Is Sean Gallagher telling lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭shivDCM

Association with FF is now more toxic than the IRA. Well deserved and so funny. They should dub anyone from FF with an actors voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

3B1F35BFE79446C5B01213BF95FE8804-0000333355-0002578444-00800L-3BEB0B4E37354936A3A77802EF4EB2A8.jpg

Interesting.

He also launched FF campaigns in February. Why did he say he resigned again? He is FF through and through. Turns out he may never have actually left the party... This is all from here...

http://www.politics.ie/forum/irish-presidential-election-2011/172433-sean-gallaghers-fianna-fail-national-exec-resignation-letter-obtained-politics-ie.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

CDfm wrote: »
    I shook hands with Michael D today at the local supermarket where he was canvasing with a very fresh faced Proinsias de Rossa ,a sticky himself, in tow.

Not only is proinsias a sticky he was also convicted & imprisoned of IRA membership, he was also interned in the curragh after he got out, wonder if that's why labour are keeping quietish about MMG, People in glass houses etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

The issue of MMG's non American Investor friendly credentials could equally be levelled at Mickey D.

Foreign policy wise he may be to the left of MMG and it is Phil Hogan of FG who raised the US investor as an election issue.

The president has a very important ceremonial function at foreign affairs and many people have pointed to Mary McAleese's contribitions to the Peace Process.

So it is a bit more than ceremonial .

I wouldn't see Higgins as much further - if at all - to the left then Mary Robinson.

I honestly don't think the president has any influence on whether American multi-nationals 'invest' here - that is all sorted out in backroom deals. The president is wheeled out to present the shamrock, shake the hands and stand in the photo op.

Plus - those same multi-nationals would abandon us in a heartbeat if they got a better deal elsewhere ( Dell - all gone!) or if the US changes some of their taxation laws as it been mooted. I for one have no intention of allowing what the U.S wants- either politically or corporately - to influence my decision as to who I vote for.

ok I admit it - I have been known to include the words American and Imperialism in the same sentence during a rant...

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    3B1F35BFE79446C5B01213BF95FE8804-0000333355-0002578444-00800L-3BEB0B4E37354936A3A77802EF4EB2A8.jpg

Interesting.

He also launched FF campaigns in February. Why did he say he resigned again? He is FF through and through. Turns out he may never have actually left the party... This is all from here...

http://www.politics.ie/forum/irish-presidential-election-2011/172433-sean-gallaghers-fianna-fail-national-exec-resignation-letter-obtained-politics-ie.html

That is indeed very interesting. Thanks for that Wolfe Tone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭neiphin

Interesting.

i notice that it is not signed, surely its only a letter, and been not signed , means absolutly nothing, would not stand up in a court of law

So looking at that letter he officially has not resigned ?

neiphin wrote: »
    i notice that it is not signed, surely its only a letter, and been not signed , means absolutly nothing, would not stand up in a court of law
    Are you saying the letter is not genuine?

"express my continued support to you and your colleagues in the challenging period for the Party"

He is a FF man to the core despite him claiming otherwise.

realies wrote: »
    So looking at that letter he officially has not resigned ?
    Yes, and he only resigned his position because he was too busy doing stuff, not because of any issue with the party itself and what it has done.

Are you saying the letter is not genuine?

"express my continued support to you and your colleagues in the challenging period for the Party"

He is a FF man to the core despite him claiming otherwise.

If he hasn't signed it it is not valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

neiphin wrote: »

It's a bit more proof than we have of other people resigning from other stuff! And still some people choose to just take their word for that!

That - expected - double-standard aside, Gallagher has got some serious questions to answer.

What is it with this presidential campaign and dodgy letters ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Of course he's FF ... through and through.

If nothing else Mattie McGrath supporting him is enough for me to say 'I'm out'

If he hasn't signed it it is not valid.
    Of course its valid, thats his resignation letter, if its not valid then I guess he didnt resign? :pac:

Of course its valid, that's his resignation letter, if its not valid then I guess he didn't resign? :pac:

Do you not have to sign it to make it official as anyone could make up a letter ?

What if its an email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Couldn't care if he is lying or not, as he's not getting my vote.

I think Wolfe Tone's point is that that would actually make Gallagher look worse, because if the letter isn't official then he wouldn't have even resigned from the executive!

i.e. no letter to show = no resignation from an organisation

That right, WT ?

What if its an email?
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I think Wolfe Tone's point is that that would actually make Gallagher look worse, because if the letter isn't official then he wouldn't have even resigned from the executive!

That right, WT ?

I presumed something as important as that would have to be personally signed, maybe i am wrong :o (not for the first time says ye )

I'd tend to agree - personally I'd want a signed letter as proof.

But that's just me; some people haven't looked for signed resignation letters from others re organisations they were in, so we don't actually know when they resigned, or if they did at all. Apparently we can't take Gallagher's word for it.

So I'd guess that yet again I'd be alone in demanding proof of resignation from all parties, since others seem to be happy to forego the requirement for that proof, and are obviously going to treat Gallagher with the same approach.

That right, WT ?

Pretty much Liam, I was having a bit of a laugh as well.

The letter is genuine though, if you read all of the first post here its apparent and acknowledged.

He resigned from that position but apparently not the party and its the issues why he resigned which are important I feel, not because of anger with the party and what it did but because of his schedule and he clearly outlines his continued support for FF.

For some this will be an issue, others of course wont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Bannasidhe wrote: »

ok I admit it - I have been known to include the words American and Imperialism in the same sentence during a rant...

Haha ,

you have a bad dose of social partnership

http://www.ilo.org/public/english/bureau/inst/publications/discussion/dp15404.pdf

Maybe - or a lot of experience in studying Imperialism....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

The issue of MMG's non American Investor friendly credentials could equally be levelled at Mickey D.

Foreign policy wise he may be to the left of MMG and it is Phil Hogan of FG who raised the US investor as an election issue.

The president has a very important ceremonial function at foreign affairs and many people have pointed to Mary McAleese's contributions to the Peace Process.

So it is a bit more than ceremonial .

Do not agree there, and McAleese, Ahern's and several others conrtibution to the peace process vastly overstated and overrated IMO. Right place right time ie in office, but like all politicos will take credit anyway. Look at Michael D.....would you be afraid of a national treasure in the form of a leprechaun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

But that's just me; some people haven't looked for signed resignation letters from others re organisations they were in, so we don't actually know when they resigned, or if they did at all. Apparently we can't take Gallagher's word for it.

So I'd guess that yet again I'd be alone in demanding proof of resignation from all parties, since others seem to by happy to forego the requirement for that proof, and are obviously going to treat Gallagher with the same approach.

I think you are putting work style practices into a political party into a work style "master and servant" relationship.

Has anyone left a football team or not turned up at something or walked away from a gym membership etc.

That right, WT ?

You don't leave FF.....by once being a member its got you for life :D

My impression is that SG is a fifth columnist FF as that is the way FF do things....sneaky like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

I think whether he signed the letter or didn't , or whether he resigned from the executive or from FF itself , still points to the fact that he has been deceiving people

No way I will vote for another gombeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭raymon

I think you are putting work style practices into a political party into a work style "master and servant" relationship.

Has anyone left a football team or not turned up at something or walked away from a gym membership etc.

He didn't walk away , he was canvassing and giving FF speeches in Feb 11.......

A fair point - but few football teams have caused as much harm as the political party Gallagher claims to have left.

As a business man, and political operator, Gallagher has to be aware of the importance of PR and optics. HE has distanced himself publicly from FF - but without proof of a formal resignation has left the extent and timing of his disassociation open to speculation.

Gallagher's selling point to the electorate is his business acumen - yet he has failed to dot the i's and cross the T's on this - and, fair or not, association with FF is toxic right now. A smart businessman would surely have been more careful then to leave this possibly deal costing issue dangling - yet that is exactly what appears to have happened.

So I'd guess that yet again I'd be alone in demanding proof of resignation from all parties, since others seem to by happy to forego the requirement for that proof, and are obviously going to treat Gallagher with the same approach.

Maybe. But both McGuinness & Gallagher are running for president, and yet we have people looking for proof from one and looking for "inverse proof" from critics of the other ? It's laughable!

They both need to prove that they are not lying. Neither of them has credibility due to their past associations, so their words aren't good enough.

Of course, that last line alone should preclude them from a vote, if this country voted sanely and logically.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    A fair point - but few football teams have caused as much harm as the political party Gallagher claims to have left.

As a business man, and political operator, Gallagher has to be aware of the importance of PR and optics. HE has distanced himself publicly from FF - but without proof of a formal resignation has left the extent and timing of his disassociation open to speculation.

Gallagher's selling point to the electorate is his business acumen - yet he has failed to dot the i's and cross the T's on this - and, fair or not, association with FF is toxic right now. A smart businessman would surely have been more careful then to leave this possibly deal costing issue dangling - yet that is exactly what appears to have happened.

As a business man why is he looking for a job then? Surely the role will impact on his business acumen and is he that munificent and altruistic that he gets nothing out of it but the humble role of President?