If your plane was hijacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

There was a DVD out a few years back that instructs passengers how to deal with this scenario.

I think it was called "Con Air".

love this moovie
    it actually tells you, unless you are the leading actor, do not do anything stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I have a bunny in a box, now what?

Turn Cyrus The Virus loose on the hijackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

Another pub discussion last night...........

Probably unlikely in most countries due to all the security .But just wondering after 9/11 what would people do?. Obviously the goalposts are now changed. Pre 9/11 hostages would keep their heads down and hope to survive it. As there was a good chance that the hijackers were asylum seekers ,or wanted prisoner release(ie:not suicide types).
    So if it happened to you ,do people reckon their best chance would be to rush the hijackers as soon as someone utters the word hijack. Or would you be the type to wait and see what happens?.

attempt to out-stare 'Abdulla of Manulla , head-butt him then fart in his face ha ha. as for Bohola Lola in her Burqa, well i must think about that one since burqas can conceal any number of thing---grenades etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I really think any hijack attempts these days would be met with serious passenger violence (I know I would be up for a bit of skull cracking anyway)

Someone mentioned, about hostage takers expecting resistance in the first few minutes, and usually make an example out of someone by using extreme violent to cower the remaining hostages.
    So you would probably need to psyche yourself up as your getting on the plane.Keep muttering to yourself ...."Kill the B@stards!",and punching yourself on the head to get your adrenaline going.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd blow the fuckers up with my shoe-bomb. No-one's going to steal my limelight.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'd go at them hell for leather, what have you got to loose. I plane full of people could easily over power a couple of terrorists.

Also a well placed punch can easily bring down someone, its not like in the movies where they stand there and act all hard. Terrorists are people too that feel pain and fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would pre-empt the hijacking in the airport and have the evil doers apprehended even before they got on the Airplane.
    Then I would washboard them until they admited what they were going at and transport them through Shannon to a place of holding, until they give more information about others who are in their organisation against democracy and freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

I would pre-empt the hijacking in the airport and have the evil doers apprehended even before they got on the Airplane.
    Then I would washboard them until they admited what they were going at and transport them through Shannon to a place of holding, until they give more information about others who are in their organisation against democracy and freedom.

washboard? Get da ironing board out , stretch him/burqa lady out on it and give that individual a good going over with the cotton-setting..ha ha. will then admit to anything ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Earphones in. "not happening, not happening, not happening".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

I remember reading somewhere where a good strategy to slow the hijackers down, is to lie down in the aisle, hold on to the seats and kick at the hijackers with your legs, making it very difficult for them to move up the aisle.

This would give your fellow heroes time to borrow some pens from other passengers and, thus armed, try to stab the villains in the ear or carotid artery, the pen being mightier than the sword and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

I was on a flight in the US about a month after 9/11 with the football team I was playing with at the time, and a lad in a turban got up in the middle of the flight and started walking towards the cockpit. Once a few of the lads copped this they were up out of their seats following him up. Lucky for him he was only going to the jacks that were beside the cockpit!

Cue 4 or 5 lads suddenly stranded in the middle of the plane turning around sheepishly back to their seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

If its a male terrorist id knee him were it hurts...in the cockpit.

if its a female terrorist id knee her were it hurts...in the fuselage.

JazzyJ wrote: »
    I was on a flight in the US about a month after 9/11 with the football team I was playing with at the time, and a lad in a turban got up in the middle of the flight and started walking towards the cockpit. Once a few of the lads copped this they were up out of their seats following him up. Lucky for him he was only going to the jacks that were beside the cockpit!

Cue 4 or 5 lads suddenly stranded in the middle of the plane turning around sheepishly back to their seats.

lucky you...he might be a terro but just deterred by your friends' action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

If a plane I was on was hijacked, I'd like to try and join the Mile High Club if I could, I bet there'd be some right up for it slags on board if we only had a few minutes left to live :cool:

I'd just wait for the big fat Delta Force guy/part-time chef to come out of the galley, and I'd read about all the duty-free items that I couldn't afford to buy, while he's pummelling 17 buckets of sh1t out of the terrorists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If my plane was hi-jacked I HOPE I would remain calm enough to assess the situation.
    If it looked like a suicide job and/or he/she/they were trying to get into the cockpit, I HOPE I would find the nerve to do something.
    I'm a stubborn, thick headed sod at times and don't believe in letting gobschites away with crap.
    I hope I would have the courage to do something that might save other lives.

Biggins wrote: »
    If my plane was hi-jacked I HOPE I would remain calm enough to assess the situation.
    If it looked like a suicide job and/or he/she/they were trying to get into the cockpit, I HOPE I would find the nerve to do something.
    I'm a stubborn, thick headed sod at times and don't believe in letting gobschites away with crap.
    I hope I would have the courage to do something that might save other lives.

Of course, failing that, you could just bend over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Of course, failing that, you could just bend over.

Never.

It did happen in one of my trip while I was chatting with Arnold in the first class. Sylvester was in the toilet at that moment I remember. Harrison was in the kitchen and flirting with one a cute air hostess. Steven was sleeping in the seat behind me but I know he is always on high alert even asleep...:D

revell wrote: »
    It did happen in one of my trip while I was chatting with Arnold in the first class. Sylvester was in the toilet at that moment I remember. Harrison was in the kitchen and flirting with one a cute air hostess. Steven was sleeping in the seat behind me but I know he is always on high alert even asleep...:D

I think you forgot to tell us what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think you forgot to tell us what happened.

That was it. There were no terrorists, just people awed by name dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

I don't know if I'd be brave enough to go for one of them first, I'd probably have to wait for someone else to make an attempt. If I was up - Kick to the bollix and two thumbs in the eyes for as many as i could get - I'd hope I'd have the courage to do so, better to go down swinging than wait until the plane is flown into a building or blown up etc. Chances would increase if there were other people on the plane willing to do so, but all you could probably do is look towards another few passengers and gesture without speaking. If there were say 5-6 men hijacking a plane, 3/4 men should be able to incapacitate or hold each of them down.

It's all well and good being a hero on an online forum though, who knows what would happen in real life, I'm sure if it was easy, not all the planes involved in the 9/11 attacks would have been taken over :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

weemcd wrote: »
    I'm sure if it was easy, not all the planes involved in the 9/11 attacks would have been taken over :(

Everything changed that day. In the one aircraft that the passengers did rush the bad guys they realised that they needed to get control of the plane or they were dead.

I'm pretty sure that a forcefull response would be the reaction of many passengers these days.

Just recently:
    http://www.newser.com/story/117113/staff-passengers-subdue-would-be-paris-hijacker.html

Flight staff and passengers tackled and subdued a would-be hijacker yesterday after he held a small knife to the throat of a flight attendant and ordered an Alitalia flight from Paris to fly to Tripoli. (24th April 2011)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Seachmall wrote: »
    Nobody would do shit until positive it's a suicide bomber, then maybe they'd do something.

Yeah, most Irish people would be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Possible terrorist hijackings are the reason I sneak a gun on to the plane with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

ya everyone is a hero in his head then it comes to crunch time and we chuck Norris there ass..

but really if someone was going around with a knife.. Think id ask another passanger that we jump him.. one focus on grabbing the knife while other kicks his ass..

Gun... doubt it.. might give it ago, sure whats the worse that could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

pmcd22 wrote: »
    Gun... doubt it.. might give it ago, sure whats the worse that could happen.

Get shot in the bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

I would invite the hot stewartess for her last trip in the mile high club!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

martic wrote: »
    Open a facebook group stating if 1 million people like this group the terrorist wont blow the plane up
    Using WiFi on a plane :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

I would start believing in god again :rolleyes: