RTE and Fr Kevin Reynolds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Amanda Knox got 3yrs in Jail for slander. Surely there must be some legaL consequence for what RTE did? ( I mean one that won't cost the taxpayers)

RTE should fly Jeremy Kyle in to do a Prime Time special paternity test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Dionysus wrote: »
    An innocent priest? In Ireland?
    Agreed how many innocent folks have had their life ruined by this lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Prime Time are probably desperate to justify their slot after the News and have resorted to airing badly researched and damaging 'reports'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

RTE want our TV license money to waste it on destroying a person's good reputation, the priest involved took two seperate paternity tests and each showed RTE lied to the public.

It sickens me that I have to pay my TV license, it is due for payment, when they waste it on lies, flights to Kenya, accommodation in Kenya, then more money wasted on broadcasting those lies, then more wasted on paying for paternity tests to prove they lied, then more money to pay the high court for the court case whcih showed they lied.
    Then after all that, all they do is say sorry, when they ruined a person's reputation and wasted license fee money, it is not good enough from the national broadcaster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Primetime has always been poorly researched and biased, the director general should sack the primetime team and then resign himself! Liveline isn't far behind them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I'd agreed with the title before even reading the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

ldoll wrote: »
    That's just ignorant. You can't tar them all with the one brush, it's unfair and unreasonable.

I agree fully. There are outcries when a homosexuality/paedophila are linked (and rightly so - not all homosexuals - or heterosexuals - should be classed as paedos because of the actions of a minority), yet some posters feel perfectly comfortable about questioning all priests. They are no better than RTE IMHO. Hypocrites of the worst kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I think "usually" primetime is an excellent show, it is the only news outlet in this country that still does effective investigative journalism.

Think of all the benefits it has done for this country with its exposees. Think of all the scandals it has expertly revealed.

But this is a case of very bad journalism and it should be punished. It is what has happened to us. Because the church has being exposed as corrupt and liars, there is an assumption that all members of that church hierarchy and clergy have a measure of guilt, which of course is bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This is what happens when you create a paranoid and hysterical society. Live with it. How many of you watched the orignal Prime Time show and thought (or would have thought, had you seen about it) somethign along the alives of you evil, filthy ****er. The people of Ahascragh weren't exactly waiting for a fair trial.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    This is what happens when you create a paranoid and hysterical society. Live with it. How many of you watched the orignal Prime Time show and thought (or would have thought, had you seen about it) somethign along the alives of you evil, filthy ****er. The people of Ahascragh weren't exactly waiting for a fair trial.

What do you mean by this?

He has not been proved guilty in court as there has been no court case yet, but thats not to say that he isn't guilty. I'd much sooner believe the story of the alleged victim in this case, who has nothing to gain from making false alegations.

Wonderful outlook.:rolleyes: So you have decided - arbitrarily - to condemn one person on the basis of, essentially, your hunch. I'm glad you're not a member of the judiciary. Read again what you've posted above......'nothing to gain'????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

lastlaugh wrote: »
    What do you mean by this?

Exactly what it says. This is the way society has formed itself and most peeople who live in it seem happy to do so. Why be outraged when society goes against itself?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Are you being sarcastic or do you think that most priests were aware of clerical abuse and therefore passively complicit?

Just wondering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

The people involved should be named, shamed and sacked. That's if the Croke Park Agreement or some other state/trade union skulduggery doesn't protect them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

He has not been proved guilty in court as there has been no court case yet, but thats not to say that he isn't guilty. I'd much sooner believe the story of the alleged victim in this case, who has nothing to gain from making false alegations.

Fair play to ya! It's always best to wade in with an opinion without bothering with the facts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Amanda Knox got 3yrs in Jail for slander ( I mean one that won't cost the taxpayers)

She was given 25 years for murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

He has not been proved guilty in court as there has been no court case yet, but thats not to say that he isn't guilty. I'd much sooner believe the story of the alleged victim in this case, who has nothing to gain from making false alegations

The above attitude is exactly why RTE would broadcast something like. Attitudes in this country are frightenly bigotted and given to believing the worst in all situations that people will lap this kind of thing up and rejoice in this poor man's situation because of the white collar he wears.

He should take those women and RTE to the cleaners. His life and reputation are ruined.

If this were a lay man we'd be up arms but no he's a priest ergo he's guilty and/or simply deserves it for other reason than being a priest.

Show Time wrote: »
    Agreed how many innocent folks have had their life ruined by this lot.

So every priest, regardless of guilt or innocence, should have their lives destroyed?

Lovely attitude :rolleyes:

So every priest, regardless of guilt or innocence, should have their lives destroyed?

Indeed. Sure why don't we label all parents as child abusers while we're at it....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭pjmn

Teclo wrote: »
    The people involved should be named, shamed and sacked. That's if the Croke Park Agreement or some other state/trade union skulduggery doesn't protect them.

Would agree fully with your first sentence - disgraceful to ruin a man's life and reputation and then think a simple 'we got it wrong statement' resolves the issue. Hope the individuals that made the decision to air the programme are fired and he sues (and wins) millions from RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Primetime has a long history of making allegations/assumptions which were later proved incorrect.

They are always shouting about accountability and heads not rollling, let's see RTE practice what they preach!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Fair play to ya! It's always best to wade in with an opinion without bothering with the facts!

*off topic*

I love your user name :D

*back on topic*

They've totally ruined this poor mans life. How are they allowed get away with this with just an apology? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Pretty sure Dionysus is being sarcastic lads.

Loads of people condemn the church one and all all especially on this site, there is a fair amount of catholic clergy bashing where no one acknowledges that the sick fooks in the priesthood are an extreme minority and most are good people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

What a horrible thing to do to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

As i said how many innocent lives were forever destroyed by this lot.

Anyway as a man of God he should be able to forgive and forget no harm done as that is their stock in trade.

every profession has had abusers, I'm sure you're own profession is included. He's been wronged by RTE and his life and career ruined. Don't let your predjuices blind you to reality, it shows a serious lack of intelligence!!

Lets leave the self righteousness out of it. Of course innocent lives have been ruined and of course the perpatraitors should be punished.

But this man and others like him should not be made to suffer because of it.

I'll ask again, do people really believe that every priest should suffer for the crimes of a minority of monsters?

Because if that's your attitude I worry about you, I really do.