Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Toyota Carina II 25th anniversary edition

• 16-09-2011 4:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

got this last night after 10yrs of asking!!

needs a good clean and polish

will post up pictures when i get that done

one owner from new both in uk and ireland

full toyota service history

these cars were built by toyota to celebrate 25yrs of toyota in the uk. 1965-1990. the carina was the car chosen by toyota to celebrate this. there was only 500 ever made. all were liftback and all were grey green metallic. all cars have a plaque inside showing bulid number. mines 376 of 500. there is the anniversary crest stitched into the interior and there is a factory painted pin strip down both sides with the crest on both front wings.

4 el windows

el mirrors

el sunroof

central locking

front chin spoiler and boot spoiler

5 stud 14'' alloys( no other 1.6 carina II came in 5 stud)

im delighted to have finally got this car:D.

just wondering if anyone else has one or could point me in the direction of information about them. there cant be many of these left now!

all comments welcome

better pics to follow.

anniversarycarina003.jpg

anniversarycarina001.jpg

anniversarycarina002.jpg

anniversarycarina004.jpg

anniversarycarina005.jpg

anniversarycarina006.jpg

anniversarycarina010.jpg

anniversarycarina008.jpg

anniversarycarina007.jpg

anniversarycarina009.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Well wear. Lovely Toyota. Always liked the liftback/hatchback. I've never seen a 25th anniversary model.

Enjoy,

T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Nice to see an enthusiast getting stuff like this. It's obviously a UK car, and the 500 were sold there I'm guessing? Yours is probably unique here.

Like the 'London/Champion edition' Vauxhall Astra GTEs, they are as good as extinct now, of the 350 or so sold there's approx 4/5 known to be left, and they were only sold in 1990.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭twincam77

ya uk car originally. the lad i got it off is originally from limerick and was living in the uk in 1990 bought the car new then in 1990 in the uk.

he then moved back to limerick in 1992 and brought his carina home with him and it stayed with him for the next 21yrs. :)

thanks for the good comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Randy_Marsh_Jizz-(n1297311504658).jpg

Lovley find, hate it when i see these cars online. Makes me regret about selling my 91 one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Nice find! Looks like it just needs a good valet to make it mint again?! Please fit appropriate reg plates....i.e. NOT euro plates! (correct period plates would be white with large black digits - front and rear. Eireplates.com do such plates...pressed metal versions)

Silvera wrote: »
    Nice find! Looks like it just needs a good valet to make it mint again?! Please fit appropriate reg plates....i.e. NOT euro plates! (correct period plates would be white with large black digits - front and rear. Eireplates.com do such plates...pressed metal versions)

Being a '92 import shouldn't it be on europlates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

They really were/are great old cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

No they were not.

Absolutely horrible cars since the get go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I Was VB wrote: »
    Randy_Marsh_Jizz-(n1297311504658).jpg

Lovley find, hate it when i see these cars online. Makes me regret about selling my 91 one.

Great cars - a high-point of quality and durability before Toyota was reined in by beancounters.

But seriously VB - not worthy of a sticky keyboard! Very standard, run-of-the mill cars. I'm not saying only posh cars are worthy of classic status but keep things in perspective guys!

pburns wrote: »
    Great cars - a high-point of quality and durability before Toyota was reined in by beancounters.

But seriously VB - not worthy of a sticky keyboard! Very standard, run-of-the mill cars. I'm not saying only posh cars are worthy of classic status but keep things in perspective guys!

Personally i like seeing older cars still on the road compared to higher end coveted cars from the same era.

Anyway lets not get into the debate of what or whats not a classic for the 5798th time!

No they were not.

Absolutely horrible cars since the get go.

im guessing you have never owned a carina after a statement like that

well built, reliable, nice looking, well specd , maybe im missing something:confused:

as for classics , take for example the mk1,mk2 escort ,in their time very humble run of the mill cars, but now highly sought after,

maybe im wrong but classics to me are cars i would have been around when i was growing up, carinas, jettas,corollas, etc not unaffordable posh cars.

Any pics of the Corolla you were restoring?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Bababa

Anyone know where I'd get a Carina 4a-f engine? Or where I'd go to get one reconditioned?

• Registered Users Posts: 47 stapes

never heard of a 25th anniversary carina but fair play to ya for picking it up them carina 2's deffo one of the best toyotas ever built would love a 2 litre turbo diesel model kinda rare lot of these round my area old people driving them but there all 1.6's cant wait to see the finished product best of luck with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

I'v seen that car before....

By any chance did you get it not very far from Kilmallock?

twincam77 wrote: »
    im guessing you have never owned a carina after a statement like that

well built, reliable, nice looking, well specd , maybe im missing something:confused:

as for classics , take for example the mk1,mk2 escort ,in their time very humble run of the mill cars, but now highly sought after,

maybe im wrong but classics to me are cars i would have been around when i was growing up, carinas, jettas,corollas, etc not unaffordable posh cars.

Don't mind snobs like that.
    They just want something to make them fell like they're above other people.

Yes the carina ii was a "run of the mill" "ordinary car" but they were damn good at being an ordinary car for thousands of people, and there are still far more of them around in proportion to a lot of other cars from the same period, because they were a great "ordinary" car. Just like the escorts as you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

There's something similar around the corner from me, only a year newer, has that white pre-EU new format plate (87-92). Cool anyhow.

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    Don't mind snobs like that.

Jump to many conclusions, do you?

A very mediocre car. They always were. As were the Escorts too.

If you have so little interest in such cars I suggest you cease posting in this thread, as it must be so terribly painful for you. You're being pathetic. Nobody said either of those models were something amazing, but in both cases, for ordinary cars they were good and did their jobs well, which is why they're fondly remembered by many people.
    You clearly just want something to whine about. You already voice your bitter and tainted opinion on the subject, so why must you attempt to push it further?
    The logical conclusion is that you are a snob or have some little niggling pet hate about "ordinary cars" and feel you must drive out anyone who doesn't discuss something meeting your expectations.

If you do have such impeccable fine taste, go and start your own thread about whatever it is that you like or possess that makes your almighty opinion the only one worthy of consideration.

An ordinary for the ordinary man indeed, but what's so bad about that. Not everyone can drive expensive wankmobiles. I personally would walk past 10 porsches or the equivalent to have a look at that particular anniversary Carina.

I'm much more interested in a cars history and story than how much it cost new or how it might make you look to other people when you drive it.

Lads, take it easy. Pathetic, bitter, tainted.

I just think that for their time both Carina and Escorts were dull.

I far prefer, say, Peugeot 405 to the Carina and something groundbreaking like the Citroen GS to the Escort. Does that make me a snob. Of course not.

I know the Carina is from the golden age of Toyota reliability. I don't doubt that for a moment. That may be enough for some, but it is not for me.

Also, please note, I put my name to my posts. That counts for something I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Lads, take it easy. Pathetic, bitter, tainted.

I just think that for their time both Carina and Escorts were dull.

I far prefer, say, Peugeot 405 to the Carina and something groundbreaking like the Citroen GS to the Escort. Does that make me a snob. Of course not.

I know the Carina is from the golden age of Toyota reliability. I don't doubt that for a moment. That may be enough for some, but it is not for me.

Also, please note, I put my name to my posts. That counts for something I believe.

In fairness guys he has a point - I'd have to back him up.

I think the Carina is a worthy car - like I said, it probably marked the zenith of Japanese build quality before the number-crunching, Jap recession and move to European factories began in the early '90s. Quite plush interiors for the time also.

But dynamically - in terms of ride, handling, looks something like the 405 was superior (and as they were more brittle they're rarer now:D!). The Carina in comparison is a white good of a car.

I'm not too interested in the rest of that post, it's too late to climb back over the cliff of hasty, rash statements.

The point quoted however, who cares? I could sign up here swearing that my name was Dr. Kenneth Noisewater but it doesn't make it true, it's an internet forum. I don't actually doubt that you're name is your actual name, but I can't see how you think that it somehow makes you a difference or makes you any better than anyone else.

You're not that special, my username is also my name, doesn't make me want to boast about it though. You can "believe" what you want but it still doesn't make your posts any more necessary or valid.

Anyway, seriously why did you have to post in a thread about a car you don't like? As i said in slightly different words, if you dislike them so much and it's so painful for you to think of such a mediocre car that did such good service , then don't actively seek out areas where they're being discussed, enter those areas then proceed to complain. Someone would only do that if they really just wanted to whine or cause trouble. You said nothing constructive and added nothing positive. Now I myself have, in this post in particular not added anything particularly helpful or positive, but people with your kind of attitude really frustrate and annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

OP, well wear. It's too new/wrong manufacturer to be my cup of tea, but in a few years it'll be very desirable.....

I've killed a few of them in night nav's. They could take some punishment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

So europlates were only introduced post 1992??

V480 wrote: »
    So europlates were only introduced post 1992??

They came out for the 1991 season. So any car registered before then and post 31/12/86 would have worn black on White plain plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Any pics of the car after a bit of a clean up?

ianobrien wrote: »
    OP, well wear. It's too new/wrong manufacturer to be my cup of tea, but in a few years it'll be very desirable.....

I've killed a few of them in night nav's. They could take some punishment!

Tis a pity about that but sure if only we always knew what would become sought after we'd be rich. You presumably had a lot of fun with them though, as you said they can certainly take the punishment longer than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

pburns wrote: »
    But dynamically - in terms of ride, handling, looks something like the 405 was superior (and as they were more brittle they're rarer now:D!). The Carina in comparison is a white good of a car.
    That's true, but the Carina did have a way of getting under the owners skin - a good friend of mine had a rust-riddled one about ten years ago, and he still speaks fondy of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

How on earth could anybody think a Pug 405 was more desirable than a high spec Carina. 405's were awful yokes as are most Peugeots of that era save a few.

The might not be the most characterful cars but those old Carinas were nice and quite refined for their day. I remember my dad had one with a lovely veleur interior, much nicer in fact than the Carina E he bought after and still drives today.

My old metalwork teacher still drives an old 1991 Carina he probably bought when new! So yes they do get under your skin. Don't mind the snob/begrudgers and enjoy the car. :)

V480 wrote: »
    How on earth could anybody think a Pug 405 was more desirable than a high spec Carina. 405's were awful yokes as are most Peugeots of that era save a few.
    The 405 was a far better drive. And the 205 was a bit special too.

Its a intresting one that simmilar eurpean cars of that era dont have the same following as thier japanese counterparts. Reason i always loved them (and still do) is i fondly remember them from growing up and my best mates dad had one from new a Carina E, and taxied it and going on family holidays down to Wexford, happy childhood memories.

And the fact they could withstand such maintence that was practiced in the stone age, must of appealed to farmers and taxi drivers alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Being a '92 import shouldn't it be on europlates?

'92 Euro plates. The really faded Europlates from that time are rare enough. Lots of scrappage victims from that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Mark 1 and 11 Escorts were always popular because of their rallying heritage.
    Carina 11's have no real heritage.
    Rear wheel drive Starlets became popular for drifting and the likes.
    When they got too expensive because of "scene tax" the attention was focused on the next in line the "boxy Starlet"(invent a name it adds value:rolleyes:) even if it was front wheel drive and no different to a fiesta.
    It looks like all toyotas are now fair game.
    There are people out there who will buy into anything if they think its popular and there are also those who will try to profit by promoting it;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

hi5 wrote: »
    There are people out there who will buy into anything if they think its popular and there are also those who will try to profit by promoting it;).

And there are real enthusiasts who keep cars on the road and the memories alive...

I saw a Fiat Ritmo recently... Jaysus they were terrible. A Peugeot 405 petrol ... Really bad... A Renault 18.... A good yoke now... All these cars deserve preservation despite their bad reputations ....

The Carina was part of growing up for me .. That brings me back to a time when the Carina was the preferred method of transport..... We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

Well Wear OP .. A damn nice find there.. Well done... ! Carina II's were the first cars with no quirks, no rattles and total reliablity. Why would they not be a classic then....?

..... We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

And that is why so many people got to love them, they just kept going and didn't let you down. And a well minded one still won't. They weren't bough as sharp handling sports cars, they were bought in the hope that they'd provide reliable dependable transport as a family car, and they did that very well.

I see far more of them around than ANY other car in their class of the same age, and i'm sure most people would get the same result if they went looking.
    I see at least 2-3 of them every day around here. I might see a 405 in road going order every 3 months and i reckon (and always diesel), the last time a saw a renault 21 on the road was about 4 years ago in dingle. Most of the old passats got driven into the ground and were more expensive anyway so less sold, You'd still see a few sierras about and a maybe the odd very early primera but you hardly ever see a bluebird (the more age appropriate nissan comparison to the toyota) out my way. I'd almost never see a standard vectra/ascona on the road anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

The oul fella who was a sales rep had a Datsun 120Y that he sold with 230,000 miles on the clock around 1982, I last saw it around 1990/1. It was sold to a district nurse so I reckon it easily hit 300,000 miles. The car had at least 6 minor frontal accidents, every time one wing was mangled and had to be replaced, so I guess that helped to keep it partly rust free:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

:Di362365.jpg

Twiggy had one in the Royle Family!! :D

YBTurbo wrote: »
    I'v seen that car before....

By any chance did you get it not very far from Kilmallock?

no sir this car has been a newcastlwest car all its life

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Any pics of the car after a bit of a clean up?

will put up a few pics the weekend .
    havent had a chance to do anything with it yet.

havent been on here in the last few days, kinda suprised the reaction the carina has gotten.

the comparison to a 405 is crazy i think, lord god you wouldnt have seen a 405 on the roads in 1991 when they were only 3years old let alone now in 2011:rolleyes:

i love carinas always have, ive had every model from 1982 rwd carinas to 1995 carina e 2.0gti and numerous other 1.6,1.8.2.0d models and iv never had any problems. truley great cars.

anniversary carina II 500 made in 1990

how may left now?

when was the last time you seen one?

a classic, rare, toyota

enough said:D

I Was VB wrote: »
    Any pics of the Corolla you were restoring?

which corolla ?

have had a good few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

twincam77 wrote: »
    the comparison to a 405 is crazy i think, lord god you wouldnt have seen a 405 on the roads in 1991 when they were only 3years old let alone now in 2011:rolleyes:

We had a 405 Diesel and it was troublesome ... The gear selector used to drop off the box and leave you with a "box ull of neutrals" ..

We used to have to jump out in traffic and get under the bonnet to pop it back on again... This was a regular occurance.

Fast Forward to 2011 and a friend was giving me a lift in his 407.. Guess what happened.. Yes the gear selector dropped off the box.. He looked at me and I knew exactly what to do to sort it...

Do you trhink that Peugeot would have it sorted in 20 years...? No

The 405 is cheap tacky and badly assembled. We had a petrol one catch fire in our garage years ago when it was only a 2 year old car. We just let the handbrake off and rolled it outside and called the fire brigage... Owner was not too upset in fairness saying the car was a pile of dung...

Theres no way a Carina would do that in fairness .. There is no comparison between a 405 and a Carina....

Is it possible to like Carinas without disliking 405s?:)

Anan1 wrote: »
    Is it possible to like Carinas without disliking 405s?:)

Yes, it's just that trying to use them as an example of some amazingly better fantastic car is pretty stupid, as they may have "looked nicer" or "handled" better in some people's opinions but at the end of the day they were unreliable heaps of crap in comparison with the "boring" "white good of a car" carina, and there are feck of of them left as a result.

They were a lot less durable, but they were a much better drive too. I don't see why we can't appreciate the merits of both?

You can, and I said "yes" to your question but the 405 was brought up in this thread as some kind of shining example of an epic car, which it never was, simply to try to rubbish the affection many people have for the carina.

And the Carina people have responded in kind. Which is kind of a pity, if you ask me.

Only to a certain extent, but it's to be expected really that people would respond negatively to several people with no real interest in a thread that was very clearly about a car they don't like for whatever reason, be it snobbery as in one or two cases or brand preference, perception of greater performance or whatever they chose, who opened it up anyway just to whine, complain and knock the model.

It would be similar regardless of the car. If there was to be a thread about minis, just for example, where people who enjoyed/admired them for whatever reason were discussing a rare version (in the same was as the limited edition carina of this thread), only for people with some form of grievance against minis to come in and start knocking them or spouting vitriol about how unworthy they were of consideration by some kind of high brow elite.
    The fans of the car would respond to that kind of needless attack on their chosen subject, and would of course attempt to counter arguments made against it.

If asked, I would say that I do not particularly like minis (again just giving a different car as an example), but I have nothing against them, and would definitely not approach (online or otherwise) a group of people who liked them and start putting them down or making silly complaints or unsound comparisons between other cars merely for the sake of having an argument.

thanks to the weather i got the carina cleaned up today.

here are a few quick pictures:D

anniversarycarina015.jpg

anniversarycarina014.jpg

anniversarycarina012.jpg

anniversarycarina019.jpg

anniversarycarina018.jpg

anniversarycarina017.jpg