Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Cluxton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

Think people are going a bit overboard in their praise. Tbh it was a free that youd expect your freetaker to slot over at intercounty level, and being a shot to win rather than draw, the pressure wasnt as big as it could have been.
    To say he definitly could play championship level soccer is also a bit daft, the difference in skillset between soccer and gaa keepers is significant, and it would be fairly rare for a player of cluxtons height to make it at that level.
    That said, fair play to the man, deserves an allireland for his displays over the years, but thimk the best ever tag is one thats undeserved as of yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Best GAA goalkeeper ever by a street and I'm not a Dub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

To say he definitly could play championship level soccer is also a bit daft, the difference in skillset between soccer and gaa keepers is significant, and it would be fairly rare for a player of cluxtons height to make it at that level.

What height is he?

Also, someone said he earlier in the thread he was offered a contract by Shamrock Rovers. if he is close to that level, then he might not be far off championship level. You have to look beyond his current ability and ask yourself how much he could have improved if he had trained as a professional goalkeeper for a few years.

I have always been hugely impressed with the accuracy of his kick outs, but they werent great yesterday, ironically enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

best Goalkeeper ever in the GAA
    doesn't he play in the forwards for his club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

What height is he?

He's normal..5'8 maybe..I think..I never really noticed, I'll be seeing him Wednesday I think
    And seriously, everyone just leave him alone, hes a very private guy, he does his job well (trust me), he plays his gaa well (as you know) and thats all he wants really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

Maybe things didn't go to plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I respect him more for being true to himself and hying away from the limelight. I love to see the quiet man win the day. Too often its the empty vessels that make most noise in this world that get their way. Not everyone is eloquent or has the desire to have cameras on them.

I think this new habit of sticking microphones in players faces on the pitch seconds after the game ens ahould be stopped anyway. I understand they want something to "distract" fans from invading the pitch, but tbh its not as if you can expect to get any sense out pf a player who's physically shattered and mentally unable to comprehend the enormity of what they've done. The fact that Cluxton felt he had to run off the pith to avoid being interviewed is a bit ridiculous really. The players whould be allowed enjoy the moment in peace and that includes keeping both fans and journalists off the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Sir Vival

Out of interest, anyone know his profession..?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Sir Vival wrote: »
    Teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Nearly sure he's a school teacher ? .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Final point aside yesterday was probably his worst performance this year for Dublin. Kerry won a lot of his kick-outs and he missed some kicks that he would have expected to get himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

He didn't over celebrate and to be honest that's a good trait.

As a losing team, you hate to see the winning team jumping and celebrating and so on, makes it all the harder to take.

Cluxton has the right attitude, and to be honest, there is more to life than winning or losing an All Ireland, something people should remember. There's no point getting too excited or too gutted over winning or losing any game of football.

I personally hate those idiots you find in GAA clubs, who think GAA is the be all and end all, and the most important thing in life, and who spend hours in the pub talking GAA.

Cluxton has earned the right to act any way he see's fit, more so than the armchair supporters who comment on his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Keith in cork

Sir Vival wrote: »

He teaches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

He didn't over celebrate and to be honest that's a good trait.

I love the clip of Ciaran Carey after he scored a winning point (Or was it an equaliser?) against Clare in 1996. He is running back to his position without any antics. Nowadays, players are always pumping the air for the smallest things. But the way Carey reacted that day commands so much more respect

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Nearly sure he's a school teacher ? .........

101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭gimmeaminute

101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

Not Maths, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Teaches biology afaik, he's bit of a legend in our science building in DCU.

Not Maths, I hope.

Nope he teaches JC Science, LC Biology and Health and Physiology(fitness training) to TYs. And he coaches Soccer and GAA teams of course

Is he still in Vincents ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭TheTwiz

No he plays for Parnells and teaches at Dominican College on Griffith Avenue as far as i know.

TheTwiz wrote: »
    No he plays for Parnells and teaches at Dominican College on Griffith Avenue as far as i know.
    Oh right .. meant Vincents CBS .... Parnells was a given ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,741 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

Was he in today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Quazzie wrote: »
    101% sure hes a teacher
    he teaches me..

Was he in today?

Ah for Gods sake, give the man some slack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,741 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

phkk wrote: »
    Ah for Gods sake, give the man some slack

I never said I expected him in today, or that he should be. I was just curious. He is obviously quite withdrawn and quiet, so I was just curious if he was out at all last night. Not having a dig at him, just curious as to how quiet a life he leads.

TheTwiz wrote: »
    Nope he teaches at Vincent's CBS
    Not saying if he was in or not.
    Said too much already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

He's an intensely private man, never gives interviews, isn't for sale to any sponsor, and practices his art almost religiously. That's why he was called up by Bernard Brogan to take the free in extra time and wasn't fazed by it at all-he'd done it a million times in practice from that exact spot, and the team knew they could rely on him.

If what he needs to keep his head clear is to focus on the game and to shun the limelight, then more luck to him. All that really matters is the example he leads by for 70 mins on the pitch, and it's a bloody good one.

+1 you summed it up nicely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

He wasn't in today, did anyone see him at the home coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

He's normal..5'8 maybe..I think..I never really noticed, I'll be seeing him Wednesday I think
    And seriously, everyone just leave him alone, hes a very private guy, he does his job well (trust me), he plays his gaa well (as you know) and thats all he wants really
    LOL there wasnt a player shorter than 5"9 on that pitch yesterday. Before the match they show a few select players and there heights. Cluxton is 6ft which is the minimum a keeper should be really, maybe a small bit shorter - 5"11 imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Hiace.

Quazzie wrote: »
    I never said I expected him in today, or that he should be. I was just curious. He is obviously quite withdrawn and quiet, so I was just curious if he was out at all last night. Not having a dig at him, just curious as to how quiet a life he leads.

None of your fecking business

LOL there wasnt a player shorter than 5"9 on that pitch yesterday. Before the match they show a few select players and there heights. Cluxton is 6ft which is the minimum a keeper should be really, maybe a small bit shorter - 5"11 imo.
    Youre right 5'8 is too short, 5'11 would be it, im 5'11 and i think hes almost the same as me