Is it time to arm the Gards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Unlikely, i reckon the majority of them couldn't get their fat fingers in the trigger guard and those that could would probably be just about clever enough to shoot themselves in the face.

They have feelings too, even the fat ones and the not so clever ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Donald_ducked

Having seen what some of the garda are capable of at demonstrations, there is no way in hell they should be given guns. Plenty can't even conduct themselves with a baton ffs

Special units that deal with gang related crime are already armed and well trained, leave it to them. Absolutely no need to have patrolling garda carrying lethal weapons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

darkman2 wrote: »

Is it time to arm the Gards?
    Absolutely not.
    A Garda could be simply beaten up by any thug. Is it time to arm them?

So instead let the garda shoot the thug dead? If it's a choice between having someone injured and having someone dead, as you seem to believe, I would prefer the former. Gardaí should learn how to defend themselves if they really are as helpless as you think. Security guards are vulnerable to being assaulted too, as are A & E staff. Maybe they should start packin' heat.
    I mean those who pass a training course - i.e route out the corrupt. Maybe not all but some garda should be armed on the streets. What do you think?

We should only try to route out corruption for those who are armed? I don't see the reasoning behind this at all. If you beieve only some should be armed (and I assume you mean some of the regular plods), then what are your criteria for deciding who they should be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

not a great idea to arm them, it will only escalate the ferrocity of the criminal problem as the criminals seek to arm themselves too

its a big step and once you have done it, difficult to reverse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Do they still carry truncheons?

Last time I asked they still were... However they have changed over the years. Originally they used to carry small wooden batons in a secret compartment in their trousers. They were standard issue right up until the stab vests came in as si.
    All members now carry a telescopic baton... (like this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I know quite a few guards myself and if they can't use a baton, i certainly wouldn't be giving them guns!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Bosco boy wrote: »
    good for you!! But if they had guns the bullet would catch up with you!!

Unlikely, i reckon the majority of them couldn't get their fat fingers in the trigger guard and those that could would probably be just about clever enough to shoot themselves in the face.

bet one wrote you a ticket with his fat fingers, hence the chip on your shoulder!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭jimdeans

bet one wrote you a ticket with his fat fingers, hence the chip on your shoulder!!!

Probably. They certainly haven't been using their fat fingers to catch the criminals round my way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

its time to bring in the guns 4 toys program and arm gards like this
    http://www.unicornpedia.com/images/robocop_unicorn_1.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    All members now carry a telescopic baton... (like this)

Seen those things used a good few times. They are extremely effective at convincing people to comply :D

I think city cops in ****ty areas should be given tasers/stun guns. Makes taking down a pissed off 16st knack-bag that bit easier. They tend to be rather timid when they are curled up on the ground crying and pissing/****ting themselves.

Give the lads a couple of these! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

No, special armed units, Yes. Certainly not the normal beat cops. Give them Tazers and pepper spray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Nope, i've never gotten a ticket for anything and 2 of my mates are Gardai.

It's just that sometimes it's so easy to push someones buttons in AH i just can't resist.:)

Degag wrote: »
    I know quite a few guards myself and if they can't use a baton, i certainly wouldn't be giving them guns!

how do you know they can't use a baton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I think he is working off the offered situation in the OP where an officer would be losing a physical altercation.

Nope, i've never gotten a ticket for anything and 2 of my mates are Gardai.

It's just that sometimes it's so easy to push someones buttons in AH i just can't resist.:)

hook line and sinker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

darkman2 wrote: »
    A Garda could be simply beaten up by any thug. Is it time to arm them?

This has always been the case? What has changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Id be all for arming the Gards,there are scumbags down here in Tralee who think they are above the law.

I think he is working off the offered situation in the OP where an officer would be losing a physical altercation.

I have no link but the majority of police officers who are shot worldwide in the course of their duty are shot with their own weapon which has been snatched from them in an altercation or by a prisoner trying to escape. Most gardai would not want to be armed. The current system with ERU, RSU units and armed detectives is working well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭jimdeans

I have no link but the majority of police officers who are shot worldwide in the course of their duty are shot with their own weapon which has been snatched from them in an altercation or by a prisoner trying to escape..

That would be a remarkable statistic if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I think it is a very bad idea and it will never be employed across the board for every member of the Gardai and rightly so. I have a couple of friends that are detectives and they would tend to agree that it would be a disaster if that were to happen. Going from them, once the novelty wears off from that fact that they have a pistol it quickly becomes just a heavy object that carries alot of responsibility to carry on their person. Consequently most of them leave them locked up at the station unless they really are going to something that could get a bit hairy.

From having some firearms and pistol experience myself it is very hard not to underestimate the level of time and range time needed to build even a basic practical skill level with a pistol . Logistically there is no way that the Gardai would be able to provide that for every member. It would need to start in the training college and have an intensive training segment as part of their training similar to a police academy type deal they employ in the States and that's not going to happen.

It sounds nice in theory to say we need every uniformed gardai with firearms on their hips but looking at the time they would devote to training then it would be much more of a liability than anything else. That's my long rambling 2 cents...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73581855&postcount=128

This topic was dealt with last month! :rolleyes:

In answer to the question:
    Tasers yes
    Guns No

I would imagine the majority of AGS would agree with me on this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Slightly off topic the Armed Response Unit were in Ennis the other day (thursday) arresting a member of a dissident group
    Four men have appeared before a special sitting of the Special Criminal Court charged with firearm and explosive offences.
    Desmond Brennan, 64, from Clonroad, Ennis was charged with possession of explosive substances, namely the possession of nitric acid, mercury and ethanol.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0924/dissident.html

IMHO while we have armed gardai in elite squads like the ARU and ERU we don't need a broader arming of the force

To be honest I think a very important point was made in saying "most AGS would agree"

I think that is important. I would feel the same. I think the majority of them feel that it is important that they have tazors but I think there might be an issue with funding. These tazor guns work out about €200-€250 each. If we wanted them as standard issue then it would stack up quite quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

If the criminals are armed it makes perfect sense to arm the cops. Levels the playing field.

TBH, id be happy to see anyone wearing tracksuits tucked into socks getting shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

If the Gardaí have guns, everyone will have them. To be honest, I think the unarmed Gardaí is one of the best accomplishments of the state. We have a relatively low crime rate compared to other states that do have armed police forces. It's not as though the public is out of control to the point where the Gardaí have to carry a firearm in order to intimidate people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

We already have the ARU, so maybe exanding that may be the answer. Regular Gardai on the streets carrying guns, no way. It would actually put the Garda at far more risk .
    If an armed Garda confronted an armed scummer, it would either end with the scummer putting down the weapon, or either the scummer or Garda being shot, possibly killed.
    I must have a look for some figures on this but i would hazard a guess that, proportionally, armed Gardai have been shot at more often than unarmed Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

I think we should have a designated group of Gards who are trained to use firearms and who are available whenever their skills are needed, we could call them the "Armed Response unit".

The fact is, that a large number of Gardai have access to firearms, I might be wrong, but I think that detectives are armed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Haelium wrote: »
    I think we should have a designated group of Gards who are trained to use firearms and who are available whenever their skills are needed, we could call them the "Armed Response unit".

That system already exists with both the Regional Support Units and the Emergency Response Unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Haelium wrote: »

Crazy talk. It would never work.