Irish rugby team represents a geographical entity, not a country ?

• 03-10-2011 06:50PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭

I have noticed on discussions on radio and the odd article in the papers regarding Ireland and the Rugby World Cup, some journalists alluding to the usual sort of - isn't it great to see all traditions on the island of Ireland getting behind the team, blah, blah.

However here's what former Irish international and unionist councillor Davy Tweed had to say " The Irish rugby team represents a geographical entity, not a country and certainly not a nation. "

So folks, what do you think of Tweed's statement ?? Is it fooling ourselves yet again to pretend all unionists are behind the Irish team ??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Davy_Tweed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Not sure what point he was trying to make but, well, technically he is correct, isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My opinion on this is that biko will lock it

any other takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I'd have to say Frisbee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Yeah Rugby is more a unionist sport in Northern Ireland then catholic. Plus its true the rugby crowd are different.

I would love to see the same thing happen to our soccer team, there were times past that a combined north and south team would have Up there. But not now. But thats a dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

strobe wrote: »
    Not sure what point he was trying to make but, well, technically he is correct, isn't he?
    Does Ireland not compete as a single "country" in Rugby ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Id say it represents more of the nation than Davy Tweed ever did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

A nation may refer to a community of people who share a common language, culture, ethnicity, descent, and/or history

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nation

There are plenty of people in the north who consider themselves Irish and we have a shared history on this Island with people who consider themselves British, or at least part of the UK, whether we or they like it or not.

I'm not sure you'd get many people calling for a NI 6-county rugby team. Perhaps the most isolationist and embittered Unionists.

Regardless, I think we should just enjoy the success of the Irish Rugby team and get behind them no matter what political persuasion we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

HellsAngel wrote: »

Not a clue man. Do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The team's use of a neutral flag and anthem would have me incline to agree with Mr Tweed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Let them have their own Northern Ireland rugby team and see how good they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I think its great.

And thats an understatement... from small inauspicious beginings great things can happen.

I'd never seen anything like that before, my first surprise was the song they sang instead of a national anthem. Not the best of tunes it has to be said. Then I realised it was an all-ireland team.

You could have knocked me down with a feather...

Imagine. A united island...

Not really a country in the regular sense no. I think it's better to sideline politics when it comes to some things.

I was born in Norn Iron and I live in the south so it's nice for me personally to see people from the part of this island I was born playing in a team with people from where I live now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

This would suggest nothing more to me than that Davy Tweed is a fúcking hypocrite who has no clue what a nation is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

What I think of tweeds statement is that he can't sit down and enjoy a rugby match. Or maybe enjoy anything in life. But has to shite on about union-partition-tribal bigotry crap that no one wants to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Irish rugby team represents Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

The team's use of a neutral flag and anthem would have me incline to agree with Mr Tweed.
    They have been using an Irish flag alongside an Ulster flag (the original yellow flag) I was very proud to see the two flags side by side and think its great that the team play as the island of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Well 13 out of the starting 15 are Irish nationalists ( Ferris and Best are from unionist backgrounds). It would be a bit like expecting the Swedes not to fly their national flag in respect to the Lapplanders or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I don't really care, all I know is that this team actually have a chance of winning the Rugby World Cup, that's fecking brilliant. They're doing the whole country proud. Our soccer team can't even qualify for a European Championship and already the rugby boys are in the QF of the RWC.

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I'd say David Tweed might consider himself British, but he has a grand Irish begrudging air about him.

He may be technically correct, but he's totally missing the point. It's sport, not politics. Nobody is saying that it's all about one country- I mean, they stand to attention for the muck that is "Ireland's Call" instead of Amhrán na bhFiann so that it includes both sides of the border*. It's like a GAA club that has two parishes/areas in it- if that club wins, it should be seen as a victory for both areas. Same with Ireland's rugby team- both North and South should be celebrating its success.

*Edit: I don't think they should all have to stand for Amhrán an bhFiann by the way, because it's not the national anthem of some of the players... but Ireland's Call is just cringe. Then again, most anthems are...

Bluefoam wrote: »
    They have been using an Irish flag alongside an Ulster flag (the original yellow flag) I was very proud to see the two flags side by side and think its great that the team play as the island of Ireland.

Oh right I didn't notice that. I thought they were using the flag they had during the 07 tournament, the one with the four provincial emblems on a green base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

HellsAngel wrote:
    Well 13 out of the starting 15 are Irish nationalists ( Ferris and Best are from unionist backgrounds).
    I take it you mean nationals and not nationalists? Otherwise I think you may be jumping to conclusions!

Most of the lads on the team probably couldn't give a shite about politics, borders, flags etc at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I personally think its a great format. However I've a few questions. Do the British government contribute to the costs of the team?

My personal understanding is that a few players hate Irelands call. Why can't we have both anthem?

Wonder what will happen when we win the world cup, will they have an open top bus tour in northern Ireland as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Well 13 out of the starting 15 are Irish nationalists ( Ferris and Best are from unionist backgrounds). It would be a bit like expecting the Swedes not to fly their national flag in respect to the Lapplanders or something.

Eh, just because two of them are from a Unionist background doesn't mean the remainder are nationalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

TheZohan wrote: »
    I don't really care, all I know is that this team actually have a chance of winning the Rugby World Cup, that's fecking brilliant. They're doing the whole country proud. Our soccer team can't even qualify for a European Championship and already the rugby boys are in the QF of the RWC.

Brilliant.

Only 8 teams play rudgy and by golly they're all in the QF -

Brilliant.

Different game to soccer in fairness. You'd expect a team like Ireland to be making the last 8 in a RWC at the very least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

It's great to see sport transcend politics. Some unionists mightn't be happy at the notion of an all-ireland anything but never mind them. As if people put pride in 'Geographical entities' as opposed to community

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    I personally think its a great format. However I've a few questions. Do the British government contribute to the costs of the team?

My personal understanding is that a few players hate Irelands call. Why can't we have both anthem?

Wonder what will happen when we win the world cup, will they have an open top bus tour in northern Ireland as well?

They play the national anthem at most matches along with Irelands Call. I'd say they'd probably have a party in Belfast and Dublin if we won.

what about trimble?

They play the national anthem at most matches along with Irelands Call. I'd say they'd probably have a party in Belfast and Dublin if we won.

Thanks, however i was referring to god save the queen. If the lads are unionist, that's their anthem.