My god you got so thin, were you sick or something

• 19-09-2011 04:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I am sick of it.
    Being 6foot and 12 ½ stone weight and plays football 3 nights a week and swims twice weekly I was told the other day at a do “my god you got so thin have you been sick or something?”
    I found it condescending since the person who made the remark is verging on the obese.
    During the meal I decided to do a bit of research and found the following.
    I ate 1 dinner, they had seconds.
    I ate 1 dessert to their 2.
    I had 1 glass of wine to their 3 glasses of Cola.
    I had no cake to their 3 slices.
    This person then says” My god your not having cake?” to which I replied “ I only eat what I need not what I see, that’s why I am not piling on the pounds like you”
    This particular person took then took offence to this and challenged as to why I had to comment on their weight to which I simply said they were first to fault my weight.
    And here is my question.
    Is it improper to suggest that a person can comment on a slim person looses a few pounds while not commenting on someone who is overweight and piling on the pounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Yeah I think you were well within your rights to comment on theres if they can comment on yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Maybe. I dunno. If it was a girl who made the initial comment, it may have been meant as a compliment.

Tell you what though, I'd murder some taco chips right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,099 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

I am sick of it.
    Being 6foot and 12 ½ stone weight and plays football 3 nights a week and swims twice weekly I was told the other day at a do “my god you got so thin have you been sick or something?”
    I found it condescending since the person who made the remark is verging on the obese.
    This person then says” My god your not having cake?” to which I replied “ I only eat what I need not what I see, that’s why I am not piling on the pounds like you”
    This particular person took then took offence to this and challenged as to why I had to comment on their weight to which I simply said they were first to fault my weight.
    And here is my question.
    Is it improper to suggest that a person can comment on a slim person looses a few pounds while not commenting on someone who is overweight and piling on the pounds.

Comment away I say, the abuse diet is the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I am sick of it.
    And here is my question.

Fat people are very pass remarkable to deflect from their own innate stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Low-fat chip on your shoulder there OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Dump the bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You sound like a **** dinner companion. Eat some cake ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Fat people are very pass remarkable to deflect from their own innate stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

People say similar to me, but then again when I was younger I was a fat bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

A fat person made me write that!! I meant to state it as follows;

"Fat people are very pass remarkable, they make comments like that to deflect from their own innate stupidity."

It was remiss of me and I am truly sorry to have offended you in such a grievous way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

Fair play OP! He shouldn't give it if he can't take it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I am naturally slim and I know exactly how you feel OP. There is a double standard when it comes to weight issues - nobody would say to someone - "Oh my god you are sooo fat." Yet on countless occasions I have had it said to my face about being thin/skinny and remarks about my appetite.

I am perfectly healthy and I resent people (usually overweight) making remarks about my appearance. It is like as if they are over compensating for their own poor self image/esteem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Absolutely. If they think they can make remarks about your appearance in such a fashion then you can certainly throw it right back at them. Maybe this guy will realize that what he said was inappropriate to begin with.

Personally speaking - I've always been thin. Very thin. When I was 19 I went into hospital for a minor operation. They decided to weigh me one day. So, standing there in my PJs I asked the guy next to my bed (who I'd been chatting with on and off) how much I'd weigh. He said about 9 stone. I came in at 8.5 I'm 5'10.

The thing is, I can remember so many ocassions where people would remark on my weight as though it was nothing - I even had people ask me, straight up, if I were anorexic or bulimic. Really insulting, personal stuff. It's not acceptable.

I'm a bit older now and have put on a bit of weight (but am still quite slim.) I come in at about 11 stone now which looks quite a lot better.

So I can relate to your situation OP - you were dead right in what you did. Some of us don't just shovel food down our gullets because it's there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

So he/she asked if you were ill as you had lost weight, then asked if you wouldnt like some cake. You responded by calling them greedy and fat ?

What he/she said was conversation/concern what you said was an insult. Not surprised your talkin out your hole if you cant even differentiate the two. Cop on to yourself op and stop being a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

Who orders seconds at a resteraunt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Ive found alot of little skinny people to be just as conscious/touchy about their weight as fat people.
    You where right what you said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

I am sick of it.
    This person then says” My god your not having cake?” to which I replied “ I only eat what I need not what I see, that’s why I am not piling on the pounds like you
    And here is my question.

Your highlighted comment seems a tad cruel, you could have said that you just didn't want to put on weight or something.

I think a lot of overweight people will feign surprise at someone who doesn't stuff themselves to deflect attention from their own gluttonous ways.

You cant be that thin at 6" & 12.5st though, relax...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I have a skinny little b!tch of a colleague that comments on me eating Malteesers first thing in the morning. Just because she starved herself for her wedding she thinks no one else can eat.

I'm a guy, I work out 3 times a week and I'll eat what the f*ck I want. If it was the other way around I'm sure I'd be sacked by now. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    Ive found alot of little skinny people to be just as conscious/touchy about their weight as fat people.
    You where right what you said.

Difference is other guy never meant what he said as an insult, to take offence to someone asking if you were ill, watch what they eat and then call them greedy and fat is the act of a child with a chip on their shoulder looking for an excuse to be cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

pajunior wrote: »
    Who orders seconds at a resteraunt?

I'm guessing it was at a wedding, there being dessert and cake, but who has only one glass of wine with dinner at...well any meal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    I'm guessing it was at a wedding, but who has only one glass of wine with dinner at...well any meal?

It was actually carterers doing the grub so it was eat all you like and having 1 glass of wine is enough espically when having to drive afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I am sick of it.
    This person then says” My god your not having cake?” to which I replied “ I only eat what I need not what I see, that’s why I am not piling on the pounds like you
    And here is my question.

What a great comeback I applaud you. I know how you feel, I usually get no wonder you are so thin,you never eat.
    I eat when I'm hungry, I have a small appetite.

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    I'm guessing it was at a wedding, there being dessert and cake, but who has only one glass of wine with dinner at...well any meal?
    Non-alcoholics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Gonna have to call bull**** on your story there op,

There's no way somebody has 2 dinners, 2 deserts and 3 slices of cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

KTRIC wrote: »
    I have a skinny little b!tch of a colleague that comments on me eating Malteesers first thing in the morning. Just because she starved herself for her wedding she thinks no one else can eat.

I'm a guy, I work out 3 times a week and I'll eat what the f*ck I want. If it was the other way around I'm sure I'd be sacked by now. :mad:

You would - if she complained and the complaint was upheld. Similarily, if you complained, and the complaint was upheld, she'd be sacked too.

If it really bothers you then do something - make a complaint or tell her that you don't appreciate it.

Gonna have to call bull**** on your story there op,

There's no way somebody has 2 dinners, 2 deserts and 3 slices of cake.
    Jaysus you never meet my ex then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I am sick of it.
    And here is my question.

Yeah it was likely diet coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Bride2012

My fiance gets this a lot too, he's your height OP but weighs a bit less. He eats well and often and is very active and healthy. He has an aunt who tries to force feed him whenever she sees him and gives me comments like 'aren't you taking care of him properly?' and watches his every bite. She's obese, a size 20 and seems to think that that's fine but my fiance's healthy lifestyle isn't. She comments on his weight in front of whoever is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I'm 6ft and 12 stone. Not exactly skinny but more 'streamlined' :o

But I used to be 15 stone 2lbs.
    Not exactly obese but overweight.

As I progressively slimmed down, comments from family were negative "You're wasting away", "You're like an extra from Schinder's List" etc etc. I would have loved for someone to point out to me that I was turning into a fat f*cker when I was clearly overweight. Just had to realise it myself and rectify it.

Unfortunately, there seems to be a taboo around discussing weight issues with overweight people and society is heading towards acceptance of being overweight as the 'norm'. :( and people like the OP at their desired weight as sickly and strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Skunkle wrote: »
    So he/she asked if you were ill as you had lost weight, then asked if you wouldnt like some cake. You responded by calling them greedy and fat ?

What he/she said was conversation/concern what you said was an insult. Not surprised your talkin out your hole if you cant even differentiate the two. Cop on to yourself op and stop being a prick.

I see your point but you know how self-conscious some skinny people can be about being skinny. It's hard to see how it's any different from asking a fat person if they've been binge eating, and saying they look so fat. It's just not polite.

The person may have not meant to be insulting but obviously being skinny is something that many people feel self-conscious about.