queens (men or women) dont deserve the effort of arguing with

well when a drama king is unloading your direction you better perk the f- up and show some understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Batsy wrote: »
    On one occasion we missed a huge chunk of the match arguing whether or not the Nazis were right wingers or left wingers (in a political sense, not a footballing sense). I think my brother won because he's something of an expert on the war.

Ambidextrous Nazis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

well when a drama king is unloading your direction you better perk the f- up and show some understanding.

the only understanding they would get is my back while im walking away

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Novella wrote: »
    My worst arguments were always with a particular ex of mine. He is one of those people who thinks he knows absolutely everything. It made me cringe when he went on little rants about how he knew more than the people working for X company.

In his head, he was a qualified mechanic. He was a chef. He was a scientist. He was the first to criticise anyone and anything.

It drove me fcuking mental - him turning his nose up at everything, "They know nothing! I'm going to give them a piece of my mind!" etc. He made himself look like a complete twat on so many occasions. All I could say was, "Did you ever think that maybe the problem isn't actually everyone else... but you?".

/rant

Your ex sounds just like my ex :eek:

My worst arguments were probably with my brother when we were teenagers. There would be lots of screaming and throwing of random objects. We get on great now :D

the only understanding they would get is my back while im walking away

fine. For you we'll replace understanding with uncaring and maybe down the line one day we will all be flawlessly emotionally devoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

fine. For you we'll replace understanding with uncaring and maybe down the line one day we will all be flawlessly emotionally devoid

nope if someone can talk to me like an adult i have no problem caring about what they have to say, mind you if some one starts ranting like 5 year old child well il have nothing to do with it

well if you'd have stated that, no idea you were dealing with that mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The worst ones I've had all involved that great female rebuff "fine!". It drives me mad and I can't leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    but you can never ever ever admit it!

hate people like this, you're wrong get over it ffs! :mad:
    but they just keep wriggling and changing the original point :rolleyes:
    cunts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The worst ones I've had all involved that great female rebuff "fine!". It drives me mad and I can't leave it.

Grand. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

My worst argument is the one which hurts least physically but most emotionally. I need to get her back onside but she won't even respond. 'Special' type friend over 6 years from the outskirts of India and I am f*ckin depressed right now. suckaaa.. That's right, johnie bein taken for an emo ride :/ what the f*ck to do.

Wut!?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Worst argument ever ended with a shotgun being fired at the gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

racso1975 wrote: »
    Your worst arguement?

A misspelt one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

tassajara wrote: »
    Had a properly mental argument with my mum when I was 18 after I had an accident while on holidays. I paid the medical costs up front and went to claim of the health insurance my parents had bought for me. As the policy is in my mum's name, the cheque came addressed to her and she refused to give me the money saying that sure, didn't she pay for the health insurance? Yes, but I'm the person who is out €600 for a few hours in a French A&E.

Your Mum sounds like a gypsy.. Tell her to start taking out life assurance on people she doesn't know. Same thing.

In fairness tho she had paid for the insurance, his part alone probably cost near 600 every year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Shpuds

Worst I had started with my boyfriend over a packet of sour skittles. We shouted at each other for three hours straight, I even brought his whole family into it, called his dog a b*tch too! We made up two weeks later though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

In religion class when i decided to tell the teacher a few of the many thousands of facts about christianity that make it absolutely ridiculous. I ended up calling her mentally subnormal and she ended up saying i was going straight to hell.

My biology teacher told me well done the day after though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tassajara

Tonto86 wrote: »
    In fairness tho she had paid for the insurance, his part alone probably cost near 600 every year

Firstly, I'm female. The point is that I was out of work with a spinal injury, not getting paid, down the price of my medical costs, not having received any support from my parents for the past year apart from them paying an extra €300 to put me on their health insurance, and knowing that health insurance is meant to cover the cost of medical expenses rather than my mum getting the money she paid for me to be insured back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭calabi yau

Firstly, I'm female. The point is that I was out of work with a spinal injury, not getting paid, down the price of my medical costs, not having received any support from my parents for the past year apart from them paying an extra €300 to put me on their health insurance, and knowing that health insurance is meant to cover the cost of medical expenses rather than my mum getting the money she paid for me to be insured back.

Sounds like bad form from your mam, you were right to feel aggrieved. When I lived at home and started working, I earned the same weekly wage as my brother. Yet, my mam took €20 from him and €30 from me per week. When I asked her about it and tried to highlight the inequity of it, she would lie and tell me she took €30 from him aswell. It was good motivation to move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Myself and the OH decided a few years back moved in with each other.
    I remember the first argument was about going to mass.
    I wanted to go to 10.30 mass on Sunday, and she wanted to go to mass at 8 pm on Saturday, which was the time The Premership started on RTE2.
    Neither of us would back down and in a good christian way sarcificed solved it peacefully by not going to mass at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Nothing worse than when I used to argue with my Mam a lot, I wouldn't speak to her for a day or two, but would still find my dinner on the table when I came home :o.

It's been said already but the arguements that start off on the most trivial of things are the worst, they eventually escalate into something more nasty and then you just end up tearing each other apart.

Arguing on the internet is good craic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

The wife and myself never go to bed on an argument, we just stay up and fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭SooooBored

My worst arguments were probably with my brother when we were teenagers. There would be lots of screaming and throwing of random objects. We get on great now :D
    Im cracking up laughing, same as me. I shared a room with the bro and mainly had rows when goin asleep. Id throw a lynw can or something while he'd duck under his covers, he'd pick it up and fire it back while id duck for cover and so on for a good hour.
    Meatwad wrote: »
    Always find myself getting into arguments about ww2.Always starts off grand but normally ends with someone roaring,"Of course it happened,6 million people didn't just disappear".
    I love a good auld ww2 argument. Ive a good interest in it, read a few books and stuff. Generally when I state a simple fact like the whole euthanasia thing was a very good decision on hitlers part because he was fighting a war and had to save bullets really gets people goin who are generally uninformed.

Just saying, if my mam had been paying for a health insurance policy for me year after year I wouldn't have the cheek to claim 600 squids off it for myself. 600 is probably only a fraction of what she paid for ya overall!

I don't think it's cheeky to ask that health insurance be used for what it's intended. If I had my health insurance details with me that day, the insurance would have been used to pay the medical costs. Instead I paid them up front and I don't think it's unreasonable that the person who is out of pocket for those medical costs be refunded. I don't want to sound ungrateful to my mother but if she didn't want to be paying for health insurance for me, she shouldn't have done so.

Just different views I suppose.

If my mam had been paying for my health insurance I would of considered a claim as a bit of a payback. I know the reason she'd have the insurance would be incase I became seriously ill I'd be looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Just saying, if my mam had been paying for a health insurance policy for me year after year I wouldn't have the cheek to claim 600 squids off it for myself. 600 is probably only a fraction of what she paid for ya overall!

why bother putting her on the insurance if she can't claim for injuries?? zero sense!

Just different views I suppose.

If my mam had been paying for my health insurance I would of considered a claim as a bit of a payback. I know the reason she'd have the insurance would be incase I became seriously ill I'd be looked after.

Don't know about you, but I'd consider a spinal injury which didn't allow me to work for six weeks pretty damn serious. Of course, if you'd be fine with having to dip into your savings to pay for your own medical treatment while someone else profits from it, fair enough.

Not saying it wasn't serious.

What I mean is that your mother probably took out this insurance policy in case you were every struck down with a serious illness or needed to go into hospital she would want you to get the and best and quickest treatment.

I confused as to how she was making a profit.

If she was paying €300 a year insurance for you (which is very low) at 18 years would make a total expenditure of €5400. You claimed €600.

Im sure she renewed your policy, which would have increased due to your claim.

Just saying, if you got enough money to pay for a fancy foreign holiday you have enough money to buy your own health insurance. Or maybe just even maybe pay out of pocket when you need to make a claim as a way of saying thanks to your mam for the near two decades of free premium health care.

But then again, everyone to their own.