Pirate Radio! Arrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    check this sh1t out => http://www.pcs-electronics.com/transmitters-transmitter-kits-c-1_17.html

for €400 you get an fm transmitter you slot into your pc and you get a booster, cables and decent ariel too!

15 miles + radius for €400!!

but you don't want it to slot into your PC. Should be up on a mountain somewhere or a tall building with a microwave link or some yoke that isn't easily traced back to your studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Daegerty wrote: »
    but you don't want it to slot into your PC. Should be up on a mountain somewhere or a tall building with a microwave link or some yoke that isn't easily traced back to your studio

You seem to know a lot about all this... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Dean0088 wrote: »
    You seem to know a lot about all this... :P

Not rly, know a lad who was into it and I think still is.

Would love to run a pirate DAB radio station or something, but dont think anyone will listen to my sh1te talk and bad taste of music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There was one about 50 yards from me. Twas bad.

No pirates to be seen.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

whoopdedoo wrote: »
    we got rascalradio.net in the west, rumour has it is goes out on fm too ;)
    It does, at least in Galway city. Great station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

That was Legend B, Lost In Love, for all the crew in Finglas. Happy Birthday Tommy, that comes in from Samantha in Artane. And Big shout out to all the guys in Tallaght tonight, thats Jonno, Anto, Deco, Manchild, Snakey, Eyebrows and Lippo. Stay tuned we have DJ Rectangle comin in around midnight but before that I'll be here playin all your favourites. Next up this is an absolute banger. This was requested by Macker in Cabra. Thanks for tunin in Macker. This is Jam And Spoon, Lick My Hole, the Dirty Techno Remix, Scum FM 106.988, keep it locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 misterwilson

Check out one of Dublin's most popular dance radio stations that existed from 1993 - 1999
    Club FM on Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/#!/Club1064

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Check out one of Dublin's most popular dance radio stations that existed from 1993 - 1999
    Club FM on Facebook

http://www.facebook.com/#!/Club1064

A station of 90's dance music? That sounds... eh... awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Pirate radio is a bit cac to be honest. The sound is never great, music is ok depends whats being played. Prefer the legalised radio stations thanks very much! I at least like to listen to the news, current affairs, some sports news, local news, announcements and music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭JMSE

anyone still alive who remembers a bizarre pirate afternoon back in the mid 80's.....

Twas on Sunshine101 IIRC and the DJ - as the spoof went - locked himself in the studio and played the same song 24 times before they finally got in and took him down !

Definitely happened though in that he did play that song over and over with all sorts of different links in between where he would go on about how they were trying to get in to stop him. How true the whole thing was, I dont know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 misterwilson

deathrider wrote: »
    A station of 90's dance music? That sounds... eh... awful!

It was a station that broadcasted underground dance music during the 90s. It ceased transmission in 1999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

It was a station that broadcasted underground dance music during the 90s. It ceased transmission in 1999

Yes, I understood the post, and it sounds awful.

There's a relatively strong pirate on 88.1 in Dublin at the moment, has been there for a few weeks.

It wasn't a decline in radio listenership that killed them off, it was the tightening of the regulations in December 1988. I can barely remember Radio Dublin and Heartbeat 95FM in the late 80s. Too young to remember Nova or Sunshine.

Karsini wrote: »
    There's a relatively strong pirate on 88.1 in Dublin at the moment, has been there for a few weeks.

It wasn't a decline in radio listenership that killed them off, it was the tightening of the regulations in December 1988. I can barely remember Radio Dublin and Heartbeat 95FM in the late 80s. Too young to remember Nova or Sunshine.

Real 80's? I found that a few weeks back, its excellent. High quality, non stop 80s tunes. Literley tune after tune, not 1 piece of chat.

I stick it on in the car ever morning going to work, i can actually flick through the other 6 presets and every other one will be wafleling ejits trying to be funny way to early in the morning.

And its not an age thing im only 23, but i can appriciate good musics :D

cisk wrote: »
    Real 80's? I found that a few weeks back, its excellent. High quality, non stop 80s tunes. Literley tune after tune, not 1 piece of chat.

I stick it on in the car ever morning going to work, i can actually flick through the other 6 presets and every other one will be wafleling ejits trying to be funny way to early in the morning.

And its not an age thing im only 23, but i can appriciate good musics :D

Yep that's the one. Hadn't really checked it out but I totally agree about the crappiness of morning radio. Might give it a go myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

comreg have gear similar to what these lads sell http://www.plath.de/comint-ew-solutions/products/?tx_ttnews[cat]=14&tx_ttnews[pointer]=0

the finder gear has got very accurate in the last 20 years so watch out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

JMSE wrote: »
    the DJ - as the spoof went - locked himself in the studio and played the same song 24 times before they finally got in and took him down !

Is that you Andy Dufresne???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

6 feet underground is where I'd like to see any dance station and anyone associated with it

that shite is the musical equivalent of a war crime or an atrocitity against art.