Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Cluxton

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I can't believe all the crap I am hearing here. I have been told by people who know Stephen that he is just a quiet lad who does not crave the limelight or attention that comes with being an inter county player. He is supposed to be a very down to earth lad-no airs or graces about hime unlike some players. Who gives a **** if he walked down the tunnel after the game etc. If he does the business on the field thats all that matters. Fair play to him for avoiding media attention and all the hype and rubbish that goes with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

walshb wrote: »
    Well, the thread was opened, and many responded. So, some people care.

You don't, that is okay. I don't care either what he does. It doesn't affect me. I just think it was a bit aloof, and not the done thing, that is all.

I posted an opinion on what he did aftre the game, as a non fan. I mean, I would watch them play, but would not be a real fan. If I was, maybe then I would feel stronger.

The real fans don't care. They adore him for kicking the winning point. He could retire, never play again, moon at the fans, slag them off, never speak of the game again, doesn't matter, he will be revered by the real fans. You don't get it because you are not a real fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

Only one word needed to describe Cluxton. Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lucozader

maby he had to do a number 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

fair play to cluxton, great to see a player who just wants to do his job and stay out of the limelight. I could think of a lot of players who if they had done half of what cluxton did would have been whoring themselves to the media all week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 late

With the many years he has given to Dublin and after his heroics on Sunday he owes nobody anything but for anybody to suggest he gave the 2 fingers to the fans is completely untrue. He does not like the limelight or publicity and he obviously knew after scoring the all important point he was going to be in great demand by the media after the match and that was it appears why he kept a low profile. To prove he did care about the fans he did turn up for the homecoming, it wasn't his seen but he done it never the less for the fans.
    Also there is plenty examples of him celebrating with his team mates and it is clear they hold him in very high esteem.
    In my view he is a credit to Dublin, to the team, to his club, his family and the GAA in general.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

late wrote: »
    With the many years he has given to Dublin and after his heroics on Sunday he owes nobody anything but for anybody to suggest he gave the 2 fingers to the fans is completely untrue. He does not like the limelight or publicity and he obviously knew after scoring the all important point he was going to be in great demand by the media after the match and that was it appears why he kept a low profile. To prove he did care about the fans he did turn up for the homecoming, it wasn't his seen but he done it never the less for the fans.
    Also there is plenty examples of him celebrating with his team mates and it is clear they hold him in very high esteem.
    In my view he is a credit to Dublin, to the team, to his club, his family and the GAA in general.

This is two lads I know who met him the morning after at 10:30am in the Boars Head, Cluxton obviously hadn't been to bed and was still in the same suit from the night before. He obviously likes to party and has no problem doing it with the fans etc. He just doesn't like the press and the limelight. Woop-de-do. The man's a legend.

dubsq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I see he is going to over come his fear of flying to represent Ireland down in Australia in the International Rules series. This man is a real hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

This is two lads I know who met him the morning after at 10:30am in the Boars Head, Cluxton obviously hadn't been to bed and was still in the same suit from the night before. He obviously likes to party and has no problem doing it with the fans etc. He just doesn't like the press and the limelight. Woop-de-do. The man's a legend.

dubsq.jpg

There was a report in the papers about him and two others still being up at 7am the next morning in the hotel getting their breakfast. Absolutely fantastic keeper and role model, out of the 29 other players on the field at the time he is the one that deserved to be the hero.

Also off topic but going back to Shane Curran I thought I'd inform ye that he is still an absolute header. But he is one of the soundest fella's ye'd meet, got my father a ticket for the match last sunday on the day after he heard that he couldn't get one, they were also in one of the pubs for the night after it and Curran was supposed to have been in flying form getting a rise out of as many dubs as could:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭King Cantona

The best thing anyone that has an ounce of sense can do is to ignore this lad spewing on about Cluxton as by responding we are only giving this thing more legs. Let Walshy have his moment in this thread and don´t give him the satisfaction of a response. To suggest that an amateur player not giving an interview after a match is is an idiotic argument in my opinion. (I´m not calling you an idiot walshb).

Put it this way, if it was a club county final in croker and RTE approached a shy looking lad, would you consider him strange if he declined to give an interview to thousands of people live on air? I doubt you would. It´s the fact that you are familiar with his face makes you think that he is familiar with media. It´s not the same. Let it go. I wont be posting in here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Last Word on This
    6190505084_7b2cda4003.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think this thread is gone as far as it can, maybe even a bit further than it should have so I'm closing it. If you think I'm being a bit heavy handed in closing it please feel free to PM me or open a thread in the Feedback forum.