Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your worst arguement?

• 09-10-2011 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭

Had massive arguement last night with the missus. Now we really really tore strips of each other and are obviously still not talkin today. Best part of it is that it started off as the most stupid trivial thing! Any how she still wrong and i'm right.
    So whats the worst arguements you guys have had? and are you always the person who gives in arguement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Nothing worse than being in the middle of an argument and forgetting what you were going to say. Or mixing up words and generally making a fool of yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

racso1975 wrote: »
    Any how she still wrong and i'm right.

See that's where you went wrong there.
    Nothing worse than being in the middle of an argument and forgetting what you were going to say. Or mixing up words and generally making a fool of yourself.

yes, hate that, makes you look stupid.

haven't had an argument in a really long time, except for over text on skype with a work colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

What were you fighting about OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

am also known to go quiet until strong enough to talk

You're quite a delicate little flower ain't ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Started off about not ringing her nephew and escalated to whatever we could use to score points! Exceptionally healthy relationship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

that time where we had a huge arguement, started off about something small but by the end we were tearing strips off each other, that was the worst arguement ever

Exceptionally healthy relationship

of course it is :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Haven't had an argument in years, but the last major one was when I was about 14 or 15. Got into an argument with my dad about something (can't remember what), we ended up not talking to each other for about 2 weeks. Really upset me as I get on better with my dad than anyone else but these things get blown way out of proportion when neither will back down or compromise. I learnt from that that most of the time it's best to just walk away, everyone has their own **** to deal with and sometimes they just need to vent. Don't take it personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I've got one mate who I have massive arguments with probably every 2-3 weeks. We'll go a few days after without talking to each other, then act like nothing happened.

We had an argument in Cavan during the summer. I poured my drink over him and he went for me, and had to be held back. Few days later, it was forgotten (except for every time we spoke to each other, someone would be hilarious and jump in between us going 'woah lads, calm it down').

But yeah, my arguments always seem to start off over the most stupid things then just escalate.

Edit: Just remembered probably the most pathetic argument. I stopped at the same mate's house around Easter time. I was in his brother's bed (they share a room) with a clock on the wall above my head, ticking away every second. I have real trouble getting to sleep with the slightest bit of noise, so when he fell asleep, I took the batteries out of the clock. In the morning he went mennntttallll and we argued for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

brummytom wrote: »
    I've got one mate who I have massive arguments with probably every 2-3 weeks. We'll go a few days after without talking to each other, then act like nothing happened.

We had an argument in Cavan during the summer. I poured my drink over him and he went for me, and had to be held back. Few days later, it was forgotten (except for every time we spoke to each other, someone would be hilarious and jump in between us going 'woah lads, calm it down').

But yeah, my arguments always seem to start off over the most stupid things then just escalate.

Women eh :rolleyes::D

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dont do arguments. Its better to bottle everything up and then explode about the most minor thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Always find myself getting into arguments about ww2.Always starts off grand but normally ends with someone roaring,"Of course it happened,6 million people didn't just disappear".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tassajara

Had a properly mental argument with my mum when I was 18 after I had an accident while on holidays. I paid the medical costs up front and went to claim of the health insurance my parents had bought for me. As the policy is in my mum's name, the cheque came addressed to her and she refused to give me the money saying that sure, didn't she pay for the health insurance? Yes, but I'm the person who is out €600 for a few hours in a French A&E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I don't really do arguments. I suppose I had a few football-related arguments with my manager and other players, but it's not personal and you'd tend to forget about it afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My worst arguments were always with a particular ex of mine. He is one of those people who thinks he knows absolutely everything. It made me cringe when he went on little rants about how he knew more than the people working for X company.

In his head, he was a qualified mechanic. He was a chef. He was a scientist. He was the first to criticise anyone and anything.

It drove me fcuking mental - him turning his nose up at everything, "They know nothing! I'm going to give them a piece of my mind!" etc. He made himself look like a complete twat on so many occasions. All I could say was, "Did you ever think that maybe the problem isn't actually everyone else... but you?".

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Edit: Just remembered probably the most pathetic argument. I stopped at the same mate's house around Easter time. I was in his brother's bed (they share a room) with a clock on the wall above my head, ticking away every second. I have real trouble getting to sleep with the slightest bit of noise, so when he fell asleep, I took the batteries out of the clock. In the morning he went mennntttallll and we argued for hours.

Are you and your friend "Thelma and Louise" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

One thing worse...

...that horrible feeling when you realise that you are, in fact, wrong and the other person is absolutely right!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Had massive arguement last night with the missus. Now we really really tore strips of each other and are obviously still not talkin today. Best part of it is that it started off as the most stupid trivial thing! Any how she still wrong and i'm right.
    So whats the worst arguements you guys have had? and are you always the person who gives in arguement

You havent told us yet what your argument was about....

I had a really big argument with my wife once. She was so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

It was definitely over the line, the Russian linesman got it right and England went on to win the World Cup in 1966. Everybody always seem's to argue with me about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I could see how being in Cavan could do that to you...
    Edit: Just remembered probably the most pathetic argument. I stopped at the same mate's house around Easter time. I was in his brother's bed (they share a room)...

Maybe he was annoyed that you chose his brother as your lover rather than him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

I had a HUGE argument with my boyfriend.suprised were still together after it.like yours it escalated over a minor thing and pretty soon we were screaming everything we could to hurt each other.his family were involved by the end of it and all

PK2008 wrote: »
    One thing worse...

...that horrible feeling when you realise that you are, in fact, wrong and the other person is absolutely right!!

but you can never ever ever admit it!

tassajara wrote: »
    Had a properly mental argument with my mum when I was 18 after I had an accident while on holidays. I paid the medical costs up front and went to claim of the health insurance my parents had bought for me. As the policy is in my mum's name, the cheque came addressed to her and she refused to give me the money saying that sure, didn't she pay for the health insurance? Yes, but I'm the person who is out €600 for a few hours in a French A&E.

Your Mum sounds like a gypsy.. Tell her to start taking out life assurance on people she doesn't know. Same thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

My brother comes round to my flat on Champions League nights to watch Champions League matches on ITV1. Usually we both have plenty of beer each and we spend most of the match chatting away drunkenly, sometimes about football but not always.

On one occasion we missed a huge chunk of the match arguing whether or not the Nazis were right wingers or left wingers (in a political sense, not a footballing sense). I think my brother won because he's something of an expert on the war.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

sgb wrote: »
    It was definitely over the line, the Russian linesman got it right and England went on to win the World Cup in 1966. Everybody always seem's to argue with me about this

It most certainly was over the line, although the linesman who gave it wasn't Russian, he was Azeri. His name was Tofiq Bakhramov. Most English people don't know his name, strangely enough, even though he's right up there with Geoff Hurst, Bobby Moore, Johnny Wilkinson, Steve Redgrave, Freddie Flintoff and Ian Botham in the pantheon of English sporting heroes.

Unfortunately, I wasn't even born to see that great moment on that gloriously sunny day on 30th July 1966 when England won the World Cup, but I have the whole match on DVD so I can watch it again and again. I never get bored watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

We had an argument in Cavan during the summer..........

a clock on the wall above my head, ticking away every second. I have real trouble getting to sleep with the slightest bit of noise, so when he fell asleep, I took the batteries out of the clock. In the morning he went mennntttallll and we argued for hours.

I thought everyone in Cavan took the batteries out of the clocks at night,what was there to argue about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Drama i fcuking hate it :mad: if someone starts arguing with me i just walk away and leave them argue with themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Drama i fcuking hate it :mad: if someone starts arguing with me i just walk away and leave them argue with themselves

that's fine if someones letting off steam though just be sure they are venting to you, not at you or about you. If you are right to feel there's no real stain on your character for them to get personal, then decimate them. Lay them to waste

or maybe I just need to learn to walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Batsy wrote: »
    On one occasion we missed a huge chunk of the match arguing whether or not the Nazis were right wingers or left wingers (in a political sense, not a footballing sense).

:D Fucking Priceless! I must figure out a way to work that one into some future conversation!

LH Pathe wrote: »
    that's fine if someones letting off steam though just be sure they are venting to you, not at you or about you. If you are right to feel there's no real stain on your character for them to get personal, then decimate them. Lay them to waste

that would indicate that i give a flying fcuk what someones saying when their having a temper tantrum when in actual fact i dont :D drama queens (men or women) dont deserve the effort of arguing with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Worst fight i ever had was with my brother over a can of tuna, honestly if it came to blows i would of tried to kill him i was so angry, we're sound now tho.

My worst argument is the one which hurts least physically but most emotionally. I need to get her back onside but she won't even respond. 'Special' type friend over 6 years from the outskirts of India and I am f*ckin depressed right now. suckaaa.. That's right, johnie bein taken for an emo ride :/ what the f*ck to do.

that would indicate that i give a flying fcuk what someones saying when their having a temper tantrum when in actual fact i dont :D drama queens (men or women) dont deserve the effort of arguing with

well when a drama king is unloading your direction you better perk the f- up and show some understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Batsy wrote: »
    On one occasion we missed a huge chunk of the match arguing whether or not the Nazis were right wingers or left wingers (in a political sense, not a footballing sense). I think my brother won because he's something of an expert on the war.

Ambidextrous Nazis?

well when a drama king is unloading your direction you better perk the f- up and show some understanding.

the only understanding they would get is my back while im walking away

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Novella wrote: »
    My worst arguments were always with a particular ex of mine. He is one of those people who thinks he knows absolutely everything. It made me cringe when he went on little rants about how he knew more than the people working for X company.

In his head, he was a qualified mechanic. He was a chef. He was a scientist. He was the first to criticise anyone and anything.

It drove me fcuking mental - him turning his nose up at everything, "They know nothing! I'm going to give them a piece of my mind!" etc. He made himself look like a complete twat on so many occasions. All I could say was, "Did you ever think that maybe the problem isn't actually everyone else... but you?".

/rant

Your ex sounds just like my ex :eek:

My worst arguments were probably with my brother when we were teenagers. There would be lots of screaming and throwing of random objects. We get on great now :D

the only understanding they would get is my back while im walking away

fine. For you we'll replace understanding with uncaring and maybe down the line one day we will all be flawlessly emotionally devoid

nope if someone can talk to me like an adult i have no problem caring about what they have to say, mind you if some one starts ranting like 5 year old child well il have nothing to do with it

well if you'd have stated that, no idea you were dealing with that mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The worst ones I've had all involved that great female rebuff "fine!". It drives me mad and I can't leave it.

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    but you can never ever ever admit it!

hate people like this, you're wrong get over it ffs! :mad:
    but they just keep wriggling and changing the original point :rolleyes:
    cunts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The worst ones I've had all involved that great female rebuff "fine!". It drives me mad and I can't leave it.

Grand. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

My worst argument is the one which hurts least physically but most emotionally. I need to get her back onside but she won't even respond. 'Special' type friend over 6 years from the outskirts of India and I am f*ckin depressed right now. suckaaa.. That's right, johnie bein taken for an emo ride :/ what the f*ck to do.

Wut!?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Worst argument ever ended with a shotgun being fired at the gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Your worst arguement?

A misspelt one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

Your Mum sounds like a gypsy.. Tell her to start taking out life assurance on people she doesn't know. Same thing.

In fairness tho she had paid for the insurance, his part alone probably cost near 600 every year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Shpuds

Worst I had started with my boyfriend over a packet of sour skittles. We shouted at each other for three hours straight, I even brought his whole family into it, called his dog a b*tch too! We made up two weeks later though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

In religion class when i decided to tell the teacher a few of the many thousands of facts about christianity that make it absolutely ridiculous. I ended up calling her mentally subnormal and she ended up saying i was going straight to hell.

My biology teacher told me well done the day after though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tassajara

Tonto86 wrote: »
    In fairness tho she had paid for the insurance, his part alone probably cost near 600 every year

Firstly, I'm female. The point is that I was out of work with a spinal injury, not getting paid, down the price of my medical costs, not having received any support from my parents for the past year apart from them paying an extra €300 to put me on their health insurance, and knowing that health insurance is meant to cover the cost of medical expenses rather than my mum getting the money she paid for me to be insured back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭calabi yau

Firstly, I'm female. The point is that I was out of work with a spinal injury, not getting paid, down the price of my medical costs, not having received any support from my parents for the past year apart from them paying an extra €300 to put me on their health insurance, and knowing that health insurance is meant to cover the cost of medical expenses rather than my mum getting the money she paid for me to be insured back.

Sounds like bad form from your mam, you were right to feel aggrieved. When I lived at home and started working, I earned the same weekly wage as my brother. Yet, my mam took €20 from him and €30 from me per week. When I asked her about it and tried to highlight the inequity of it, she would lie and tell me she took €30 from him aswell. It was good motivation to move out.